Jump to content


Photo

Help with making my own mod


  • Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 King Thranduil

King Thranduil

    King of Mirkwood

  • Members
  • 149 posts
  • Location:Mirkwood Forest

Posted 27 October 2006 - 11:52 PM

hey everyone! I'm new to here as well as the BFME 2 modding community and I need help starting my own mod. I'd deeply appreciate if your instructions on how to do the following are as detailed and specific as possible:

1. How do I make Dunedain Rangers buildable from a level three MOTW archery range? Are there any complications I would need to get around? If so, what?

2. Eliminate peasants from Elves' Inn unit and replace them with Dunedain

3. Give Dunedain a passive, leadership-like ability

As you may guess, I was very disappointed with how EA made the Dunedain only summonable after the patch. Unfortunatly, my requests in other forums fell on deaf ears, so I'm now trying my luck at it.

Thanks for all your help!

#2 Bart

Bart

  • Network Admins
  • 8,524 posts
  • Location:The Netherlands
  • Division:Revora
  • Job:Network Leader

Posted 28 October 2006 - 12:00 AM

1. commandbutton.ini. copy the button for the dunedain and add something like
Options = CANCELABLE NEED_UPGRADE
NeededUpgrade = Upgrade_GondorArcheryRangeLevel3
then in commandset.ini, add your new button to the archery commandset

2. replace the elves button with the dunedain button in commandset.ini

3. copy the leadership module from someone else's ini and paste it in the dunedain

if you don't understand (part of) this, check out the tutorials
bartvh | Join me, make your signature small!
Einstein: "We can’t solve problems by using the same kind of thinking we used when we created them."

#3 King Thranduil

King Thranduil

    King of Mirkwood

  • Members
  • 149 posts
  • Location:Mirkwood Forest

Posted 28 October 2006 - 12:17 AM

Erm...I'd appreciate it if you could be more specific.

====
No one has any advice/instructions?

Solinx: No double posting within a short timespace please.

Edited by King Thranduil, 28 October 2006 - 12:24 AM.


#4 Bart

Bart

  • Network Admins
  • 8,524 posts
  • Location:The Netherlands
  • Division:Revora
  • Job:Network Leader

Posted 28 October 2006 - 10:19 AM

if you don't understand (part of) this, check out the tutorials


bartvh | Join me, make your signature small!
Einstein: "We can’t solve problems by using the same kind of thinking we used when we created them."

#5 King Thranduil

King Thranduil

    King of Mirkwood

  • Members
  • 149 posts
  • Location:Mirkwood Forest

Posted 28 October 2006 - 12:48 PM

Those tutorials are for BFME1. Is it basicly the same thing?

#6 Mathijs

Mathijs

    Post-modern Shaman

  • Network Leaders
  • 13,756 posts
  • Projects:Age of the Ring
  • Division:Revora
  • Job:Leader

Posted 28 October 2006 - 01:20 PM

Yes.

No fuel left for the pilgrims


#7 King Thranduil

King Thranduil

    King of Mirkwood

  • Members
  • 149 posts
  • Location:Mirkwood Forest

Posted 28 October 2006 - 02:59 PM

I'm going over some of the tutorials. I wish I could pay attention better...

Curse my short attention span....

#8 King Thranduil

King Thranduil

    King of Mirkwood

  • Members
  • 149 posts
  • Location:Mirkwood Forest

Posted 29 October 2006 - 12:06 AM

Ok. I think I get it.

But could someone be so kind and tell me WHERE are the files I need to edit? I'll go skim through the tutorials again incase I passed something up.

Thx for all your help!

#9 Solinx

Solinx

    .

