Jump to content


Photo

Making New Powers


  • Please log in to reply
36 replies to this topic

#1 Karyan Realm

Karyan Realm
  • Members
  • 10 posts
  • Projects:Karyan-Nature's Rage Mod

Posted 02 January 2009 - 07:36 PM

hi guys
ı made a new power byr using witchking mounted. ı changed this power. now my hero can mount a balrog :thumbsupsmiley: but ı want to make this power usful when my hero become 10 lvl. ı couldnt do that from experiance.ini



ı want to add eartquake pp to my hero as special power how ı can ı do it. ı made a power that creathes balrog but ı couldnt make earthquake

#2 Ridder Geel

Ridder Geel

    Master Yelloh

  • T3A Staff
  • 10,852 posts
  • Location:The Netherlands (AKA: Holland)
  • Projects:RC Mod + SEE + RTS Engine
  •  The Dangerous T3A Team Chamber Member
  • Division:BFME
  • Job:T3A Staff

Posted 02 January 2009 - 10:28 PM

Then you must make it look like this:
Behavior = UnpauseSpecialPowerUpgrade ModuleTag_HorseToggle
		SpecialPowerTemplate		= SpecialAbilityToggleMounted
		TriggeredBy				= Upgrade_Balrogmount
	End
	Behavior = SpecialPowerModule ModuleTag_HorseToggleStarter					  
 		SpecialPowerTemplate		= SpecialAbilityToggleMounted
 		UpdateModuleStartsAttack	= Yes
 		StartsPaused				= Yes
;InitiateSound				= FellBeastVoiceMove
 	End

	Behavior = ToggleMountedSpecialAbilityUpdate ModuleTag_HorseToggle
 		SpecialPowerTemplate	= SpecialAbilityToggleMounted
 		MountedTemplate			= Balrog?
 		SynchronizeTimerOnSpecialPower = SpecialAbilityCurseEnemy SpecialAbilityScreech
 		UnpackTime			  = 2000
 		PreparationTime		 = 0	; none, cause we hop onto our mount in no time at all :)
 		PackTime				= 0 ; none, cause we hop onto our mount in no time at all :)
 		OpacityTarget			= .0; How see-thru to be at peak of change
 		AwardXPForTriggering	= 0
 		IgnoreFacingCheck		= Yes
;TriggerSound			= FellBeastVoiceMove
	End
the only real change in your code should be these lines:
Behavior = UnpauseSpecialPowerUpgrade ModuleTag_HorseToggle
		SpecialPowerTemplate		= SpecialAbilityToggleMounted
		TriggeredBy				= Upgrade_Balrogmount
	End
&
StartsPaused				= Yes

I will look at the earthquake :thumbsupsmiley:

----------------------------------------
About the earthquake...
make something like this for your hero :D
Behavior = UnpauseSpecialPowerUpgrade ModuleTag_EarthquakeEnabler
		SpecialPowerTemplate = SpecialAbilityGloinSmash
		TriggeredBy = Upgrade_EnableEarthquake
	End
	Behavior = SpecialPowerModule ModuleTag_EarthquakeStarter	   
		SpecialPowerTemplate	  = SpecialAbilityGloinSmash
		UpdateModuleStartsAttack  = Yes
		StartsPaused				= Yes
	End
	Behavior = WeaponFireSpecialAbilityUpdate ModuleTag_EarthquakeWeaponFireUpdate   
		SpecialPowerTemplate	= SpecialAbilityGloinSmash
		WhichSpecialWeapon		= 1
		SkipContinue			= Yes

		UnpackTime			  = 1500 
		PackTime				= 1200		
		FreezeAfterTriggerDuration = 0; Hold AI for this long after we fire.
		
		AwardXPForTriggering	= 0		
		
		SpecialWeapon			= GloinSmashWeapon
	End

Edited by Ridder Geel, 02 January 2009 - 10:33 PM.

