Jump to content


Photo

Noisy mother nature option


  • Please log in to reply
18 replies to this topic

#1 SirRH

SirRH

    title available

  • Members
  • 586 posts
  • Location:Uranus

Posted 14 December 2016 - 05:50 PM

Was wondering if the ambiance sounds from this game was always broken or if theres any way to fix them? Even with noisy mother nature enabled the game is still silent. I'm not sure if it's just a bug in new pc where they don't play (can't remember if they played in my older pc or not). There are some bird, desert, wind etc sounds in the game files so I am not sure, only in BCD, and even the BEL demo they work. 


Edited by robb, 14 December 2016 - 05:52 PM.


#2 Jeroen

Jeroen
  • Members
  • 203 posts
  • Location:Noord-Brabant
  • Projects:Commandos BEL är bara smörja.

Posted 14 December 2016 - 09:41 PM

No, not AFAIK, that code must have been disabled in the release. And yes it did indeed work in de BEL demo. Bird sounds are in BCD but desert and wind?



#3 SirRH

SirRH

    title available

  • Members
  • 586 posts
  • Location:Uranus

Posted 14 December 2016 - 11:00 PM

Yes your right, they are removed in the .mis file thats why. Just tested by copying demo .mis to full game and they work. So would need to enable it in all the .mis files to work.



#4 Jeroen

Jeroen
  • Members
  • 203 posts
  • Location:Noord-Brabant
  • Projects:Commandos BEL är bara smörja.

Posted 25 December 2016 - 05:32 PM

Even with noisy mother nature enabled the game is still silent.

 

We're talking Backlash aren't we? So if you would add something (what?) to the .mis file of a mission the Game Preferences menu would get the "noisy mother..." option back?

(FYI my retail copy does not have the "noisy" menu item)



#5 SirRH

SirRH

    title available

  • Members
  • 586 posts
  • Location:Uranus

Posted 25 December 2016 - 06:37 PM

 

Even with noisy mother nature enabled the game is still silent.

 

We're talking Backlash aren't we? So if you would add something (what?) to the .mis file of a mission the Game Preferences menu would get the "noisy mother..." option back?

(FYI my retail copy does not have the "noisy" menu item)

 

Nah i did on retail but mine has the option, maybe they removed it in a later patch or something. However i'm not sure what needs to be added to enable this because the .mis files of demo are crypted unlike final game (only know how to decrypt c2 files)


Edited by robb, 25 December 2016 - 07:01 PM.


#6 stankan

stankan
  • Members
  • 105 posts
  • Location:Italy

Posted 13 February 2017 - 07:29 PM

We must find a way to decrypt that file. This is the way to put music in the Commandos BEL missions.



#7 SirRH

SirRH

    title available

  • Members
  • 586 posts
  • Location:Uranus

Posted 13 February 2017 - 10:04 PM

We must find a way to decrypt that file. This is the way to put music in the Commandos BEL missions.

Maybe you could see how ambient sounds are done in BCD, and see if the same code works in BEL



#8 Salvadorc17

Salvadorc17

    title available

  • Members
  • 498 posts
  • Location:Colombia
  • Projects:Destination Norway

Posted 14 February 2017 - 12:46 AM

Yes, those lines have just been removed, but still does work.

 

.AMBIENTE [
      [ .SOUNDID WIND .POS [ 467 647 0 ] .VOLUMEN 0.15 ]
      ]



#9 stankan

stankan
  • Members
  • 105 posts
  • Location:Italy

Posted 14 February 2017 - 09:05 AM

Yes, those lines have just been removed, but still does work.

 

.AMBIENTE [
      [ .SOUNDID WIND .POS [ 467 647 0 ] .VOLUMEN 0.15 ]
      ]

 

I'm sorry, I tried it but that code does not work. The working code is contained in the demo encrypted files.



#10 herbert3000

herbert3000

    Guilty Until Proven Innocent

  • Division Admins
  • 513 posts
  • Location:Austria
  • Division:Commandos HQ
  • Job:Division Admin

Posted 14 February 2017 - 11:44 AM

Yes, those lines have just been removed, but still does work.

 

.AMBIENTE [
      [ .SOUNDID WIND .POS [ 467 647 0 ] .VOLUMEN 0.15 ]
      ]

I can confirm that!

Copy the lines into the .INTENDENCIAINFO [ ] block and you will hear the wind near the radio station.



