Jump to content


Photo

Sound not playing


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 Echo

Echo

    T3A:Online

  • T3A Staff
  • 1,069 posts
  • Location:Germany
  • Projects:Lot3A
  •  ~~
  • Division:BFME
  • Job:T3A Moderator
  • Donated

Posted 18 March 2019 - 05:42 PM

In BFME1, the most bizarre bugs have occured to me when I was messing with sounds.

Here I have a sound I want to play:

AudioEvent SomeSound
  Sounds = EUUnit_somesou
  Priority = high
  Volume      = UNIT_RESPONSE_VOLUME
  MinVolume   = UNIT_RESPONSE_MINVOLUME
;  MinRange = 800
;  MaxRange = 2000
  Type        = world everyone
  SubmixSlider = voice
End

Here's the thing. This sound plays just fine when I play it through command button, like this:

 

UnitSpecificSound = SomeSound

or weapon.ini, like this: FireFX = FX_SomeFX

 

But I don't want to play the sound after clicking the button or while firing the weapon, I want the sound to play when preparing to fire a weapon. And this is the whole problem.

 

While UnitSpecificSound and FireFX work, all of these things don't work:

 

Playing the sound via...

 

PreAttackFX (Weapon.ini)

InitiateAtLocationSound (SpecialPower.ini)

InitiateSound (Objects .ini in SpecialPowerModule)

TriggerFX (Objects .ini in SpecialPowerModule)

 

If I uncomment the MinRange and MaxRange, the sound will stop playing even in UnitSpecificSound, no matter how close to the unit I am with the camera.


What I actually want to achieve is to just play a sound (with limited range) from my object when it prepares to fire a weapon. I've tried that for over a day now, and it's not working. All I would need is to be able to fire this sound via PreAttackFX, and I'd be happy. Any ideas welcome.

I have another bug related to sounds but this one is more important right now.


26285.png


#2 Super Hippo

Super Hippo
  • Members
  • 29 posts

Posted 18 March 2019 - 06:21 PM

There is an option for an "UnpackSound" in the "WeaponFireSpecialAbilityUpdate" module which sounds to me like it would be triggered after he moved and when he prepares the attack. However, I just placed a sound like that for Legolas' Hawk Strike and it wasn't used at all...


Edited by Super Hippo, 18 March 2019 - 06:21 PM.


#3 Miraak5

Miraak5

    title available

  • Members
  • 389 posts
  • Location:France
  • Projects:ROTWK Patch 2.02, Wars of the North, BFME1 1.08 Complete Edition
  •  BIG coding, Map scripting and AI coding

Posted 19 March 2019 - 11:47 AM

did you tried InitiateSound in SpecialPower.ini ?

anyway to fire a weapon, InitiateSound in SpecialPowerModule sould work

 

try changing your sound "Type" line to: world player voice or world everyone voice (add voice basicly)


Edited by Miraak5, 19 March 2019 - 11:49 AM.

He was the first...


#4 Echo

Echo

    T3A:Online

  • T3A Staff
  • 1,069 posts
  • Location:Germany
  • Projects:Lot3A
  •  ~~
  • Division:BFME
  • Job:T3A Moderator
  • Donated

Posted 20 March 2019 - 03:28 AM

I've found a pretty good solution. I just play the sound now through the command button. It doesn't really feel right because no other ability does it, but it does the job for now...

 

Also: If you have more than one "WeaponFireSpecialAbilityUpdate" module, it will always play the "InitiateSound = SomeSound" of the SpecialPowerModule attached to the first WeaponFireSpecialAbilityUpdate it finds. No matter which WeaponFireSpecialAbilityUpdate you actually activate. This is quite annoying and took me some time to figure out.. A fix to it is to use "InitiateFX = SomeFX" for every WeaponFireSpecialAbilityUpdate module instead of "InitiateSound = SomeSound". Hope this helps anyone..


Edited by Echo, 20 March 2019 - 04:04 AM.

26285.png


#5 Miraak5

Miraak5

    title available

  • Members
  • 389 posts
  • Location:France
  • Projects:ROTWK Patch 2.02, Wars of the North, BFME1 1.08 Complete Edition
  •  BIG coding, Map scripting and AI coding

Posted 20 March 2019 - 12:32 PM

Well i remember i experienced that bug before but i know it's possible to have 2 WeaponFireSpecialAbilityUpdate with diffrents InitiateSounds

in 1.08 i made axethrow work as a SpecialPower instead of a FireWeapon

axethrow sound/voice play correctly in the power code and leap still play his own sound/voice and not axethrow one

 

im pretty sure it's linked to the proprieties of your sound, if it's set to have a priority or not and also what you have in the type line


He was the first...





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users