  • Undead
  • 3,101 posts
  • Location:The Netherlands
  • Projects:Real Life
  • Division:Revora
  • Job:Retired Leader / Manager

Posted 29 October 2006 - 12:34 AM

Read this:
http://the3rdage.net...ner/extract.php

After extracting the files into the root game folder, you can find them here:

(root game folder)\data\ini

Solinx
Posted Image

"An expert is a man who has made all the mistakes which can be made in a very narrow field." - Niels Bohr


#10 Lord of Nazgul95

Lord of Nazgul95
  • New Members
  • 47 posts

Posted 31 October 2006 - 05:01 AM

Lord of Nazgul brings you high level ini modding!

To add Dunedain Rangers to the MOTW Archery Range, first head over to CommandButton.ini. Then, Ctrl+F search for "Dunedain" and keep going untill you find the command that is called:
"Command_ConstructInnGondorRangerHorde".

Once you are there, copy this text:

CommandButton Command_ConstructInnGondorRangerHorde
	Command				= UNIT_BUILD
	Object				= GondorRangerInnHorde
	Options				= CANCELABLE
	TextLabel			= CONTROLBAR:ConstructGondorRangerSummonedHorde
	ButtonImage			= BCInn_DunedainRanger
	ButtonBorderType	= BUILD 
	DescriptLabel		= CONTROLBAR:ToolTipBuildGondorRangerSummonedHorde
	Radial				= Yes
	InPalantir	   		= Yes
	ShowProductionCount	= Yes
	UnitSpecificSound   = GondorArcherVoiceBuy
End

...And paste it right under. Then, edit the code so it looks like this:

CommandButton Command_ConstructGondorDunedainRangerHorde
	Command				= UNIT_BUILD
	Object				= GondorRangerInnHorde
	Options				= CANCELABLE
	NeededUpgrade		= Upgrade_GondorArcheryRangeLevel3
	NeededUpgradeAny	= Yes
	TextLabel			= CONTROLBAR:ConstructGondorRangerSummonedHorde
	ButtonImage			= BCInn_DunedainRanger
	ButtonBorderType	= BUILD 
	DescriptLabel		= CONTROLBAR:ToolTipBuildGondorRangerSummonedHorde
	Radial				= Yes
	InPalantir	   		= Yes
	ShowProductionCount	= Yes
	UnitSpecificSound   = GondorArcherVoiceBuy
End

Then, now that you have made the command, head over to CommandSet.ini. Ctrl+F search for "GondorArchery", and you will come to this text:

CommandSet GondorArcheryCommandSet
	1 = Command_ConstructGondorArcherHorde
	2 = Command_ConstructGondorRangerHorde
	3 = Command_PurchaseTechnologyGondorFireArrows
	4 = Command_PurchaseUpgradeGondorArcheryRangeLevel2
	6 = Command_Sell
End

CommandSet GondorArcheryCommandSetLevel2
	1 = Command_ConstructGondorArcherHorde
	2 = Command_ConstructGondorRangerHorde
	3 = Command_PurchaseTechnologyGondorFireArrows
	4 = Command_PurchaseUpgradeGondorArcheryRangeLevel3
	6 = Command_Sell
End

CommandSet GondorArcheryCommandSetLevel3
	1 = Command_ConstructGondorArcherHorde
	2 = Command_ConstructGondorRangerHorde
	3 = Command_PurchaseTechnologyGondorFireArrows
	6 = Command_Sell   
End

You will need to add the Dunedain Ranger command-button to this, so it will look like this:

CommandSet GondorArcheryCommandSet
	1 = Command_ConstructGondorArcherHorde
	2 = Command_ConstructGondorRangerHorde
	3 = Command_ConstructGondorDunedainRangerHorde
	4 = Command_PurchaseTechnologyGondorFireArrows
	5 = Command_PurchaseUpgradeGondorArcheryRangeLevel2
	6 = Command_Sell
End

CommandSet GondorArcheryCommandSetLevel2
	1 = Command_ConstructGondorArcherHorde
	2 = Command_ConstructGondorRangerHorde
	3 = Command_ConstructGondorDunedainRangerHorde
	4 = Command_PurchaseTechnologyGondorFireArrows
	5 = Command_PurchaseUpgradeGondorArcheryRangeLevel3
	6 = Command_Sell
End