#11 stankan

stankan
  • Members
  • 105 posts
  • Location:Italy

Posted 14 February 2017 - 12:34 PM

Thanks Herbert! It is wonderful news!

 

Update: I wanted to use this feature to put music in Commandos BEL missions. Unfortunately the only audio format recognized by the game is Wave 8bit Mono 11.025 Hz with interruption at the end of the file. Herbert, or someone else, do you know another way to put music? Maybe we can loop the sound at the beginning of the mission (TENS0X.wav files) but we can't hear the commandos voices.

 

If you want try, download this archive that put music in first mission of Commandos BEL. Music starts after one minute, I don't know why.


Edited by stankan, 14 February 2017 - 03:25 PM.


#12 Zakxaev68

Zakxaev68

    Stalking in the shadows

  • Members
  • 149 posts
  • Location:Bulgaria

Posted 15 February 2017 - 02:45 PM

Wondered all my life why BEL never played any tempting music in it...  robb gave me the answer :D



#13 KeshaFilm

KeshaFilm
  • Members
  • 17 posts
  • Location:Russia

Posted 22 April 2017 - 09:05 AM

 

Yes, those lines have just been removed, but still does work.

 

.AMBIENTE [
      [ .SOUNDID WIND .POS [ 467 647 0 ] .VOLUMEN 0.15 ]
      ]

I can confirm that!

Copy the lines into the .INTENDENCIAINFO [ ] block and you will hear the wind near the radio station.

 

Yeah, it works. Buuut...

"SOUNDID WIND"

It can be read as Sound ID. So I'm interested, is there any other ID's for other sounds like birds and etc.?

Because, looks like, there's no any way to put the single WAV file from SONIDO folder for ambient sound.



#14 Salvadorc17

Salvadorc17

    title available

  • Members
  • 498 posts
  • Location:Colombia
  • Projects:Destination Norway

Posted 22 April 2017 - 07:37 PM

Will need to check exe to find more sounds ids.



#15 KeshaFilm

KeshaFilm
  • Members
  • 17 posts
  • Location:Russia

Posted 22 April 2017 - 08:29 PM

Will need to check exe to find more sounds ids.

Checked throught HEX - no luck.



#16 herbert3000

herbert3000

    Guilty Until Proven Innocent

  • Division Admins
  • 513 posts
  • Location:Austria
  • Division:Commandos HQ
  • Job:Division Admin

Posted 23 April 2017 - 05:34 PM

Here's a list of all SOUND IDs and the corresponding WAV files used in BEL:
PRES	AGUAPRES.WAV
ALTO	ALTO.WAV
ATAK	ALTO.WAV
MET1	AMETRALL.WAV
APEL	APAGELEC.WAV
AUG2	AUTOGIRO.WAV
AVIO	AVION.WAV
SBAR	BARRIL.WAV
CLBA	BOCIBARC.WAV
CLXN	BOCINA.WAV
CLTR	BOCITREN.WAV
BUCE	BUZO.WAV
CAMN	CAMION.WAV
CAFU	CARGAFUSI.WAV
CHOR	CHORRO.WAV
CUCH	CUCHI.WAV
XCA1	DERRUMBE.WAV
DETE	DETENIDO.WAV
DIS1	DISPARO1.WAV
ELSH	ELECSHOK.WAV
ELEC	ELECTRO.WAV
ESCL	ESCLUSA.WAV
CBAR	ESFUERZO.WAV
ESPI	ESPIA.WAV
TNKS	EXPLOSI.WAV
XGRA	EXPLOSI.WAV
XPLO	EXPLOSI.WAV
MIRI	FRANCO.WAV
FTRN	FRENADA.WAV
FUSL	FUSIL.WAV
GRIL	GRILLOS.WAV
HANG	HANGAR.WAV
HERI	HERIDO.WAV
LADR	LADRIDO.WAV
YAMA	LLAMAS.WAV
MXPL	MEGAEXPL.WAV
XCA2	MEGAEXPL.WAV
MET0	METRALL0.WAV
METL	METRLANC.WAV
ARGH	MUERTE.WAV
MUER	MUERTO.WAV
VMUE	MUERTO.WAV
XCA0	OLEAJE.WAV
BIRD	PAJARO0.WAV
MBIR	PAJARO1.WAV
PASO	PASOS.WAV
PASW	PASOSAGU.WAV
PIPA	PISTOLA.WAV
QIEN	QUIENVA.WAV
REMA	REMADA.WAV
DCOY	SEGNUELO.WAV
SIRN	SIRENA01.WAV
SOLD	SOLDAT.WAV
SBAL	SPLASH.WAV
SMIS	SUBMISIL.WAV
SWCH	SWITCH.WAV
METT	TANQMETR.WAV
TELF	TELEFONO.WAV
TKTK	TICTAC.WAV
TREN	TREN.WAV
WIND	VIENTO.WAV
ALRM	VOZALARM.WAV
Some of the sounds were not used in the game, so you could replace the unused WAV files with your sounds and then use the existing sound id.

