Jump to content


Photo

Boromir blade master


  • Please log in to reply
23 replies to this topic

#1 Valarauko

Valarauko
  • Members
  • 33 posts

Posted 19 July 2005 - 01:35 AM

i've given my boromir blade master at rank 5 and it works perfectly as far as attack and def bonuses, but i'm not sure how to give him the red glow around him because he has no blademaster bone.

is it possible to do this without editing his model?

Thanks, Valarauko

#2 Celeglin

Celeglin

    Silhouette of a Serenade

  • Hosted
  • 2,468 posts
  • Projects:The Elven Alliance, Rhovanion Alliance
  •  T3A Team Chamber Member

Posted 19 July 2005 - 02:02 AM

Adding this to Boromir's ini should do it (best to paste it near the beginning, just before the animation coding) :

 ModelConditionState = WEAPONSET_HERO_MODE
 	 ParticleSysBone = BAT_RIBS BladeMaster FollowBone:Yes
  End

It's not that Boromir doesn't have a "Blademaster" bone. The fx attaches itself to BAT_RIBS bone (both Aragorn and Boromir have this).

However, this most likely isn't enough (I honestly don't know, I haven't messed around with Blademaster much before). Some animation and weaponset editting may be needed.

Posted Image
Posted Image


#3 GothmogtheOrc

GothmogtheOrc

    Ruler of the Morgul Vale

  • Hosted
  • 2,263 posts
  • Location:USA
  • Projects:Kings of the West Mod
  •  T3A Chamber Member - Retired

Posted 19 July 2005 - 02:28 AM

I haven't messed around with Blademaster much before


Well luckily I have :cool:

Some animation and weaponset editting may be needed.


Oh yea... without the correct animation, your boromir will do some funky dance moves when activated... ^_^

You'll need to add this to Boromir's file:

(Boromir.ini)
---at top of unit animation data---

 ModelConditionState = WEAPONSET_HERO_MODE USER_3
  ParticleSysBone = BAT_RIBS BladeMaster FollowBone:Yes
  ParticleSysBone = BAT_HEAD AragornElendill FollowBone:Yes
 End

 ModelConditionState = WEAPONSET_HERO_MODE
  ParticleSysBone = BAT_RIBS BladeMaster FollowBone:Yes
 End

 ModelConditionState = USER_3
  ParticleSysBone = BAT_HEAD AragornElendill FollowBone:Yes
 End


---at end of "AnimationState" list---

 AnimationState    = FIRING_OR_PREATTACK_A   WEAPONSET_HERO_MODE; Blademaster Mode
  StateName    = STATE_ready
  Animation              = GUBoromir_ATD1
   AnimationName      = GUBoromir_SKL.GUBoromir_ATKB 
   AnimationMode  = ONCE
   UseWeaponTiming  = Yes
  End
  Flags     = RESTART_ANIM_WHEN_COMPLETE
  FXEvent = Frame:25 Name: FX_BladeMasterHitOrient
  FXEvent = Frame:45 Name: FX_BladeMasterHitOrient
 End

---At end of "Behavior" block---

Behavior = UnpauseSpecialPowerUpgrade ModuleTag_AragornBladeMasterEnabler
 SpecialPowerTemplate = SpecialAbilityAragornBladeMaster
 TriggeredBy = Upgrade_AragornBladeMaster
End

  Behavior = SpecialPowerModule ModuleTag_AragornBladeMasterStarter              ; SpecialAbility is a SpecialPower, SpecialPower is anyting special
 SpecialPowerTemplate    = SpecialAbilityAragornBladeMaster
 StartsPaused   = Yes
End

Behavior = HeroModeSpecialAbilityUpdate ModuleTag_AragornBladeMasterUpdate ; So the difference in SpecialAbility is that it takes timing from this Update, instead of simply firing.
 SpecialPowerTemplate    = SpecialAbilityAragornBladeMaster
 HeroAttributeModifier = AragornBladeMaster
 HeroEffectDuration  = 30000; this should sync with the auto ability delay re-fire time in commandButtons.ini
 UnpackTime              = 1; insant unpack
 TriggerSound   = AragornBladeMaster
End

----------------------------

(in ExperienceLevels.ini)

Add this to Boromir's Upgrades at the level of your choice:

Upgrade_AragornBladeMaster

You will also have to add the blademaster commandset to Boromir...just copy and paste aragorn's and give it a new number.

