•  Veteran

Posted 12 December 2006 - 09:28 PM

EDIT (10/01/07)
I'm changing this thread from
Nazgûls mixed BFME2 Q-thread...

to this... :p

----------------------------------

Hi all!

First - I'm sorry if I come across like a moron now, but I'm really new at this, so I dunnu if this question is legitimate, or just stupid? *lol* But I must give it a try... :grin:

I've allready asked the writer/coder in his own forum, but I don't want to bother him too much about something he's allready left behind... Plus this place seem to be loaded with great knowledge and skills from a great bunch of people :blink:

Question...
-----------

Is it possible to mod existing mods? The mod in question is one of the best out there according to me - BFME2.5 (which is cancelled now unfortionately). I LOVE it despite a few bugs (a few missing unit images of new units, and some corrupt unit names), but I still would like to trim it a bit. Easy stuff though, just health limits, recruit costs and such... And this is for personal use only. I won't take credit o try to steal something. I would just like to trim an almost perfect mod to suit me even better :p

I have FinalBIG, latest version and I've tried to alter stuff directly in Gamedata.ini, but the changes never take effect in the game? The mod is placed according to instructions in the C:directory (The game is on another partition) and the mod works - but none of my alterations?

Tom (the writer) said breifly to look for the Unit.inis, but does that mean I still can alter directly in FinalBIG, presuming I find the right lines. Most of the stuff seem to bee under Gamedata.ini? For ex: The Balrog health which I altered to 12000 from 4000, but the game still uses and states 4000?

I'm confused... help, please? :p

///Chris, big time BFME2-player, Sweden :p

Edited by Nazgûl, 01 June 2007 - 12:13 AM.

// C}{riZpc_punch.gif
"Do not come between the Nazgûl and his mod!"
SEE_Banner_2008.jpg
SEE-Team_Leader.jpg