#17 KeshaFilm

KeshaFilm
  • Members
  • 17 posts
  • Location:Russia

Posted 23 April 2017 - 08:49 PM

herbert3000, thanks a lot!

 

Also:

Unfortunately the only audio format recognized by the game is Wave 8bit Mono 11.025 Hz with interruption at the end of the file. 

I tried to load the 22.050 16 bit mono audio file and it worked. But, I have this interruption too, don't have any idea how to fix it. The DELAY option won't work.



#18 SirRH

SirRH

    title available

  • Members
  • 586 posts
  • Location:Uranus

Posted 23 April 2017 - 10:43 PM

I think that the length of when the sound next loops is hard coded to each sound ID. If the audio file is a longer length than the hard coded loop then it will loop the audio whilst still playing the original sound, since it's based on a timer rather than looping automatically when the sound is finished. 

 

For example the bird sound is only 2 seconds long, but it takes 5 seconds or so to loop the sound again.

So I guess only some very short length music is possible using that method, unless one of the sound ID has different rules.


Edited by Robb, 23 April 2017 - 10:56 PM.


#19 Zakxaev68

Zakxaev68

    Stalking in the shadows

  • Members
  • 149 posts
  • Location:Bulgaria

Posted 25 April 2017 - 07:25 PM

Here's a list of all SOUND IDs and the corresponding WAV files used in BEL:

PRES	AGUAPRES.WAV
ALTO	ALTO.WAV
ATAK	ALTO.WAV
MET1	AMETRALL.WAV
APEL	APAGELEC.WAV
AUG2	AUTOGIRO.WAV
AVIO	AVION.WAV
SBAR	BARRIL.WAV
CLBA	BOCIBARC.WAV
CLXN	BOCINA.WAV
CLTR	BOCITREN.WAV
BUCE	BUZO.WAV
CAMN	CAMION.WAV
CAFU	CARGAFUSI.WAV
CHOR	CHORRO.WAV
CUCH	CUCHI.WAV
XCA1	DERRUMBE.WAV
DETE	DETENIDO.WAV
DIS1	DISPARO1.WAV
ELSH	ELECSHOK.WAV
ELEC	ELECTRO.WAV
ESCL	ESCLUSA.WAV
CBAR	ESFUERZO.WAV
ESPI	ESPIA.WAV
TNKS	EXPLOSI.WAV
XGRA	EXPLOSI.WAV
XPLO	EXPLOSI.WAV
MIRI	FRANCO.WAV
FTRN	FRENADA.WAV
FUSL	FUSIL.WAV
GRIL	GRILLOS.WAV
HANG	HANGAR.WAV
HERI	HERIDO.WAV
LADR	LADRIDO.WAV
YAMA	LLAMAS.WAV
MXPL	MEGAEXPL.WAV
XCA2	MEGAEXPL.WAV
MET0	METRALL0.WAV
METL	METRLANC.WAV
ARGH	MUERTE.WAV
MUER	MUERTO.WAV
VMUE	MUERTO.WAV
XCA0	OLEAJE.WAV
BIRD	PAJARO0.WAV
MBIR	PAJARO1.WAV
PASO	PASOS.WAV
PASW	PASOSAGU.WAV
PIPA	PISTOLA.WAV
QIEN	QUIENVA.WAV
REMA	REMADA.WAV
DCOY	SEGNUELO.WAV
SIRN	SIRENA01.WAV
SOLD	SOLDAT.WAV
SBAL	SPLASH.WAV
SMIS	SUBMISIL.WAV
SWCH	SWITCH.WAV
METT	TANQMETR.WAV
TELF	TELEFONO.WAV
TKTK	TICTAC.WAV
TREN	TREN.WAV
WIND	VIENTO.WAV
ALRM	VOZALARM.WAV
Some of the sounds were not used in the game, so you could replace the unused WAV files with your sounds and then use the existing sound id.

 

 

Useful. Greatly appreciated. Say I decide insert some ripped movie samples. Can I...?






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users