Jump to content


Photo

Gondor Bugs and Suggestions


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 Rider of Rohan

Rider of Rohan

    The Lazy Modder

  • Division Admins
  • 1,548 posts
  • Location:The Caribbean
  • Projects:Age of the Ring and the HD Editions
  •  Mathijs' Bug fix expert
  • Division:BFME
  • Job:T3A:Online Admin

Posted 05 September 2016 - 04:23 PM

A topic for the discussion of bugs and suggestions for the Gondor faction.


99dxc486ltde132zg.jpgh5je9noaofg3o26zg.jpg

No parent should have to bury their child - King Theoden


#2 tomasz_exe

tomasz_exe
  • Members
  • 18 posts
  • Location:Tir ná Lia
  • Projects:Taking over Aen Seidhe

Posted 09 September 2016 - 11:11 AM

so how about the return of the stonework? (or whatever it is called, you probably know what I am talking about)
 
the stonework would buff the walls up instead of the fortress with of course the upgrades:
Númenor Stonework
Reinforced Gates
And Flaming Munitions
And it would be another great building to have soldiers/archers patrolling or even “workers” who in the best case scenario would help repair buildings.
 
It’s just an idea so yea…
Also: unit production buildings don’t get experience from training unit’s? Is this a bug or a gameplay feature? 

"Go on. Show me your spins, pirouettes and feints. I want to watch."

The-_Witcher-32.png

"Ess'tedd, Esse Creasa."


#3 Mathijs

Mathijs

    You ever heard the story about the scorpion and the frog?

  • Division Leaders
  • 13,425 posts
  • Division:BFME
  • Job:Leader

Posted 09 September 2016 - 12:57 PM

 

so how about the return of the stonework? (or whatever it is called, you probably know what I am talking about)
 
the stonework would buff the walls up instead of the fortress with of course the upgrades:
Númenor Stonework
Reinforced Gates
And Flaming Munitions
And it would be another great building to have soldiers/archers patrolling or even “workers” who in the best case scenario would help repair buildings.
 
It’s just an idea so yea…
Also: unit production buildings don’t get experience from training unit’s? Is this a bug or a gameplay feature? 

 

I love this.


“The special quality of hell is to see everything clearly down to the last detail.” ~ Yukio Mishima, The Temple of the Golden Pavilion
 


#4 Pasidon

Pasidon

    Splitting Hares

  • Network Admins
  • 8,662 posts
  • Location:Da Moon
  • Projects:YouTube
  •  Actual Celebrity
  • Division:Community
  • Job:Community Admin

Posted 09 September 2016 - 01:27 PM

You can even add in Ivory Towers.  I think EA originally turned away from in-depth fortress upgrades since games rarely lasted long enough to reach the point of needing hefty static defenses.  The GondorStoneMaker model has a nice animation and everything, and there are even a few unused components that are associated with fortress upgrades like individual workers and scaffolding components. Not sure if some of the workers are animated, though.


YT_Sig.jpgoutput_Fkd6it.gifFB_Sig.jpg


#5 Rider of Rohan

Rider of Rohan

    The Lazy Modder

  • Division Admins
  • 1,548 posts
  • Location:The Caribbean
  • Projects:Age of the Ring and the HD Editions
  •  Mathijs' Bug fix expert
  • Division:BFME
  • Job:T3A:Online Admin

Posted 09 September 2016 - 06:53 PM

 

so how about the return of the stonework? (or whatever it is called, you probably know what I am talking about)
 
the stonework would buff the walls up instead of the fortress with of course the upgrades:
• Númenor Stonework
• Reinforced Gates
• And Flaming Munitions
And it would be another great building to have soldiers/archers patrolling or even “workers” who in the best case scenario would help repair buildings.
 
It’s just an idea so yea…
Also: unit production buildings don’t get experience from training unit’s? Is this a bug or a gameplay feature? 

 

Well the Fortress replaces the functionality of the Stonework in BFME 2, Numenor Stonework affects the Fortress and Buildbale Walls close to it. Flaming Munitions the same thing. If I do implement the Stoneworker it would probably be to preform passive healing on structures nearby (since the roaming workers would just roam and not actually work). Also yes that's intentional in vanilla you have to upgrade the structure to get it to upgrade. 


99dxc486ltde132zg.jpgh5je9noaofg3o26zg.jpg

No parent should have to bury their child - King Theoden


#6 MattTheLegoman

MattTheLegoman

    LEGO Knight of Minas Ithil

  • T3A Staff
  • 3,313 posts
  • Location:Tomorrow, when the War began
  • Projects:Mapping this Middle-earth
  •  Mapper
  • Division:BFME
  • Job:T3A Staff

Posted 09 September 2016 - 11:09 PM

If they could actually work then you could set up powers within the Stoneworker to send out firemen, masons, woodworkers, and high masons.

