Jump to content


Photo

FXParticleSystem


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 Rob38

Rob38

    Believer of Hope

  • Hosted
  • 3,567 posts
  • Location:USA
  • Projects:Helm's Deep Last Hope
  •  One who is not afraid of new challenges

Posted 01 January 2007 - 08:51 AM

I'm trying to make an fx particle attach to a sword for one of mu units but have been unsucessful. I want to create some neat things for my units like JBV3737 does in some of his maps, but I just don't understand the particle system part. I can get my particle to attach to the unit, but it does not attach to the sword. Here's the code I have for it. It's for a map.ini file. If anyone can help out, please do.


FXParticleSystem StupidSwordFire
  System
	Priority = ALWAYS_RENDER
	ParticleName = EXFire01.tga;EXLnzFlar2.tga
	Lifetime = 5 5
	SortLevel = 1
	Size = 5 10
	BurstCount = 4 6
	InitialDelay = 5 5
	IsParticleUpTowardsEmitter = Yes
  End
  Color = DefaultColor
	Color2 = R:36 G:73 B:120 5
	Color3 = R:40 G:106 B:185 20
  End
  Update = DefaultUpdate
	SizeRate = -0.25 -0.25
	SizeRateDamping = 1 1
	AngleZ = -7 7
	AngularDamping = 1 1
  End
  Physics = DefaultPhysics
	VelocityDamping = 1 1
  End
  EmissionVelocity = OrthoEmissionVelocity
  End
  EmissionVolume = LineEmissionVolume
	EndPoint = X:0 Y:0 Z:15
  End
  Draw = DefaultDraw
  End
End


Object GondorCaptain

	ReplaceModule ModuleTag_01
	 Draw = W3DHordeModelDraw ModuleTag_RohanCaptainModel
			
										DefaultModelConditionState
			Model			   = GUCaptain_SKN
			ParticleSysBone = SWORD StupidSwordFire FollowBone:yes
			ParticleSysBone = B_SWORDBONE StupidSwordFire FollowBone:YES	
			End

(rest of code isn't needed)

Edited by Rob38, 01 January 2007 - 08:52 AM.

signature_group1.gif

 

16821.png


#2 Bart

Bart

  • Network Admins
  • 8,524 posts
  • Location:The Netherlands
  • Division:Revora
  • Job:Network Leader

Posted 01 January 2007 - 12:20 PM

are you sure the bone is called B_SWORDBONE?
bartvh | Join me, make your signature small!
Einstein: "We can’t solve problems by using the same kind of thinking we used when we created them."

#3 Grim

Grim

    Mad Axe

  • Project Team
  • 537 posts
  •  T3A Team Chamber Member
  • Division:T3A Moderator

Posted 01 January 2007 - 12:41 PM

Yep that's the main problem, those bones do not exist on that model.

Check the models on renx (or whatever 3D program) first when you want to attach a fx on a bone, to see what bones are there and choose the best one.

For gucaptain_skn you should try HAND_R, however it's the hand bone, not the sword one, so it might look wierd.
Posted Image

#4 Bart

Bart

  • Network Admins
  • 8,524 posts
  • Location:The Netherlands
  • Division:Revora
  • Job:Network Leader

Posted 01 January 2007 - 03:09 PM

i think you can add a bone in the model, and bind it to the hand bone, so it's at the right pos

not sure though
bartvh | Join me, make your signature small!
Einstein: "We can’t solve problems by using the same kind of thinking we used when we created them."

#5 Lauri

Lauri

    Old man Lauri

  • Hosted
  • 10,436 posts
  • Location:Norway
  • Projects:The 4th Age
  •  The very worst T3A Team Chamber Member

Posted 01 January 2007 - 03:14 PM

add a bone = add same bone to every anim = hard work...

anyways, captain doesn't have any other bone than HAND_R, so you'll have to use that :popcorn:

T4A_Logo_-_article.png

The 4th Age version 0.8 has been released: Link


#6 Bart

Bart

  • Network Admins
  • 8,524 posts
  • Location:The Netherlands
  • Division:Revora
  • Job:Network Leader

Posted 01 January 2007 - 04:35 PM

no, add the bone to the model and bind it to the hand bone

in fact it could just be a dummy object, i think you can attach fx to all objects

so edit the model, add a dummy object at the middle of the sword and bind that to the hand bone

Edited by 2playgames, 01 January 2007 - 04:36 PM.

bartvh | Join me, make your signature small!
Einstein: "We can’t solve problems by using the same kind of thinking we used when we created them."

#7 Lauri

Lauri

    Old man Lauri

  • Hosted
  • 10,436 posts
  • Location:Norway
  • Projects:The 4th Age
  •  The very worst T3A Team Chamber Member

Posted 01 January 2007 - 07:43 PM

still have to make sure all anims have that, right? *angle-eye* I thought so atleast

T4A_Logo_-_article.png

The 4th Age version 0.8 has been released: Link


#8 Rob38

Rob38

    Believer of Hope

  • Hosted
  • 3,567 posts
  • Location:USA
  • Projects:Helm's Deep Last Hope
  •  One who is not afraid of new challenges

Posted 01 January 2007 - 08:03 PM

Thanks for the help everyone. I was wondering how you know what bone to attach it to. I'll have to download gmax and check this out. And 2playgames, I would do what you said, but this is a map.ini file so I don't think I can do that. I'll try attaching the fx to HAND_R and see how it looks.

signature_group1.gif

 

16821.png


#9 Bart

Bart

  • Network Admins
  • 8,524 posts
  • Location:The Netherlands
  • Division:Revora
  • Job:Network Leader

Posted 01 January 2007 - 09:32 PM

no, it's a part of the model
bartvh | Join me, make your signature small!
Einstein: "We can’t solve problems by using the same kind of thinking we used when we created them."

#10 Rob38

Rob38

    Believer of Hope

  • Hosted
  • 3,567 posts
  • Location:USA
  • Projects:Helm's Deep Last Hope
  •  One who is not afraid of new challenges

Posted 02 January 2007 - 12:56 AM

I don't get it. How would I do that in a map.ini? I can't add a bone in a map.ini, can I ;)

signature_group1.gif

 

16821.png


#11 Grim

Grim

    Mad Axe

  • Project Team
  • 537 posts
  •  T3A Team Chamber Member
  • Division:T3A Moderator

Posted 02 January 2007 - 06:40 AM

Of course not, they are talking about modifications with a 3D program.

If changing the bone name in map.ini was successful, forget about the rest, it's much more difficult.
Posted Image

#12 Bart

Bart

  • Network Admins
  • 8,524 posts
  • Location:The Netherlands
  • Division:Revora
  • Job:Network Leader

Posted 02 January 2007 - 11:05 AM

sorry, didn't see it was for map.ini
bartvh | Join me, make your signature small!
Einstein: "We can’t solve problems by using the same kind of thinking we used when we created them."

#13 Rob38

Rob38

    Believer of Hope

  • Hosted
  • 3,567 posts
  • Location:USA
  • Projects:Helm's Deep Last Hope
  •  One who is not afraid of new challenges

Posted 02 January 2007 - 07:30 PM

That's allright. I was just a little confused with what you were saying. Anyways, I installed Renx and I can now look at the bones for each object. Thanks for th help :thumbsdownsmiley:

signature_group1.gif

 

16821.png





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users