Jump to content


ini problems


  • Please log in to reply
22 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_Just me_*

Guest_Just me_*
  • Guests

Posted 31 August 2005 - 07:55 PM

Hey everybody,

Everytime I want to play BFME with a mod the game crashes.

Last time this error aquired:

Expected signed integer value or predefined macro, but found 'GONDOR_MARKETPLACE_EXP_AWARD'

Error parsing field 'ExperienceAward' in block 'ExperienceLevel' in file 'Date\INI\ExperienceLevels.ini', line 5645.

Error parsing INI block' ExperienceAward' in file 'Data\INI\Experiencelevels.ini'.

Because of the severity of this error the game will now exit.


:lol:


Errors like this aquire all the time.. TheAgeofAlliance mod also had a error like this, only that was more like:

Token 'TREADS' is not a valid member of the index list

Error parsing field 'Appearance' in block 'Locomotor' in file 'Data\INI|Locomotor.ini', line 1966.



:p


So, whats the big problem here? It's really frustrating seeing all you people have so much fun trying all those mods and me not be able to.. :dry: :sad:

#2 Lauri

Lauri

    Let us remember foREVer

  • Hosted
  • 10,419 posts
  • Location:Norway
  • Projects:'The 4th Age' and 'Shadow and Flame'
  •  The very worst T3A Team Chamber Member

Posted 31 August 2005 - 08:19 PM

Make first sure you have patch 1.02 :lol:

Than wait for more answers :p

Shadow and Flame BETA 0.6 RELEASED - Link


#3 ched

ched

    .

  • Undead
  • 4,431 posts
  • Location:Angers (France)
  • Projects:Rhovanion Alliance
  •  T3A Team Chamber Member
  • Division:BFME
  • Job:Previous Division Leader

Posted 31 August 2005 - 08:24 PM

Everytime I want to play BFME with a mod the game crashes.

care to give anymore details ? Is it one of Gothmog's mods ?
Software is like sex; it's better when it's free ~Linus Torvald

#4 Guest_Guest_*

Guest_Guest_*
  • Guests

Posted 31 August 2005 - 08:27 PM

Everytime I want to play BFME with a mod the game crashes.

care to give anymore details ? Is it one of Gothmog's mods ?

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>



yeah, it is a gothmogs mod indeed. But first I'll try the 1.02 patch.. forgot about that :lol:

#5 Lord Dragonclaw

Lord Dragonclaw

    I am Epic.

  • Project Team
  • 611 posts
  • Location:Florida
  • Projects:None
  •  Epic.

Posted 31 August 2005 - 08:34 PM

lol its always the patch u must have it lol
Posted Image
Posted Image

#6 Guest_Guest_*

Guest_Guest_*
  • Guests

Posted 31 August 2005 - 08:37 PM

lol its always the patch u must have it lol

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>


haha, now it all becomes clear to me why that stupid game allways has to crash! Stupid me, should have thought about the patch sooner..

Well, thanks anyway

#7 Lauri

Lauri

    Let us remember foREVer

  • Hosted
  • 10,419 posts
  • Location:Norway
  • Projects:'The 4th Age' and 'Shadow and Flame'
  •  The very worst T3A Team Chamber Member

Posted 31 August 2005 - 09:05 PM

no problem mate

NOTE: I'm not australian :lol: :sad:

@Ched: I though you had the same problem lol. but you didn't :p

Edited by Ville, 31 August 2005 - 09:07 PM.

Shadow and Flame BETA 0.6 RELEASED - Link


#8 GothmogtheOrc

GothmogtheOrc

    Ruler of the Morgul Vale

  • Hosted
  • 2,263 posts
  • Location:USA
  • Projects:Kings of the West Mod
  •  T3A Chamber Member - Retired

Posted 01 September 2005 - 02:15 AM

Thanks for helping him out guys :wub: I'm really busy with school stuff now days, and I only get a little bit of time every night to come online and respond.