Ridder Geel

#3 Karyan Realm

Karyan Realm
  • Members
  • 10 posts
  • Projects:Karyan-Nature's Rage Mod

Posted 03 January 2009 - 07:12 AM

ı got it but how can ı make this power eneable when my hero become 10 lvl.

and ı didnt understand the earthquake thing :p



ı got this error
Posted Image


ı wrote in upgrade ini
Upgrade Upgrade_Balrog
Type = OBJECT
End

ı wrote this to my heros ini to sp
;---------MOUNT------------------------------------------------------------------------
Behavior = SpecialPowerModule ModuleTag_Balrog12ToggleStarter
SpecialPowerTemplate = SpecialAbilityToggleBalrogMounted
TriggeredBy = Upgrade_Balrog
UpdateModuleStartsAttack = Yes
StartsPaused = No
;InitiateSound = FellBeastVoiceMove
End

Behavior = ToggleMountedSpecialAbilityUpdate ModuleTag_Balrog12Toggle
SpecialPowerTemplate = SpecialAbilityToggleBalrogMounted
MountedTemplate = MordorBalrog
SynchronizeTimerOnSpecialPower = SpecialAbilityCurseEnemy SpecialAbilityScreech
UnpackTime = 2000
PreparationTime = 0 ; none, cause we hop onto our mount in no time at all :D
PackTime = 0 ; none, cause we hop onto our mount in no time at all :p
OpacityTarget = .0 ; How see-thru to be at peak of change
AwardXPForTriggering = 0
IgnoreFacingCheck = Yes
TriggerSound = FellBeastVoiceMove
End

Edited by Karyan Realm, 03 January 2009 - 08:48 AM.


#4 Ridder Geel

Ridder Geel

    Master Yelloh

  • T3A Staff
  • 10,852 posts
  • Location:The Netherlands (AKA: Holland)
  • Projects:RC Mod + SEE + RTS Engine
  •  The Dangerous T3A Team Chamber Member
  • Division:BFME
  • Job:T3A Staff

Posted 03 January 2009 - 12:12 PM

StartsPaused = No
should be
StartsPaused = YES

uh and you did not do what i told you to do... I said "add" this module:
Behavior = UnpauseSpecialPowerUpgrade ModuleTag_Balrog12Toggleunpause
		SpecialPowerTemplate		= SpecialAbilityToggleBalrogMounted
		TriggeredBy				= Upgrade_Balrog
	End

and change this one:
Behavior = SpecialPowerModule ModuleTag_Balrog12ToggleStarter 
SpecialPowerTemplate = SpecialAbilityToggleBalrogMounted
UpdateModuleStartsAttack = Yes
StartsPaused = Yes
End

Ridder Geel

#5 Karyan Realm

Karyan Realm
  • Members
  • 10 posts
  • Projects:Karyan-Nature's Rage Mod

Posted 03 January 2009 - 06:24 PM

finally ı did it thank you :p ı got two more quenstions :D first earthquake
second is how can ı make burning tornado like in rc mod
Posted Image

#6 Ridder Geel

Ridder Geel

    Master Yelloh

  • T3A Staff
  • 10,852 posts
  • Location:The Netherlands (AKA: Holland)
  • Projects:RC Mod + SEE + RTS Engine
  •  The Dangerous T3A Team Chamber Member
  • Division:BFME
  • Job:T3A Staff

Posted 03 January 2009 - 07:45 PM

.. by copying its code... and giving credit to them... and not forgetting to add the FX's that are changed... :p

the earthquake kind of attack should work with the code i gave you up there, but you must make these things to make it work:
Upgrade_EnableEarthquake ~ make it as an upgrade in upgrade.ini
and add a button for it :D

Edited by Ridder Geel, 03 January 2009 - 07:46 PM.

Ridder Geel

#7 Karyan Realm

Karyan Realm
  • Members
  • 10 posts
  • Projects:Karyan-Nature's Rage Mod

Posted 03 January 2009 - 09:18 PM

which code that ı have to add for flaming tornado :p

#8 Ridder Geel

Ridder Geel

    Master Yelloh

  • T3A Staff
  • 10,852 posts
  • Location:The Netherlands (AKA: Holland)
  • Projects:RC Mod + SEE + RTS Engine
  •  The Dangerous T3A Team Chamber Member
  • Division:BFME
  • Job:T3A Staff

Posted 03 January 2009 - 10:20 PM

I already said LOOK IN THE RC MOD...
Ridder Geel

#9 Vardamir

Vardamir
  • Members
  • 71 posts

Posted 03 January 2009 - 10:33 PM

Hi everyone!I Know that my english is very bad but i try to explain what i want to do. I am ini-coder and knows alot about modding,BUT i can't make my own powers. I can replace any power,but i want to do my own powers and effects. I want to know what i must do? I know that i need this directorys:fxlist and fxparticlesystem. Please,help me with this thing. I want to create effects for different spells.I'll be grateful that person,who helps me...

