Jump to content


Photo

New caras/face images


  • Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 SirRH

SirRH

    title available

  • Members
  • 603 posts
  • Location:Uranus

Posted 06 September 2016 - 04:24 PM

After playing a bit of the xbox version of Commandos 2, it has a few things that aren't in pc version, like proper faces for allies/people you rescue such as the captain, sailors, Guinness, spiritual leader etc. I have managed to port over the one for ryan/smith into the PC version. I noticed they all seem to use the same (or similar) texture layout as the sniper. They are also higher res (256x256) in xbox version, so had to resize to 128x128 to work in PC version.

 

Here is ryans face texture on the sniper:
32484ce8352e836aad169db1c204373f.png

Here I uploaded all the .abi files from the xbox version after extracting the DVD:

http://www.mediafire...x abi files.zip

Here is the file to have ryan/smiths face replace sniper (put in Commandos 2 Directory\DATA\ANIMS\ABI)
http://www.mediafire...ANCOTIRADOR.ABI

 


Edited by robb, 06 September 2016 - 04:27 PM.


#2 MB-2000

MB-2000
  • Members
  • 79 posts
  • Location:Morocco

Posted 06 September 2016 - 07:25 PM

I think one Sniper-Edited model will fit all the Xbox allied soldiers face texture.



#3 extrano1955

extrano1955

    title available

  • Members
  • 634 posts
  • Location:Spain

Posted 06 September 2016 - 09:41 PM

Very interesting, I wonder If we also can export the ps2 tutorials maps



#4 SirRH

SirRH

    title available

  • Members
  • 603 posts
  • Location:Uranus

Posted 07 September 2016 - 01:35 AM

Very interesting, I wonder If we also can export the ps2 tutorials maps

They are in xbox version also, and I just tried. All the mission script files like the .mis/.bas etc are in same format as PC version and can be decoded like PC version with DeBsmb, and even the MA2 files seem to be the same. But the Y64 doesn't work in PC, and gives an error when try extract with Imageconverter, only the description .ini will extract. I also tried downloading iso of PS2 version, and this gave exactly same problem.

Though some of the tutorial levels are just .MBI so these ones may work.

Edit:

It seems some do work, though I can't get sectors to work properly because they are in some other format (.psc)

There are just 2 that use the regular .sec format. Here I managed to get those working, changing a few things in the .mis:


3b919ef4af5c786f7e1ddbe41a14189a.png

c452e1e523644c41d43b08a67e145b83.png


Edited by robb, 07 September 2016 - 02:47 AM.


#5 JONUCI

JONUCI
  • Members
  • 50 posts

Posted 07 September 2016 - 07:29 AM

Good work! :mellowthumbsup:



#6 herbert3000

herbert3000

    Guilty Until Proven Innocent

  • Division Admins
  • 540 posts
  • Location:Austria
  • Division:Commandos HQ
  • Job:Division Admin

Posted 08 September 2016 - 02:19 AM

You can easily convert a .PSC file into a regular .SEC file by simply deleting 32 bytes :)

Just open the file with a hex editor and cut those bytes:

sec.png

 

Please note that .PSC files could contain multiple .SEC files (e.g. PA.PSC) but I'm pretty sure that the ones from the tutorials only contain a single .SEC.

 

Actually all .Pxx files (PA2, PAB, PAN, PWA, PGR) are containers for regular Commandos files (AN2, ABI, ANI, WAV, GRL).



#7 SirRH

SirRH

    title available

  • Members
  • 603 posts
  • Location:Uranus

Posted 08 September 2016 - 11:47 AM

You can easily convert a .PSC file into a regular .SEC file by simply deleting 32 bytes :)

Just open the file with a hex editor and cut those bytes:

attachicon.gifsec.png

 

Please note that .PSC files could contain multiple .SEC files (e.g. PA.PSC) but I'm pretty sure that the ones from the tutorials only contain a single .SEC.

 

Actually all .Pxx files (PA2, PAB, PAN, PWA, PGR) are containers for regular Commandos files (AN2, ABI, ANI, WAV, GRL).

Ok i tried this, but still when change to .sec using this method it still doesn't work unfortunately, well at least with TC02 which was the one I was trying.

 

Also seems the xbox version is more similar to pc in file types than the ps2 version.

