Jump to content


Photo

Switching Heroes/Units Across Factions


  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 KP Spark

KP Spark
  • Members
  • 18 posts

Posted 01 August 2015 - 10:14 PM

I'd like some general instruction before trying this myself and screwing up the game before I try this.

 

I'm trying to get Legolas and Gimli and possibly Merry and Pippin back to the Men faction and I've searched and searched for solutions so here I go asking. Is it as simple as copying and pasting some code across files or is there a trick to it? Thanks.

 

(Optional: Trying to get the Ents back to Men as well, preferred them with Rohan anyway.)



#2 -SilverBane-

-SilverBane-

    Inactive Noob

  • Project Team
  • 474 posts
  • Location:Bucharest
  • Projects:Life
  •  Mapper & Coder

Posted 02 August 2015 - 07:20 AM

You just need to add them in BuildableHeroesMP list from playertemplate.ini...... thats pretty much all (not ents).


2qm3dd5.jpg


#3 Titan Cronus

Titan Cronus

    Do unto Others...

  • Members
  • 693 posts
  • Location:Ireland
  • Projects:The Battle of the Pelennor Fields Mod.

Posted 02 August 2015 - 11:15 AM

You also need to swap them to the righty HeroBuildOrder in the skirmishaidata if you want them to be used by the factions that you move them too. Find them in the skirmishaidata (in data/ini/default), they will be in one of the ArmyDefinitions (eg Gimli will be in the "ArmyDefinition DwarvenArmy"). They will be right down at the bottom of the ArmyDefinition code. Just cut them out of where they are and paste them into the ArmyDefinition of the faction you want them in.

 

 

Now for the Entmoot: This is a lot harder. You would need to swap the commandbutton from the Elven porter's commandet to the men's one. Then if you want the AI to use them you would need swap their ArmyMemberDefinition in the skirmishaidata in the same way you swapped the Heroes. Ofc it goes in a slightly different place but you will spot it if you just look through the Elven ArmyDefinition. Now here's the hard bit, you would also need to edit all the base files of the Elves and the Men. You would need to remove all the Entmoots from the Elven base files (but then you would leave the Elves with no siege capabilities). You would then add entmoots to all the Men's base files (and then you have given men two siege buildings and also they already have a LOT of building to build already).

Personally, I wouldn't suggest messing with the Entmoots quite just yet. I my humble opinion, its quite advanced modding. Also, (in my experience, and I have edited like 100s of them) messing with the base files (these are not code files but worldbuilder files) can be quite a tricky thing. The game can be VERY tempermental with them and after editing them, the game sometimes won't read them again and they require a lot of messing around to get them working again.

 

 

Another thing to think of is that the Fortress commandsets only have so much room for heroes (I have tried editing them in the past and have found that the game only supports 8 or so heroes from the fortresses no matter how you change the commandsets) and that if you add too many, some of them won't show up until you have made of the ones you can see.

 

I hope I haven't sounded like I was trying to put you off your ideas man, I just wanted to give you some of the possible pitfalls of attempting you modding ideas. Best of luck with it man and if you get stuck with anything, just post back here and i'll help in any way I can.


Edited by Titan Cronus, 02 August 2015 - 11:25 AM.

Battle of the Pelennor Fields

Made by 1 guy, has 13 Factions, 75+ Heroes, 150+ different units and 200+ Special abilities.

 

http://www.moddb.com...pelennor-fields


#4 KP Spark

KP Spark
  • Members
  • 18 posts

Posted 04 August 2015 - 02:24 AM

Din't work... cut and pasted.

 

Am I supposed to add a ';' in there? What's going on?


Edited by KP Spark, 04 August 2015 - 02:28 AM.


#5 KP Spark

KP Spark
  • Members
  • 18 posts

Posted 04 August 2015 - 02:30 AM

Here's what I got.

HEROES
;//
 
HeroBuildOrder = ElvenGaladriel_RingHero GondorFaramir_SEE GondorBoromir_SEE GondorAragornMP_SEE GondorGandalf_SEE GondorGwaihirHero RohanTheoden_SEE RohanEomer_SEE RohanEowyn_SEE DwarvenGimli
 ElvenLegolas OffensiveBuildings

 

 



#6 Lauri

Lauri

    Old man Lauri

  • Hosted
  • 10,436 posts
  • Location:Norway
  • Projects:The 4th Age
  •  The very worst T3A Team Chamber Member

Posted 04 August 2015 - 10:33 AM

Did you try to build one of the other heroes first? Sometimes the amount of buttons is restricted, and you'll have to build one of the other heroes before the new buttons show up.

Or you could try to move DwarvenGimli and ElvenLegolas further up the list to see if they appear then. If they do, you just have to edit the commandset for the fortress.

 

The ';' hides everything behind it. Let's say I wrote this code:

The game will read this text ;but not this, because it's hidden behind the ';'

You can also use // to hide the code. It only applies to the rest of the line.


T4A_Logo_-_article.png

The 4th Age version 0.8 has been released: Link


#7 Titan Cronus

Titan Cronus

    Do unto Others...

  • Members
  • 693 posts
  • Location:Ireland
  • Projects:The Battle of the Pelennor Fields Mod.

Posted 04 August 2015 - 01:24 PM

That code you posted, that was in the skirmishaidata ini right?

 

You also need to edit the code in the playertemplate ini too.

