Jump to content


Photo

Spell Cursors


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 halbarad

halbarad

    lone wanderer

  • Project Team
  • 466 posts
  • Projects:RA, tinkering...
  •  random guy

Posted 13 June 2005 - 10:30 PM

ok this shud probably go in a different section but im not 100% sure it works and it is probably already known by people from generals modding but here it is.

first ill run through the steps that the game goes through when you use a spell and have to select the area:

- you press the spell button and move your cursor to space

- the game obtains what the type of cursor that spell uses from the commandbutton in commandbutton.ini

 RadiusCursorType        = LIGHTNING_SWORD
(ill be using gandalfs lightning blast as an example)

- it then looks in game.dat to find out what that means and finds that it links to a ingameui called "LightningSwordRadiusCursor "

- and so the game totters over to ingameui.ini and finds this:

 LightningSwordRadiusCursor   
    Texture        = SCCLightningSword
    Style          = SHADOW_ALPHA_DECAL
    OpacityMin     = 20%;50%
    OpacityMax     = 60%;100%
    OpacityThrobTime  = 1000
    Color          = R:255 G:255 B:255 A:255;R:0 G:0 B:200 A:255 
    OnlyVisibleToOwningPlayer = Yes
  End

telling it what to display


Now the problems come when you want to add a new spell radius without editing the game.dat but there is a solution and it could come from:

- EA being kind and thoughtful to modders
OR (and this is more likely)
-EA being sloppy

basically because this game is pretty much just a TC mod for generals, then remarketed, there is a hell of a lot of old generals crap left in the ini files and game.dat and so alot of the links from RadiusCursorType to an ingameui reference are still intact from generals.

so all you have to do is use an old generals RadiusCursorType reference and ingameui reference and EA were kind enough to leave all the ganerals ingameui.ini code in.

so here is a link to get started:

RadiusCursorType = SPYDRONE -->ingameui.ini reference = SpyDroneRadiusCursor

To get what you need to put into the commandbutton "RadiusCursorType" you have to take the name of the radius cursor in ingameui.ini, for example: "AttackScatterAreaRadiusCursor" and forget about the "RadiusCursor" bit and then put it all in capitals and split up the words with _

so in commandbutton to reference "AttackScatterAreaRadiusCursor" you must put:

RadiusCursorType = ATTACK_SCATTER_AREA

Edited by halbarad, 14 June 2005 - 10:46 AM.

Now for Wrath, Now for Ruin, and for a Red Dawn...

#2 Celeglin

Celeglin

    Silhouette of a Serenade

  • Hosted
  • 2,468 posts
  • Projects:The Elven Alliance, Rhovanion Alliance
  •  T3A Team Chamber Member

Posted 13 June 2005 - 10:43 PM

:p And after we all said it was impossible without replacing the BFME cursors. Great find halbarad. This should go in the user submitted section, if I'm not mistaken.

Posted Image
Posted Image


#3 ched

ched

    .

  • Undead
  • 4,431 posts
  • Location:Angers (France)
  • Projects:Rhovanion Alliance
  •  T3A Team Chamber Member
  • Division:BFME
  • Job:Previous Division Leader

Posted 13 June 2005 - 10:48 PM

nick is gonna be happy about this :p
moving it to User Submitted Work since its pretty much a tutorial
Software is like sex; it's better when it's free ~Linus Torvald

#4 Hostile

Hostile

    Benefitting Humanity Simply by Showing Up!