CommandSet GondorArcheryCommandSetLevel3
	1 = Command_ConstructGondorArcherHorde
	2 = Command_ConstructGondorRangerHorde
	3 = Command_ConstructGondorDunedainRangerHorde
	4 = Command_PurchaseTechnologyGondorFireArrows
	6 = Command_Sell
End

Once you have added the code for the Dunedain, you are done. I hope I explained it well enough. Now to adding Dunedain to the Elves. (However, personnally I would prefer to add Hobbits to them again and give Dunedain to the Dwarves! Anyway...)

Head to CommandSet.ini again. Ctrl+F search for "Inn", and it will take you to the inn commandsets. Then you can play with them and switch them around, or do whatever you want. IT DOESN'T MATTER. Your mod.

As for the Leadership, I am not an expert in adding abilities to normal units. Besides, I don't think that normal units should have a Leadership ability, because they can recieve one. It wouldn't work very well, trust me. :excl:

I hope that that explained to you the basics of CommandSet editting! :p

#11 Solinx

Solinx

    .

  • Undead
  • 3,101 posts
  • Location:The Netherlands
  • Projects:Real Life
  • Division:Revora
  • Job:Retired Leader / Manager

Posted 31 October 2006 - 09:04 PM

Good post Lord of Nazgul95. :p

Edit:

Lord of Nazgul brings you high level ini modding!

:) If this is high level modding...

Anyway, could you validate your e-mail? Thanks :p

Solinx

Edited by Solinx, 31 October 2006 - 09:06 PM.

Posted Image

"An expert is a man who has made all the mistakes which can be made in a very narrow field." - Niels Bohr


#12 King Thranduil

King Thranduil

    King of Mirkwood

  • Members
  • 149 posts
  • Location:Mirkwood Forest

Posted 05 November 2006 - 01:47 AM

Horjay! It works!

Now I must call on the aid of the BFME II modding comunity once more: I want to create 2 new heros for the Elves. (Gil-Galad and Celeborn to be specific) How do i go about doing this and what tutorials would be helpful in order to accomplish such a task?

#13 Pixel

Pixel

  • Hosted
  • 2,451 posts
  • Location:London, UK

Posted 05 November 2006 - 02:00 AM

You will need to have a model/skin and have it bound to a skl/animations.
Tutorials that will be helpfull: Adding A New Hero

#14 King Thranduil

King Thranduil

    King of Mirkwood

  • Members
  • 149 posts
  • Location:Mirkwood Forest

Posted 22 November 2006 - 12:55 AM

Meh...thats too hard...

Can someone tell me how to give the Witchking the Black Riders' Morgul blade ability and leadership?

#15 Nazgul Lord

Nazgul Lord
  • New Members
  • 54 posts

Posted 22 November 2006 - 01:19 AM

Actually Celeborn already has a model/skin; there's a Celeborn childobject at the bottom of Elrond's ini. Just copy Celeborn's model and animation codes, then finish him up with Elrond's codes. You'll probably want to change his displayname, recruittext, and revivetext; there are some tutorials floating around that tells ya how to do this, just use the search function. You'll also probably want to change his powers; once again, there are tutorials. I know for a fact that there's a good in the (aptly named) BFME Tips & Tutorials section, under BFME User Submitted Items.
Do not come between a Nazgul and his prey.
Posted Image
92% of teens have moved onto rap. If you are part of the 8% that still listen to real music, copy and paste this into your signature

#16 Pixel

Pixel

  • Hosted
  • 2,451 posts
  • Location:London, UK

Posted 22 November 2006 - 08:20 PM

Actually Celeborn already has a model/skin

But it looks very odd with the sword down the front of his robe :popcorn: Simple uvw editing would fix it though.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users