Jump to content


Photo

Editing Elvenstar


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 Edhel Aran

Edhel Aran
  • Members
  • 22 posts
  • Location:Bathurst NSW Australia
  • Projects:Power the Elves
  •  Power of the Elves Coder

Posted 29 October 2006 - 03:35 AM

OK heya guys,
I'm sort of new to modding so take it easy ;)
I have downloaded the elvenstar mod installed it and it all works no probs.
I know and underdtand how to edit the inis with out the elvenstar mod on.
I'm not really happy with somethings on the elvenstar mod ie cost of buildings/units etc is there anyway i can edit these whilst keeping the added factions/units etc????
Thanks

#2 Bart

Bart

  • Network Admins
  • 8,524 posts
  • Location:The Netherlands
  • Division:Revora
  • Job:Network Leader

Posted 29 October 2006 - 11:05 AM

i'm not certain about the way elvenstar was made, but most probably you can mod it just as you would mod the original game
bartvh | Join me, make your signature small!
Einstein: "We can’t solve problems by using the same kind of thinking we used when we created them."

#3 Edhel Aran

Edhel Aran
  • Members
  • 22 posts
  • Location:Bathurst NSW Australia
  • Projects:Power the Elves
  •  Power of the Elves Coder

Posted 30 October 2006 - 04:48 AM

I'm used to having the 'ini' foler in data and editing the documents inside that folder I don't understand how I can do the same for elvenstar as there is nothing to edit in the data folder

#4 N19HtmAr3

N19HtmAr3

    title available

  • Project Team
  • 553 posts
  • Location:Sweden
  • Projects:Kicking ass...
  •  "who's that guy, anyways?"

Posted 30 October 2006 - 08:25 AM

Extract, or edit the files in the Elvenstar.big files... :p

#5 zimoo

zimoo

    Ecthelion of the Fountain

  • Project Team
  • 2,009 posts
  • Location:Devon, England
  • Projects:Lurking until the off topic begins...
  •  Guardian of the Books

Posted 30 October 2006 - 09:46 AM

Elvenstar uses two big files in the main BFME directory, _basic_en and _update_en. The coding is in one of these (can't remember which), so simply open those files and make your changes, then save it.
Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image

Playing games? Ah, you'll never be a good modder if you get involved in actually playing them!


#6 Edhel Aran

Edhel Aran
  • Members
  • 22 posts
  • Location:Bathurst NSW Australia
  • Projects:Power the Elves
  •  Power of the Elves Coder

Posted 30 October 2006 - 09:21 PM

Oct 30 - Thanks very much I sort of wanted to know where those files were lol, now you've cleared it up i geuss I should have phrased it better. Thanks

Oct 31 - Ok I have extracted the files into the root folder and made the changes I want....now what?
I get some errors when I try to open normal middle earth.

Nov 02 - ok done got it! thanks for that guys

Lauredita: 3 post in a row, although they were a day apart.... just cleaned it :p

Edited by Lauri, 02 November 2006 - 05:00 PM.


#7 Lauri

Lauri

    Let us remember foREVer

  • Hosted
  • 10,419 posts
  • Location:Norway
  • Projects:'The 4th Age' and 'Shadow and Flame'
  •  The very worst T3A Team Chamber Member

Posted 02 November 2006 - 05:01 PM

cleaned up the 3in-a-row posts, so check his post above me for the bump :lol:
looked messy, that's the reason I cleaned it :p

Shadow and Flame BETA 0.6 RELEASED - Link


#8 Lucifer1793

Lucifer1793
  • Members
  • 6 posts

Posted 22 October 2014 - 07:23 PM

Enjoying the Elvenstar mod 5.5 (as well as Shadow and Flame - it's awesome!) but can't find a copy of elvenstar 5.8 (english) thats virus-free! Has anyone got a copy or knows where i could get it please? :)   



#9 Echo

Echo

    T3A:Online

  • T3A Staff
  • 1,011 posts
  • Projects:Blue Wizard Mod
  •  yay blue
  • Division:BFME
  • Job:T3A Moderator
  • Donated

Posted 22 October 2014 - 08:28 PM

http://lordofthering...star_Mod;108081

 

This one should work. I uased it back when I played EM and filefront has never caused any problems for me considering viruses.


26285.png


#10 Lucifer1793

Lucifer1793
  • Members
  • 6 posts

Posted 23 October 2014 - 08:39 PM

Ah ok thanks so much! My computer keeps saying it has a virus but will give it a go anyway :)






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users