Jump to content


Photo

Easy Texture edit turtorial


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Lauri

Lauri

    Old man Lauri

  • Hosted
  • 10,436 posts
  • Location:Norway
  • Projects:The 4th Age
  •  The very worst T3A Team Chamber Member

Posted 24 July 2005 - 09:38 PM

Well this turtorial i desided to write just for fun :sad: .
First i hope that no-one else has written one here cause i haven't seen any ;) .
This turtorial learns you how to make new units(or whatever) and have your own texture on it without modelling in RenX.
The best way to make the model real is to edit the texture of the model your basing it on. :lol:
Click here for an needed turtorial(Heroes)

Enter your units file and hit Ctrl+F or Ctrl+B and type 'ENGINEERING Parameters' and you'l come down where you need.(you can go down manualy) Some place under you add this:
Behavior = SubObjectsUpgrade Costume_01
  TriggeredBy  = Upgrade_MerryHeavyArmor
  UpgradeTexture	= YourUnit.tga 0 YourNewUnit.tga
  RecolorHouse	= Yes\No
	End
You must have the UpgradeTexture as the texture it was default.(rigth now YourUnit.tga.) The first tga is default, the next is the new one. As you can see i used YourNewUnit' texture just for fun ^_^
and the upgrade you can use everytime, for every unit.
And you can also choose to add YourNewUnit' housecolor or just stick with YourUnits, Another thing is that your having a mounted hero\unit then you CAN add a new horse\warg\whatever texture.
Just add another below like this
 UpgradeTexture	= YourUnit.tga 0 YourNewUnit.tga
  UpgradeTexture	= YourHorse.tga 0 YourHorse_HA.tga
Thats it for the hero.
Now go to ini\ and find upgrade.ini, at the bottom add this
Upgrade Upgrade_MerryHeavyArmor
	Type              = OBJECT
End
Here is the upgrade. You see that the upgrade is exactly the same as the one above.
Now on to the experiencelevels.ini, under your unit, under 'Rank = 1' add this
Upgrades	= Upgrade_MerryHeavyArmor
Wel now it should look like this
ExperienceLevel	YourUnitLevel1
	TargetNames      =	YourUnit
	RequiredExperience    =	1	
	ExperienceAward   	 =	HOBBIT_LVL1_EXP_AWARD 
	Rank     	 =	1
	Upgrades      =	Upgrade_MerryHeavyArmor
	SelectionDecal
  Texture      =	decal_hero_good	
  Style      =	SHADOW_ALPHA_DECAL
  OpacityMin   	 =	50%	
  OpacityMax   	 =	100%
  MinRadius   	 =	40
  MaxRadius   	 =	200
  MaxSelectedUnits 	 =	40
	End	
End
There you go. The texture is on your model from the first of beginning. You can add it at a certian rank to. Remember that you must replace every damn 'YourUnit' with you hero name.
And also important, The texture in the object code must have a .tga behind, not .dds. I just is like that(YourUnit.tga not YourUnit.dds).

And for the Units:
You have to figure out how to make a new horde yourself. Search the forum if you don't know.
Under the Engeneering parnament for the YourUnit.ini and the evilfaction\rohan\gondorhordes.ini
Behavior = SubObjectsUpgrade Costume_01
TriggeredBy = Upgrade_MerryHeavyArmor
UpgradeTexture = YourUnit.tga 0 YourNewUnit.tga
RecolorHouse = No
End
Experiencelevels.ini
ExperienceLevel GoodLevel1
TargetNames      = YourUnit\YourUnitHorde
RequiredExperience     = EXPERIENCE_REQUIRED_GOOD_TROOP_1
ExperienceAward      = EXPERIENCE_AWARD_GOOD_TROOP_1
InformUpdateModule     = Yes
Rank       = 1
Upgrades      = Upgrade_MerryHeavyArmor
LevelUpTintColor     = R:255 G:255 B:255
LevelUpTintPreColorTime     = 500
LevelUpTintPostColorTime    = 3000
LevelUpTintSustainColorTime    = 500

