• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 darthjoe29

darthjoe29
  • Members
  • 7 posts

Posted 13 January 2021 - 10:52 PM

HI,

I am not experienced at doing mods. I can follow installation instructions that people have been kind enough to publish for installing mods. I want to thank the community for creating the mods as the versions are wonderful.

My question though, is based on me not being experienced or skilled as a programmer. I would like to combined some units from one mod into another mod  but have not been successful. No matter what combination of ini file adjustments or copying I do the game will not work. I am trying to copy some units from one modified version of Lord of the Rings - Rise of the Witch King into another modified version . I was wondering if this forum can advise on how to accomplish this task or let me know if its even possible to do what I am attempting.  

Many thanks for the time and consideration in addressing my question. 

So I can become more skilled at this , can anyone advise on what type of training I should take. 

Joe

#2 Felipe Roll-st

Felipe Roll-st

Talion

• Members
  • 83 posts

Posted 14 January 2021 - 02:23 PM

indeed it is possible what you're attempting

what have you tried so far? just so I know at what level you are at modding 

#3 SamTheManWithThePlan

SamTheManWithThePlan
  • Members
  • 22 posts

Posted 16 February 2021 - 05:45 PM

I am wanting to learn how to do the same thing as OP. Basically I wonder what the checklist is for adding a unit or building? Here is what I know I need to add/change:

-INI + references to unit/building and texture

-Textures (.tga and .dds?) for models and portraits

-W3D of the item

-audio

-animations

What else do I need to do?

Edited by SamTheManWithThePlan, 16 February 2021 - 07:17 PM.

#4 Felipe Roll-st

Felipe Roll-st

Talion

• Members
  • 83 posts

Posted 17 February 2021 - 04:40 AM