Jump to content


Photo

[BEL] SecEditor 3

bel tool sector

  • Please log in to reply
25 replies to this topic

#1 herbert3000

herbert3000

    Guilty Until Proven Innocent

  • Division Admins
  • 431 posts
  • Location:Austria
  • Division:Commandos HQ
  • Job:Division Admin

Posted 28 September 2017 - 03:23 PM

Hi, I'm working on a new version of the SecEditor.

 

Here's the first version that supports editing and creating simple maps.

 

Attached File  SecEditor3.0_beta2.zip   115.29KB   12 downloads

Attached File  SecEditor3.0_beta1.zip   44.9KB   17 downloads

 

If you have any suggestions or feature requests, please let me know.

 

seceditor.png



#2 Maurice1976

Maurice1976
  • Members
  • 38 posts

Posted 28 September 2017 - 10:42 PM

This looks great! Did you manage to solve the slowing down, the longer you are working on a map? Will try it out once I get around to building maps!



#3 boyzandoi92

boyzandoi92
  • New Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 29 September 2017 - 03:40 AM

how to open it bro ? what software i can open it ?



#4 herbert3000

herbert3000

    Guilty Until Proven Innocent

  • Division Admins
  • 431 posts
  • Location:Austria
  • Division:Commandos HQ
  • Job:Division Admin

Posted 29 September 2017 - 07:02 AM

Oops, forgot to point that out in my initial post. It requires a Java Runtime Environment (JRE) to run the JAR file.



#5 boyzandoi92

boyzandoi92
  • New Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 29 September 2017 - 07:05 AM

Oops, forgot to point that out in my initial post. It requires a Java Runtime Environment (JRE) to run the JAR file.

thanks bro,this software is making to do what  ?  Can it design commandos map and we play on it ?



#6 herbert3000

herbert3000

    Guilty Until Proven Innocent

  • Division Admins
  • 431 posts
  • Location:Austria
  • Division:Commandos HQ
  • Job:Division Admin

Posted 29 September 2017 - 08:01 AM

thanks bro,this software is making to do what  ?  Can it design commandos map and we play on it ?

This software is used to create the navigation mesh (= colored areas on the screenshot) for a new Commandos map. It tells the game where the soldiers can walk and which areas are impassable.

 

If you are interested in creating a new map, check out the corresponding tutorial on this site: Modding Tutorials

 

To design a map, I'd recommend using Photoshop (or a similar program) to arrange all images, like this:

https://forums.revor...nsion/?p=917979



#7 Lexx2k

Lexx2k
  • Members
  • 123 posts
  • Location:Berlin
  • Projects:BTCOD Mission Pack

Posted 29 September 2017 - 06:52 PM

Looks great, herbert! I've put down some polys for testing, but I can't seem to load any of my old files. Is the file format different between BEL and BCD?

 

PS: You should make it so that holding down space allows to drag around inside the view window.


Edited by Lexx2k, 29 September 2017 - 06:53 PM.


#8 Salvadorc17

Salvadorc17

    title available

  • Members
  • 475 posts
  • Location:Colombia
  • Projects:https://github.com/salvadorc17/CommandosMaker

Posted 29 September 2017 - 08:27 PM

Hi, I'm working on a new version of the SecEditor.

 

Here's the first version that supports editing and creating simple maps.

attachicon.gifSecEditor3.0_beta1.zip

 

If you have any suggestions or feature requests, please let me know.

 

attachicon.gifseceditor.png

 

Really good work, but why not do all 2 file editing into same tool, VOL and SEC.



#9 herbert3000

herbert3000

    Guilty Until Proven Innocent

  • Division Admins
  • 431 posts
  • Location:Austria
  • Division:Commandos HQ
  • Job:Division Admin

Posted 29 September 2017 - 11:05 PM

Really good work, but why not do all 2 file editing into same tool, VOL and SEC.

Good point, maybe I'll add that in the future.

#10 Maurice1976

Maurice1976
  • Members
  • 38 posts

Posted 30 September 2017 - 12:01 AM

 

Really good work, but why not do all 2 file editing into same tool, VOL and SEC.

Good point, maybe I'll add that in the future.

 

 

Maybe also add a feature then to add shadows and polygon points from a database for standard objects, like Lexx suggested a while ago? Would save the time of having to do it manually.

 

I'm working on compiling such a list, happy to share it with the community once I'm done with it. Cleared two things that ate time off of my plate, so hopefully I'll be able to dedicate some more time to this project again ;).


Edited by Maurice1976, 30 September 2017 - 12:02 AM.


#11 Lexx2k

Lexx2k
  • Members
  • 123 posts
  • Location:Berlin
  • Projects:BTCOD Mission Pack

Posted 30 September 2017 - 07:10 AM

Maybe also add a feature then to add shadows and polygon points from a database for standard objects, like Lexx suggested a while ago? Would save the time of having to do it manually.

