Jump to content


Photo

SSTG's mod Questions and problems thread


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
296 replies to this topic

#261 SSTG

SSTG

    most likely rs 2.0 is here dance

  • Hosted
  • 1,268 posts
  • Location:Underwater HQ somewhere near NZ
  • Projects:making a mod
  •  CnC Dark rising Head of mod development :p

Posted 30 November 2007 - 10:48 PM

no change here the rules ini incase I missed something

[TERROR]
UIName=Name:TERRORIST
Name=Terrorist
Image=TRST
;Image=SPY
Category=Soldier
;Prerequisite=NAHAND,NATECH
Prerequisite=NAHAND,RADAR
CrushSound=InfantrySquish
LeadershipRating=3
Strength=75 ;changed on 11/29 from 50 to 75
;Primary=MakeupKit ; virtual weapon that picks disguise
;C4=Yes
Primary=TerrorBomb
CanPassiveAquire=no ; Won't try to pick up own targets
CanRetaliate=no; Won't fire back when hit
Armor=flak
TechLevel=5
;CanDisguise=yes; I appear differently on other people's computers
;PermaDisguise=yes; and I appear that way always (Mirage Tank will be Can but not Perma)
Sight=9
Speed=6
Owner=Russians,Confederation,Africans,Arabs,Nkorea,China
AllowedToStartInMultiplayer=no
;Cost=1500
;Soylent=200
Cost=200
Soylent=100
Pip=red
Points=5
VoiceSelect=TerroristSelect
VoiceMove=TerroristMove
VoiceAttack=TerroristAttackCommand
VoiceFeedback=TerroristFear
VoiceSpecialAttack=TerroristAttackCommand
DieSound=TerroristDie
Locomotor={4A582744-9839-11d1-B709-00A024DDAFD1}
PhysicalSize=1
MovementZone=AmphibiousDestroyer
ThreatPosed=0 ; This value MUST be 0 for all building addons
SpecialThreatValue=1
Trainable=no
Explodes=yes
DeathWeapon=TerrorBomb
IFVMode=11
Typeimmune=yes
EnterWaterSound=TanyaEntersWater ;Optional, can be any sound
LeaveWaterSound=TanyaLeavesWater ;Optional, can be any sound
SpeedType=Amphibious
ImmuneTo=Fire
NavalTargeting=4
LandTargeting=1


Also played a 4 vs 4 game with me as a 3rd side force and another 3rd side force an allied and soviet country free for all it was so fun but I need to program some AI for the 3rd side

Edited by SSTG, 01 December 2007 - 01:36 AM.

Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image

#262 Blade

Blade

    title available

  • Members
  • 503 posts

Posted 01 December 2007 - 02:36 PM

Comment out JumpjetDeviation, I have and it works for me.


I noticed this discussion and was interested in the effect... the reason commenting out JumpJetDeviation makes it work is that it is set too low in the rules example given to be effective. The default is 40 way up near the top of the rules file and gives quite a big change in height over time. The only thing wobbles does it set how fast/slow it goes up and down. This invites the question of why they needed a JumpJetNoWobbles tag at all when a JumpJetDeviation of 0 will have the same effect. I have personally settled on a value of .05 for JumpJetWobbles and 20 for JumpJetDeviation.

Edited by Blade, 01 December 2007 - 02:42 PM.


#263 SSTG

SSTG

    most likely rs 2.0 is here dance

  • Hosted
  • 1,268 posts
  • Location:Underwater HQ somewhere near NZ
  • Projects:making a mod
  •  CnC Dark rising Head of mod development :p

Posted 02 December 2007 - 11:03 AM

Ok I got 2 questions on the AI ini which got me lost

First is there any actual code I need to put with the

[XXXXXXXC-G] mainly to identify all the task forces etc? or can I just put something like BLAH BLAH BLAH?

and one about the targeting a specific building

When used in ScriptTypes, the structure number takes any of several formats and is derived by finding the structure in the [BuildingTypes] list of RULES.INI and subtracting ONE from this structures' number in that list (equivalent to renumbering the list from 0) - this is the explicit number of that structure and is the number to use as the second parameter of the action. Any one of several amendments can be made to this number;-



· add 131072 to the number, so GAPOWR (number 1 in RULES.INI thus number 0 for this purpose) becomes 131072

· add 196608 to the number, so GAPOWR (number 1 in RULES.INI thus number 0 for this purpose) becomes 196608

· add 65534 to the number, so GAPOWR (number 1 in RULES.INI thus number 0 for this purpose) becomes 65534



It has not been determined what significance or effect the different numbering systems have (if any). Changing them at random appears to have no effect although it is thought that there is additional logic attached to them.


