Jump to content


Photo

Nazgul Plow Attack


  • Please log in to reply
22 replies to this topic

#1 steve_randle

steve_randle
  • Members
  • 87 posts
  • Location:Singapore
  • Projects:Learning to Skin And Model

Posted 26 March 2005 - 11:52 AM

I'm currently working on the nazgul attack which glides through dealing damage to whatever it comes into contact. however, i met with a few problems.

1. when i use the glide skeleton, the nazgul floated away from the fellbeast during gliding. when it went back up it became normal again.

2. i can't make it glide far enough. all it did was glide, grab and come up again.

Can anyone help me??



I went back and figured out the first porblem. i change the glide skeleton to a atkB skeleton. Still can't solve the second one though

Edited by steve_randle, 26 March 2005 - 12:23 PM.

°^v^°i'LL BeAt tHe TaR oUt Of yOu°^v^°

#2 pabtyf

pabtyf

    T3A Forum Moderator

  • Project Team
  • 209 posts
  • Location:wales, uk
  • Projects:Finally finished my degree!!!!
  • Division:T3A Staff

Posted 26 March 2005 - 12:35 PM

The Nazgul/Fellbeast has provided loads of problems. It seems the GiantBirdAI which it uses is totally hardcoded, and the attacks can't be altered to any great extent. any changes to it's locomotor or weapons don't seem to make any difference (except for damage)

Not very helpful Im afraid:(

Having said that, there was a plow attack in the pre release videos. maybe the code is there somewhere but I have yet to find it!

Edited by pabtyf, 26 March 2005 - 12:36 PM.


#3 steve_randle

steve_randle
  • Members
  • 87 posts
  • Location:Singapore
  • Projects:Learning to Skin And Model

Posted 26 March 2005 - 01:15 PM

The plow attack is what kind of attack?
°^v^°i'LL BeAt tHe TaR oUt Of yOu°^v^°

#4 pabtyf

pabtyf

    T3A Forum Moderator

  • Project Team
  • 209 posts
  • Location:wales, uk
  • Projects:Finally finished my degree!!!!
  • Division:T3A Staff

Posted 26 March 2005 - 01:24 PM

where the nazgul flies down and through the troops (not picking them up) causing damage to what it flies through.

#5 steve_randle

steve_randle
  • Members
  • 87 posts
  • Location:Singapore
  • Projects:Learning to Skin And Model

Posted 26 March 2005 - 01:27 PM

i manage to let it fly through only for a very very short while but it still grab some of the troops along the way. think i'll work more on it tomorrow. thanks for the help anyway

Edited by steve_randle, 26 March 2005 - 01:28 PM.

°^v^°i'LL BeAt tHe TaR oUt Of yOu°^v^°

#6 steve_randle

steve_randle
  • Members
  • 87 posts
  • Location:Singapore
  • Projects:Learning to Skin And Model

Posted 27 March 2005 - 06:14 AM

i have check the ini of the nazgul and found out that the plow attack is its primary attack, but somehow got removed.

WeaponSet
  Weapon 	 = PRIMARY  NazgulPlowAttack
  PreferredAgainst	= PRIMARY  STRUCTURE MACHINE HORDE

  Weapon 	 = SECONDARY  NazgulGrabAttack
  PreferredAgainst	= SECONDARY  INFANTRY THROWN_OBJECT CAVALRY

  Weapon 	 = TERTIARY  NazgulClawAttack
  OnlyAgainst  = TERTIARY  MONSTER
	End

And i also find the animation of the plow attack but can't get it to work. the animation name is CUFellBst_ATKB and i found that it is use in another code.