That should do it... let me know of any problems or questions.

-GothmogtheOrc

Nine%20rings.jpg
Click on my Sig to go to my BFME Modding site where you can download my mods.
KotW%20Morgul%20In-game.jpg
Kings of the West Mod Leader
*Retired. PM me if you need to get a hold of me as I'll get an email notification and should reply within a day or so*


#4 Valarauko

Valarauko
  • Members
  • 33 posts

Posted 19 July 2005 - 05:17 PM

thanks i'll give it a shot

#5 Valarauko

Valarauko
  • Members
  • 33 posts

Posted 20 July 2005 - 12:17 AM

hey it worked thanks a lot! :dry:

i have one more question though is there a way to make the surrounding glow blue instead of red?

#6 GothmogtheOrc

GothmogtheOrc

    Ruler of the Morgul Vale

  • Hosted
  • 2,263 posts
  • Location:USA
  • Projects:Kings of the West Mod
  •  T3A Chamber Member - Retired

Posted 20 July 2005 - 12:43 AM

Yep...its pretty easy in fact.

In FXParticleSystem.ini, do a search for "BladeMaster":

FXParticleSystem BladeMaster
  System
    Priority = ALWAYS_RENDER
    ParticleName = EXRing01.tga
    Lifetime = 15 15
    SortLevel = 1
    Size = 10 15
    BurstCount = 1 1
  End
  Color = DefaultColor
    Color2 = R:91 G:30 B:30 5
    Color3 = R:0 G:0 B:0 15
    Color4 = R:32 G:32 B:32 0
  End
  Update = DefaultUpdate
    SizeRate = 1 1
    SizeRateDamping = 1 1
    AngleZ = 0 7
    AngularRateZ = -0.1 0.1
    AngularDamping = 1 1
  End
  Physics = DefaultPhysics
    Gravity = -0.01
    VelocityDamping = 1 1
  End
  EmissionVelocity = OutwardEmissionVelocity
  End
  EmissionVolume = SphereEmissionVolume
    Radius = 10
  End
  Draw = DefaultDraw
  End
End

Just change the RGB to your new color:

This part of the code:

  Color2 = R:91 G:30 B:30 5
    Color3 = R:0 G:0 B:0 15
    Color4 = R:32 G:32 B:32 0

If you have any questions feel free to ask.

-GothmogtheOrc

Edited by GothmogtheOrc, 20 July 2005 - 12:45 AM.

Nine%20rings.jpg
Click on my Sig to go to my BFME Modding site where you can download my mods.
KotW%20Morgul%20In-game.jpg
Kings of the West Mod Leader
*Retired. PM me if you need to get a hold of me as I'll get an email notification and should reply within a day or so*


#7 Valarauko

Valarauko
  • Members
  • 33 posts

Posted 20 July 2005 - 01:03 AM

if i did that though wouldn't it be blue for aragorn also?

i thought maybe there was a way to copy it but change the color so it's blue for boromir and red for aragorn

if this is not possible its ok i can live with it :dry:

Thanks

#8 Hostile

Hostile

    Benefitting Humanity Simply by Showing Up!

  • Veterans
  • 9,551 posts
  • Location:Washington DC
  •  T3A Founder
  • Division:Revora
  • Job:Global Administrator
  • Donated
  • Association

Posted 20 July 2005 - 01:14 AM

It's very possible, to copy paste the red code as a differant name, just name the FX correctly and it'll do the same thing.