Thanks again,
-GothmogtheOrc

Nine%20rings.jpg
Click on my Sig to go to my BFME Modding site where you can download my mods.
KotW%20Morgul%20In-game.jpg
Kings of the West Mod Leader
*Retired. PM me if you need to get a hold of me as I'll get an email notification and should reply within a day or so*


#9 plod2

plod2
  • Members
  • 153 posts
  • Location:Derby,England
  • Projects:downloading and playing b4me and yuri's revenge mods

Posted 02 September 2005 - 07:16 PM

;) hey, this happened 2 me! i had the war of middle earth mod installed. its 1 that u can't trun off. check if u have any mods like that. (elvenstar does that aswell).

i had 2 reinstall my b4me, and i also needed 2 download the multiplayer update again 4 it 2 work

#10 Guest_JaMeZ_*

Guest_JaMeZ_*
  • Guests

Posted 04 September 2005 - 01:03 PM

the same thing happens to me. It is so annoying I have been trying for a week to try and get the shadows of evil mod working but everytime even if i have the 1.02 patch it still comes up with a crash saying:

Expected signed integer value or predefined macro, but found 'GONDOR_MARKETPLACE_EXP_AWARD'

Error parsing field 'ExperienceAward' in block 'ExperienceLevel' in file 'Date\INI\ExperienceLevels.ini', line 5645.

Error parsing INI block' ExperienceAward' in file 'Data\INI\Experiencelevels.ini'.

Because of the severity of this error the game will now exit.

no matter what i try and do it never works and just always crashes it happen with every mod i try to put on BFME

;) :huh: ;) :lol: :rolleyes:

#11 ched

ched

    .

  • Undead
  • 4,431 posts
  • Location:Angers (France)
  • Projects:Rhovanion Alliance
  •  T3A Team Chamber Member
  • Division:BFME
  • Job:Previous Division Leader

Posted 04 September 2005 - 01:16 PM

patch 1.02 ...
Software is like sex; it's better when it's free ~Linus Torvald

#12 Guest_JaMeZ_*

Guest_JaMeZ_*
  • Guests

Posted 05 September 2005 - 08:45 PM

patch 1.02 ...

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>


no even when i have patch 1.02 this happens am i saving thew patch in the rong place or sumthin cuz i hav the patch but its not working

#13 GothmogtheOrc

GothmogtheOrc

    Ruler of the Morgul Vale

  • Hosted
  • 2,263 posts
  • Location:USA
  • Projects:Kings of the West Mod
  •  T3A Chamber Member - Retired

Posted 06 September 2005 - 04:57 PM

If it isn't working for any of the mods you install then it is defenately the patch. If all else fails you may need to reinstall your game and then patch it.

Have you gotten any mods to run ever? If so, which ones? There are a few mods out there that will mess up your game and force you to reinstall when ever you get rid of the mod. And they could be messing with your game.

-GothmogtheOrc

Nine%20rings.jpg
Click on my Sig to go to my BFME Modding site where you can download my mods.
KotW%20Morgul%20In-game.jpg
Kings of the West Mod Leader
*Retired. PM me if you need to get a hold of me as I'll get an email notification and should reply within a day or so*


#14 Guest_JaMeZ_*

Guest_JaMeZ_*
  • Guests

Posted 07 September 2005 - 12:00 PM

no, no mods i try work it just always comes up with INI errors but oh wel thanks anyway ;)

#15 Guest_Guest_*

Guest_Guest_*
  • Guests

Posted 07 September 2005 - 12:14 PM

no, no mods i try work it just always comes up with INI errors but oh wel thanks anyway  ;)

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>


ok i must be doin it rong or sumthin, i feel as if ive tryd evryfin cn u plz jst tel me step by step how 1 get the shadows of evil mod working. i think wot im doing is saving the mod the patch and evrything in the rong place so plz cn u jst tel me wwer 2 put al the stuff

EDIT by GothmogtheOrc: I removed the double post so it would be easier to read.

Edited by GothmogtheOrc, 07 September 2005 - 08:45 PM.


#16 ched

ched

    .

  • Undead
  • 4,431 posts
  • Location:Angers (France)
  • Projects:Rhovanion Alliance
  •  T3A Team Chamber Member
  • Division:BFME
  • Job:Previous Division Leader

Posted 07 September 2005 - 04:25 PM

didnt understand any of the above

either use one of those big books they call dictionnaries, or try and figure it out all by yourself ...
Software is like sex; it's better when it's free ~Linus Torvald

#17 King of Universe

King of Universe

    It is in our most dire needs, that we do our greatest deeds...