Edit: Tried with another, this time TC_B and it worked, thanks for this.

60ffeac97dd22b235fc6cdf991ac783c.png

 

Another strange thing i found is some unused .mis files (in both the xbox and ps2 versions). I tried loading the one called SB_SITUACIONES.MIS into the PC version, and it seems to be some version of the map that matches some of the beta screenshots of C2. Theres also a few more, VEH.mis in RY folder, PT_SITUACIONES.MIS in PT folder, and CZ_SITUACIONES.MIS in CZ folder. All these can work in PC with a slight edit of .mis other than the CZ_SITUACIONES because it gives an error when I try to decode. Here is screenshot of the SB_SITUACIONES.MIS loaded in PC version.

 

7bdc712d2cde14c9b9c9dd474f3777df.jpg


Edited by robb, 08 September 2016 - 04:13 PM.


#8 SirRH

SirRH

    title available

  • Members
  • 603 posts
  • Location:Uranus

Posted 08 September 2016 - 04:25 PM

If anyone else wants to try this.

Download xbox iso:

http://www.theisozon...of-courage-usa/

 

To extract xbox iso need to use program called Extract-XISO:

http://www.theisozon...s/extract-xiso/

Or alternatively ps2 iso (can extract with just winrar):

http://www.emuparadi...ge_(USA)/150415

 

 

 

To put console version .mis files in pc. Make sure decode all files with DeBsmb. And in the .mis file, change these lines:

 

fb00e9816491a356392d5f088e26658f.png to a2c5b12d51358e17dc735b34705b5ef2.png

Also need to change the MOCHILA for each commando to PC Default if want them to be selectable.

Though missions that use the extra caras wont work.


Edited by robb, 08 September 2016 - 04:26 PM.


#9 extrano1955

extrano1955

    title available

  • Members
  • 634 posts
  • Location:Spain

Posted 08 September 2016 - 06:32 PM

Very good, we could use some tutorial maps in future



#10 johremor

johremor
  • Members
  • 47 posts
  • Location:Netherlands

Posted 11 September 2016 - 03:54 PM

Oh god i had ps2 version i remember not being able to pass first training mission because the controls were so complicated


I like cheese


#11 SirRH

SirRH

    title available

  • Members
  • 603 posts
  • Location:Uranus

Posted 11 September 2016 - 05:16 PM

Oh god i had ps2 version i remember not being able to pass first training mission because the controls were so complicated

That's why it had 6 billion tutorials



#12 extrano1955

extrano1955

    title available

  • Members
  • 634 posts
  • Location:Spain

Posted 11 September 2016 - 11:13 PM

 

Oh god i had ps2 version i remember not being able to pass first training mission because the controls were so complicated

That's why it had 6 billion tutorials

 

Yes, but annoying to play because loading and ugly faces



#13 Salvadorc17

Salvadorc17

    title available

  • Members
  • 507 posts
  • Location:Colombia
  • Projects:Destination Norway

Posted 12 September 2016 - 08:15 PM

Interesting finding, weird to see it working..



#14 SirRH

SirRH

    title available

  • Members
  • 603 posts
  • Location:Uranus

Posted 02 October 2016 - 04:35 PM

Tried converting commandos 3 faces to commandos 2, it works but they always wear gas mask and isn't aligned too well with interface, and i dont know how to change abi code to change this because it's crypted

 

08c430987dbec1360339112f87e9b3a3.png


Edited by robb, 02 October 2016 - 04:37 PM.


#15 MB-2000

MB-2000
  • Members
  • 79 posts
  • Location:Morocco

Posted 09 October 2016 - 05:04 PM

For the "It isn't aligned too well with interface", You can fix that easily in INTERFAZ.MSB, and that's by changing the face size and and also the coordinates.

For the other problem, I think you can find the solution by editing the ANI file and deactivate something, or editing the ABI file by deleting the gaz mask entirely by a 3D model editor.



#16 extrano1955

extrano1955

    title available

  • Members
  • 634 posts
  • Location:Spain

Posted 19 November 2021 - 10:09 PM

Im interesting in import all comm3 faces in c2 properly. I donĀ“t have knoweldge, anyone can do it? Even we can do some hurt state. 






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users