#9 Valarauko

Valarauko
  • Members
  • 33 posts

Posted 20 July 2005 - 02:41 PM

okay now i have a copied version of the fx that is blue but what do i have to change to make it so boromir uses this version?

Edited by Valarauko, 20 July 2005 - 02:42 PM.


#10 Celeglin

Celeglin

    Silhouette of a Serenade

  • Hosted
  • 2,468 posts
  • Projects:The Elven Alliance, Rhovanion Alliance
  •  T3A Team Chamber Member

Posted 20 July 2005 - 02:45 PM

In Boromir.ini, you'll have to change this part:

ModelConditionState = WEAPONSET_HERO_MODE
  ParticleSysBone = BAT_RIBS BladeMaster FollowBone:Yes
 End

Just switch "BladeMaster" to what ever you named your blue fx.

Posted Image
Posted Image


#11 Valarauko

Valarauko
  • Members
  • 33 posts

Posted 20 July 2005 - 03:40 PM

I tried all that and got a big error. :dry:

Color = DefaultColor
    Color2 = R:91 G:30 B:30 5
    Color3 = R:0 G:0 B:0 15
    Color4 = R:32 G:32 B:32 0
  End
unedited code


i figured out it was the particlesystem that was wrong and the only part i changed (besides the name) was this. So what part of the color do i change? The defaultcolor, or do i delete all of it and replace it with just one (that's what i did).

Thanks

#12 GothmogtheOrc

GothmogtheOrc

    Ruler of the Morgul Vale

  • Hosted
  • 2,263 posts
  • Location:USA
  • Projects:Kings of the West Mod
  •  T3A Chamber Member - Retired

Posted 20 July 2005 - 04:24 PM

Changing the color and the name won't mess up the ParticleSystem... but I think I know why it didn't work. I'll go look up all the different codes and Edit this post as I find them.


EDIT:

Ok, here's what you'll have to do:

Change your Boromir.ini to look something like this...just replace both of the BoromirBladeMaster's with your FX name.

 ModelConditionState = WEAPONSET_HERO_MODE USER_3
 	 ParticleSysBone = BAT_RIBS BoromirBladeMaster FollowBone:Yes
 	 ParticleSysBone = BAT_HEAD AragornElendill FollowBone:Yes
  End

  ModelConditionState = WEAPONSET_HERO_MODE
 	 ParticleSysBone = BAT_RIBS BoromirBladeMaster FollowBone:Yes
  End

  ModelConditionState = USER_3
 	 ParticleSysBone = BAT_HEAD AragornElendill FollowBone:Yes
  End


Add this to FXList.ini (I think this is what you forgot to add)

Again, just replace the BoromirBladeMaster with your FX name

;----------------------------------------------
FXList FX_BoromirBladeMaster
  ParticleSystem
    Name = BoromirBladeMaster
	AttachToObject	= Yes
	AttachToBone	= BAT_RIBS
  End
End


Now, In FXParticleSystem.ini your FX should look like this (I only changed the name and color just like what you did...)

FXParticleSystem BoromirBladeMaster
  System
    Priority = ALWAYS_RENDER
    ParticleName = EXRing01.tga
    Lifetime = 15 15
    SortLevel = 1
    Size = 10 15
    BurstCount = 1 1
  End
  Color = DefaultColor
    Color2 = R:0 G:101 B:202 5
    Color3 = R:0 G:0 B:0 15
    Color4 = R:0 G:132 B:132 0
  End
  Update = DefaultUpdate
    SizeRate = 1 1
    SizeRateDamping = 1 1
    AngleZ = 0 7
    AngularRateZ = -0.1 0.1
    AngularDamping = 1 1
  End
  Physics = DefaultPhysics
    Gravity = -0.01
    VelocityDamping = 1 1
  End
  EmissionVelocity = OutwardEmissionVelocity
  End
  EmissionVolume = SphereEmissionVolume
    Radius = 10
  End

That should do it...

