Jump to content


Photo

Commandos game - Open Source


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 Salvadorc17

Salvadorc17

    title available

  • Members
  • 507 posts
  • Location:Colombia
  • Projects:Destination Norway

Posted 22 April 2020 - 05:21 PM

I started this project some weeks ago, and have good progress, the engine work with C# Monogame but now i need some help to progress, currently only game files parsing.
 
If youre willing to give assistance, check github repository.
https://github.com/s...17/SoldiersGame
 



d9C60Ry.png

Edited by Salvadorc17, 09 May 2020 - 12:09 AM.


#2 dialog

dialog
  • Members
  • 112 posts
  • Location:Russia

Posted 24 April 2020 - 09:19 AM

I open your project on Visual Studio, but can't compile/run it, probably, because are not solved dependencies. Can you share some screenshots / video of gameplay?



#3 Jeroen

Jeroen
  • Members
  • 215 posts
  • Location:Noord-Brabant
  • Projects:Commandos BEL är bara smörja.

Posted 25 April 2020 - 11:21 PM

Yes, can you give us your files in a package? For VS or whatever environment / compiler we should use?



#4 Salvadorc17

Salvadorc17

    title available

  • Members
  • 507 posts
  • Location:Colombia
  • Projects:Destination Norway

Posted 26 April 2020 - 12:29 AM

I open your project on Visual Studio, but can't compile/run it, probably, because are not solved dependencies. Can you share some screenshots / video of gameplay?

 

There is not gameplay right now, i need some assistance to make it possible, you need to install Monogame to compile.



#5 herbert3000

herbert3000

    Guilty Until Proven Innocent

  • Division Admins
  • 525 posts
  • Location:Austria
  • Division:Commandos HQ
  • Job:Division Admin

Posted 26 April 2020 - 02:52 AM

Do you have some test levels?

The program tries to load "Content/Levels/0.xml" which doesn't exist.



#6 dialog

dialog
  • Members
  • 112 posts
  • Location:Russia

Posted 26 April 2020 - 11:16 AM

There is not gameplay right now, i need some assistance to make it possible, you need to install Monogame to compile.

Yes, i installed MonoGame, after this i can open project, but get many errors while compiling - warning MSB3268, error CS0234, error CS0246.
 
Do you planning create remake of Commandos, or new game in Commandos style? I was thinking about Commandos remake long ago, because it's only way to realise new possibilities, characters behavior, weapons etc. But, of course, it's too difficult and it requires very and very many time.

Herbert3000, i remember that you was working on Commandos remake on Java, is interesting are you have any progress or plans about it?



#7 Salvadorc17

Salvadorc17

    title available

  • Members
  • 507 posts
  • Location:Colombia
  • Projects:Destination Norway

Posted 29 April 2020 - 12:01 AM

Do you have some test levels?

The program tries to load "Content/Levels/0.xml" which doesn't exist.

 

Yes i have updated it with editor code that generates test level, but is now only rendering things.



#8 dialog

dialog
  • Members
  • 112 posts
  • Location:Russia

Posted 30 April 2020 - 08:36 PM

What version of IDE are you use?



#9 Salvadorc17

Salvadorc17

    title available

  • Members
  • 507 posts
  • Location:Colombia
  • Projects:Destination Norway

Posted 05 May 2020 - 11:42 PM

What version of IDE are you use?

 

Visual Studio 2015 for now i will update nuget packages for project so you can compile it without version issues.



#10 dialog

dialog
  • Members
  • 112 posts
  • Location:Russia

Posted 08 May 2020 - 08:42 AM

I can compile your project after i changed target framework from .NET 4.0 to 4.5. Also one issue was at startup: in the unit "ImageManager.cs" with objects of Texture2D class, that width of texture must be > 0; i changed Texture2D(..., 0, 0) to Texture2D(..., 10, 10) in this unit. As result i can run program successfully.

Good beginning! Of course, you've still got a lot of work to do...



#11 Salvadorc17

Salvadorc17

    title available

  • Members
  • 507 posts
  • Location:Colombia
  • Projects:Destination Norway

Posted 22 May 2020 - 01:31 AM

I can compile your project after i changed target framework from .NET 4.0 to 4.5. Also one issue was at startup: in the unit "ImageManager.cs" with objects of Texture2D class, that width of texture must be > 0; i changed Texture2D(..., 0, 0) to Texture2D(..., 10, 10) in this unit. As result i can run program successfully.

Good beginning! Of course, you've still got a lot of work to do...

 

Yes youre right i should have changed that things , im willing to progress on it as much possible






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users