Jump to content


Photo

ERROR: Could not launch contra,


  • Please log in to reply
18 replies to this topic

#1 Myk121672

Myk121672
  • Members
  • 5 posts

Posted 01 August 2016 - 09:20 AM

Every time I tried to launched contra 009 this message will pop out



#2 Plokite_Wolf

Plokite_Wolf

    File hoarder

  • Members
  • 2,294 posts
  • Location:Split, Croatia
  •  Parce mihi, Domine, quia Dalmata sum.

Posted 01 August 2016 - 10:51 AM

1) Are you trying to launch Contra to play on C&C:Online or are you having trouble running it at all?

2) Which version of Zero Hour do you have: the CDs from 2003, The First Decade or The Ultimate Collection?


Administrator of CNCNZ.com and EVA Database, the C&C Wiki

You are also welcome to make use of my archives of official files:

C&C File Archive | BFME File Archive | Dune File Archive


#3 Myk121672

Myk121672
  • Members
  • 5 posts

Posted 01 August 2016 - 10:57 AM

Yes bro, I have the first decade



#4 Myk121672

Myk121672
  • Members
  • 5 posts

Posted 01 August 2016 - 11:00 AM

having trouble running it

It could not launch



#5 Plokite_Wolf

Plokite_Wolf

    File hoarder

  • Members
  • 2,294 posts
  • Location:Split, Croatia
  •  Parce mihi, Domine, quia Dalmata sum.

Posted 01 August 2016 - 12:10 PM

Moved to appropriate forum.

 

Tried running it as administrator?


Administrator of CNCNZ.com and EVA Database, the C&C Wiki

You are also welcome to make use of my archives of official files:

C&C File Archive | BFME File Archive | Dune File Archive


#6 predator_bg

predator_bg

    The predator

  • Project Team
  • 2,417 posts
  • Location:Bulgaria
  • Projects:Contra

Posted 01 August 2016 - 05:20 PM

Please, do not make more than one thread. Did you run as administrator as Plokite_Wolf suggested?



#7 K019

K019
  • Members
  • 7 posts

Posted 21 October 2016 - 07:55 PM

hope this doesn't get lost, but Im having the same issue. I've run as admin tried compatibility mode.  Every time I try to launch it just says "Error could not launch Contra"



#8 predator_bg

predator_bg

    The predator

  • Project Team
  • 2,417 posts
  • Location:Bulgaria
  • Projects:Contra

Posted 22 October 2016 - 05:47 AM

hope this doesn't get lost, but Im having the same issue. I've run as admin tried compatibility mode.  Every time I try to launch it just says "Error could not launch Contra"

Sorry for the inconvenience. I'll just copy/paste my recent post from ModDB.

 

There is a malfunction in the launcher in 009 Beta caused by Install_Final files. You must have two files named "Install_Final.bmp" and "Install_Final_Contra.bmp". One person reported having "Install_Final_ZH.bmp" which was the one with a different name preventing the launcher from loading the mod. Check it. If you can't get the launcher to work, you will have to follow these instructions:
 
1. Put all files from Contra009Beta into your Zero Hour folder (NOT the one in My Documents).
2. Rename !Contra009Beta.ctr to !Contra009Beta.big.
3. Rename !Contra009BetaEN.ctr to !Contra009BetaEN.big OR rename !Contra009BetaRU.ctr to !Contra009BetaRU.big if you want Russian language.
4. Rename !Contra009BetaVOrig.ctr to !Contra009BetaVOrig.big OR rename !Contra009BetaVLoc.ctr to !Contra009BetaVLoc.big if you want English unit voices.
5. Rename !Contra009BetaMNew.ctr to !Contra009BetaMNew.big OR rename !Contra009BetaMStandard.ctr to !Contra009BetaMStandard.big if you want vanilla soundtracks.
6. Rename Scripts folder to Scripts1 (which is located inside Data folder).
7. Start the game from generals.exe (NOT Contra Launcher.exe)!


#9 K019

K019
  • Members
  • 7 posts

Posted 22 October 2016 - 08:01 AM

 

hope this doesn't get lost, but Im having the same issue. I've run as admin tried compatibility mode.  Every time I try to launch it just says "Error could not launch Contra"

Sorry for the inconvenience. I'll just copy/paste my recent post from ModDB.

