animation mental omega project

• Please log in to reply
23 replies to this topic

#1 NoSpoons

NoSpoons
  • Members
  • 6 posts

Posted 15 March 2017 - 06:20 PM

Hello everyone, I'll start off with a brief introduction of myself then I'll move straight to business.

My name is NoSpoons or just Spoons and I'm new to the forums, I'm a student studying Game design and I'm a big fan of Mental Omega(who could have guessed)

Recently we were given the task of creating a professional animated intro sequence for an existing game of our choice, naturally the first this I asked is if we could do mods as well, and the answer was yes, so as you probably guessed again, my choice was MO.

Which leads me to why I made this Topic, I really wanted to get community feedback as I progressed with the animation, and also if i had any questions I'd have a place where i could get answers from more knowledgeable people.

Basically my pitch for the sequence will be combat between Invading Chinese forces and the Foehn, now words on a screen don't really convey how cool an idea for an animation is so hopefully I'll have a story board done by Tuesday so that everyone can get a better understanding of what it will look like.

So for my first few questions, 

Is there anywhere that I can find 3D models of the Foehn and Chinese units,(I've checked Moddb and there are a few worth using but I couldn't find enough) ,this would really help when dealing with some of the more complex units such as the Megalodon its difficult to create a good representation of the unit from a small pixel reference

Is the track "Last Line of Defense" free from copy right?, I just want to make sure if I need to pay World Beyond for its rights or nah.

And last but probably most important, do i have permission to make this animation in the first place, this i suppose is mainly directed to Speeder and the devs but I had no idea how else I should go about asking them, this felt the simplest.