Hello everyone!

• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 SniperJP02

SniperJP02
  • New Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 24 May 2006 - 04:00 AM

I just want to take a moment to say hi to the people here at the3rdage.net, so "Hello". My friend and I have been browsing the site, mainly the tutorials and have been inspired to create a mod for BFME2. I am a Graphics Artist and can do textures/skinning/mapping but can also model a little and am improving. And my friend is a modeller/animator with a few minor skills in textures and skinning. So we have the art side covered, however, we fall short in the coder/programmer side of things. I have worked with .ini files in the past, but I have never manipulated .ini files to this extent. We followed everything supplied on the site as closely as possible but we have run into a few "problems" so to say.

For our first mod we will be recreating the anime series "Berserk" and for this mod we plan to create atleast the following:
1. 2 New Factions (Band of the Hawk, Chuda*)
2. New models and building for both factions
3. New heroes and spells for each faction
4. And unique balances for each faction

When we looked at the tutorials we have realized they are made for BFME not BFME2 and some things have clearly changed. Making factions seems to be the biggest problem as all the info from GoodFactionBuildings.ini/EvilFactionBuildings.ini have been moved to there own files. So after this we began to worry what else was changed as we are limited in this field as it is. I also tried to replace a model already in the game with a new one and it didnt work, all I did was replace the model in the W3D.big.

So what we need to know is what .ini files are needed other than the ones mentioned in the tutorials,
PlayerTemplate.ini
Science.ini
Upgrade.ini
VictorySystem.ini
CommandSet.ini
GoodFactionBuildings.ini/EvilFactionBuildings.ini