 

There is a malfunction in the launcher in 009 Beta caused by Install_Final files. You must have two files named "Install_Final.bmp" and "Install_Final_Contra.bmp". One person reported having "Install_Final_ZH.bmp" which was the one with a different name preventing the launcher from loading the mod. Check it. If you can't get the launcher to work, you will have to follow these instructions:
 
1. Put all files from Contra009Beta into your Zero Hour folder (NOT the one in My Documents).
2. Rename !Contra009Beta.ctr to !Contra009Beta.big.
3. Rename !Contra009BetaEN.ctr to !Contra009BetaEN.big OR rename !Contra009BetaRU.ctr to !Contra009BetaRU.big if you want Russian language.
4. Rename !Contra009BetaVOrig.ctr to !Contra009BetaVOrig.big OR rename !Contra009BetaVLoc.ctr to !Contra009BetaVLoc.big if you want English unit voices.
5. Rename !Contra009BetaMNew.ctr to !Contra009BetaMNew.big OR rename !Contra009BetaMStandard.ctr to !Contra009BetaMStandard.big if you want vanilla soundtracks.
6. Rename Scripts folder to Scripts1 (which is located inside Data folder).
7. Start the game from generals.exe (NOT Contra Launcher.exe)!

 

Yeah I saw that on the moddb page and tried it to no effect, when I boot up generals regularly it's just the same game. I am using the origin Ultimate edition so I'm sure thats not helping. 



#10 predator_bg

predator_bg

    The predator

  • Project Team
  • 2,417 posts
  • Location:Bulgaria
  • Projects:Contra

Posted 22 October 2016 - 02:50 PM

Did the manual install instructions help?



#11 K019

K019
  • Members
  • 7 posts

Posted 22 October 2016 - 04:51 PM

Did the manual install instructions help?

I seem to only have "Install_Final_Contra" in the the directory 



#12 predator_bg

predator_bg

    The predator

  • Project Team
  • 2,417 posts
  • Location:Bulgaria
  • Projects:Contra

Posted 22 October 2016 - 05:47 PM

 

Did the manual install instructions help?

I seem to only have "Install_Final_Contra" in the the directory 

 

Oh, that is a problem. Make a copy of "Install_Final_Contra" and give it this name: "Install_Final". You must have these two in your ZH folder. I did not take that into account when making the launcher and in some/all cases these "Install_Finals" prevent the launcher from starting Contra.



#13 K019

K019
  • Members
  • 7 posts

Posted 26 October 2016 - 08:01 AM

 

 

Did the manual install instructions help?

I seem to only have "Install_Final_Contra" in the the directory 

 

Oh, that is a problem. Make a copy of "Install_Final_Contra" and give it this name: "Install_Final". You must have these two in your ZH folder. I did not take that into account when making the launcher and in some/all cases these "Install_Finals" prevent the launcher from starting Contra.

 

Well, Im a bit closer, but still cant play it. when I boot up Zero hour I see the screen for contra mod come up then about 3 seconds later it boots up to Vanilla zero hour,



#14 predator_bg

predator_bg

    The predator

  • Project Team
  • 2,417 posts
  • Location:Bulgaria
  • Projects:Contra

Posted 28 October 2016 - 12:54 PM

You probably have the game on Origin. Download and install these fixed launchers: http://bibber.eu/dow...tion-launchers/



#15 K019

K019
  • Members
  • 7 posts

Posted 29 October 2016 - 10:49 PM

You probably have the game on Origin. Download and install these fixed launchers: http://bibber.eu/dow...tion-launchers/

nah I did that right off the bat,



#16 predator_bg

predator_bg

    The predator

  • Project Team
  • 2,417 posts
  • Location:Bulgaria
  • Projects:Contra

Posted 30 October 2016 - 07:47 AM

 

You probably have the game on Origin. Download and install these fixed launchers: http://bibber.eu/dow...tion-launchers/

nah I did that right off the bat,

 

Did you run the game from generals.exe after manual installation?



#17 K019

K019
  • Members
  • 7 posts

Posted 30 October 2016 - 12:42 PM

 

 

You probably have the game on Origin. Download and install these fixed launchers: http://bibber.eu/dow...tion-launchers/

nah I did that right off the bat,

 

Did you run the game from generals.exe after manual installation?

 

Yeah when I do that It will show a small window that Shows the contra mod, then boots up the vanilla game. 



#18 predator_bg

predator_bg

    The predator

  • Project Team
  • 2,417 posts
  • Location:Bulgaria
  • Projects:Contra

Posted 30 October 2016 - 01:06 PM

Can you attach a screenshot of your ZH folder here?



#19 K019

K019
  • Members
  • 7 posts

Posted 31 October 2016 - 12:46 AM

Can you attach a screenshot of your ZH folder here?

Hey I finaly got it. I Ended up doing a full uninstall and reinstall of everything.  Thanks so much for your help, I really appreciate it. 






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users