  • Veterans
  • 9,551 posts
  • Location:Washington DC
  •  T3A Founder
  • Division:Revora
  • Job:Global Administrator
  • Donated
  • Association

Posted 14 June 2005 - 01:23 AM

And this will untimately end up in tricks of the trade. :p

#5 halbarad

halbarad

    lone wanderer

  • Project Team
  • 466 posts
  • Projects:RA, tinkering...
  •  random guy

Posted 14 June 2005 - 10:34 AM

ok to get what you need to put into the commandbutton "RadiusCursorType" you have to take the name of the radius cursor in ingameui.ini, for example: "AttackScatterAreaRadiusCursor" and forget about the "RadiusCursor" bit and then put it all in capitals and split up the words with _

so in commandbutton to reference "AttackScatterAreaRadiusCursor" you must put:

RadiusCursorType = ATTACK_SCATTER_AREA


Added this to the bottom of the top post

Edited by halbarad, 14 June 2005 - 10:38 AM.

Now for Wrath, Now for Ruin, and for a Red Dawn...

#6 Kwen

Kwen

    Vileartist

  • T3A Staff
  • 4,835 posts
  • Location:Korea I wish
  • Projects:It'sa secreeet
  •  T3A's First N00b
  • Division:BFME
  • Job:T3A Expert
  • Donated

Posted 09 November 2005 - 12:26 AM

is it possible to make a semi transparant building insead of an icon?

                           https://www.twitch.tv/vileartist - Yes shameless self-promotion

          ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

                            "Old modders never die, they just fade away" ~ Hostile


#7 ched

ched

    .

  • Undead
  • 4,431 posts
  • Location:Angers (France)
  • Projects:Rhovanion Alliance
  •  T3A Team Chamber Member
  • Division:BFME
  • Job:Previous Division Leader

Posted 09 November 2005 - 07:39 PM

cursors use a texture, don't think you can make a model for them, and unless you can make a 2D image appear like a 3D building, that would be impossible :p

still working on that "build anywhere you want !!!1" thingy
if you get through it, make sure you credit Pabtyf a lot :lol:
Software is like sex; it's better when it's free ~Linus Torvald

#8 Kwen

Kwen

    Vileartist

  • T3A Staff
  • 4,835 posts
  • Location:Korea I wish
  • Projects:It'sa secreeet
  •  T3A's First N00b
  • Division:BFME
  • Job:T3A Expert
  • Donated

Posted 09 November 2005 - 11:11 PM

i already have :lol:

                           https://www.twitch.tv/vileartist - Yes shameless self-promotion

          ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

                            "Old modders never die, they just fade away" ~ Hostile


#9 Radspakr Wolfbane

Radspakr Wolfbane

    The John Farnham of modding

  • Members
  • 7,722 posts
  • Location:less than 5 meters from my bed
  • Projects:Comeback tour
  •  The Retired Beard

Posted 20 May 2006 - 01:32 PM

thanks for i was wondering how to put that in there great work

Break dancing into the hearts of millions


#10 Phil

Phil

    Force Majeure

  • Network Leaders
  • 7,969 posts
  • Location:Switzerland
  • Projects:Revora, C&C:Online
  •  Thought Police
  • Division:Revora
  • Job:Network Leader
  • Donated
  • Association

Posted 06 August 2006 - 11:34 AM

Well, I recently did some radius cursors and found that the split-up-and-capitalize-rule is not valid for most of the old generals cursors. So I checked game.dat and made a list which ones can be used, includes old (Generals) and new (Bfme), used and unused:


New Cursors:

Spells:

PALANTIR_VISION
EAGLE_ALLIES
ARMY_OF_THE_DEAD
ELVEN_ALLIES
ROHAN_ALLIES
ENT_ALLIES
EYE_OF_SAURON
HEAL
DEVASTATION
INDUSTRY
SUMMON_BALROG
SPELL_BOOK_TAINT
SPELL_BOOK_ELVEN_WOOD


Powers:

ARCHERY_TRAINING
CAPTAIN_OF_GONDOR
SPEECH_CRAFT
DOMINATE
KINGS_FAVOR
SUMMON_OATH_BREAKERS
LEAP
FIRE_BREATH
LIGHTNING_SWORD
ARROWSTORM
GUARD_AREA


New, but unused:

