Jump to content


Photo

2 problems with a new model


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 Stygs

Stygs
  • Members
  • 99 posts

Posted 13 May 2005 - 07:33 PM

Hi guys :D

I tried to make a new model for Ugluk based on Lurtz (I removed the bow and changed some details), it works great ingame, but i have 2 bigs problems now:

1. Ugluk is very hard to select, because I can only click on his feet :D
I guess the problem is the bounding box, but i have no idear how to export it correctly :D

2. Ugluk has no Housecolor. It still uses the same textur as Lurtz (uilurtz.dds) and I also have "OkToChangeModelColor = Yes", so I think its something with the model itsself :(

Does anyone know how to solve this problems? ;)

#2 eRe4s3r

eRe4s3r
  • Project Team
  • 63 posts

Posted 13 May 2005 - 07:44 PM

1. Ugluk is very hard to select, because I can only click on his feet ;)
I guess the problem is the bounding box, but i have no idear how to export it correctly  :D

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>


just use the w3d tools select the bounding box and select *AABox

the other one i dont know ^^

Edit: wee, typo :D

Edited by eRe4s3r, 13 May 2005 - 08:19 PM.


#3 Grim

Grim

    Mad Axe

  • Project Team
  • 537 posts
  •  T3A Team Chamber Member
  • Division:T3A Moderator

Posted 13 May 2005 - 07:54 PM

For the bounding box, you can have screenshots in the old infantry thing guide (model section):

http://www.proclone.net/tutorials/

For the housecolor, i can't say neither sorry :(

Forgive me if i say something wrong, but it might be something like the alpha layer on 2D images, you have to apply a black or something color as a texture to define it as colourable.

You might have an answer in the skinning guide here:

http://killasmods.ga...?file=tutorial2

Not sure though.

Good luck.
Posted Image

#4 Stino

Stino

    AKA Stink_o

  • Hosted
  • 1,421 posts
  • Location:the Netherlands
  • Projects:Blitzkrieg II:The Finest Hour (BlitzII:TFH)
  •  Doer of Things

Posted 13 May 2005 - 09:07 PM

You might didn't import a bounding box, so you have to make one urself using this method:
Make a box around him, go to the Hammer Tab --> w3d tools --> AABox
Posted Image

#5 Stygs

Stygs
  • Members
  • 99 posts

Posted 14 May 2005 - 12:48 AM

just use the w3d tools select the bounding box and select *AABox

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>


hmm, it didnt seem to make any difference ingame :D

Forgive me if i say something wrong, but it might be something like the alpha layer on 2D images, you have to apply a black or something color as a texture to define it as colourable.

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>


It has nothing to do with the textur. Lurtz and Ugluk are using the same textur (didnt had the time to make a new one), but Lurtz has housecolor, ugluk not :D

I have the same problem with my haradrim archer: They use the same textur like the haradrim lancer, but the lancer has housecolor, the archer not ;)


Btw: I tried to make some shields for the uruk hai, what do you think about them?

uruk shields

I will also use random textures on the shields, so they dont look all the same :D

#6 ched

ched

    .

  • Undead
  • 4,431 posts
  • Location:Angers (France)
  • Projects:Rhovanion Alliance
  •  T3A Team Chamber Member
  • Division:BFME
  • Job:Previous Division Leader

Posted 14 May 2005 - 01:07 AM

just use the w3d tools select the bounding box and select *AABox

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>


hmm, it didnt seem to make any difference ingame :D

Forgive me if i say something wrong, but it might be something like the alpha layer on 2D images, you have to apply a black or something color as a texture to define it as colourable.

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>


It has nothing to do with the textur. Lurtz and Ugluk are using the same textur (didnt had the time to make a new one), but Lurtz has housecolor, ugluk not :D

I have the same problem with my haradrim archer: They use the same textur like the haradrim lancer, but the lancer has housecolor, the archer not ;)


Btw: I tried to make some shields for the uruk hai, what do you think about them?

uruk shields

I will also use random textures on the shields, so they dont look all the same :D

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>


the model is good but i think they should be darker, cause they look brown here while black would make a perfect contrast with the White Hand
Software is like sex; it's better when it's free ~Linus Torvald

#7 OrcishHorde

OrcishHorde
  • Members
  • 34 posts
  • Location:Illinois
  • Projects:None 'cause I came here to learn!

Posted 14 May 2005 - 06:19 PM

Wow nice job ;) im lovin it!

#8 Kwen

Kwen

    Vileartist

  • T3A Staff
  • 4,837 posts
  • Location:Korea I wish
  • Projects:It'sa secreeet
  •  T3A's First N00b
  • Division:BFME
  • Job:T3A Expert
  • Donated

Posted 14 May 2005 - 09:01 PM

personnally i think the white hand should stretch most of the shield

                           https://www.twitch.tv/vileartist - Yes shameless self-promotion

          ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

                            "Old modders never die, they just fade away" ~ Hostile


#9 Lord Of Gifts

Lord Of Gifts

    I'm not corrupt, I'm morally flexible.

  • Hosted
  • 889 posts
  • Location:Canada
  • Projects:Battle for the Galaxy, EaWZone, Spy Mod
  •  Ph34r the blue text!
  • Division:EaWZone
  • Job:Webmaster and Modding Community Leader

Posted 14 May 2005 - 10:33 PM

did you change the name of the texture? If you did you will have to add an entry in housecolor.ini

HouseColor
       BaseTexture  = YOURTEXTURENAME.tga
       HouseTexture	= HC_IULurtz.tga
End
and for the haradrim archers:

HouseColor
       BaseTexture  = YOURTEXTURENAME.tga
       HouseTexture	= HC_MUHaraLncr.tga
End


#10 Grim

Grim

    Mad Axe

  • Project Team
  • 537 posts
  •  T3A Team Chamber Member
  • Division:T3A Moderator

Posted 14 May 2005 - 10:51 PM

The shields are very nice.

If you could make them look like more dirty it would be perfect.
Posted Image

#11 Stygs

Stygs
  • Members
  • 99 posts

Posted 15 May 2005 - 01:15 AM

did you change the name of the texture?  If you did you will have to add an entry in housecolor.ini

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>


Lurtz and Ugluk are using exactly the same textur (uilurtz.dds), so i didnt need to add it to housecolor.ini.
Archer and lancher also use the same textur file :(




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users