Jump to content


Photo

Some question regard of modding with Corsix


221 replies to this topic

#61 fuggles

fuggles

    title available

  • Members
  • 4,846 posts

Posted 30 July 2018 - 05:23 PM

Could you use mob value, so it would only be available when the harlequin is built?

#62 LemonTree

LemonTree
  • Members
  • 144 posts

Posted 30 July 2018 - 07:49 PM

Oh brother Gambit,you won't believe how messy the Necron's Wraith Phase Out Fx really is.The Wraith ability (call Necron\abilities\phase_shift_unit_02) are store in looping_event_name and it is very clearly that the Devs back then only intended that ability to be an single unit ability only (visually-wise)
 

I did what you suggest in the method #1,putting it in the  area_effect/weapon_damage/hit_events and it work,showing the full squad in the fx,however there are a problem.The Fx will not go away,the squad will still have the same Fx  after the ability duration time is done.

At first i just thought i miss something but it turn out that it was not the method that was incorrect,it is the visual itself.Unlike some other event ability (say Dark Eldar Wych drug combat),the Necron phase_shift has a infinite duration which mean it loop itself and the only way to shut it down is use it in looping_event_name when the duration of the ability itself (not the modifier) ran out.So yeah unless there is a way to tamper with Event file,i'm gonna have to declaire that this issue is not solvable at the moment



#63 Gambit

Gambit

    title available

  • Members
  • 6,704 posts
  • Location:Athens, Greece

Posted 30 July 2018 - 07:55 PM

Excellent approach - it reminds me the steps I follow, on mastering corsix and AE! :grad:

So yeah, most possibly have to modify the FX to use a limited duration (non-looping).

Just use a new event, a copy (FFE or hex edit the original), that points to a new FX, and updated that FX. Experiment a bit, the FX editor is not THAT friendly...


-In search of Papasmurf...

#64 LemonTree

LemonTree
  • Members
  • 144 posts

Posted 30 July 2018 - 08:51 PM

Could you use mob value, so it would only be available when the harlequin is built?

I did thought about that but how would you restrict to one mob available per squad ?



#65 LemonTree

LemonTree
  • Members
  • 144 posts

Posted 30 July 2018 - 09:00 PM

Excellent approach - it reminds me the steps I follow, on mastering corsix and AE! :grad:

So yeah, most possibly have to modify the FX to use a limited duration (non-looping).

Just use a new event, a copy (FFE or hex edit the original), that points to a new FX, and updated that FX. Experiment a bit, the FX editor is not THAT friendly...

Where can i get one of those and how do you happen to have any tutorial ?



#66 Gambit

Gambit

    title available

  • Members
  • 6,704 posts
  • Location:Athens, Greece

Posted 31 July 2018 - 08:51 AM

The FX editor is part of the DC Relic Tools.

 

As for FFE, try this: https://forums.revor...5-15-july-2017/

 

... Most of the times I do NOT use the FFE editor, but a HEX editor, and simply change one letter or two in the actual name of the FX.

WARNING: When using a HEX editor, you must NEVER change the character length of a path!

For Hex editor you can use ANYONE that circulates the net. Many are free.

 

As for tutos... RelicNews held the vast majority, but that place is now closed :sad2:


Edited by Gambit, 31 July 2018 - 08:53 AM.

-In search of Papasmurf...

#67 LemonTree

LemonTree
  • Members
  • 144 posts

Posted 31 July 2018 - 01:37 PM

Dear Brother,after some digging i found out that the Wraith Fx is even more complex that ever,so i took the Necron Lord ability Fx instead and aplly it to the wraith ability via method #3,It work and look good enough so i contented with that Swoop de woop



#68 LemonTree

LemonTree
  • Members
  • 144 posts

Posted 04 August 2018 - 08:08 PM

Is there a way to disable an ability while another ability is running ?.Would enable_ability the way to go ?
Also how does Missionary Act of God  Emperor Touch ability work.Some unit work with that ability (psyker) while other are not (bad dok)


#69 Gambit

Gambit

    title available

  • Members
  • 6,704 posts
  • Location:Athens, Greece

Posted 04 August 2018 - 10:14 PM

Is there a way to disable an ability while another ability is running ?.Would enable_ability the way to go ?

