need some basic help

• Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 Soeveth

Soeveth
  • Members
  • 13 posts

Posted 16 May 2005 - 07:06 AM

Ok im new to this whole modding thing, I've gone through all tutorials I could find, on this site and others. I've searched through 100s of posts but I cant find what im looking for.

I dont plan on doing any heavy moding just some simple ini editing for the moment just to get a feel for it.

I know that I cant play online with edited files so I dont want to change anything in the main BFME folder, So heres my question, how do I get a mod to load.

heres what ive done

since Im just starting I wanted to try something simple. So I decied to try something like edited a heros cost, attack damage, etc.

-so I use finalbig to extract the gamedata.ini so that I can edit it
-I use a text editor (notepad) to open it up and edit the stuff I want and then save it
-I use finalbig again to make a big file using the edited gamedata.ini, called crypt.big
- now I move that file to docemunts and settings\user\app data\me BFME files
- I create a new short cut point to my bfme.exea nd after the " I add -mod crypt.big

when I load bfme with my new shortcut none of my changes are there. What did I do wrong?

Also can some pls explain how a mod launcher works, I got one but I cant figure out how it works.

-Soeveth

#2 Celeglin

Celeglin

Silhouette of a Serenade

• Hosted
  • 2,468 posts
  • Projects:The Elven Alliance, Rhovanion Alliance
  •  T3A Team Chamber Member

Posted 16 May 2005 - 10:33 AM

You'll need to remove INI.big from your B4ME folder to use the changes. Put it back whenever you want to play online (or use the normal game settings). By simply moving the INI.big in and out of your B4ME folder, you won't have to worry about keeping you gamedata.ini out of you B4ME folder (as the game will automatically load INI.big if it is present).

In sum:
1. Extract your INI.big with FinalBig
2. Edit your stuff