AnimationState = MOVING SPECIAL_WEAPON_ONE
 	 StateName = Moving
 	 Animation = Moving
    AnimationName = CUFellBst_SKL.CUFellBst_ATKB
    AnimationMode = LOOP
    AnimationBlendTime = 10
 	 End
   	 BeginScript
   	 Prev = CurDrawablePrevAnimationState()
   	 if Prev == "Idle"	then CurDrawableSetTransitionAnimState("Trans_Begin_Moving") return end
   	 if Prev == "Climbing"	then CurDrawableSetTransitionAnimState("Trans_Begin_Moving") return end
    EndScript
     End

As i don't understand what it means i can't do much
°^v^°i'LL BeAt tHe TaR oUt Of yOu°^v^°

#7 jaao

jaao
  • Members
  • 91 posts
  • Location:Norway
  • Projects:youngsql.elite team

Posted 27 March 2005 - 09:31 PM

have you tried to change
WeaponSet
 Weapon   = PRIMARY  NazgulPlowAttack
 PreferredAgainst = PRIMARY  STRUCTURE MACHINE HORDE

 Weapon   = SECONDARY  NazgulGrabAttack
 PreferredAgainst = SECONDARY  INFANTRY THROWN_OBJECT CAVALRY

 Weapon   = TERTIARY  NazgulClawAttack
 OnlyAgainst  = TERTIARY  MONSTER
End
to
WeaponSet
 Weapon   = PRIMARY  NazgulPlowAttack
 PreferredAgainst = PRIMARY  STRUCTURE MACHINE HORDE INFANTRY THROWN_OBJECT CAVALRY

 Weapon   = SECONDARY  NazgulGrabAttack
 PreferredAgainst = SECONDARY  INFANTRY THROWN_OBJECT CAVALRY

 Weapon   = TERTIARY  NazgulClawAttack
 OnlyAgainst  = TERTIARY  MONSTER
End
you may also have to edit some lines in the weapones.ini
The norwegian elite is in the house

#8 steve_randle

steve_randle
  • Members
  • 87 posts
  • Location:Singapore
  • Projects:Learning to Skin And Model

Posted 28 March 2005 - 09:11 AM

I did change it but i didn't go look into the weapons.ini. Did you manage to get it to work??
°^v^°i'LL BeAt tHe TaR oUt Of yOu°^v^°

#9 steve_randle

steve_randle
  • Members
  • 87 posts
  • Location:Singapore
  • Projects:Learning to Skin And Model

Posted 12 April 2005 - 10:41 AM

i recently work on this again and found this in the commandbutton.ini

CommandButton Command_SwoopAttack
  Command                 = SPECIAL_POWER 
  SpecialPower            = SpecialAbilitySwoopAttack
  Options                 = NEED_TARGET_POS
  TextLabel               = CONTROLBAR:SwoopAttack
  ButtonImage             = SCGrabPassenger
  CursorName              = EvilAbilityObj
  ButtonBorderType        = ACTION 
  DescriptLabel           = CONTROLBAR:TooltipSwoopAttack
  RadiusCursorType    = FELL_BEAST_SWOOP
;  UnitSpecificSound       = 
End

it's description is dive through units so i reckon it's the plow attack

and i went to the fellbeast ini and found this

Behavior = GiantBirdAIUpdate ModuleTag_GiantBirdAI
     AutoAcquireEnemiesWhenIdle	=	No ATTACK_BUILDINGS    ; Important that Nazgul not go swooping about on his own, UNLESS IN GUARD STATE
     MoodAttackCheckRate 	 =	500
     AILuaEventsList    =	FellBeastFunctions	
  FollowThroughDistance  =	200
  FollowThroughCheckStep  =	50
  FollowThroughGradient  =	1.0
  
  GrabTossTimeTrigger 	 =	2.5
  GrabTossHeightTrigger  =   100.0
  TossFX    = FX_DiebyFalling
  SpecialContactPoints  = Swoop
  
  AttackPriority = AttackPriority_FellBeast
   End

which means that the attack is already there but it is not attach to the nazgul on fellbeast.i will work on it further and let you know the result
°^v^°i'LL BeAt tHe TaR oUt Of yOu°^v^°

#10 steve_randle

steve_randle
  • Members
  • 87 posts
  • Location:Singapore
  • Projects:Learning to Skin And Model

Posted 13 April 2005 - 04:14 AM

i have managed to let the fellbeast to use the swoop/plow attack.
Simply add Command_LevelAttack to its commandset.
There is another commandset called Command_Levelposition which could mean that it flies closer to the grow before launching the swoop/plow attack instead of in the air downwards.