 

Wrong tool. This doesn't have anything to do with sector editing. :>

It probably wouldn't be bad to have a "one tool for everything"-editor, though.


Edited by Lexx2k, 30 September 2017 - 07:14 AM.


#12 Maurice1976

Maurice1976
  • Members
  • 38 posts

Posted 30 September 2017 - 02:33 PM

Wrong tool. This doesn't have anything to do with sector editing. :>

 

I realise that ;). However, I was responding to the suggestion by Salvadorc17, who suggested to incorporate a VOL editor and Herbert stating that he's open to that idea ;).



#13 Salvadorc17

Salvadorc17

    title available

  • Members
  • 475 posts
  • Location:Colombia
  • Projects:https://github.com/salvadorc17/CommandosMaker

Posted 30 September 2017 - 08:27 PM

 

Maybe also add a feature then to add shadows and polygon points from a database for standard objects, like Lexx suggested a while ago? Would save the time of having to do it manually.

 

Wrong tool. This doesn't have anything to do with sector editing. :>

It probably wouldn't be bad to have a "one tool for everything"-editor, though.

 

 

Right the map graphics and vol are generated same way, so can be included into same editor with SEC one.



#14 dialog

dialog
  • Members
  • 71 posts
  • Location:Russia

Posted 03 October 2017 - 06:50 PM

Very good design!  :mellowthumbsup:

Small problem: if points have coordinates <0, they is not enable.

And will be good these features:

- Zoom in/out with different scales

- Bridge sectors support

- Creating/editing zones of alarm.



#15 herbert3000

herbert3000

    Guilty Until Proven Innocent

  • Division Admins
  • 431 posts
  • Location:Austria
  • Division:Commandos HQ
  • Job:Division Admin

Posted 04 October 2017 - 10:42 AM

Very good design!  :mellowthumbsup:

Small problem: if points have coordinates <0, they is not enable.

And will be good these features:

- Zoom in/out with different scales

- Bridge sectors support

- Creating/editing zones of alarm.

Thank you :)

 

What do you mean with the points are not enable? Please give me more details and/or send me a related SEC.

 

Those features will be added soon.

Actually, you can already zoom in and out with the keys + and - but that's not working 100% correctly yet.



#16 dialog

dialog
  • Members
  • 71 posts
  • Location:Russia

Posted 04 October 2017 - 11:35 AM

Thank you :)
 
What do you mean with the points are not enable? Please give me more details and/or send me a related SEC.


As example, map from Saving Private Smith:
sec1 c2m08.png sec2 c2m08.png
Points with negative coordinates are not visible.

#17 herbert3000

herbert3000

    Guilty Until Proven Innocent

  • Division Admins
  • 431 posts
  • Location:Austria
  • Division:Commandos HQ
  • Job:Division Admin

Posted 04 October 2017 - 12:15 PM

Points with negative coordinates are not visible.

OK, I understand now.
Go to Settings > Map Settings and set the Offset to a higher value (maybe 500?)



#18 dialog

dialog
  • Members
  • 71 posts
  • Location:Russia

Posted 04 October 2017 - 12:50 PM

OK, I understand now.
Go to Settings > Map Settings and set the Offset to a higher value (maybe 500?)

Yes, it work. :cool2:



#19 herbert3000

herbert3000

    Guilty Until Proven Innocent

  • Division Admins
  • 431 posts
  • Location:Austria
  • Division:Commandos HQ
  • Job:Division Admin

Posted 05 October 2017 - 01:00 AM

Just uploaded a new version, check my first post.
 
Changes:
- bug fix in the area export
- show/hide normal and bridge sectors
- create/edit alarm zones
- scroll with space bar pressed
 
How to work with alarm zones/areas:
Load a SEC

Click on Settings > Areas
Add new areas
OK

Click on View > Show Areas

Left-click on a sector, select the area.
Now click on other sectors, while holding down CTRL, to assign the same area.

Right-click on a sector to clear the area assignment for this sector.


While I'm writing this, I realize that 'zone' would be a better name instead of 'area'. Will be fixed in the next update :)

 

Note about bridge sectors:

Please note that you'll have to set the bridge flag manually, so set the sector's flags to 386 instead of 384 to turn it into a bridge sector.



#20 dialog

dialog
  • Members
  • 71 posts
  • Location:Russia

Posted 05 October 2017 - 12:36 PM

Changes:
- bug fix in the area export
- show/hide normal and bridge sectors
- create/edit alarm zones
- scroll with space bar pressed

 
Great! I checked few maps, all works correct.
However, some large maps at me does not open. As well this map:
http://www.mediafire...xo4z6/C2M10.SEC
error.png





Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: bel, tool, sector

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users