Jump to content


Photo

The Elven Alliance Beta Released


  • Please log in to reply
40 replies to this topic

#21 Kelso

Kelso

    BFME Admin

  • Project Team
  • 1,467 posts
  • Projects:Rise of Rome, Rise of Rome 2
  •  AWD and T3A Team Chamber Leader
  • Division:BFME
  • Job:Designer: Rise of Rome 1 and 2

Posted 30 October 2006 - 03:57 PM

If you are really having issues just dump the .big in C:\ and do -mod C:\ElvenAlliance.big

Easiest way in my opinion.
Posted Image
Posted Image

#22 Bart

Bart

  • Network Admins
  • 8,524 posts
  • Location:The Netherlands
  • Division:Revora
  • Job:Network Leader

Posted 30 October 2006 - 04:41 PM

i installed it in a custom dir and the installer made a shortcut to the big file (not to the game with the big file as parameter). also i noticed the files get installed in <installdir>\, better make this <installdir>\ElvenAlliance\ or something
bartvh | Join me, make your signature small!
Einstein: "We can’t solve problems by using the same kind of thinking we used when we created them."

#23 Azrael

Azrael

    title available

  • Project Team
  • 296 posts
  • Location:North Wales
  • Projects:My Unnamed Mod
  •  Progressing Modder

Posted 30 October 2006 - 04:45 PM

If you are really having issues just dump the .big in C:\ and do -mod C:\ElvenAlliance.big

Easiest way in my opinion.


That didn't work either. I can't play as the elves and all the stuff added to existing factions are invisible or pink. T_T

#24 lecrae

lecrae

    Jesus Freak

  • Members
  • 153 posts
  • Location:USA
  •  learning how to skin

Posted 30 October 2006 - 06:59 PM

you could always just reinstall bfme and patch it up if nothing else works :p
Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image
98% of American teens have tried pot. If your're one of the 2% that hasn't, copy and paste this into your signature.

"For God so loved the world that he gave his only begotten Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life" - John 3:16

#25 Azrael

Azrael

    title available

  • Project Team
  • 296 posts
  • Location:North Wales
  • Projects:My Unnamed Mod
  •  Progressing Modder

Posted 30 October 2006 - 08:19 PM

But I did that before I installed this mod >.< *whacks head on wall*

#26 Pixel

Pixel

  • Hosted
  • 2,451 posts
  • Location:London, UK

Posted 30 October 2006 - 08:56 PM

Leave the mod in application data and try this shortcut Click Here

Edited by FlameGuard, 30 October 2006 - 08:57 PM.


#27 Azrael

Azrael

    title available

  • Project Team
  • 296 posts
  • Location:North Wales
  • Projects:My Unnamed Mod
  •  Progressing Modder

Posted 30 October 2006 - 10:27 PM

I have the invisible/pink thing fixed. But still no Elves :(

#28 Pixel

Pixel

  • Hosted
  • 2,451 posts
  • Location:London, UK

Posted 30 October 2006 - 10:48 PM

You must be running something wrong.

#29 Guest_Guest_*

Guest_Guest_*
  • Guests

Posted 30 October 2006 - 10:49 PM

i finised installing it and apperantly my dvd drive wont read any disks any advice i want to play this mod soooo bad

#30 Fingulfin

Fingulfin

    I Like Pi3. Do you?

  • Hosted
  • 1,752 posts
  • Location:California, USA
  • Projects:Staying Alive.
  •  This place looks familiar. I can't remember why.

Posted 30 October 2006 - 11:10 PM

Get a new DVD drive, or if it is the Disc's problem, buy a new BFME I. You can get either for around $20 US.
Posted Image
--------------------------------------
"You look like a ghost of your former self..."

#31 Bart

Bart

  • Network Admins
  • 8,524 posts
  • Location:The Netherlands
  • Division:Revora
  • Job:Network Leader

Posted 30 October 2006 - 11:14 PM

don't pay that much. for $5 you can get a new dvd from EA
bartvh | Join me, make your signature small!
Einstein: "We can’t solve problems by using the same kind of thinking we used when we created them."

#32 Guest_Guest_*

Guest_Guest_*
  • Guests

Posted 31 October 2006 - 12:58 AM

Tnx do you know how much dvd drives go for (u.s plz)

#33 Pixel

Pixel

  • Hosted
  • 2,451 posts
  • Location:London, UK

Posted 31 October 2006 - 03:29 AM

Tnx do you know how much dvd drives go for (u.s plz)

Go take a look on a few sites or ebay.. You can pick them up cheaper on places like that.

#34 Master Windu

Master Windu

    The Master.

  • Advisors
  • 2,150 posts
  • Location:Houston, Texas
  • Projects:Galaxy at War, Rhovanion Alliance
  •  T3A Team Chamber Member

Posted 02 November 2006 - 01:48 PM

Moved guest error post to the 'BETA Thread' in Celeglin's EA area.

This is really, really great news and an amazing job you have done with this. I'm having endless fun playing it. :lol:
Posted Image
Posted Image

#35 Celeglin

Celeglin

    Silhouette of a Serenade

  • Hosted
  • 2,468 posts
  • Projects:The Elven Alliance, Rhovanion Alliance
  •  T3A Team Chamber Member

Posted 03 November 2006 - 11:11 AM

Thanks again for all the compliments. I might release another version soon'ish that has some of the obvious and exploitable bugs fixed.

Posted Image
Posted Image


#36 Bebbe

Bebbe

    Savvy ?

  • Project Team
  • 670 posts
  • Location:Sweden
  •  The original guy

Posted 03 November 2006 - 09:51 PM

Aww , to bad I've lost my BFME cd ,, and I unistalled the game ,, ...wait I had to do a system recovery and ...
But I still have to wait a week till I get to that comp anyway

#37 Guest_Gondo_*

Guest_Gondo_*
  • Guests

Posted 13 November 2006 - 10:45 PM

I would love to try this mod, but...
I get a debug that says:
"The thread tried to read from or write to a virtual address for which it does not have the appropriate access.
Access address 0x00000008 was read from.

Location:
00b76683 game.dat+0x776683, StringBase<char>::startswith+0x72afe3

Version: release

Stack trace:

Address Module Symbol
00b76683 game.dat+0x776683 StringBase<char>::startsWith+0x72afe3
03b3a0f8 [unknown module]

#38 Celeglin

Celeglin

    Silhouette of a Serenade

  • Hosted
  • 2,468 posts
  • Projects:The Elven Alliance, Rhovanion Alliance
  •  T3A Team Chamber Member

Posted 14 November 2006 - 03:02 PM

Do you have any previously installed mods?

Posted Image
Posted Image


#39 Guest_Gondo_*

Guest_Gondo_*
  • Guests

Posted 14 November 2006 - 05:33 PM

no I reinstalled BfME when I heard this beta was out.

#40 Solinx

Solinx

    .

  • Undead
  • 3,100 posts
  • Location:The Netherlands
  • Projects:Real Life
  • Division:Revora
  • Job:Retired Leader / Manager

Posted 14 November 2006 - 05:50 PM

Have you also patched the game correctly?

The mod requires the 1.03 patch I believe. To be sure, check it in the readme, I'm sure Celeglin mentioned it in there.

Solinx
Posted Image

"An expert is a man who has made all the mistakes which can be made in a very narrow field." - Niels Bohr





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users