-mod command in Windows 10 troubleshoot bfme2

• Please log in to reply
1 reply to this topic

#1 roguewombat

roguewombat
  • New Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 05 January 2023 - 05:33 PM

Hi, apologies if this has been posted elsewhere. I haven't seen this specific issue addressed in regards to Windows 10 (Running patch 1.06) and wanted to know if I'm missing anything.

It appears that adding [-mod "C:\path\to\mod"] to the Target field of the properties -> shortcut tab is not causing my mod's .ini files to load at runtime. I'm new to modding, and am following the following tutorial: https://www.the3rdag...?apage=849#page

I completed up through the 5th page in the above tutorial, and decided to run the game just to make sure my mod was being loaded in correctly. Initially, the game started fine, but I couldn't see my custom hero. I read here that I need to delete ini.big from the install directory in order to use the -mod command, but that just results in an Exception saying the game isn't able to load 'Data\INI\Default\SubsystemLegend.ini'

To make sure I didn't do something stupid in the .ini files when I was making my hero, I extracted ini.big to a fresh directory (Using FinalBig editor), verified that this file exists in the "../data/default/" directory, then tried running the game again (My target field in properties was now: "C:\Program Files (x86)\Electronic Arts\The Battle for Middle-earth ™ II\lotrbfme2.exe" -mod "C:\Mods\MyModName"). This resulted in the same error, which, since I had made no changes yet, seems to indicate an issue with how I am linking my mod .ini files to the main game files.