 

The firemen would repair fire damage only, the mason would repair regular stonework, the woodworks could only repair structures partially, and the high masons where required to fix the Numenor stonework.

 

A little bit inspired by Anno 1404.


Remember that all worlds draw to an end and that noble death is a treasure which no one is too poor to buy. - C.S. Lewis

There will come a time when you believe everything is finished. That will be the beginning. - Louis L'Amour

What will matter then will be people. If relationships will matter most then, shouldn't they matter most now? - Max Lucado


#7 tomasz_exe

tomasz_exe
  • Members
  • 18 posts
  • Location:Tir ná Lia
  • Projects:Taking over Aen Seidhe

Posted 18 September 2016 - 10:52 AM

so this is more a suggestion to all factions, but hey why not am I right?

 

I would love it combing units from bfme I could come back in this mod.
and if it is possible also multipole formations for the same it's like for example:
Gondor soldiers (=) + Gondor Archers (+)

+++++++            +++++                 +++++         =+++++++=

+++++++          =+++++=               =====         ==+++++==

=======          =+++++=               +++++           ==+++==

=======          =======               =====             =====

I know that the unit count doesn't match with the unit count in the game but it is a concept.

 

reason I am asking is because I was always a great fan of the towerguard/knights combination in bfme I.

I understand it if it is not possible or doesn't fit the mod but still what do you guys think about it.

"Go on. Show me your spins, pirouettes and feints. I want to watch."

The-_Witcher-32.png

"Ess'tedd, Esse Creasa."


#8 Rider of Rohan

Rider of Rohan

    The Lazy Modder

  • Division Admins
  • 1,548 posts
  • Location:The Caribbean
  • Projects:Age of the Ring and the HD Editions
  •  Mathijs' Bug fix expert
  • Division:BFME
  • Job:T3A:Online Admin

Posted 18 September 2016 - 05:46 PM

Combo Hordes should be possible, but I haven't tested it out for drawbacks as yet, multiple formations I'm not sure is possible, maybe just one would be possible for combo hordes. But it's something I'll think about.


99dxc486ltde132zg.jpgh5je9noaofg3o26zg.jpg

No parent should have to bury their child - King Theoden


#9 tomasz_exe

tomasz_exe
  • Members
  • 18 posts
  • Location:Tir ná Lia
  • Projects:Taking over Aen Seidhe

Posted 26 September 2016 - 03:32 PM

return of the Stoneworks take: 2,

yes I am actually doing this again, I know.

 

how about a Stonework that research/gives small wall upgrades?

For example:

·         ground research - improves the wall building range from the fortress by 10% (or something like that)

·         more efficient wall building - the price of walls is reduces by 5% and the building time also reduced by 5%

·         Númenor fixes - repair a wall (or maybe even a couple of walls) or building. but slowly like how you would repair your gate in bfme 1, you cannot use the building during the repair and the price is increased by how much damage or how big the building is. once the stonework is gone the building will stop repairing itself

·         improved tower defensives - all wall hubs get (or through a upgrade) an arrow tower build in them.

well build - all buildings around (and close) to the Stonework get a armor buff, it doesn't stack up and once the stonework is gone so is also the buff

 

once again just a idea...


"Go on. Show me your spins, pirouettes and feints. I want to watch."

The-_Witcher-32.png

"Ess'tedd, Esse Creasa."


#10 tomasz_exe

tomasz_exe
  • Members
  • 18 posts
  • Location:Tir ná Lia
  • Projects:Taking over Aen Seidhe

Posted 12 December 2016 - 05:04 PM

i91EkEl.jpg

 

6F7XTvE.png

 

well this bug came out of nowhere,

maybe he has a bad face day?


Edited by tomasz_exe, 12 December 2016 - 05:07 PM.

"Go on. Show me your spins, pirouettes and feints. I want to watch."

The-_Witcher-32.png

"Ess'tedd, Esse Creasa."


#11 Rider of Rohan

Rider of Rohan

    The Lazy Modder

  • Division Admins
  • 1,548 posts
  • Location:The Caribbean
  • Projects:Age of the Ring and the HD Editions
  •  Mathijs' Bug fix expert
  • Division:BFME
  • Job:T3A:Online Admin

Posted 12 December 2016 - 10:30 PM

Something I'll look into later, thanks!


99dxc486ltde132zg.jpgh5je9noaofg3o26zg.jpg

No parent should have to bury their child - King Theoden





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users