Performance and Stability Comparisons

• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 Helper01

Helper01
  • Members
  • 128 posts

Posted 10 June 2021 - 04:11 AM

Having gotten into BFME2 1.09v2, I've been trying to understand how mods in general, but especially AOTR and the aforementioned one, work in relation to performance and stability. I ask, in part, due to how BFME2 1.09v2 incorporates new models and HD graphics, etc, yet seems to have better performance and stability even in games with many players and units, and even with graphics turned up. Some fps drops, of course, but nothing severe, nor have I yet to see the game crash. I'm no pro, so I don't have any tech to objectively measure these things, only my experiences in-game. I honestly don't know much about modding, but would love to understand more about this specific subject above. Is it that AOTR uses so much extra or new assets? Is there any way to pull from what the folks at 1.09v2 have done to increase performance and stability for AOTR, or does the AOTR mod just work too differently?

#2 Mathijs

Mathijs

Post-modern Shaman

• Network Leaders
  • 13,756 posts
  • Projects:Age of the Ring
  • Division:Revora
  • Job:Leader

Posted 10 June 2021 - 08:24 AM

It's the number of textures we use to accomodate the number of new structures, units, and heroes.

No fuel left for the pilgrims

#3 Helper01

Helper01
  • Members
  • 128 posts

Posted 10 June 2021 - 04:11 PM