Jump to content


Photo

Question about adding effects to weapons


  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 Waray

Waray
  • Members
  • 6 posts
  • Location:The Netherlands

Posted 31 August 2006 - 01:40 AM

Greetings,

is there a way to simply add effects to weapons? I don't mean adding damage nuggets or hit FX etc. but glow effects. I know there should be a way (like the Anduril upgrade that puts a red glow to Aragorn's sword, or Gandalf's Moria staff light) but I can't seem to analyze the way to add it only to the weapon. Or is this effect stuck to the skins?

What I hope to do is to only produce the glow effect during a special power (for example, when using Blademaster the sword gets the blue glow effect which also is used for Frodo's Sting).

#2 Fingulfin

Fingulfin

    I Like Pi3. Do you?

  • Hosted
  • 1,752 posts
  • Location:California, USA
  • Projects:Staying Alive.
  •  This place looks familiar. I can't remember why.

Posted 31 August 2006 - 02:20 AM

You have 2 Choices: Add an FX to a unit in GMAX then hide it (not recommended!) or make a particleFX and attach it to him using users or FX Lists (I recommend USERS). Assuming you have the FX ready, open up the SKL File for the unit you are using. (If you don't know how, then you can make a guess (explained later.) Find to bone that you want to attach it to; EXAMPLE: I want to attach it to his sword, so I would find out if the Swordbone is called B_Sword or BAT_Sword. If you don't know how to open Skeletons, then just make a guess :lol:. Next, make a block in your code like this:

ModelConditionState = USER_3
			Model			   = YOUR MODEL *use the default model*
			ParticleSysBone	 = B_SWORDBONE FireSword FollowBone:Yes
		End

This will attach your Particle FX to the unit's Sword. If you want to attach it to his stomach, then put in "B_RIBS" or "BAT_RIBS".

Now in your powers main behaviour (the biggest one) write down this line:
SetModelCondition		= ModelConditionState:USER_3
Now when the power is used the unit has a Firey (is that a word :p) Sword!

If you can't make your own FX, here is the one I used in the Example:

INSERT THIS INTO FXPARTICLESYSTEM.INI
FXParticleSystem FireSword
  System
	Priority = ALWAYS_RENDER
	ParticleName = EXSplatHaze.tga
	Lifetime = 10 10
	SortLevel = 1
	Size = 0 15
	BurstCount = 4 6
	InitialDelay = 5 5
	IsParticleUpTowardsEmitter = Yes
  End
  Color = DefaultColor
	Color2 = R:185 G:106 B:40 5
	Color3 = R:40 G:106 B:185 20
  End
  Update = DefaultUpdate
	SizeRate = -0.25 -0.25
	SizeRateDamping = 1 1
	AngleZ = -7 7
	AngularDamping = 1 1
  End
  Physics = DefaultPhysics
	VelocityDamping = 1 1
  End
  EmissionVelocity = OrthoEmissionVelocity
  End
  EmissionVolume = LineEmissionVolume
	EndPoint = X:0 Y:0 Z:15
  End
  Draw = DefaultDraw
  End
End

If you use this in your mod, please give me a line in the Credits :p

EDIT: For anyone interested in this particle, here is a Screenie of it!
FireSword.jpg
Remember, if you use it, give me a little credit :p

Edited by Fingulfin, 31 August 2006 - 02:24 AM.

Posted Image
--------------------------------------
"You look like a ghost of your former self..."

#3 Hostile

Hostile

    Benefitting Humanity Simply by Showing Up!

  • Veterans
  • 9,551 posts
  • Location:Washington DC
  •  T3A Founder
  • Division:Revora
  • Job:Global Administrator
  • Donated
  • Association

Posted 31 August 2006 - 03:40 AM

I believe you can also name the mesh of the sword as the object to gain the fx, that would look much better on that model. As long as the sword is a seperate object, than attach it the arm.

#4 Waray

Waray
  • Members
  • 6 posts
  • Location:The Netherlands

Posted 31 August 2006 - 07:25 AM

@Fin,

:/
I first assumed the line after particlesysbone was an FX, but I couldn't find the Anduril line in fxparticlesystem, so I assumed you had to use existing lines in FXlist. But that's quite easy to do, so thanks for answering my question.
I probablly won't give a shot at modding for a while, but when I will, I'll remember to credit you for it.:lol:

@Hostile,

As of yet I'm trying to stay out of modeling as much as possible till I at least know most of the INI, but thanks for the tip which I can definitely use in the future.