This parts got me lost if I wanted to use for targeting any specific building

and addition can a SW used for purposes similar to the iron curtain be used by the AI the same way?

Edited by SSTG, 02 December 2007 - 11:04 AM.

Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image

#264 SSTG

SSTG

    most likely rs 2.0 is here dance

  • Hosted
  • 1,268 posts
  • Location:Underwater HQ somewhere near NZ
  • Projects:making a mod
  •  CnC Dark rising Head of mod development :p

Posted 04 December 2007 - 08:32 AM

Ok doing that cloning the conyard damn the ai base got HUGE! had enough defenses to keep it going to though I'm gonna work on making some AI defense teams

ok got a bug with my spy plane thats been bugging me for months

it gives random crashes when its used by ethier me or the AI

all I've done is change the voxel to a jet and increase the speed heres the rules and art

[SPYP]
UIName=Name:SpyP
Name=Soviet Spy Plane
Strength=1500
Category=AirLift
Armor=light
LegalTarget=no
TechLevel=-1
Primary=SpyCameraWeapon
Spawned=yes ; Created by another object and therefore not player controllable
LeadershipRating=10
Selectable=no
RadarInvisible=no
Sight=0
Landable=no
MoveToShroud=yes
PitchAngle=0 ; default is 20 degrees
Speed=40
Owner=British,French,Germans,Americans,Alliance,Russians,Confederation,Africans,
Arabs,YuriCountry,Nkorea,China,Iran
Points=30
ROT=2
Crewed=yes
Ammo=100
Explosion=TWLT070,S_BANG48,S_BRNL58,S_CLSN58,S_TUMU60
MaxDebris=2
Locomotor={4A582746-9839-11d1-B709-00A024DDAFD1}
MovementZone=Fly
ThreatPosed=0 ; This value MUST be 0 for all building addons
DamageParticleSystems=SparkSys,SmallGreySSys
ImmuneToPsionics=yes
CanPassiveAquire=no ; Won't try to pick up own targets
CanRetaliate=no; Won't fire back when hit
MoveSound=Migmoveloop
DieSound=
CrashingSound=SpyPlaneDie
ImpactLandSound=GenAircraftCrash
DeathWeapon=BlimpBomb
DeathWeaponDamageModifier=.1;gs needs a death weapon or it will do nothing when it crashes since its weapon is a camera
FlyBy=true ;GEF Don't slow down over your target

[SPYP] ; Soviet Spy Plane
Cameo=SPYPICON
Voxel=yes
ShadowIndex=3 ;draw plane body, not propellers
DisableVoxelCache=yes ; SJM: this is a major cache hog
DisableShadowCache=yes ; SJM: this too


@ Omegabolt did comment out the tag you said but got an IE from it I'm rechecking though
Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image

#265 Apollo

Apollo

    The bringer of doom

  • Hosted
  • 3,467 posts
  • Location:Core of Nexus
  • Projects:Robot Storm, Project Phantom
  •  1337 Modder

Posted 04 December 2007 - 08:42 AM

since you replaced it with a JET (i presume just spyp.vxl) ..it won't have multiple voxel sections most likely so get rid of shadowindex and also give it standard hva instead of the original being used or your game is certain to crash trying spin unexisting rotors or trying show shadow of unexisting section.
Posted Image

EAApoc wrote:
The only written law in a C&C game I ever saw is please Mr.Developer make it fun and give me a lot of **** to explode, o and don't you ever get another soul to play Kane but Joe Kucan. Aside from those two rules, all bets are off =) hehe
-APOC

#266 SSTG

SSTG

    most likely rs 2.0 is here dance

  • Hosted
  • 1,268 posts
  • Location:Underwater HQ somewhere near NZ
  • Projects:making a mod
  •  CnC Dark rising Head of mod development :p

Posted 04 December 2007 - 08:58 AM

Ah that got it no more damn crashes same thing omegabolt said too though had a mess up before
Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image