Posted Image

-GothmogtheOrc

Edited by GothmogtheOrc, 20 July 2005 - 05:01 PM.

Nine%20rings.jpg
Click on my Sig to go to my BFME Modding site where you can download my mods.
KotW%20Morgul%20In-game.jpg
Kings of the West Mod Leader
*Retired. PM me if you need to get a hold of me as I'll get an email notification and should reply within a day or so*


#13 Valarauko

Valarauko
  • Members
  • 33 posts

Posted 20 July 2005 - 05:50 PM

Thanks alot gothmog that worked!

i just have one question left for future reference:

Color = DefaultColor
   Color2 = R:0 G:101 B:202 5
   Color3 = R:0 G:0 B:0 15
   Color4 = R:0 G:132 B:132 0
 End

how does this code work:

-are the 3 colors blended together?

-what are the numbers after the blue for? (5,15,0)

Again, thanks alot for the help

Valarauko

#14 GothmogtheOrc

GothmogtheOrc

    Ruler of the Morgul Vale

  • Hosted
  • 2,263 posts
  • Location:USA
  • Projects:Kings of the West Mod
  •  T3A Chamber Member - Retired

Posted 20 July 2005 - 06:30 PM

how does this code work:

-are the 3 colors blended together?

-what are the numbers after the blue for? (5,15,0)


-I don't know what the 5, 15, 0 stand for...I never figured it out...

-The 3 colors are 3 possible colors in the swirl of colors I think...This would let you create a multi-colored better looking swirl...If you make one red, one blue, and one green you'd find out for sure... :dry:

-GothmogtheOrc

Nine%20rings.jpg
Click on my Sig to go to my BFME Modding site where you can download my mods.
KotW%20Morgul%20In-game.jpg
Kings of the West Mod Leader
*Retired. PM me if you need to get a hold of me as I'll get an email notification and should reply within a day or so*


#15 Lord Dragonclaw

Lord Dragonclaw

    I am Epic.

  • Project Team
  • 611 posts
  • Location:Florida
  • Projects:None
  •  Epic.

Posted 20 July 2005 - 06:33 PM

i tried it and i got an error saying unknown field FXParticleSystem in block FXParticleSystem

Edit: NVM FIXED

Edited by Lord Dragonclaw, 20 July 2005 - 06:46 PM.

Posted Image
Posted Image

#16 Lord Dragonclaw

Lord Dragonclaw

    I am Epic.

  • Project Team
  • 611 posts
  • Location:Florida
  • Projects:None
  •  Epic.

Posted 20 July 2005 - 06:51 PM

WHAT OD I PUT IN EXPERIENCE LVLS AND COMMANDSET?
Posted Image
Posted Image

#17 GothmogtheOrc

GothmogtheOrc

    Ruler of the Morgul Vale

  • Hosted
  • 2,263 posts
  • Location:USA
  • Projects:Kings of the West Mod
  •  T3A Chamber Member - Retired

Posted 20 July 2005 - 07:34 PM

This was at the top of the thread:

(in ExperienceLevels.ini)

Add this to Boromir's Upgrades at the level of your choice:

Upgrade_AragornBladeMaster


And for the CommandSet go to Aragorn's command set and copy the BladeMaseter part...should look like this:

2 = Command_SpecialAbilityBladeMaster

Thats it...

