Jump to content


Photo

How often do you reinstall?


  • Please log in to reply
46 replies to this topic

#1 Nazgûl

Nazgûl

    S.E.E. Team Leader

  • Hosted
  • 10,574 posts
  • Location:Sweden
  • Projects:BFME2 - Nazgûl's Special Extended Edition
  •  Veteran

Posted 01 January 2016 - 11:57 AM

Just a little something that struck me today, when realizing I probably have to reinstall my laptop soon. I haven't done so in about 3 years by now. This HP Pavilion dv6 has been surprisingly solid, even though it's 6 years old now. But, the last few weeks have shown significant decrease in performance, especially when exiting programs and closing Windows. So I feel another reinstall is inevitable, sooner or later. The best part of those, I think, is getting rid of all those; "Just wanna try this game/program/app", that you didn't like, but that lingers around in your system, with unknown performance issues, and naturally all potential threats and hazards such as virus and malware. The downside is all them things you must remember to backup. Not only files, folders and bookmarks and but also settings and passwords, etc and it's so easy to miss out here and there, which makes me tend to skip the whole ordeal  :crazed:

 

I wonder, how often do you reinstall your system?  :shiftee2:


// C}{riZpc_punch.gif
"Do not come between the Nazgûl and his mod!"
SEE_Banner_2008.jpg
SEE-Team_Leader.jpg
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> I S.E.E. YOU! <<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


#2 Bashkuga

Bashkuga

    Because good guys are too mainstream

  • Project Team
  • 2,039 posts
  • Location:On my way to besiege Minas Tirith
  • Projects:Age of the Ring Betatester and Mapper, Edain Mod Betatester
  •  Out of the frying pan, and into the fire..

Posted 01 January 2016 - 12:01 PM

I never did :p.

#3 Mathijs

Mathijs

    Post-modern Shaman

  • Network Leaders
  • 13,688 posts
  • Projects:Age of the Ring
  • Division:Revora
  • Job:Leader

Posted 01 January 2016 - 12:05 PM

You mean format my drives? I don't think I've ever had to. I've done it to clean out old drives that I wanted to repurpose, but in order to fix bad performance? I don't believe I've had to do that.

 

Proper maintenance and timely upgrades keep me safe. :p


No fuel left for the pilgrims


#4 Bashkuga

Bashkuga

    Because good guys are too mainstream

  • Project Team
  • 2,039 posts
  • Location:On my way to besiege Minas Tirith
  • Projects:Age of the Ring Betatester and Mapper, Edain Mod Betatester
  •  Out of the frying pan, and into the fire..

Posted 01 January 2016 - 12:33 PM

Exactly, treat your pc (or laptop) like you would treat your children :p.


Edited by Bashkuga, 01 January 2016 - 12:33 PM.


#5 Mathijs

Mathijs

    Post-modern Shaman

  • Network Leaders
  • 13,688 posts
  • Projects:Age of the Ring
  • Division:Revora
  • Job:Leader

Posted 01 January 2016 - 12:47 PM

Yep. I upgrade my son every 10 to 12 months.


No fuel left for the pilgrims


#6 Nazgûl

Nazgûl

    S.E.E. Team Leader

  • Hosted
  • 10,574 posts
  • Location:Sweden
  • Projects:BFME2 - Nazgûl's Special Extended Edition
  •  Veteran

Posted 01 January 2016 - 12:50 PM

Child 1.1... 1.2...  :thumbsupxd:


// C}{riZpc_punch.gif
"Do not come between the Nazgûl and his mod!"
SEE_Banner_2008.jpg
SEE-Team_Leader.jpg
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> I S.E.E. YOU! <<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


#7 Plokite_Wolf

Plokite_Wolf

    File hoarder

  • Members
  • 2,294 posts
  • Location:Split, Croatia
  •  Parce mihi, Domine, quia Dalmata sum.

Posted 01 January 2016 - 12:56 PM

I never do :p

Administrator of CNCNZ.com and EVA Database, the C&C Wiki

You are also welcome to make use of my archives of official files:

C&C File Archive | BFME File Archive | Dune File Archive


#8 Irenë Hawnetyne

Irenë Hawnetyne

    -

  • Hosted
  • 3,073 posts

Posted 01 January 2016 - 04:27 PM

Probably every year. I have a habit of messing up my laptop. That said, my current laptop, five years in, still works (more or less).


"Everyone's a hero when there's nowhere left to run."

 

Auxiliary Skarn, 2333rd Cohort


#9 Kwen

Kwen

    Vileartist

  • T3A Staff
  • 4,837 posts
  • Location:Korea I wish
  • Projects:It'sa secreeet
  •  T3A's First N00b
  • Division:BFME
  • Job:T3A Expert
  • Donated

Posted 01 January 2016 - 05:24 PM

Once a year seems about right to me.

                           https://www.twitch.tv/vileartist - Yes shameless self-promotion

          ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

                            "Old modders never die, they just fade away" ~ Hostile


#10 Nazgûl

Nazgûl

    S.E.E. Team Leader

  • Hosted
  • 10,574 posts
  • Location:Sweden
  • Projects:BFME2 - Nazgûl's Special Extended Edition
  •  Veteran

Posted 01 January 2016 - 08:39 PM

Yeah, that's what I did with my previous system, a full tower. But when the GPU died on that one, I bought this laptop in 2010. Surprisingly it hasn't shown the same need for total recall, like the full system did.