However after using the attack, the fellbeast will fly up and be in it idle position and you can't do anything anymore. Can anyone help me out? Thanks
°^v^°i'LL BeAt tHe TaR oUt Of yOu°^v^°

#11 ched

ched

    .

  • Undead
  • 4,431 posts
  • Location:Angers (France)
  • Projects:Rhovanion Alliance
  •  T3A Team Chamber Member
  • Division:BFME
  • Job:Previous Division Leader

Posted 03 May 2005 - 11:01 AM

i have managed to let the fellbeast to use the swoop/plow attack.
Simply add Command_LevelAttack to its commandset.
There is another commandset called Command_Levelposition which could mean that it flies closer to the grow before launching the swoop/plow attack instead of in the air downwards.

However after using the attack, the fellbeast will fly up and be in it idle position and you can't do anything anymore. Can anyone help me out? Thanks

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>


sorry to bump an old topic but this seems interesting :dry:
ok steve i tried all buttons as well and found the same problem with the idle nazgul stuff.
id ont know much about animating and flagsused stuff but i think the answer i somewhere in there, for me animations to get in swoop position are working however it doesnt return to the basic animation as it should so i l have a look through the code, maybe i am on the right way, who knows ? :p
Software is like sex; it's better when it's free ~Linus Torvald

#12 ched

ched

    .

  • Undead
  • 4,431 posts
  • Location:Angers (France)
  • Projects:Rhovanion Alliance
  •  T3A Team Chamber Member
  • Division:BFME
  • Job:Previous Division Leader

Posted 04 May 2005 - 01:27 AM

didnt feel like editing my previous message so this topic gets bumped and Hostile can take a look at that (anyone else might as well but it think Hostile will be more able to answer cause he did a tutorial on that :p :) )

i am still trying to implement the swoop function (i ll get it to work or will just get Fellbeasts out of the game :p). i gave up looking in the animations and decided to try the locomotors)
Its my first experience editing locomotors so i may have done noob mistakes :p
so i found that when panicked, the fellbeast would switch to that locomotor :
LocomotorSet
     Locomotor = FellBeastSwoopLocomotor; BALANCE FellBeast
     Condition = SET_PANIC
     Speed     = 160
   End

as i wanted to edit that locomor, i replaced it with the FellBeastLocomotor (they are both the same).
so first of all, i wanted to know how you get the locomotor to work when activating the swoop attack, could
Condition = SET_WEAPON
work ? (no conviction, i just invented that one :p ) or i also thought i could use the upgrade/unupgrade code to change the locomotor ( here it is :
Behavior = LocomotorSetUpgrade ModuleTag_custom
TriggeredBy = Upgrade_YourUpgrade
End
)
next, i checked locomotor.ini and decided to edit that locomotor
so i thought i might edit the flying height as my unit needs to fly really low, i edited
PreferredHeight         = 5
so its the same as the attack height
anyway heres the complete code for the locomotor
Locomotor FellBeastSwoopLocomotor
	Surfaces = AIR
	LookAheadMult = 2.0
	MinSpeed                = 0%
	SlowTurnRadius 	 = 32.0;  From a standing starts, 40 foot radius.
	FastTurnRadius      = 48.0; Once it gets moving, uses a 60 foot radius to turn.
	TurnTime              = 3500
	TurnTimeDamaged      = 4500
	Acceleration = 400; 1 second to accelerate to full speed.