Sorry for my English

#10 Ridder Geel

Ridder Geel

    Master Yelloh

  • T3A Staff
  • 10,852 posts
  • Location:The Netherlands (AKA: Holland)
  • Projects:RC Mod + SEE + RTS Engine
  •  The Dangerous T3A Team Chamber Member
  • Division:BFME
  • Job:T3A Staff

Posted 03 January 2009 - 10:44 PM

What exactly do you want to do? Make your own effects?
What have you tried doing?
Ridder Geel

#11 Ridder Geel

Ridder Geel

    Master Yelloh

  • T3A Staff
  • 10,852 posts
  • Location:The Netherlands (AKA: Holland)
  • Projects:RC Mod + SEE + RTS Engine
  •  The Dangerous T3A Team Chamber Member
  • Division:BFME
  • Job:T3A Staff

Posted 03 January 2009 - 10:47 PM

For the earthquake from the spellbook do this:
Behavior = WeaponFireSpecialAbilityUpdate ModuleTag_EarthquakeWeaponFireUpdate   
		SpecialPowerTemplate	= SpecialAbilityGloinSmash
		WhichSpecialWeapon		= 1
		SkipContinue			= Yes

		UnpackTime			  = 1500 
		PackTime				= 1200		
		FreezeAfterTriggerDuration = 0; Hold AI for this long after we fire.
		
		AwardXPForTriggering	= 0		
		
		SpecialWeapon			= GloinSmashWeapon
	End

change all that into:

Behavior = OCLSpecialPower ModuleTag_EarthquakeWeaponFireUpdate
		SpecialPowerTemplate	= SpecialAbilityGloinSmash
		OCL						= OCL_SpellBookEarthquake
		CreateLocation			= CREATE_AT_LOCATION
		StartsPaused			= Yes
	End

Ridder Geel

#12 Vardamir

Vardamir
  • Members
  • 71 posts

Posted 03 January 2009 - 11:01 PM

What exactly do you want to do? Make your own effects?
What have you tried doing?

I want to do my own effects for spells. I dont know exactly what spell i want to create,i want to know what i must do in this folders : fxlist and fxparticlesystem. For example we can take your burning tornado,if you not against.

#13 Ridder Geel

Ridder Geel

    Master Yelloh

  • T3A Staff
  • 10,852 posts
  • Location:The Netherlands (AKA: Holland)
  • Projects:RC Mod + SEE + RTS Engine
  •  The Dangerous T3A Team Chamber Member
  • Division:BFME
  • Job:T3A Staff

Posted 03 January 2009 - 11:13 PM

Fairly good example... Well its FX Things are...
FXParticleSystem RCFireTornadoMagic01
  System
	Priority = ALWAYS_RENDER;;HIGH_OR_ABOVE
	ParticleName = EXGlow02.tga
	Lifetime = 300 300
	SortLevel = 1
	Size = 25 50
	BurstDelay = 1 1
	BurstCount = 1 1
	InitialDelay = 25 25
  End
  Color = DefaultColor
	Color1 = R:255 G:128 B:64 0
	Color2 = R:255 G:128 B:0 50
	Color3 = R:0 G:0 B:0 300
  End
  Alpha = DefaultAlpha
	Alpha2 = 0.5 0.5 5
	Alpha3 = 0.5 0.5 190
	Alpha4 = 0 0 200
  End
  Update = DefaultUpdate
	SizeRateDamping = 1 1
	AngleZ = 0 7
	AngularRateZ = -0.25 0.25
	AngularDamping = 1 1
	AngleXY = 0.1 0.1
	AngularRateXY = 0.5 0.9
	AngularDampingXY = 0.9 0.9
  End
  Physics = DefaultPhysics
	VelocityDamping = 1 1
	DriftVelocity = X:0 Y:0 Z:1.5
	Swirly = Yes
  End
  EmissionVelocity = OutwardEmissionVelocity
	Speed = 0.5 1
  End
  EmissionVolume = CylinderEmissionVolume
	Radius = 25
	Length = 50
	Offset = X:0 Y:0 Z:15
  End
  Draw = DefaultDraw
  End
End