  • Hosted
  • 878 posts
  • Location:Norway
  • Projects:Hero Mod

Posted 07 September 2005 - 04:40 PM

ok i must be doin it rong or sumthin, i feel as if ive tryd evryfin cn u plz jst tel me step by step how 1 get the shadows of evil mod working. i think wot im doing is saving the mod the patch and evrything in the rong place so plz cn u jst tel me wer 2 put al the stuff

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>

If you post easier, maybe one of the great 3rdage people would care to help you :D

And don't post the same question twice

Question=Ok, I must be doing it wrong or something, I feel as if I've tried everything, can you please tell me step by step how one get the shadows of evil mod working. I think what I'm doing wrong is saving the mod the patch(:p) and everything in the wrong place, so please can you just tell me where to put all the stuff.

Answer=Double click on the auto installer, and follow the instructions given.
Then (atleast for me) move the big file and the folder for shadows of evil from the install folder (Application Data) to the original bfme folder (C:\Program Files\EA Games\The Battle for Middle-Earth) and make sure the shortcut is now "C:\Program Files\EA GAMES\The Battle for Middle-earth ™\lotrbfme.exe" -mod ShadowsOfEvilMod.big

Edited by King of Universe, 07 September 2005 - 06:02 PM.

Posted Image


Frodo: I wish the Ring had never come to me... I wish none of this had happened...
Gandalf: So do all who live to see such times, but that is not for them to decide. All you have to decide, is what to do with the time that is given to you...

Click me

#18 Lord Of Gifts

Lord Of Gifts

    I'm not corrupt, I'm morally flexible.

  • Hosted
  • 889 posts
  • Location:Canada
  • Projects:Battle for the Galaxy, EaWZone, Spy Mod
  •  Ph34r the blue text!
  • Division:EaWZone
  • Job:Webmaster and Modding Community Leader

Posted 07 September 2005 - 08:35 PM

You don't need to move it to the bfme install directory. As long as it is in your My Battle for Middle-earth Files folder and the target of the shortcut is
"C:\Program Files\EA GAMES\The Battle for Middle-earth ™\lotrbfme.exe" -mod ShadowsOfEvilMod.big
then it will work. If you move it to the bfme install directory then you can't play the original game, and you wouldn't need the new shortcut.

#19 GothmogtheOrc

GothmogtheOrc

    Ruler of the Morgul Vale

  • Hosted
  • 2,263 posts
  • Location:USA
  • Projects:Kings of the West Mod
  •  T3A Chamber Member - Retired

Posted 07 September 2005 - 08:44 PM

As was stated above:

If you have reinstalled the game and updated your game with the patch (which auto-installs), and you use the default directories (ie: you didn't change where the game installs to) then all you need to do is run the auto-installer that comes with the mod and it should work.

The mod is specifically designed so that you don't have to move any files for it to work and you can play the regular BFME with the mod installed. Once you have installed the mod just double click on the custom shortcut that comes with the mod and should be on your desktop...then the game will start up the modded version.

-GothmogtheOrc

Nine%20rings.jpg
Click on my Sig to go to my BFME Modding site where you can download my mods.
KotW%20Morgul%20In-game.jpg
Kings of the West Mod Leader
*Retired. PM me if you need to get a hold of me as I'll get an email notification and should reply within a day or so*


#20 King of Universe

King of Universe

    It is in our most dire needs, that we do our greatest deeds...

  • Hosted
  • 878 posts
  • Location:Norway
  • Projects:Hero Mod

Posted 08 September 2005 - 10:41 AM

You don't need to move it to the bfme install directory.  As long as it is in your My Battle for Middle-earth Files folder and the target of the shortcut is
"C:\Program Files\EA GAMES\The Battle for Middle-earth ™\lotrbfme.exe" -mod ShadowsOfEvilMod.big
then it will work.  If you move it to the bfme install directory then you can't play the original game, and you wouldn't need the new shortcut.

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>


I had to move it ^_^
Before I moved it, when i tried to use the shortcut, it says that it's an invalid shortcut, but maybe that's only on my computer :sleep:

Posted Image


Frodo: I wish the Ring had never come to me... I wish none of this had happened...
Gandalf: So do all who live to see such times, but that is not for them to decide. All you have to decide, is what to do with the time that is given to you...

Click me




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users