Jump to content


Photo

Autodesk is canning gmax!


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 killakanz

killakanz

    Infamy!

  • Hosted
  • 1,368 posts
  • Projects:Infamy!
  •  They've all got it infamy!

Posted 15 October 2005 - 02:16 PM

Yes, it's finally happening. Autodesk is pulling the plug on gmax.
Since the whole story is big I put it in another thread, but here's a snippet:

I am here today to inform you that Autodesk has officially decided to end its support for the Gmax product and that their company has stopped support for it effective October 6th.
Since Turbo Squid is a valuable partner for Autodesk and we've been managing the product and community on their behalf for the past year, they've allowed us to continue to offer the Gmax download until November 1st so that we can effectively manage the transition for this now defunct product. At that point, the ability to download Gmax from our site will be removed as will the ability for users to get authorization codes for the product.

Read the rest of it here.
This is potentially disasterous to a number of modding communities.
All I can say is if you dont have gmax installed before Nov 1st, then you never will. Keeping it installed after that is another focus.
Sure most of us can stick to using 3D Studio Max, but for purposes of modding Generals there is no way of getting new models in the game without Gmax, our only hope there would be for EA to release their 3DS Max exporter... bloody unlikely.
Posted Image
New Tutorial Online Now!! Check it out!!

#2 Hostile

Hostile

    Benefitting Humanity Simply by Showing Up!

  • Veterans
  • 9,550 posts
  • Location:Washington DC
  •  T3A Founder
  • Division:Revora
  • Job:Global Administrator
  • Donated
  • Association

Posted 15 October 2005 - 03:39 PM

I d/l and saved the exe file. I hope that would be enuff to mirror it if we have to. What do you suggest?

#3 Mastermind

Mastermind

    Server Technician

  • Undead
  • 7,014 posts
  • Location:Cambridge, MA
  • Projects:MasterNews 3
  •  The Man Behind the Curtain

Posted 15 October 2005 - 03:50 PM

The problem will be with getting activation codes, as that is required as well. Posted about at SSP as well.
Posted Image

Well, when it comes to writing an expository essay about counter-insurgent tactics, I'm of the old school. First you tell them how you're going to kill them. Then you kill them. Then you tell them how you just killed them.

Too cute! | Server Status: If you can read this, it's up |

#4 Hostile

Hostile

    Benefitting Humanity Simply by Showing Up!

  • Veterans
  • 9,550 posts
  • Location:Washington DC
  •  T3A Founder
  • Division:Revora
  • Job:Global Administrator
  • Donated
  • Association

Posted 15 October 2005 - 04:54 PM

Good point, I forgot about that MM. Damn, this is a situation.

#5 killakanz

killakanz

    Infamy!

  • Hosted
  • 1,368 posts
  • Projects:Infamy!
  •  They've all got it infamy!

Posted 15 October 2005 - 11:16 PM

I forgot to mention something... How will this affect killasmods.

Well, simply put, these tutorials are staying.
They may have slight adjustments if I think they need any but the basics of these can still be used in 3D Studio Max. I may have to re-write the basic animation tutorial (keyframe and animation controls have changed a lot) and adjust the tank rigging tutorial so it explains the use of the 3DS Max exporter. Any future tutorials will have to be written for 3DS Max instead of gmax.

So to sum up the affect on killasmods will be slight, I assure you these tutorials are staying.
Posted Image
New Tutorial Online Now!! Check it out!!

#6 ambershee

ambershee

    Nimbusfish Rawks

  • Hosted
  • 3,114 posts
  • Location:Derby, UK
  • Projects:Mutator Week & Unreal 3 Projects
  •  Mad Mod Boffin

Posted 15 October 2005 - 11:30 PM

Relax, I'm working on a work around already - Autodesk announced GMax's canning a couple of months ago, so I'm already well into it ^_^

Ok, files and instructions to be found in the Porn, Hacks and Wares topic :)

Edited by ambershee, 15 October 2005 - 11:33 PM.


#7 Banshee

Banshee

    One Vision, One Purpose!

  • Network Admins
  • 8,939 posts
  • Location:Rio De Janeiro, RJ, Brazil.
  • Projects:PPM, PPM: Final Dawn, OS SHP Builder, OS Palette Editor, OS W3D Viewer, VXLSE III, etc...
  •  Retired Network Leader
  • Division:Revora
  • Job:Maintenance Admin

Posted 16 October 2005 - 12:21 AM

We have started a campaign HERE to get, at least, the ability of autorizing the product.
Project Perfect Mod

Command & Conquer Mods, Mods Support, Public Researchs, Map Archives, Tutorials, Tools, A Friendly Community and much more. Check it out now!

Posted Image

#8 Indigo

Indigo

    Firestarter

  • Members
  • 586 posts

Posted 16 October 2005 - 04:15 AM

There's a work-around file at PCNC, so you don't need to register/activation code. Only works for GMax 1.2 though, not the outdated 1.1

No problem with GMax links either. Go here. I suggest you grab v1.2 for the work-around file to work on it.

#9 Banshee

Banshee

    One Vision, One Purpose!

  • Network Admins
  • 8,939 posts
  • Location:Rio De Janeiro, RJ, Brazil.
  • Projects:PPM, PPM: Final Dawn, OS SHP Builder, OS Palette Editor, OS W3D Viewer, VXLSE III, etc...
  •  Retired Network Leader
  • Division:Revora
  • Job:Maintenance Admin

Posted 16 October 2005 - 04:37 AM

As for other sites hosting GMAX for downloads, I have no idea if they can. Maybe Autodesk has its saying in it to say who is allowed or not.

As for me saying the costs are high to mainting it, I am not confirming this as, like I pointed out, the phone conversation was of a poor quality. At times I couldn't quite make out what Autodesk was saying. I would rather wait for theire text version for the official confirmation.

By the way, a license just to create a gamepack is somewhere around $80,000 Cdn. I had asked Autodesk about the possibility of going Open Source just for the plugin point of view. They said something (again, waiting for confirmation) like : short term no, but who knows !


Project Perfect Mod

Command & Conquer Mods, Mods Support, Public Researchs, Map Archives, Tutorials, Tools, A Friendly Community and much more. Check it out now!

Posted Image

#10 Guest_Guest_*

Guest_Guest_*
  • Guests

Posted 24 December 2005 - 10:07 PM

Firestorm

Ah bloody good thing i downloaded and installed. Havnt used it really yet, ran it a couple times and tried it.

#11 Guest_Guest_*

Guest_Guest_*
  • Guests

Posted 22 June 2006 - 01:32 AM

the 3d max exporter can be downloaded from http://www.dform.com...torials/3dsmax/ i found it on google, but i think that has to be downloaded soon or they might stop offering it like gmax

#12 killakanz

killakanz

    Infamy!

  • Hosted
  • 1,368 posts
  • Projects:Infamy!
  •  They've all got it infamy!

Posted 22 June 2006 - 10:43 AM

the 3d max exporter can be downloaded from http://www.dform.com...torials/3dsmax/ i found it on google, but i think that has to be downloaded soon or they might stop offering it like gmax


that link seems totally irrelevent to me.

Anyways, this is old news. gmax is now supported by Turbosquid.
Posted Image
New Tutorial Online Now!! Check it out!!

#13 Guest_that annoying post pusher._*

Guest_that annoying post pusher._*
  • Guests

Posted 06 July 2012 - 03:04 PM

You can still get this on the gmax website.
Also,
^^^^^^^^^^^^^^
PUSH PUSH :mellowthumbsup:




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users