 

 

 

The code should look something like this (I don't know what the hero's names actually are in the mod you're using so im just basing them on your earlier post):

THE CODE FOR THE SKIRMISHAIDATA INI

HeroBuildOrder = ElvenGaladriel_RingHero GondorFaramir_SEE GondorBoromir_SEE GondorAragornMP_SEE GondorGandalf_SEE GondorGwaihirHero RohanTheoden_SEE RohanEomer_SEE RohanEowyn_SEE DwarvenGimli ElvenLegolas




THE CODE FOR THE PLAYERTEMPLATE INI

BuildableHeroesMP = CreateAHero GondorFaramir_SEE GondorBoromir_SEE GondorAragornMP_SEE GondorGandalf_SEE GondorGwaihirHero RohanTheoden_SEE RohanEomer_SEE RohanEowyn_SEE DwarvenGimli ElvenLegolas

Obviously, don't go copying this code, just use it as a guide. Cut the code for the heroes from where they are and paste it to where you want them.

 

 

I hope this helps. Good luck man.


Edited by Titan Cronus, 04 August 2015 - 01:26 PM.

Battle of the Pelennor Fields

Made by 1 guy, has 13 Factions, 75+ Heroes, 150+ different units and 200+ Special abilities.

 

http://www.moddb.com...pelennor-fields


#8 KP Spark

KP Spark
  • Members
  • 18 posts

Posted 04 August 2015 - 09:32 PM

Didn't work. Built all heroes and they didn't show.

 

But for some reason Gimli and Legolas are no longer on their factions so it must've worked a little bit.

 

Tried ordering the codes to match, didn't help.



#9 Titan Cronus

Titan Cronus

    Do unto Others...

  • Members
  • 693 posts
  • Location:Ireland
  • Projects:The Battle of the Pelennor Fields Mod.

Posted 04 August 2015 - 09:56 PM

Show me the "BuildableheroesMP" code line (that you have put the heroes into) form the playertemplate ini and I'll see if I can see anything up with it.


Battle of the Pelennor Fields

Made by 1 guy, has 13 Factions, 75+ Heroes, 150+ different units and 200+ Special abilities.

 

http://www.moddb.com...pelennor-fields


#10 KP Spark

KP Spark
  • Members
  • 18 posts

Posted 04 August 2015 - 10:50 PM

 

BuildableHeroesMP = CreateAHero GondorFaramir_SEE GondorBoromir_SEE GondorAragornMP_SEE GondorGandalf_SEE GondorGwaihirHero RohanTheoden_SEE RohanEomer_SEE RohanEowyn_SEE DwarvenGimli ElvenLegolas 

BuildableRingHeroesMP = ElvenGaladriel_RingHero

 

HEROES

;//
 
HeroBuildOrder = ElvenGaladriel_RingHero GondorFaramir_SEE GondorBoromir_SEE GondorAragornMP_SEE GondorGandalf_SEE GondorGwaihirHero RohanTheoden_SEE RohanEomer_SEE RohanEowyn_SEE DwarvenGimli ElvenLegolas
 

 



#11 Titan Cronus

Titan Cronus

    Do unto Others...

  • Members
  • 693 posts
  • Location:Ireland
  • Projects:The Battle of the Pelennor Fields Mod.

Posted 04 August 2015 - 11:09 PM

Ok, at first glance, everything looks OK. Have you put them in the correct factions? The code for the playertemplates ini should be in the "PlayerTemplate FactionMen" block and the code for the skirmishaidate ini should be in the "ArmyDefinition MenOfTheWestArmy" code block.

 

I'm guessing that the "_SEE" at the end of most of the hero's names is meant to be there, like that is in fact part of the hero's actual name in the hero's own file in it's unit folder?

 

Also, there are 10 heroes there, that is way too many to get in the radial commandset of the fortress. You will need make at least 4 heroes before the rest start showing.


Battle of the Pelennor Fields

Made by 1 guy, has 13 Factions, 75+ Heroes, 150+ different units and 200+ Special abilities.

 

http://www.moddb.com...pelennor-fields


#12 Lauri

Lauri

    Old man Lauri

  • Hosted
  • 10,436 posts
  • Location:Norway
  • Projects:The 4th Age
  •  The very worst T3A Team Chamber Member

Posted 05 August 2015 - 12:02 AM

He's modding SEE for his own personal use, that's why _SEE is specified in the code (because they're the SEE versions of the heroes).

 

Try removing a few of the heroes (Faramir, Aragorn, etc..) and see if they're still there in-game. If they are, the file isn't read by the game.


T4A_Logo_-_article.png

The 4th Age version 0.8 has been released: Link


#13 KP Spark

KP Spark
  • Members
  • 18 posts

Posted 05 August 2015 - 12:08 AM

Ok, at first glance, everything looks OK. Have you put them in the correct factions? The code for the playertemplates ini should be in the "PlayerTemplate FactionMen" block and the code for the skirmishaidate ini should be in the "ArmyDefinition MenOfTheWestArmy" code block.

 

I'm guessing that the "_SEE" at the end of most of the hero's names is meant to be there, like that is in fact part of the hero's actual name in the hero's own file in it's unit folder?

 

Also, there are 10 heroes there, that is way too many to get in the radial commandset of the fortress. You will need make at least 4 heroes before the rest start showing.

Did that. Checked that.

 

Here's an idea, what if I put them before the Rohan heroes (since a rohan base is needed for them). Let's see...

 

nope



#14 Kwen

Kwen

    Vileartist

  • T3A Staff
  • 4,865 posts
  • Location:Korea I wish
  • Projects:It'sa secreeet
  •  T3A's First N00b
  • Division:BFME
  • Job:T3A Expert
  • Donated

Posted 05 August 2015 - 12:21 AM

Are you sure that your modified version is even being loaded?


                           https://www.twitch.tv/vileartist - Yes shameless self-promotion

          ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

                            "Old modders never die, they just fade away" ~ Hostile





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users