#5 Bart

Bart

  • Network Admins
  • 8,524 posts
  • Location:The Netherlands
  • Division:Revora
  • Job:Network Leader

Posted 31 August 2006 - 10:49 PM

hostile's way doesn't require any modelling at all :D
bartvh | Join me, make your signature small!
Einstein: "We can’t solve problems by using the same kind of thinking we used when we created them."

#6 Fingulfin

Fingulfin

    I Like Pi3. Do you?

  • Hosted
  • 1,752 posts
  • Location:California, USA
  • Projects:Staying Alive.
  •  This place looks familiar. I can't remember why.

Posted 31 August 2006 - 11:33 PM

Ohhh.... I think I understand it now :D He says instead of mentioning a bone (B_Swordbone) mention the name of the Sword's Mesh. Ill look into that!
Posted Image
--------------------------------------
"You look like a ghost of your former self..."

#7 Waray

Waray
  • Members
  • 6 posts
  • Location:The Netherlands

Posted 02 September 2006 - 10:13 PM

hostile's way doesn't require any modelling at all :ohmy:


How do you name the mesh of the sword? Doesn't that require first seperating the sword from the model?

Btw, Fin, got it working "correctly", although altering the effects/color to my desire will take a while of getting used to.

Edited by Waray, 02 September 2006 - 10:14 PM.


#8 Fingulfin

Fingulfin

    I Like Pi3. Do you?

  • Hosted
  • 1,752 posts
  • Location:California, USA
  • Projects:Staying Alive.
  •  This place looks familiar. I can't remember why.

Posted 02 September 2006 - 10:25 PM

Use Paint. Thats what I do :ohmy:
Posted Image
--------------------------------------
"You look like a ghost of your former self..."

#9 Waray

Waray
  • Members
  • 6 posts
  • Location:The Netherlands

Posted 02 September 2006 - 10:34 PM

Use Paint. Thats what I do :ohmy:


Paint won't let me define new powers I'm trying to make :wub:

+I got an RGB editor, kinda handy for using in the FXParticlesystem file.

#10 Theo

Theo

    Hey look, im a VIP.

  • Members
  • 222 posts
  • Location:Sheffield, Uk,
  • Projects:Being lazy.

Posted 02 September 2006 - 11:37 PM

he ment in paint, you can define "custom colors" and it tells you the numbers of how much blue is in a color you make.
for eg B:60
with the three sets of numbers it gives, red, blue and green. you can see in paint first, what color your FX is more or less going to be.

Edited by J-a-Y, 02 September 2006 - 11:38 PM.


#11 Fingulfin

Fingulfin

    I Like Pi3. Do you?

  • Hosted
  • 1,752 posts
  • Location:California, USA
  • Projects:Staying Alive.
  •  This place looks familiar. I can't remember why.

Posted 03 September 2006 - 12:15 AM

He said he has an RGB editor, so he doesn't have to use paint :ohmy:
Posted Image
--------------------------------------
"You look like a ghost of your former self..."

#12 Anarion II

Anarion II
  • Members
  • 75 posts

Posted 09 March 2007 - 05:43 PM

i had done this ! really thanks .
when my hero runs , the glow effect comes a little after him , hot can i fix this ?
Posted Image
---------->"the war is upon us"<----------

#13 Lauri

Lauri

    Old man Lauri

  • Hosted
  • 10,436 posts
  • Location:Norway
  • Projects:The 4th Age
  •  The very worst T3A Team Chamber Member

Posted 09 March 2007 - 05:48 PM

I think it might lie in the InitialDelay = 5 5 But I'm not sure....

T4A_Logo_-_article.png

The 4th Age version 0.8 has been released: Link


#14 lakato

lakato
  • New Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 09 May 2022 - 07:06 AM

Hallo!

Please, I have a question!

 

How can I add FX light to sword, when enemies is near?

(For example - how Gandalf´s sword lighting like Frodo´s sting?)

Thnak you!

 

PS. Sorry for my english. It is not my language.






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users