Jump to content


Photo

How to have an ALL AI battle + Super Fast Game Speed, etc.


74 replies to this topic

#21 thudo

thudo

    Wacko AI Guy!

  • Division Leaders
  • 8,370 posts
  • Location:Lemonville North, Canada
  • Projects:DoW AI Scripting Project
  • Division:DoW
  • Job:Division Leader

Posted 18 August 2007 - 04:35 AM

hehe.. Glad you got around to it but why decide to have ALL-AI battles? So few people are interesting in watching the action from the sidelines. Thats generally for developers like us to quickly see issues arise and immediately try to address them.
Advanced Skirmish AI Team Lead for the coolest Warhammer40k PC RTS out there:

Dawn of War Advanced AI Headquarters

Latest DoW Advanced AI Download!

#22 fbcoach

fbcoach
  • New Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 21 August 2007 - 04:25 AM

hehe.. Glad you got around to it but why decide to have ALL-AI battles? So few people are interesting in watching the action from the sidelines. Thats generally for developers like us to quickly see issues arise and immediately try to address them.


I dunno, Im kinda different,

I coach Highschool football by profession, and that part of me is extremely competitive, but when I'm gamin', I like to relax.

I dont get competitive at all in gaming. For instance Counter Strike source...played it ....HATE it! I dont find it fun at all to kill you you kill me for the 900th time and U and I intantly respawn...

I like to really escape into the game Im playin. I read alot of the Warhammer 40,000 books from the black library. When I play all AI DOSkirmish, DOWXP, IDH, ANihilation etc.. Its usually because I just read a great story..I set up the skirmishes and then zoom the camera around and pretend Im actually on the planet witnessing the war. Now I know that is probably boring to most people but its what I do. Beleive me I would like to design some ideas or whatever but as I stated in my first post... Im freakin retarted. I dont even know which apps are crap apps as you posted earlier.

But anyway thanks to you, Arkon(sp), and the others that work so hard, I still play A mod of some type for Dark Crusade every day. Iv'e got a big IMGINATION way back from my D&D days.

oh and just to show you that I am truly a Grognard I also play out every single game in every year of madden football including preseasons and going thru as many teams as it will let me in training camp. AND I NEVER CALL A PLAY or control any player...yep all A.I.! Fortunately I found some others that do this and I dunno we just act like were watching a football game except I we can stop a game or go back and look at any part of the field.

O.k. I think you get my point...

By the way I woulnd't be opposed to play testing some stuff for you guys but football season is fixin to start wich means 88+ hour work weaks. Some "good news" though I hit an 18 wheeler head on last november and am still in a wheel chair so I might not coach this year..so... I may have some time if you ever need anything. I feel its the least I could do for you guys allowing me to escape into my computer world! :rolleyes:

I also promise not to bore you with the drab details of my life any more :blink:

Remember you asked....LOL.

#23 McCloud

McCloud
  • Members
  • 11 posts

Posted 06 March 2008 - 11:53 AM

Great mod got everything to work for DC. However it seems a little to fast or to slow for gamespeed. What is the default simrate, saying that "normal" speed during a game without the use of this mod? 8 or 9 seemed the closest to me. Also I gave this a shot in the dark try in Soulstorm but no avail.

#24 thudo

thudo

    Wacko AI Guy!

  • Division Leaders
  • 8,370 posts
  • Location:Lemonville North, Canada
  • Projects:DoW AI Scripting Project
  • Division:DoW
  • Job:Division Leader

Posted 06 March 2008 - 05:04 PM

Its between 11-13.. thats average non-dev vanilla game speed hence you will notice one of those speeds is 12 (a nice compromise). And yes it fully works in SoulStorm too. :ph34r:
Advanced Skirmish AI Team Lead for the coolest Warhammer40k PC RTS out there:

Dawn of War Advanced AI Headquarters

Latest DoW Advanced AI Download!

#25 McCloud

McCloud
  • Members
  • 11 posts

Posted 06 March 2008 - 09:18 PM

Hmmmm I must try it again. thanks

#26 dreddnott

dreddnott
  • Members
  • 60 posts

Posted 11 March 2008 - 07:03 AM

Thud, the default simrate is definitely 8. I verified it with the Game Timer turned on after I found a reference to it somewhere on an old wiki (can't remember right now).

#27 thudo

thudo

    Wacko AI Guy!

  • Division Leaders
  • 8,370 posts
  • Location:Lemonville North, Canada
  • Projects:DoW AI Scripting Project
  • Division:DoW
  • Job:Division Leader

Posted 11 March 2008 - 01:35 PM

Nah.. make it 12. 8 is too bloody slow and in this fast-paced society I'd want a little more speed in my daily ownage. :sad:
Advanced Skirmish AI Team Lead for the coolest Warhammer40k PC RTS out there:

Dawn of War Advanced AI Headquarters

Latest DoW Advanced AI Download!

#28 chupito

chupito
  • Members
  • 7 posts

Posted 02 September 2008 - 02:43 PM

Hi there

I have a question.

I only want to play the campain, and I dont want all of these changes, only the one where I can change the speed (to a slower pace).

Do I just write this:

bind("F1","setsimrate(5)")
bind("F2","setsimrate(12)")
bind("F3","setsimrate(20)")
bind("F4","setsimrate(30)")

Or can I enter the game and slow the speed down in a much easier way by simply changing something in an already created file?

I hope you can help me

chipito

#29 thudo

thudo

    Wacko AI Guy!

