Jump to content


Photo

Taking Dmagae over time?


  • Please log in to reply
18 replies to this topic

#1 ironmonkaa

ironmonkaa
  • Members
  • 73 posts

Posted 15 November 2006 - 10:25 PM

how would u make a special do damege over time until the target dies?

#2 Hebblewhite

Hebblewhite

    Artificially Intelligent

  • Project Team
  • 131 posts
  • Location:North Wales, UK
  • Projects:WOP-AI (bfme AI plugin), Darkness Rising, Rhovanian Alliance
  •  Mysterious AI Guy...

Posted 16 November 2006 - 04:40 PM

how would u make a special do damege over time until the target dies?


You should have a look at the Witchking's Morgul Blade power. It's designed to do exactly what you're talking about (whether it works or not I can't tell you because I've never played around with it!).

It begins in "weapon.ini" with "WitchKingMorgulBladeSpecialPower". This is pretty standard with the exception it has an attribute modifier that applies damages bonuses and speed/armour reductions for a period of time (I assume taken from a special power update module in the attacking units code).

You would need to set the effect duration to a high enough number so that it will eventually kill the unit you have attacked.



Hebblewhite.
Reassuringly Expensive...

Blade with whom I have lived,
Blade with whom I now die,
Serve right and justice one last time,
Seek one last heart of evil,
Still one last life of pain,
Cut well old friend, and then... farewell


Posted Image

#3 ironmonkaa

ironmonkaa
  • Members
  • 73 posts

Posted 16 November 2006 - 06:55 PM

ok thanks

#4 Bart

Bart

  • Network Admins
  • 8,524 posts
  • Location:The Netherlands
  • Division:Revora
  • Job:Network Leader

Posted 16 November 2006 - 07:35 PM

it depends, do you want the damaging to stop when the hero dies? that's going to be hard. if not, then there are enough examples of poison effects (e.g. goblins)

edit: woops this isn't bfme2, but nevertheless i think the codes are the same

Edited by 2playgames, 16 November 2006 - 07:36 PM.

bartvh | Join me, make your signature small!
Einstein: "We can’t solve problems by using the same kind of thinking we used when we created them."

#5 Fingulfin

Fingulfin

    I Like Pi3. Do you?

  • Hosted
  • 1,752 posts
  • Location:California, USA
  • Projects:Staying Alive.
  •  This place looks familiar. I can't remember why.

Posted 16 November 2006 - 09:36 PM

No poison damage in BFME I. I have a power for BFME II that poisons a target (I.E. Hero) so it takes damage until it dies. Does BFME I support DOTNuggets? If it does, then the BFME II codes should work just fine.
Weapon GoblinFighterSwordPoisoned
	LeechRangeWeapon			= Yes
	AttackRange					  = 30.0
	MeleeWeapon					= Yes
	DelayBetweenShots			= GOBLIN_FIGHTER_DELAYBETWEENSHOTS
	PreAttackDelay				= GOBLIN_FIGHTER_PREATTACKDELAY
	PreAttackType				= PER_SHOT
	FireFX						= FX_GondorSwordHit
	FireFlankFX					= FX_Flanking
	FiringDuration				= GOBLIN_FIGHTER_FIRINGDURATION

	DamageNugget
		Damage					= GOBLIN_FIGHTER_DAMAGE
		Radius					= 0.0
		DelayTime				= 0
		DamageType				= SLASH
		DamageFXType			= SWORD_SLASH
		DeathType				= NORMAL
		FlankingBonus			= 50%
	End

	DOTNugget
		Damage					= GOBLIN_FIGHTER_POISON_DAMAGE
		AcceptDamageAdd			= No
		Radius					= 0.0
		DelayTime				= 0
		DamageType				= POISON

		DamageFXType			= POISON
		DeathType				= NORMAL
		DamageInterval			= 1000
		DamageDuration			= 15000;;30000
		SpecialObjectFilter		= AFFECTED_BY_POISON_OBJECTFILTER
	End
End
A bit of this is defined in gamedata.ini, but I think you get the picture...
Posted Image
--------------------------------------
"You look like a ghost of your former self..."

#6 Phil

Phil

    Force Majeure

  • Network Leaders
  • 7,976 posts
  • Location:Switzerland
  • Projects:Revora, C&C:Online
  •  Thought Police
  • Division:Revora
  • Job:Network Leader
  • Donated
  • Association

Posted 16 November 2006 - 10:20 PM

Nope that doesn't exist in BFME1. You'd most likely have to do multiple damage nuggets with different delays. Bad thing: It's a lot of senseless copy-paste.

I once saw some kind of PoisonedBehavior in game.dat, but you'd probably need a Generals INI.big to see a working example...

revorapresident.jpg
My Political Compass

Sieben Elefanten hatte Herr Dschin
Und da war dann noch der achte.
Sieben waren wild und der achte war zahm
Und der achte war's, der sie bewachte.