Difficult. Nigh impossible :thumbsdownsmiley:

I have achieved this with the mob trick (see IDH). But this was based on the condition that the entity using the ability was attached or not.

What are the conditions under which you want the abilities to be enabled/disabled.

 
 
Also how does Missionary Act of God  Emperor Touch ability work.Some unit work with that ability (psyker) while other are not (bad dok)

This uses the weapon_change mechanic (see the bottom entry of the ability).

This trick simply (temporarily) shifts the weapon hardpoints to the named weapon...

Very clumsy mechanic...

And it ONLY works for timed abilities.


-In search of Papasmurf...

#70 LemonTree

LemonTree
  • Members
  • 144 posts

Posted 05 August 2018 - 05:15 AM

 

Is there a way to disable an ability while another ability is running ?.Would enable_ability the way to go ?

Difficult. Nigh impossible :thumbsdownsmiley:

I have achieved this with the mob trick (see IDH). But this was based on the condition that the entity using the ability was attached or not.

What are the conditions under which you want the abilities to be enabled/disabled.

I have a squad of bad dok with a missionary as a leader.Since the bad dok have the healing x4 modifier already,when missionary active his emperor healing (which use the same heal modifier as bad dok,but the value is 300)the healing multiple and the squad become somewhat unkillable.I think i will cleverly tinker with healing modifier so that they don't stack each other 

 

Also how does Missionary Act of God  Emperor Touch ability work.Some unit work with that ability (psyker) while other are not (bad dok)

This uses the weapon_change mechanic (see the bottom entry of the ability).

This trick simply (temporarily) shifts the weapon hardpoints to the named weapon...

Very clumsy mechanic...

And it ONLY works for timed abilities.

 

So in order for this ability to work on other unit,i will have to set them the same hardpoint as the Missionary,right ?


Edited by LemonTree, 05 August 2018 - 05:19 AM.


#71 Gambit

Gambit

    title available

  • Members
  • 6,704 posts
  • Location:Athens, Greece

Posted 05 August 2018 - 08:12 AM

I have a squad of bad dok with a missionary as a leader.Since the bad dok have the healing x4 modifier already,when missionary active his emperor healing (which use the same heal modifier as bad dok,but the value is 300)the healing multiple and the squad become somewhat unkillable.I think i will cleverly tinker with healing modifier so that they don't stack each other

For this there are other solutions as well.

For example you can set a TRUE healing modifier to the squad, so than NO OTHER modifier applies.

But the mod mechanic will also work.

 

So in order for this ability to work on other unit,i will have to set them the same hardpoint as the Missionary,right ?

Yes, as well as ALL squads that the missionary attaches to.

For example, have a look at the SoB or Celestian squads, and you will see that they also have special hardpoints for that mechanic.


-In search of Papasmurf...

#72 LemonTree

LemonTree
  • Members
  • 144 posts

Posted 05 August 2018 - 11:50 PM

 

I have a squad of bad dok with a missionary as a leader.Since the bad dok have the healing x4 modifier already,when missionary active his emperor healing (which use the same heal modifier as bad dok,but the value is 300)the healing multiple and the squad become somewhat unkillable.I think i will cleverly tinker with healing modifier so that they don't stack each other

For this there are other solutions as well.

For example you can set a TRUE healing modifier to the squad, so than NO OTHER modifier applies.

But the mod mechanic will also work.

 

After so consideration i have conclude that even if i did succeed in making those skill not stack,it would still be fairly overpower if your army can heal 300 hp/s per unit for 20 second so i just reduce the healing modifier stats to 20 and the army healing at a reasonable rate.I'm not sure i get your idea about true healing,is it related to inclusive in the modifier ?

 

So in order for this ability to work on other unit,i will have to set them the same hardpoint as the Missionary,right ?

Yes, as well as ALL squads that the missionary attaches to.