	Lift                    = 100%
	LiftDamaged             = 100%
	Braking  = 1000; 1 second to brake from full speed.
	MinTurnSpeed            = 30%
	PreferredHeight         = 5  ; cruise height
	PreferredAttackHeight   = 5; attack height
	AllowAirborneMotiveForce = Yes
	ZAxisBehavior           = SURFACE_RELATIVE_HEIGHT
	Appearance = GIANT_BIRD
	
	CloseEnoughDist	= 2
	PitchStiffness = 0.5                ;  stiffness of the "springs" in the suspension forward & back.
	RollStiffness = 0.4                 ;  stiffness of the "springs" in the suspension side to side.
	PitchDamping = 0.9                  ;  How fast it damps.  0=perfect spring, bounces forever.  1=glued to terrain.
	RollDamping = 0.7                   ;  How fast it damps.  0=perfect spring, bounces forever.  1=glued to terrain.
	ForwardVelocityPitchFactor = 0      ;  How much velocity will cause the front to lift/dip
	LateralVelocityRollFactor = 0.8     ;  How much cornering will cause the chassis to roll.
	Apply2DFrictionWhenAirborne = Yes
	AirborneTargetingHeight = 25
	LocomotorWorksWhenDead = Yes        ; JetSlowDeathBehavior needs this to function correctly
  
	RudderCorrectionDegree  = 0.099; makes movement appear noisier, swimmy, not so synthetic.. drawable only
	RudderCorrectionRate  = 0.027
	ElevatorCorrectionDegree	= 0.163
	ElevatorCorrectionRate  = 0.016
	AeleronCorrectionDegree  = 0.073
	AeleronCorrectionRate  = 0.021
	
	SwoopStandoffRadius  =	310.0;
	SwoopStandoffHeight  =	119.0;
	SwoopTerminalVelocity	=	0.18;
	SwoopAccelerationRate	=	0.012
	SlideIntoPlaceTime      =	900
;SwoopSpeedTuningFactor	=   0.8 
	
End

is this code right for now Hostile ?
i am gonna take a look at the Oathbreakers code to see what allows it to path through units killing them


EDIT : the weapon the oathbreakers use is just a sword so it wont help ... unless its called sword but makes them path through units :dry:
so it might be in the locomotor again, here is their locomotor for the record :

Locomotor ArmyOfTheDeadLocomotor
  Surfaces              = GROUND RUBBLE WATER IMPASSABLE
  TurnTime              = 500
  TurnTimeDamaged       = 500
  FastTurnRadius  = 10; Can turn in a 10 foot radius circle when moving.
  SlowTurnRadius  = 0; Turns in place from a standing start.
  Acceleration = 510 ; .5 second to accelerate to full speed.
  FormationPriority  = MELEE1;MELEE2
  Braking  = 510 ; .51 second to brake from full speed.
  MinTurnSpeed          = 0%
  ZAxisBehavior         = FLOATING_Z
  Appearance            = TWO_LEGS
  StickToGround         = Yes      ; walking guys aren't allowed to catch huge (or even small) air.
  CanMoveBackwards       = No  ; Can move backwards when afraid.
End

i cant see anything interesting it though ... dammit oathbreakers what is your secret ?! :umad:

Edited by ched, 04 May 2005 - 01:55 AM.

Software is like sex; it's better when it's free ~Linus Torvald

#13 Hostile

Hostile

    Benefitting Humanity Simply by Showing Up!

  • Veterans
  • 9,551 posts
  • Location:Washington DC
  •  T3A Founder
  • Division:Revora
  • Job:Global Administrator
  • Donated
  • Association

Posted 04 May 2005 - 02:34 AM

For Oathbreakers I'd take a look at what exactly does the bounding box and geometry of the "so called unit" look like. For the condition states, look to WB un set unit conditionstate and it lists ALL of the existing condition states. Though you may have to set USER 1 or WEAPON 1 condition states in you model so it knows when you use it.

Look to Sauron and Galdalf for those art coding condition states.

#14 ched

ched

    .