#7 Fingulfin

Fingulfin

    I Like Pi3. Do you?

  • Hosted
  • 1,752 posts
  • Location:California, USA
  • Projects:Staying Alive.
  •  This place looks familiar. I can't remember why.

Posted 16 November 2006 - 10:40 PM

in Weapon.ini:
Weapon ToxinTruckGun
  PrimaryDamage			   = 10.0			
  PrimaryDamageRadius		 = 10.0	  
  ScatterRadiusVsInfantry	 = 0.0	;When this weapon is used against infantry, it can randomly miss by as much as this distance.
  AttackRange				 = 100.0
  MinimumAttackRange		  = 0;20.0
  DamageType				  = POISON
  DeathType				   = POISONED
  WeaponSpeed				 = 600					;  dist/sec 
  WeaponRecoil				= 0					 ; angle to deflect the model when firing
  ProjectileObject			= ToxinTruckStreamProjectile
  FireFX					  = WeaponFX_ToxinTruckFlameWeapon
  ProjectileDetonationFX	  = WeaponFX_ToxinTruckMissileDetonation
  FireSound				   = ToxinTractorWeaponLoop
  FireSoundLoopTime		   = 80			   ; loop the firing sound until there's this much delay between shots 
  RadiusDamageAffects		 = ALLIES ENEMIES NEUTRALS
  DelayBetweenShots		   = 40			   ; time between shots, msec
  ClipSize					= 30						; how many shots in a Clip (0 == infinite)
  ClipReloadTime			  = 40				  ; how long to reload a Clip, msec
  ProjectileStreamName		= ToxinTruckProjectileStream; Drawing helper for this weapon.  Tracks all projectiles in air
  ProjectileCollidesWith	  = ENEMIES STRUCTURES WALLS SHRUBBERY
  AllowAttackGarrisonedBldgs  = Yes
End
In your unit's INI:
Behavior = PoisonedBehavior ModuleTag_09
	PoisonDamageInterval = 100 ; Every this many msec I will retake the poison damage dealt me...
	PoisonDuration = 3000	  ; ... for this long after last hit by poison damage
  End
I bet you could work with that.
Posted Image
--------------------------------------
"You look like a ghost of your former self..."

#8 Phil

Phil

    Force Majeure

  • Network Leaders
  • 7,976 posts
  • Location:Switzerland
  • Projects:Revora, C&C:Online
  •  Thought Police
  • Division:Revora
  • Job:Network Leader
  • Donated
  • Association

Posted 16 November 2006 - 10:45 PM

Thanks for the code. Can I download this Generals INI.big from somewhere? Got a link?

revorapresident.jpg
My Political Compass

Sieben Elefanten hatte Herr Dschin
Und da war dann noch der achte.
Sieben waren wild und der achte war zahm
Und der achte war's, der sie bewachte.


#9 cahik_

cahik_

    Sage engine ruler

  • Project Team
  • 1,896 posts
  • Location:Czech Republic
  • Projects:Rhovanion Alliance
  •  T3A Team Chamber Member and Crazy animator

Posted 16 November 2006 - 11:09 PM

anks for the code. Can I download this Generals INI.big from somewhere? Got a link?

you can get some mod. most of them contains whole ini.big :lol:

Posted Image

Posted Image
Posted Image


#10 Celeglin

Celeglin

    Silhouette of a Serenade

  • Hosted
  • 2,468 posts
  • Projects:The Elven Alliance, Rhovanion Alliance
  •  T3A Team Chamber Member

Posted 16 November 2006 - 11:40 PM

Here's a weapon that I created that does damage over time and it's for BfME I.

Weapon ThranduilWoundingStrike
  LeechRangeWeapon	  = Yes
  AttackRange		   = 30.0
  MeleeWeapon		   = Yes
  DelayBetweenShots	 = CELEBORN_DELAYBETWEENSHOTS 			
		; time between shots, msec
  PreAttackDelay		= CELEBORN_PREATTACKDELAY			 ; 400 is sword swing delay time before contact with target.
  PreAttackType		 = PER_SHOT; Do the delay each time we attack a new target
  FireFX				= FX_ThranduilWound
  FiringDuration		= CELEBORN_FIRINGDURATION		; Duration of the sword swing

  DamageNugget					  ; A basic Nugget that just does damage
	Damage		= 80						
	Radius		= 0.0
	DelayTime	 = 0
	DamageType	= HERO
	DamageFXType  = SWORD_SLASH
	DeathType	 = NORMAL
  End

  DamageNugget					  ; A basic Nugget that just does damage
	Damage		= 10						
	Radius		= 0.0
	DelayTime	 = 2500
	DamageType	= HERO
	DamageFXType  = SWORD_SLASH
	DeathType	 = NORMAL
  End

  DamageNugget					  ; A basic Nugget that just does damage
	Damage		= 10						
	Radius		= 0.0
	DelayTime	 = 5000
	DamageType	= HERO
	DamageFXType  = SWORD_SLASH
	DeathType	 = NORMAL
  End

  DamageNugget					  ; A basic Nugget that just does damage
	Damage		= 10						
	Radius		= 0.0
	DelayTime	 = 7500
	DamageType	= HERO
	DamageFXType  = SWORD_SLASH
	DeathType	 = NORMAL
  End

  DamageNugget					  ; A basic Nugget that just does damage
	Damage		= 10						
	Radius		= 0.0
	DelayTime	 = 10000
	DamageType	= HERO
	DamageFXType  = SWORD_SLASH
	DeathType	 = NORMAL
  End
End

To make it so the damage continues until the unit dies, you'll just have to keep copying and pasting until you've done enough damage to kill any unit in the game.