  • Division Leaders
  • 8,370 posts
  • Location:Lemonville North, Canada
  • Projects:DoW AI Scripting Project
  • Division:DoW
  • Job:Division Leader

Posted 02 September 2008 - 02:48 PM

I've never tried the campaign in this manner but in order for those setsimrate commands to work the game must work with the -dev switch as mentioned. If you can get the setsimrate to work in a skirmish game then the campaign should be just fine.
Advanced Skirmish AI Team Lead for the coolest Warhammer40k PC RTS out there:

Dawn of War Advanced AI Headquarters

Latest DoW Advanced AI Download!

#30 chupito

chupito
  • Members
  • 7 posts

Posted 02 September 2008 - 02:56 PM

Hi

thanks for your quick reply

Now, first of all you have to know I know nothing of computing or applying these codes.

So when I ask if I can simply apply these:

bind("F1","setsimrate(5)")
bind("F2","setsimrate(12)")
bind("F3","setsimrate(20)")
bind("F4","setsimrate(30)")

I mean without any "end" or anything else written.

Is that the way to go about.

or do I need to write something else

thanks again

chupito

#31 thudo

thudo

    Wacko AI Guy!

  • Division Leaders
  • 8,370 posts
  • Location:Lemonville North, Canada
  • Projects:DoW AI Scripting Project
  • Division:DoW
  • Job:Division Leader

Posted 02 September 2008 - 02:58 PM

D00d? Did you not read the first post in this thread? It works as prescribed.
Advanced Skirmish AI Team Lead for the coolest Warhammer40k PC RTS out there:

Dawn of War Advanced AI Headquarters

Latest DoW Advanced AI Download!

#32 chupito

chupito
  • Members
  • 7 posts

Posted 02 September 2008 - 03:05 PM

D00d? Did you not read the first post in this thread? It works as prescribed.



Yes I understand

But what I meant is if I apply all of what your first post said would I not also for example remove the fog of war, which I would rather not actually, since I am only looking to play the game in a slower rate with nothing else changed.

#33 thudo

thudo

    Wacko AI Guy!

  • Division Leaders
  • 8,370 posts
  • Location:Lemonville North, Canada
  • Projects:DoW AI Scripting Project
  • Division:DoW
  • Job:Division Leader

Posted 02 September 2008 - 03:06 PM

Then comment out the Fog of War lines as such:

--run = fog_toggle()
--run = FOW_RevealAll()

Advanced Skirmish AI Team Lead for the coolest Warhammer40k PC RTS out there:

Dawn of War Advanced AI Headquarters

Latest DoW Advanced AI Download!

#34 chupito

chupito
  • Members
  • 7 posts

Posted 02 September 2008 - 03:07 PM

thank you very much

#35 chupito

chupito
  • Members
  • 7 posts

Posted 02 September 2008 - 05:34 PM

Ok I still have problems

I copied your initial text with your modification of this:

--run = fog_toggle()
--run = FOW_RevealAll()

and I also modified the simrates to these:

bind("F1","setsimrate(3)")
bind("F2","setsimrate(5)")
bind("F3","setsimrate(7)")
bind("F4","setsimrate(12)")


and put it into a text document in C:\Archivos de programa\THQ\Dawn of War - Dark Crusade

then I went to my desktop and went to the properties of my Dark Crusade Icon and changed it to: "C:\Archivos de programa\THQ\Dawn of War - Dark Crusade\DarkCrusade.exe" -dev

I tried it both in skirmish and in campain and it doesnt work

Am I missing something?

#36 thudo

thudo

    Wacko AI Guy!

  • Division Leaders
  • 8,370 posts
  • Location:Lemonville North, Canada
  • Projects:DoW AI Scripting Project
  • Division:DoW
  • Job:Division Leader

Posted 02 September 2008 - 05:49 PM

Bring down the console during the game and tell us what the issue is? I am unsure if the problem is related to the fact you have a non-english version of the OS but I highly doubt it.

Mind you, if you follow the first page it works, right? It just reveals the map which you don't want? So I do not understand.. put those "--" in front of those two lines, save it.. and there ya go.
Advanced Skirmish AI Team Lead for the coolest Warhammer40k PC RTS out there:

Dawn of War Advanced AI Headquarters

Latest DoW Advanced AI Download!

#37 chupito

chupito
  • Members
  • 7 posts

Posted 02 September 2008 - 06:01 PM

No

I must be doing something wrong because it dosent work when I follow the first page either.

my autoexec.lua file is a noteblock, maybe thats wrong?

I also tried a wordpad, but that dosent work either

#38 thudo

thudo

    Wacko AI Guy!

  • Division Leaders
  • 8,370 posts
  • Location:Lemonville North, Canada
  • Projects:DoW AI Scripting Project
  • Division:DoW
  • Job:Division Leader

Posted 02 September 2008 - 06:08 PM

Has to work bro.. otherwise I would have revised it.

Can you at least get into "developer mode" by using -dev as mentioned how to do? If you cannot get -dev to work then can't help ya.
Advanced Skirmish AI Team Lead for the coolest Warhammer40k PC RTS out there:

Dawn of War Advanced AI Headquarters

Latest DoW Advanced AI Download!

#39 chupito

chupito
  • Members
  • 7 posts

Posted 02 September 2008 - 08:04 PM

ok

It works. I had to place the autoexec.lua file not in my dark crusade directory but in my original dawn of war directory.

I changed the fog of war and the different speeds, and this workd to, however the AI assumes control.

I tried to do "--run = Cpu_ControlLocalPlayer()" but it dosent work.

Do you know how I can regain control so that I can play normally?


chupito

#40 Sceptre

Sceptre
  • Members
  • 5 posts

Posted 05 April 2009 - 06:20 PM

Hmm, tried to apply to camera mod, but it either doesn't work, or hasn't done anything notable to the camera.. What exactly is the mod to the camera supposed to do? Increase visible range, increase the distance the camera can zoom out? I'm clueless.



Reply to this topic



  


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users