  • Undead
  • 4,431 posts
  • Location:Angers (France)
  • Projects:Rhovanion Alliance
  •  T3A Team Chamber Member
  • Division:BFME
  • Job:Previous Division Leader

Posted 04 May 2005 - 02:44 AM

For Oathbreakers I'd take a look at what exactly does the bounding box and geometry of the "so called unit" look like. For the condition states, look to WB un set unit conditionstate and it lists ALL of the existing condition states. Though you may have to set USER 1 or WEAPON 1 condition states in you model so it knows when you use it.

Look to Sauron and Galdalf for those art coding condition states.

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>



woo i think i may have tried a bit too much for me there :p
but i wont give up, i will succeed and post a tutorial :)

Edited by ched, 28 June 2005 - 09:40 PM.

Software is like sex; it's better when it's free ~Linus Torvald

#15 steve_randle

steve_randle
  • Members
  • 87 posts
  • Location:Singapore
  • Projects:Learning to Skin And Model

Posted 04 May 2005 - 03:53 AM

sorry to bump an old topic but this seems interesting
ok steve i tried all buttons as well and found the same problem with the idle nazgul stuff.
id ont know much about animating and flagsused stuff but i think the answer i somewhere in there, for me animations to get in swoop position are working however it doesnt return to the basic animation as it should so i l have a look through the code, maybe i am on the right way, who knows ?


right..i was thinking about that too but i haven't been able to carry on working on that because my computer isn't working :) i am going to get it fix somewhere later in the week.

AutoAcquireEnemiesWhenIdle = No ATTACK_BUILDINGS  ; Important that Nazgul not go swooping about on his own, UNLESS IN GUARD STATE

this is also something that is quite interesting..by right it should swoop while in guarding state(without a need to create a commandbutton and use it to activate). not sure about it...

oh yea.. i read in MEMW forum and someone manage to do it after installing the 1.02 patch.. here's what he says:

hehe, its so fun to just PLOW through Cavm just like in the movies, the diving speed + really does the trick. Im gonna get some good screens from this. And is it just me, or is there now more fear&gt;ive seen Orcs bet scared by a troll, and rangers cower fom a nazgul. was it like this before, or did they change something?


i can't try to see if it's true and ,funny enough, no one else discuss about this attack..

Edited by steve_randle, 04 May 2005 - 04:00 AM.

°^v^°i'LL BeAt tHe TaR oUt Of yOu°^v^°

#16 ched

ched

    .

  • Undead
  • 4,431 posts
  • Location:Angers (France)
  • Projects:Rhovanion Alliance
  •  T3A Team Chamber Member
  • Division:BFME
  • Job:Previous Division Leader

Posted 04 May 2005 - 07:37 AM

sorry to bump an old topic but this seems interesting
ok steve i tried all buttons as well and found the same problem with the idle nazgul stuff.
id ont know much about animating and flagsused stuff but i think the answer i somewhere in there, for me animations to get in swoop position are working however it doesnt return to the basic animation as it should so i l have a look through the code, maybe i am on the right way, who knows ?


right..i was thinking about that too but i haven't been able to carry on working on that because my computer isn't working :p i am going to get it fix somewhere later in the week.

AutoAcquireEnemiesWhenIdle = No ATTACK_BUILDINGS ; Important that Nazgul not go swooping about on his own, UNLESS IN GUARD STATE

this is also something that is quite interesting..by right it should swoop while in guarding state(without a need to create a commandbutton and use it to activate). not sure about it...

oh yea.. i read in MEMW forum and someone manage to do it after installing the 1.02 patch.. here's what he says:

hehe, its so fun to just PLOW through Cavm just like in the movies, the diving speed + really does the trick. Im gonna get some good screens from this. And is it just me, or is there now more fear&gt;ive seen Orcs bet scared by a troll, and rangers cower fom a nazgul. was it like this before, or did they change something?


i can't try to see if it's true and ,funny enough, no one else discuss about this attack..