FXParticleSystem RCFireTornadoMagic02
  System
	Priority = ALWAYS_RENDER;;HIGH_OR_ABOVE
	ParticleName = EXGlow02.tga
	Lifetime = 125 125
	SortLevel = 1
	Size = 4 10
	BurstDelay = 1 1
	BurstCount = 1 1
	InitialDelay = 25 25
  End
  Color = DefaultColor
	Color1 = R:255 G:128 B:64 0
	Color2 = R:0 G:0 B:0 125
	Color3 = R:187 G:179 B:157 0
  End
  Alpha = DefaultAlpha
	Alpha2 = 0.5 0.5 5
	Alpha3 = 0.5 0.5 190
	Alpha4 = 0 0 200
  End
  Update = DefaultUpdate
	SizeRateDamping = 1 1
	AngleZ = 0 7
	AngularRateZ = -0.25 0.25
	AngularDamping = 1 1
	AngleXY = 0.1 0.1
	AngularRateXY = 0.5 0.9
	AngularDampingXY = 0.9 0.9
  End
  Physics = DefaultPhysics
	VelocityDamping = 1 1
	DriftVelocity = X:0 Y:0 Z:1.5
	Swirly = Yes
  End
  EmissionVelocity = OutwardEmissionVelocity
	Speed = 0.5 1
  End
  EmissionVolume = CylinderEmissionVolume
	Radius = 25
	Length = 50
	Offset = X:0 Y:0 Z:15
  End
  Draw = DefaultDraw
  End
End

FXParticleSystem RCFireTornadoMagic03
  System
	Priority = ALWAYS_RENDER;;HIGH_OR_ABOVE
	ParticleName = EXEmbersLight.tga
	Lifetime = 125 125
	SortLevel = 1
	Size = 50 50
	BurstDelay = 2 4
	BurstCount = 1 1
	InitialDelay = 25 25
  End
  Color = DefaultColor
	Color1 = R:255 G:128 B:64 0
	Color2 = R:255 G:128 B:0 0
	Color3 = R:255 G:0 B:0 0
  End
  Alpha = DefaultAlpha
	Alpha2 = 0.5 0.5 20
	Alpha3 = 0.5 0.5 150
	Alpha4 = 0 0 200
  End
  Update = DefaultUpdate
	SizeRateDamping = 1 1
	AngleZ = 0 7
	AngularRateZ = -0.1 0.1
	AngularDamping = 1 1
	AngleXY = 0.1 0.1
	AngularRateXY = 0.5 0.9
	AngularDampingXY = 0.9 0.9
  End
  Physics = DefaultPhysics
	VelocityDamping = 1 1
	DriftVelocity = X:0 Y:0 Z:1.5
	Swirly = Yes
  End
  EmissionVelocity = OutwardEmissionVelocity
	Speed = 0.5 1
  End
  EmissionVolume = CylinderEmissionVolume
	Radius = 25
	Length = 50
	Offset = X:0 Y:0 Z:15
  End
  Draw = DefaultDraw
  End
End

Its not too hard to understand what some of these things do...
But there is even a program that could help you with making FX's...
Here:
http://www.the3rdage...item-58?addview

Its a fairly good program, but it also crashes at times ;)
Ridder Geel

#14 Vardamir

Vardamir
  • Members
  • 71 posts

Posted 03 January 2009 - 11:18 PM

I have this program but i can't understand it. Can you explain?

#15 Vardamir

Vardamir
  • Members
  • 71 posts

Posted 03 January 2009 - 11:24 PM

I simply want to know how does this program works

#16 Ridder Geel

Ridder Geel

    Master Yelloh

  • T3A Staff
  • 10,852 posts
  • Location:The Netherlands (AKA: Holland)
  • Projects:RC Mod + SEE + RTS Engine
  •  The Dangerous T3A Team Chamber Member
  • Division:BFME
  • Job:T3A Staff

Posted 03 January 2009 - 11:32 PM

Well... uhh just look at the thing that the RC Tornado has, the first 'fx system'
Find the 'spaces' with those 'names' and fill the numbers in :D
System = 2 'tab'
Update = 3 'tab' or something like that ;)
Ridder Geel

#17 Vardamir

Vardamir
  • Members
  • 71 posts

Posted 04 January 2009 - 09:50 AM

Can you show me how does it program works on screenshots and what means every line? Or show me what did you put on those lines to create your tornado(in FXParticleSystem Editor)