For example, have a look at the SoB or Celestian squads, and you will see that they also have special hardpoints for that mechanic.

 

I had success in making the ability to work on all unit attached to missionary (stas wise).However there are no Fx and the weapon would not shoot golden ray,how would i achieve that ?



#73 Kekoulis

Kekoulis

    Apothecary Novice

  • Members
  • 2,150 posts
  • Location:Reclaimed Chemos
  • Projects:Emperor's Children
  •  Slaanesh's Glory

Posted 06 August 2018 - 07:45 AM

 

I had success in making the ability to work on all unit attached to missionary (stas wise).However there are no Fx and the weapon would not shoot golden ray,how would i achieve that ?

Again,this is done in Object Editor,not Corsix.You see,the golden bolter is considered a weapon and thus,like all other weapons,its FX are located in the whe file of the said unit.

What unit do you want to have the fx?I can do it.Or send you an example,and do the rest yourself.Your choice.


ec-sig-early2.gif

Mankind has seen the light,the light of Slaanesh.


#74 LemonTree

LemonTree
  • Members
  • 144 posts

Posted 06 August 2018 - 08:54 AM

 

 

I had success in making the ability to work on all unit attached to missionary (stas wise).However there are no Fx and the weapon would not shoot golden ray,how would i achieve that ?

Again,this is done in Object Editor,not Corsix.You see,the golden bolter is considered a weapon and thus,like all other weapons,its FX are located in the whe file of the said unit.

What unit do you want to have the fx?I can do it.Or send you an example,and do the rest yourself.Your choice.

 

Thank you for the offer,i'd really love to learn how to do it myself,so if you can give me the link to Object Editor and an example,i will try my best to learn it 
As for the particular enemy,i have a squad full of Mad dok with two leader consist of Flash Gitz and Missionary.The Fx i'm looking for is the "Golden ray" when Missionary active his "Emperor Touch" ability,i want my whole squad being able to shoot "Golden ray"


Edited by LemonTree, 06 August 2018 - 08:56 AM.


#75 Kekoulis

Kekoulis

    Apothecary Novice

  • Members
  • 2,150 posts
  • Location:Reclaimed Chemos
  • Projects:Emperor's Children
  •  Slaanesh's Glory

Posted 06 August 2018 - 09:25 AM

Download from Modb the DOW mod tools and install.https://www.moddb.co...usade-mod-tools

They can work with Soulstorm,but it is best if you have Dark Crusade installed.Do not worry,all produced whes/whms are fully compatible with Soulstorm.

 

Here is converted the battle Sister model. http://www.mediafire..._sister.7z/file You need the all whe converted to ebp and the whm to sgm of the corresponding models you want to edit.Either use mudflaps converters(included into the above package) or 3DS MAX if you have it.

 

I have not included textures or fx in the package,so it is natural to see the model all pink and no fx shown.You do NOT need them for your edits.

 

The ''golden ray'' is made from two fx:emperostouch_muzzle and emperostouch_tracer.See in the motion(named with the suffix _emperor's_touch) how is structured,to which action is connected and what conditions are used.

 

Remember.Each condition is connected to a clause.The clause is the weapon name that you use in Corsix.Just copy the action/motion structure from the battle sister model to any other you want and code it then properly in Corsix.

 

Once you install the mod tools,unzip the converted model to this location:C:\Program Files (x86)\THQ\Dawn of War - Dark Crusade\ModTools\DataGeneric\My_Mod\Art\EBPs\Races\sisters\troops

 

All produced newly whes are located here:C:\Program Files (x86)\THQ\Dawn of War - Dark Crusade\ModTools\DataGeneric\My_Mod\Art\EBPs\Races\sisters\troops

 

If you do not have the above folders,make them yourself.

 

If you need something do tell.Do not worry if you get overwhelmed by OE at first.You will master it.If you still have problems with converting,do tell me which models you want and I shall convert them for you.No biggie.


Edited by Kekoulis, 06 August 2018 - 11:48 AM.

ec-sig-early2.gif

Mankind has seen the light,the light of Slaanesh.