SelectionDecal
 Texture      = decal_G_level4
 Texture2     = decal_good_CO
 Style      = SHADOW_MERGE_DECAL
 OpacityMin     = 80%
 OpacityMax     = 100%
 MinRadius       = HORDE_DECAL_MIN_RADIUS
 MaxRadius     = 200
 MaxSelectedUnits      = 40
End
END

And for the Buildings just add this
Upgrades = Upgrade_StructureLevel1 Upgrade_MerryHeavyArmor

For a new building just copy an already used experience then add it.
Also add the moduletag to the objects ini:
Behavior = SubObjectsUpgrade Costume_01
TriggeredBy = Upgrade_MerryHeavyArmor
UpgradeTexture = YourBuilding.tga 0 YourNewBuilding.tga
RecolorHouse = Yes\No
End
And of course you need the texture you made for it in the asset.dat(unless your just making ex aragorn mounted on faramirs horse cause both aragorn, faramir and the horse are already in-game)
If you have question or something please reply and i'l see what i can do. :p
I hope this helped you on you quest to be the mightiest modder of all time.

Edited by Ville786, 03 August 2005 - 03:12 PM.

T4A_Logo_-_article.png

The 4th Age version 0.8 has been released: Link


#2 GothmogtheOrc

GothmogtheOrc

    Ruler of the Morgul Vale

  • Hosted
  • 2,263 posts
  • Location:USA
  • Projects:Kings of the West Mod
  •  T3A Chamber Member - Retired

Posted 24 July 2005 - 11:10 PM

cool, looks like that could help me out alot...thanks Ville.

-GothmogtheOrc

Nine%20rings.jpg
Click on my Sig to go to my BFME Modding site where you can download my mods.
KotW%20Morgul%20In-game.jpg
Kings of the West Mod Leader
*Retired. PM me if you need to get a hold of me as I'll get an email notification and should reply within a day or so*


#3 Lauri

Lauri

    Old man Lauri

  • Hosted
  • 10,436 posts
  • Location:Norway
  • Projects:The 4th Age
  •  The very worst T3A Team Chamber Member

Posted 25 July 2005 - 02:26 PM

cool, looks like that could help me out alot...thanks Ville.

-GothmogtheOrc

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>

I didn't understand why it would help you so much GothmogtheOrc but I asume that you mean it by your Minas Morgul Buildings\Mod

Edited by Ville786, 03 August 2005 - 03:14 PM.

T4A_Logo_-_article.png

The 4th Age version 0.8 has been released: Link


#4 {IP}Gil-Galad

{IP}Gil-Galad

    ClickerMonkey

  • Hosted
  • 1,122 posts
  • Location:Pennsylvannia, USA
  • Projects:Too many to name.
  •  T3A Team Chamber Member

Posted 25 July 2005 - 08:27 PM

OMG 4 posts in a row whataspammer just edit your previous post LOL

#5 GothmogtheOrc

GothmogtheOrc

    Ruler of the Morgul Vale

  • Hosted
  • 2,263 posts
  • Location:USA
  • Projects:Kings of the West Mod
  •  T3A Chamber Member - Retired

Posted 25 July 2005 - 08:48 PM

Sorrry for the firthel post but whatever. I didn't understand why it would help you so much GothmogtheOrc but I asume that you mean it by your Minas Morgul Buildings\Mod


yep, thats what I was refering to... but I'm also editing a few troops in addition to the buildings and I wanted to learn how to change the skin the game reads...

PS: Ville, your sig isn't showing up.

-GothmogtheOrc

Nine%20rings.jpg
Click on my Sig to go to my BFME Modding site where you can download my mods.
KotW%20Morgul%20In-game.jpg
Kings of the West Mod Leader
*Retired. PM me if you need to get a hold of me as I'll get an email notification and should reply within a day or so*


#6 Lauri

Lauri

    Old man Lauri

  • Hosted
  • 10,436 posts
  • Location:Norway
  • Projects:The 4th Age
  •  The very worst T3A Team Chamber Member

Posted 03 August 2005 - 07:55 PM

Off topic, Thanks Hostile, for delete and re-name :p :p

T4A_Logo_-_article.png

The 4th Age version 0.8 has been released: Link





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users