EAGLE_SWOOP
FELL_BEAST_SWOOP
ATHELAS
TRAINING (only used by leadership powers and the unused "Rousing Speech")


Old cursors:

SPYDRONE
RADAR
AMBUSH
ANTHRAXBOMB
SCUDSTORM
CLUSTERMINES
ARTILLERYBARRAGE
NUCLEARMISSILE
REVEAL_MAP_AREA
PARADROP
DAISYCUTTER
CARPETBOMB
A10STRIKE
PARTICLECANNON
SUPERWEAPON_SCATTER_AREA
OFFENSIVE_SPECIALPOWER
FRIENDLY_SPECIALPOWER
EMERGENCY_REPAIR
ATTACK_CONTINUE_AREA
ATTACK_SCATTER_AREA
ATTACK_DAMAGE_AREA


There you go, hope that shortens the process for you guys... Oh, and yes, find the ingameui references yourself.

DLotS

revorapresident.jpg
My Political Compass

Sieben Elefanten hatte Herr Dschin
Und da war dann noch der achte.
Sieben waren wild und der achte war zahm
Und der achte war's, der sie bewachte.


#11 Guest_Guest_*

Guest_Guest_*
  • Guests

Posted 09 November 2006 - 02:39 AM

so here is a link to get started:

RadiusCursorType = SPYDRONE -->ingameui.ini reference = SpyDroneRadiusCursor

To get what you need to put into the commandbutton "RadiusCursorType" you have to take the name of the radius cursor in ingameui.ini, for example: "AttackScatterAreaRadiusCursor" and forget about the "RadiusCursor" bit and then put it all in capitals and split up the words with _

so in commandbutton to reference "AttackScatterAreaRadiusCursor" you must put:

RadiusCursorType = ATTACK_SCATTER_AREA


Is that true? ATTACK_SCATTER_AREA is the exception rather than the norm.

Look at your own example of SpyDroneRadiusCursor. If you put it all in capitals and split up the words with _ then it should become SPY_DRONE but instead in commandbutton.ini you have to put it as SPYDRONE.

Also, in commandbutton.ini you have RadiusCursorType = ARTILLERYBARRAGE
whilst in InGameUi.ini the corresponding bit is called ArtilleryRadiusCursor. The "BARRAGE" part is completely missing. This suggests that EA did not follow a set rule for naming the stuff in game.dat to always correspond to the stuff in InGameUi.

Other examples:

ClusterMinesRadiusCursor --> CLUSTERMINES

NapalmStrikeRadiusCursor --> NAPALMSTRIKE

Well, I recently did some radius cursors and found that the split-up-and-capitalize-rule is not valid for most of the old generals cursors. So I checked game.dat and made a list which ones can be used, includes old (Generals) and new (Bfme), used and unused:


=====

Oops, did not see your post until after i posted the last one. Thanks for the info. I am actually working on a mod for Zero Hour and was trying to figure out how to use some of EA's unused radius cursor decals so this info is very helpful.

=====

A question for you BFME guys, have you come across a module called RadiusDecalUpdate? Any idea how to use it? According to Deezire's General's module list he says:

RadiusDecalUpdate
   [no parameters - this module allows use of a radius decal cursor from Mouse.INI on the objects weapon when not explicitly fired]
End

Solinx: Merged three posts

#12 Solinx

Solinx

    .

  • Undead
  • 3,100 posts
  • Location:The Netherlands
  • Projects:Real Life
  • Division:Revora
  • Job:Retired Leader / Manager

Posted 09 November 2006 - 09:59 AM

While it is on the topic, I'd ask this question in another forum. Like:

The BFME 2 forum
or
The BFME 1 forum

This forum isn't nearly as frequently visited as either of these two.

btw. I have no clue what it should do.

Solinx

Edited by Solinx, 09 November 2006 - 10:00 AM.

Posted Image

"An expert is a man who has made all the mistakes which can be made in a very narrow field." - Niels Bohr





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users