Some beginner questions

9 replies to this topic

#1 Fizanko

Fizanko
  • New Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 17 March 2009 - 06:23 PM

Hello,

I am very new to this Dawn of Skirmish AI mod.

So far i was only playing on the unpatched Dawn of War 1.0 (unpatched because as an offline gamer only, i quickly noticed the stock AI was becoming way less aggressive and so a very lot less enjoyable to me when i patched all the way to 1.51) skirmish mode.

Recently i acquired Dark Crusade and in skirmishes the AI was really mediocre in comparison to DOW 1.0, the AI is not aggressive anymore, often stay around without even attacking and obviously does not make it up for any kind of entertaining big battle i used to have in DOW 1.0 , so i patched all the way to 1.2 and did not really noticed any improvement.

So after searching a bit, i found that Dawn of Skirmish AI mod 2.6 that sounded really awesome from the description and enthousiast feedback i read about it.
After installing it, i was pleasantly surprised to see how way way much better it was than with the stock Dark Crusade 1.2 AI.

My first time on it, using my old favorite SM vs Ork setup on my prefered 1on1 "Meeting of Minds" and it got me surprised to see that the Ork first hero actually used his personnal teleportation, something even the good DOW 1.0 AI was unable to do, and the orks were often retreating when a battle was not going their way, interesting feature that allowed them to resist longer.

As the Dawn of Skirmish AI was said much more difficult, to see how it was in comparison to DOW 1.0 , i just set it to Standard difficulty thinking it could be equivalent to Hard of previously, and as usual played without using the AI exploit that crippled it, and just setup for the usual mid-map battles that were always enjoyable in DOW 1.0