// C}{riZpc_punch.gif
"Do not come between the Nazgûl and his mod!"
SEE_Banner_2008.jpg
SEE-Team_Leader.jpg
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> I S.E.E. YOU! <<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


#11 Nazgûl

Nazgûl

    S.E.E. Team Leader

  • Hosted
  • 10,574 posts
  • Location:Sweden
  • Projects:BFME2 - Nazgûl's Special Extended Edition
  •  Veteran

Posted 02 January 2016 - 04:21 PM

...but now, I have to  :flameblast: My lappie is sooo slow now that I can hardy use it, at all. zBrush runs fine (oddly enough) and I can juggle models with 5 million polygons with ease... But Internet browsers are running like a tortoise in mud, and just opening folders, programs and closing programs causes the whole system to freeze or hang just about all the time. Took me about 45 sec to just open Paint for a screenshot, etc. So, I might be gone or a few days now, when backup up and reinstalling everything. Will update my Norton Internet Security as well as I suspect an infection  :flame:


// C}{riZpc_punch.gif
"Do not come between the Nazgûl and his mod!"
SEE_Banner_2008.jpg
SEE-Team_Leader.jpg
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> I S.E.E. YOU! <<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


#12 Lauri

Lauri

    Let us remember foREVer

  • Hosted
  • 10,419 posts
  • Location:Norway
  • Projects:'The 4th Age' and 'Shadow and Flame'
  •  The very worst T3A Team Chamber Member

Posted 02 January 2016 - 04:36 PM

Probably every other year. Mostly a habit of old ("omg, your computer will be so much faster after you do"), but it's nice to start clean every once in a while.


Shadow and Flame BETA 0.6 RELEASED - Link


#13 MattTheLegoman

MattTheLegoman

    LEGO Knight of Minas Ithil

  • T3A Staff
  • 3,635 posts
  • Location:Tomorrow, when the War began
  • Projects:Mapping this Middle-earth
  •  Mapper
  • Division:BFME
  • Job:T3A Staff

Posted 02 January 2016 - 04:36 PM

Remember to backup everything! Backup Backup Backup!


Remember that all worlds draw to an end and that noble death is a treasure which no one is too poor to buy. - C.S. Lewis

There will come a time when you believe everything is finished. That will be the beginning. - Louis L'Amour

What will matter then will be people. If relationships will matter most then, shouldn't they matter most now? - Max Lucado


#14 Kwen

Kwen

    Vileartist

  • T3A Staff
  • 4,837 posts
  • Location:Korea I wish
  • Projects:It'sa secreeet
  •  T3A's First N00b
  • Division:BFME
  • Job:T3A Expert
  • Donated

Posted 02 January 2016 - 05:36 PM

Nah, I enjoy that gut wrenching feeling when you realize you vaporized some critically important files that you can never return! It's like a bad plot twist in a sub-par drama film. Wonderful experience.

                           https://www.twitch.tv/vileartist - Yes shameless self-promotion

          ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

                            "Old modders never die, they just fade away" ~ Hostile


#15 Plokite_Wolf

Plokite_Wolf

    File hoarder

  • Members
  • 2,294 posts
  • Location:Split, Croatia
  •  Parce mihi, Domine, quia Dalmata sum.

Posted 02 January 2016 - 06:06 PM

Will update my Norton Internet Security as well as I suspect an infection  :flame:

Norton IS the infection :p

Administrator of CNCNZ.com and EVA Database, the C&C Wiki

You are also welcome to make use of my archives of official files:

C&C File Archive | BFME File Archive | Dune File Archive


#16 Nazgûl

Nazgûl

    S.E.E. Team Leader

  • Hosted
  • 10,574 posts
  • Location:Sweden
  • Projects:BFME2 - Nazgûl's Special Extended Edition
  •  Veteran

Posted 02 January 2016 - 08:43 PM

Well, gotta have some kind of protection and unlike older Nortons I never had any issues with this verson (2010).

While backing up now, it just keeps getting worse... After opening a few folders, everything just freeze... lol.

// C}{riZpc_punch.gif
"Do not come between the Nazgûl and his mod!"
SEE_Banner_2008.jpg
SEE-Team_Leader.jpg
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> I S.E.E. YOU! <<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


#17 Plokite_Wolf

Plokite_Wolf

    File hoarder

  • Members
  • 2,294 posts
  • Location:Split, Croatia
  •  Parce mihi, Domine, quia Dalmata sum.

Posted 02 January 2016 - 08:45 PM

Apart from false positives, Symantec products also eat up a lot of resources, so there's your answer :p

Administrator of CNCNZ.com and EVA Database, the C&C Wiki

You are also welcome to make use of my archives of official files:

C&C File Archive | BFME File Archive | Dune File Archive


#18 Irenë Hawnetyne

Irenë Hawnetyne

    -

  • Hosted
  • 3,073 posts

Posted 02 January 2016 - 08:48 PM

zBrush runs fine (oddly enough) and I can juggle models with 5 million polygons with ease

 

 

Yeah, Max eats up RAM like anything, but zBrush is ridiculously efficient.
Also, how do you guys get viruses? I've not got any for years, and I've got no antivirus software and Microsoft's active-scan is off most of the time.


"Everyone's a hero when there's nowhere left to run."

 

Auxiliary Skarn, 2333rd Cohort


#19 Mathijs

Mathijs

    Post-modern Shaman

  • Network Leaders
  • 13,688 posts
  • Projects:Age of the Ring
  • Division:Revora
  • Job:Leader

Posted 02 January 2016 - 10:06 PM

They get viruses because they've got bad porn habits. Obviously.


No fuel left for the pilgrims


#20 Nazgûl

Nazgûl

    S.E.E. Team Leader

  • Hosted
  • 10,574 posts
  • Location:Sweden
  • Projects:BFME2 - Nazgûl's Special Extended Edition
  •  Veteran

Posted 03 January 2016 - 12:35 AM

Obviously.

// C}{riZpc_punch.gif
"Do not come between the Nazgûl and his mod!"
SEE_Banner_2008.jpg
SEE-Team_Leader.jpg
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> I S.E.E. YOU! <<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users