Posted Image
Posted Image


#11 Lauri

Lauri

    Old man Lauri

  • Hosted
  • 10,436 posts
  • Location:Norway
  • Projects:The 4th Age
  •  The very worst T3A Team Chamber Member

Posted 17 November 2006 - 12:14 AM

well, that's better than adding that Generals code in every units ini :lol:

T4A_Logo_-_article.png

The 4th Age version 0.8 has been released: Link


#12 Fingulfin

Fingulfin

    I Like Pi3. Do you?

  • Hosted
  • 1,752 posts
  • Location:California, USA
  • Projects:Staying Alive.
  •  This place looks familiar. I can't remember why.

Posted 17 November 2006 - 12:58 AM

But you can just use an include... Oh wait... BFME I... One of the reasons I love II, if you have a globally changing module (a module you want in every units INI) you can just put it in an INC file like StandardUnitEVA or whatnot.

EDIT: DLotS, here is a link to a generals INI: Clicky

Edited by Fingulfin, 17 November 2006 - 01:00 AM.

Posted Image
--------------------------------------
"You look like a ghost of your former self..."

#13 Nazgul Lord

Nazgul Lord
  • New Members
  • 54 posts

Posted 17 November 2006 - 07:11 PM

But you can just use an include...


Why do you guys like includes so much? Whenever I use them, I get an error because it "claims" that the path aint right...when I know for a fact it is! .inc files are evil!

Oh, could you change that .rar to something else, like just the .big, or put the .big in a zip folder?

And that PoisonedBehavior looks pretty cool. I might play with that and see...

Edited by Nazgul Lord, 17 November 2006 - 07:13 PM.

Do not come between a Nazgul and his prey.
Posted Image
92% of teens have moved onto rap. If you are part of the 8% that still listen to real music, copy and paste this into your signature

#14 Bart

Bart

  • Network Admins
  • 8,524 posts
  • Location:The Netherlands
  • Division:Revora
  • Job:Network Leader

Posted 17 November 2006 - 11:07 PM

1. includes rock, for the reasons fingulfin posted. maybe you should check your paths :thumbsupsmiley:
2. you must get winrar sooner or later
3. please validate your email, ty :thumbsupsmiley:
bartvh | Join me, make your signature small!
Einstein: "We can’t solve problems by using the same kind of thinking we used when we created them."

#15 Guest_Guest_*

Guest_Guest_*
  • Guests

Posted 19 November 2006 - 05:12 PM

When I went to install winrar, it said something about having to pay for installing it, and for every file you compress or decompress with it...it this true?

And can you explain the path of .inc files? I don't understand...they're like
.../stundrawmodulesmall.inc
and I don't get how it reads that path.

#16 ironmonkaa

ironmonkaa
  • Members
  • 73 posts

Posted 19 November 2006 - 05:24 PM

winrar may say its a trial but its not, it is free to use

#17 Bart

Bart

  • Network Admins
  • 8,524 posts
  • Location:The Netherlands
  • Division:Revora
  • Job:Network Leader

Posted 19 November 2006 - 06:13 PM

".." means the directory above.

so for example, if "data\ini\object\gondor\gondorthing.ini" has
#include "..\includes\unitstuff.inc"
it's pointing to "data\ini\object\includes\unitstuff.inc"

Edited by 2playgames, 19 November 2006 - 06:14 PM.

bartvh | Join me, make your signature small!
Einstein: "We can’t solve problems by using the same kind of thinking we used when we created them."

#18 Guest_eglang_*

Guest_eglang_*
  • Guests

Posted 23 November 2006 - 12:39 AM

I want to make a rain the heads ability and when it rains heads people get poisoned aka sick but when new people come out of the baracks then they get sick so the heads spread desease for a while any body have an idea how to do that

#19 Bart

Bart

  • Network Admins
  • 8,524 posts
  • Location:The Netherlands
  • Division:Revora
  • Job:Network Leader

Posted 23 November 2006 - 11:14 PM

yeah, start by making your own topic and not disturbing those of others ;)

http://forums.revora...showtopic=38372

have fun on t3a :p
bartvh | Join me, make your signature small!
Einstein: "We can’t solve problems by using the same kind of thinking we used when we created them."




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users