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>



i dont know if the No ATTACK_BUILDINGS thing is really that interesting cause i rather have that power as a special attack with a recharge time :umad:
i ll try all about it but that will have to wait a bit, i am off for 5 days and then holidays are over so i ll be able to take "coding nights" on week ends only
if the locomotor and stuff dont work, then i guess i will try to fully reprogram the attack :p but that will be tough as its an attack affecting height :)
thx for your answer in any case steve
Software is like sex; it's better when it's free ~Linus Torvald

#17 steve_randle

steve_randle
  • Members
  • 87 posts
  • Location:Singapore
  • Projects:Learning to Skin And Model

Posted 04 May 2005 - 07:57 AM

your welcome... i hope i can get my computer working again as i will be going to my new school in 3 weeks time and i doubt i will have time to mod..hopefully i can find time in school to post here and finish what i intend to do... i will continue to work on this nonetheless..thanks to you too ched
°^v^°i'LL BeAt tHe TaR oUt Of yOu°^v^°

#18 Ethan

Ethan
  • Members
  • 34 posts

Posted 28 June 2005 - 06:04 PM

I was looking in Weapons.INI and Found this bit of coding;

Weapon NazgulPlowAttack
  RadiusDamageAffects = ENEMIES ALLIES NOT_SIMILAR
  AttackRange = 24.0
  AcceptableAimDelta = 5
  DelayBetweenShots = 4000
  FireFX = FX_BuildingHitByFlyer
  AntiAirborneVehicle = Yes
  AntiAirborneMonster = Yes
  AntiAirborneInfantry = Yes    
  MeleeWeapon = No
  CanSwoop = Yes
  ChaseWeapon = Yes
  DamageNugget
    Damage = 200
    DamageScalar = 1000% NONE +GondorTrebuchet +MordorCatapult +IsengardBallista +GondorTrebuchetWall 
    DamageScalar = 30% NONE +HERO
    Radius = 40.0
    DelayTime = 1
    DamageType = HERO
    DamageFXType = CLUBBING
    DeathType = NORMAL
  End
  DamageNugget
    Damage = 100
    Radius = 40.0
    DelayTime = 1
    DamageType = FLY_INTO
    DamageFXType = CLUBBING
    DeathType = NORMAL
  End
  DamageNugget
    Damage = 200
    DamageScalar = 1000% NONE +GondorTrebuchet +MordorCatapult +IsengardBallista +GondorTrebuchetWall 
    DamageScalar = 30% NONE +HERO
    Radius = 12.0
    DelayTime = 0
    DamageType = HERO
    DamageFXType = CLUBBING
    DeathType = NORMAL
  End
  MetaImpactNugget
    HeroResist = 50.0
    ShockWaveAmount = 60.0
    ShockWaveRadius = 48.0
    ShockWaveTaperOff = 0.5
  End
End

I might be wrong but this could possiple be the attack where the Nazgul swoop along the ground hitting troops as seen in the Official Movie 3 ITB movie showed on Gamespot.

So heres the question you might have guessed; Is it possiple to make it work?

#19 Lord Of Gifts

Lord Of Gifts

    I'm not corrupt, I'm morally flexible.

  • Hosted
  • 889 posts
  • Location:Canada
  • Projects:Battle for the Galaxy, EaWZone, Spy Mod
  •  Ph34r the blue text!
  • Division:EaWZone
  • Job:Webmaster and Modding Community Leader

Posted 28 June 2005 - 06:07 PM

http://forums.revora...topic=17877&hl=

#20 steve_randle

steve_randle
  • Members
  • 87 posts
  • Location:Singapore
  • Projects:Learning to Skin And Model

Posted 29 June 2005 - 11:54 AM

yup... refer to that thread...it might give you a head start..maybe someone can place this thread there since its related..
°^v^°i'LL BeAt tHe TaR oUt Of yOu°^v^°




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users