-GothmogtheOrc

Nine%20rings.jpg
Click on my Sig to go to my BFME Modding site where you can download my mods.
KotW%20Morgul%20In-game.jpg
Kings of the West Mod Leader
*Retired. PM me if you need to get a hold of me as I'll get an email notification and should reply within a day or so*


#18 Valarauko

Valarauko
  • Members
  • 33 posts

Posted 20 July 2005 - 07:39 PM

lol gothmog i just went to MEV and saw u just put up a tutorial on giving blademaster to other units :dry:
looks good

Dragonclaw:

in commandset just add it to boromir or whoever's commandset
CommandSet BoromirCommandSet
	1 = Command_SpecialAbilityHornOfGondor
	2 = Command_SpecialAbilityBoromirForGondor
	3 = Command_SpecialAbilityBoromirBladeMaster
	4 = Command_SpecialAbilityCaptainOfGondorBoromir
	5 = Command_BoromirLastStandFakeButton
	13 = Command_AttackMove
	14 = Command_Stop
        15 = Command_Guard
End

that's what mine looks like (you wil have to put whatever the name of your power is ex. Command_SpecialAbilityBlademaster)

in experience levels find boromir's experience code and whatever level you want him to get the upgrade

mine's getting it at level 5 so i changed this:

ExperienceLevel	BoromirLevel5
	TargetNames      =	GondorBoromir	
	RequiredExperience    	=	BOROMIR_LVL5_EXP_NEEDED
	ExperienceAward      =	BOROMIR_LVL5_EXP_AWARD	
	AttributeModifiers    	=	HeroLevelUpDamage4
	Rank      	=	5
	Upgrades      =	Upgrade_BoromirForGondorSpeech
	LevelUpFx      =	FX:GandalfLevelUp1FX
;LevelUpOCL      =	OCL_GandalfLevelUp1OCL
	SelectionDecal
  Texture      =	decal_hero_good
  Style      =	SHADOW_ALPHA_DECAL
  OpacityMin    	=	50%	
  OpacityMax    	=	100%
  MinRadius    	=	40
  MaxRadius    	=	200
  MaxSelectedUnits    =	1	
	End  
END

to this:
ExperienceLevel	BoromirLevel5
	TargetNames      =	GondorBoromir	
	RequiredExperience    	=	BOROMIR_LVL5_EXP_NEEDED
	ExperienceAward      =	BOROMIR_LVL5_EXP_AWARD	
	AttributeModifiers    	=	HeroLevelUpDamage4
	Rank      	=	5
	Upgrades      =	Upgrade_BoromirForGondorSpeech Upgrade_AragornBladeMaster
	LevelUpFx      =	FX:GandalfLevelUp1FX
;LevelUpOCL      =	OCL_GandalfLevelUp1OCL
	SelectionDecal
  Texture      =	decal_hero_good
  Style      =	SHADOW_ALPHA_DECAL
  OpacityMin    	=	50%	
  OpacityMax    	=	100%
  MinRadius    	=	40
  MaxRadius    	=	200
  MaxSelectedUnits    =	1	
	End  
END


also make sure you have the ability in boromir's ini

Edited by Valarauko, 20 July 2005 - 07:40 PM.


#19 Lord Dragonclaw

Lord Dragonclaw

    I am Epic.

  • Project Team
  • 611 posts
  • Location:Florida
  • Projects:None
  •  Epic.

Posted 20 July 2005 - 07:39 PM

but will it read the new Boromirblademaster stuff

Edit: nvm he posted b4 me lol

Edited by Lord Dragonclaw, 20 July 2005 - 07:41 PM.

Posted Image
Posted Image

#20 GothmogtheOrc

GothmogtheOrc

    Ruler of the Morgul Vale

  • Hosted
  • 2,263 posts
  • Location:USA
  • Projects:Kings of the West Mod
  •  T3A Chamber Member - Retired

Posted 20 July 2005 - 07:45 PM

yep, it will read the new color...because that code at the top of Boromir's INI file controls which FX it uses. Gotta run...

-GothmogtheOrc

Nine%20rings.jpg
Click on my Sig to go to my BFME Modding site where you can download my mods.
KotW%20Morgul%20In-game.jpg
Kings of the West Mod Leader
*Retired. PM me if you need to get a hold of me as I'll get an email notification and should reply within a day or so*





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users