#18 Ridder Geel

Ridder Geel

    Master Yelloh

  • T3A Staff
  • 10,852 posts
  • Location:The Netherlands (AKA: Holland)
  • Projects:RC Mod + SEE + RTS Engine
  •  The Dangerous T3A Team Chamber Member
  • Division:BFME
  • Job:T3A Staff

Posted 04 January 2009 - 10:20 AM

Let me see...
Ok save this as tornado.xml:
<!--ParticleSystem in XML Format-->
<FXParticleSystem Name="Tornado">
  <System Priority="0" Shader="1" ParticleName="exexplo03" SystemLifetime="0" SortLevel="0" InitialDelayMin="0" InitialDelayMax="0" LifetimeMin="30" LifetimeMax="30" SizeMin="10" SizeMax="10" BurstCountMin="1" BurstCountMax="1" BurstDelayMin="0.1" BurstDelayMax="0.1" IsOneShot="0" IsGroundAligned="-1" />
  <Colors Color1R="255" Color1G="255" Color1B="255" Color1Time="0" Color2R="0" Color2G="0" Color2B="0" Color2Time="30" Color3R="0" Color3G="0" Color3B="0" Color3Time="0" Color4R="0" Color4G="0" Color4B="0" Color4Time="0" Color5R="0" Color5G="0" Color5B="0" Color5Time="0" Color6R="0" Color6G="0" Color6B="0" Color6Time="0" Color7R="0" Color7G="0" Color7B="0" Color7Time="0" Color8R="0" Color8G="0" Color8B="0" Color8Time="0" />
  <Alphas Alpha1Min="1" Alpha1Max="1" Alpha1Time="0" Alpha2Min="0" Alpha2Max="0" Alpha2Time="60" Alpha3Min="0" Alpha3Max="0" Alpha3Time="0" Alpha4Min="0" Alpha4Max="0" Alpha4Time="0" Alpha5Min="0" Alpha5Max="0" Alpha5Time="0" Alpha6Min="0" Alpha6Max="0" Alpha6Time="0" Alpha7Min="0" Alpha7Max="0" Alpha7Time="0" Alpha8Min="0" Alpha8Max="0" Alpha8Time="0" />
  <Update SizeRateMin="1" SizeRateMax="1" SizeRateDampingMin="1.04" SizeRateDampingMax="1.04" AngleZMin="0" AngleZMax="0" AngularRateZMin="20" AngularRateZMax="20" AngularDampingMin="0.99" AngularDampingMax="0.99" />
  <Physics VelocityDampingMin="1.025" VelocityDampingMax="1.025" GravityMin="0" GravityMax="0" DriftVelocityX="0" DriftVelocityY="0" DriftVelocityZ="0" />
  <EmissionVelocity Type="1" RadialMin="0.8" RadialMax="0.8" NormalMin="2" NormalMax="2" XMin="0" XMax="0" YMin="0" YMax="0" ZMin="1" ZMax="1" SpeedMin="0" SpeedMax="0" />
  <EmissionVolume Type="1" IsHollow="0" HalfSizeX="0" HalfSizeY="0" HalfSizeZ="0" OffsetX="0" OffsetY="0" OffsetZ="0" Radius="2" Length="0" StartPointX="0" StartPointY="0" StartPointZ="0" EndPointX="0" EndPointY="0" EndPointZ="0" />
</FXParticleSystem>

And then do Import and import the tornado.xml, then you should see something like what i did... ;)
Well that is if you took all the textures in the EX folder (one of the textures.big) and put them in the Particles folder in the fx editor
Ridder Geel

#19 Vardamir

Vardamir
  • Members
  • 71 posts

Posted 04 January 2009 - 11:00 AM

Thank you very much,but this program can't import any xml files.;)

Edited by Vardamir, 04 January 2009 - 11:05 AM.


#20 Ridder Geel

Ridder Geel

    Master Yelloh

  • T3A Staff
  • 10,852 posts
  • Location:The Netherlands (AKA: Holland)
  • Projects:RC Mod + SEE + RTS Engine
  •  The Dangerous T3A Team Chamber Member
  • Division:BFME
  • Job:T3A Staff

Posted 04 January 2009 - 11:09 AM

yes it can... press import ;) (1st tab)
Ridder Geel




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users