#76 LemonTree

LemonTree
  • Members
  • 144 posts

Posted 06 August 2018 - 12:40 PM

I think i'm almost got it,here is the step that i have produce,feel free to tell me if i got something wrong or missing
I download the file,extract and got it all in the right directory
Then i open Sister ebp using Object Editor and was greet with this,seem correct
OE.png


Next,i find the Event tab and find the two fx that you mention above,however this is where i got stuck because i have no idea what to do with it or if i was doing it right.
OE1.png
I know that there is a export button but you mention the clause and i got a bit confuse.Another thing that i have question is the weapon variable_1 to variable_7.I notice that there is some different between hardpoint in term of variable here so is that related to the issue ?

thank in advance


Edited by LemonTree, 06 August 2018 - 12:44 PM.


#77 Kekoulis

Kekoulis

    Apothecary Novice

  • Members
  • 2,150 posts
  • Location:Reclaimed Chemos
  • Projects:Emperor's Children
  •  Slaanesh's Glory

Posted 06 August 2018 - 01:26 PM

Do not touch the variables!!! The model is fine. For now,export the events and study how the battle sister is structured.Go to motions and find the ones with emperor's_touch.

 

Then go to actions and find the emperor's_touch ones.Notice that in the idle_firing_anim,all sub actions are located and each lone has a condition(if/else if).Each condition is attached to a clause to which you set the weapon name.

 

you should study the model and using it as a basis,make your own emperor's_touch to the other models you want them to have it.


Edited by Kekoulis, 06 August 2018 - 01:27 PM.

ec-sig-early2.gif

Mankind has seen the light,the light of Slaanesh.


#78 LemonTree

LemonTree
  • Members
  • 144 posts

Posted 06 August 2018 - 05:38 PM

Do not touch the variables!!! The model is fine. For now,export the events and study how the battle sister is structured.Go to motions and find the ones with emperor's_touch.

 

Then go to actions and find the emperor's_touch ones.Notice that in the idle_firing_anim,all sub actions are located and each lone has a condition(if/else if).Each condition is attached to a clause to which you set the weapon name.

 

you should study the model and using it as a basis,make your own emperor's_touch to the other models you want them to have it.

I think i get the memo,but HOW should i do it,can you explain the step a little more specific ?
Thank in advance



#79 Kekoulis

Kekoulis

    Apothecary Novice

  • Members
  • 2,150 posts
  • Location:Reclaimed Chemos
  • Projects:Emperor's Children
  •  Slaanesh's Glory

Posted 06 August 2018 - 06:43 PM

Define ''how you should do it''.

 

Examine how the motions are set up,open your model that wants to have the emperor's touch.

 

Make the appropriate motions.

 

From the rollout add the appropriate firing animation(idle_firing or moving_firing-Or copy the animation that the vanilla weapons uses.). Make sure to have the events imported first and changed the marker to the one used by a vanilla weapon native to the model you are working.It depends on the model.

 

Make the same clauses and conditions for the emperor's touch as the Battle Sister has.

 

Go to the actions-->idle_firing and moving_firing and add your new motions with the appropriate conditions.The way the motions are added in actions varies from model to model. Done.


ec-sig-early2.gif

Mankind has seen the light,the light of Slaanesh.


#80 LemonTree

LemonTree
  • Members
  • 144 posts

Posted 06 August 2018 - 08:09 PM

Define ''how you should do it''.

 

Examine how the motions are set up,open your model that wants to have the emperor's touch.

 

Make the appropriate motions.

 

From the rollout add the appropriate firing animation(idle_firing or moving_firing-Or copy the animation that the vanilla weapons uses.). Make sure to have the events imported first and changed the marker to the one used by a vanilla weapon native to the model you are working.It depends on the model.

 

Make the same clauses and conditions for the emperor's touch as the Battle Sister has.

 

Go to the actions-->idle_firing and moving_firing and add your new motions with the appropriate conditions.The way the motions are added in actions varies from model to model. Done.

About that,you mention mudflaps converters but i can't seem to find it and i think that is where all my confusion start





Reply to this topic



  


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users