#267 SSTG

SSTG

    most likely rs 2.0 is here dance

  • Hosted
  • 1,268 posts
  • Location:Underwater HQ somewhere near NZ
  • Projects:making a mod
  •  CnC Dark rising Head of mod development :p

Posted 06 December 2007 - 01:53 PM

I'm gonna test out an AI idea using the iron curtain script with the 2nd sw the 3rd side have hopefully I can fool it into thinking its a iron curtain when its does a different effect though its meant for its own units

though a backfire might be that it could build an iron curtain to meet the need for the AI
Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image

#268 SSTG

SSTG

    most likely rs 2.0 is here dance

  • Hosted
  • 1,268 posts
  • Location:Underwater HQ somewhere near NZ
  • Projects:making a mod
  •  CnC Dark rising Head of mod development :p

Posted 07 December 2007 - 05:51 AM

ok stuck my 3rd side does'nt do any attacks I programmed some codes but nothing

this replaces yuri so its using its entry

[3rdtroopteam-G]
Name=3rd side team troops
VeteranLevel=1
Loadable=no
Full=no
Annoyance=no
GuardSlower=no
House=<none>
Recruiter=no
Autocreate=yes
Prebuild=no
Reinforce=no
Droppod=no
UseTransportOrigin=no
Whiner=no
LooseRecruit=no
Aggressive=yes
Suicide=no
Priority=1
Max=1
TechLevel=9
Group=-1
OnTransOnly=no
AvoidThreats=yes
IonImmune=no
TransportsReturnOnUnload=no
AreTeamMembersRecruitable=no
IsBaseDefense=no
OnlyTargetHouseEnemy=no
Script=3rdtroopscript-G
TaskForce=3rdtroopforce-G

[3rdtroopscript-G]
Name=3rd troops script
0=53,0
1=0,1

[3rdtroopforce-G]
Name=3rd troop force
0=20,LAS
Group=-1

[hydrateam-G]
Name=hydra team
VeteranLevel=1
Loadable=no
Full=no
Annoyance=no
GuardSlower=no
House=YuriCountry
Recruiter=no
Autocreate=yes
Prebuild=no
Reinforce=no
Droppod=no
UseTransportOrigin=no
Whiner=no
LooseRecruit=no
Aggressive=yes
Suicide=no
Priority=1
Max=1
TechLevel=9
Group=-1
OnTransOnly=no
AvoidThreats=no
IonImmune=no
TransportsReturnOnUnload=no
AreTeamMembersRecruitable=no
IsBaseDefense=no
OnlyTargetHouseEnemy=no
Script=hydrascript-G
TaskForce=hydraforce-G

[hydrascript-G]
Name=hydra tank script
0=0,3
1=0,2
2=0,1

[hydraforce-G]
Name=hydra tank force
0=5,SREFB
1=1,SPIDER
Group=-1


Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image

#269 SSTG

SSTG

    most likely rs 2.0 is here dance

  • Hosted
  • 1,268 posts
  • Location:Underwater HQ somewhere near NZ
  • Projects:making a mod
  •  CnC Dark rising Head of mod development :p

Posted 09 December 2007 - 02:12 AM

Still stuck on that AI problem whenever I choose yuricountry for AI they don't use any AI triggers they do nothing except build up they're base

I may try making a custom country and seeing what happens
Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image

#270 SSTG

SSTG

    most likely rs 2.0 is here dance

  • Hosted
  • 1,268 posts
  • Location:Underwater HQ somewhere near NZ
  • Projects:making a mod
  •  CnC Dark rising Head of mod development :p

Posted 18 December 2007 - 04:40 AM

Still got nothing working with the 3rd side AI I'm beginning to think I missed something somewhere..

Hold on would I need to replace a existing original country for a 3rd side force to work?

since my country list is like this

0=Americans ; Starts at zero because dialog returns 0 for first listing regardless of name
1=Alliance
2=French
3=Germans
4=British

5=Africans
6=Arabs
7=Confederation
8=Russians
9=China
10=Nkorea
11=NewZealand

12=YuriCountry
13=StealthForce

14=GDI
15=Nod
16=Neutral
17=Special


Edited by SSTG, 18 December 2007 - 04:57 AM.

Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image

#271 Starkku

Starkku

    Putting the Pro' in 'Procrastination'

  • Hosted
  • 431 posts
  • Location:Finland
  • Projects:Project Phantom
  •  C&C YR modder & Project Phantom mod leader.

Posted 18 December 2007 - 12:29 PM

Atleast i think it would be lot easier if you just use YuriCountry as your ThirdSide country and use same names for units (example just remake [INIT] in RulesMD to your 3rdSide basic soldier.)
ppsign.gif

#272 SSTG

SSTG

    most likely rs 2.0 is here dance

  • Hosted
  • 1,268 posts
  • Location:Underwater HQ somewhere near NZ
  • Projects:making a mod
  •  CnC Dark rising Head of mod development :p

Posted 18 December 2007 - 09:39 PM

Well the Yuri country is already a thridside force just left the entry like that and INIT was changed to LAS I dunno if that was a good idea though
Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image

#273 OmegaBolt

OmegaBolt

    Lost In The New Real

  • Hosted
  • 6,272 posts
  • Location:London, England
  • Projects:Red-Resurrection
  •  O'Bolt

Posted 18 December 2007 - 11:15 PM

No point changing internal names... just makes more chances for something to go wrong.

Posted Image

Posted ImagePosted ImagePosted ImagePosted Image


#274 SSTG

SSTG

    most likely rs 2.0 is here dance

  • Hosted
  • 1,268 posts
  • Location:Underwater HQ somewhere near NZ
  • Projects:making a mod
  •  CnC Dark rising Head of mod development :p

Posted 18 December 2007 - 11:18 PM

I think I'll have to redo my rules ini which could be a pain but looks like its the only option to get my yuri AI working again

Though I only messed with the conyard the initiate and bio reactor might just paste them from a normal rules ini

Edited by SSTG, 18 December 2007 - 11:24 PM.

Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image

#275 partyzanPaulZy

partyzanPaulZy

    "quarawr!"

  • Members
  • 576 posts
  • Location:The Czech Republic
  • Projects:Corruption Of Power - YR mod
  •  doing my mod alone till 1st release (then will see)

Posted 19 December 2007 - 04:56 PM

Original Ra2 uses old modified items like SHK - RA1 Shock Trooper, ORCA - TS Orca, MTNK - Mammoth, etc.
Westwood hasn't recreated it from the reason, it's boondoggle.

Edited by partyzanPaulZy, 19 December 2007 - 04:57 PM.

Posted Image
"Soviet Union was a superpower and each superpower needs at least 1 war at 5 years to keep army in a good condition." ... my grandpa. USA create wars more frequently.

#276 SSTG

SSTG

    most likely rs 2.0 is here dance

  • Hosted
  • 1,268 posts
  • Location:Underwater HQ somewhere near NZ
  • Projects:making a mod
  •  CnC Dark rising Head of mod development :p

Posted 06 January 2008 - 05:19 AM

Ok got new problem

Added the 4th side logic but got some problems

when I select yuri as the player it crashes but if I select it as a AI opponent its automatically makes me win

I dunno but I think maybe its with the MCV or something

I select the 4th side however when I try using them the game goes unable to read senario though I can fight against them

Might be missing something there will post up code soon

[Countries]
0=Americans ; Starts at zero because dialog returns 0 for first listing regardless of name
1=Alliance
2=French
3=Germans
4=British

5=Africans
6=Arabs
7=Confederation
8=Russians
9=China

10=Nkorea

11=NewZealand
12=YuriCountry
13=StealthForce

14=GDI
15=Nod
16=Neutral
17=Special

; ******* Side Type List *******
; The combantants can be grouped according to side. This
; lists the sides and their respective member houses.
[Sides]
;GDI=GDI
;Nod=Nod

GDI=British,French,Germans,Americans,Alliance,NewZealand ;keep this order as GDI first and Nod second
Nod=Russians,Africans,Confederation,Arabs,China,Nkorea ;and you have to keep the names unless we want to do a concerted all ini and hard coded string sweep (I kinda do, Dustin, so go ahead and tell Henry we need it.)
ThirdSide=YuriCountry
FourthSide=StealthForce

[YuriCountry]
UIName=Name:YuriCountry
Name=YuriCountry
Suffix=Soviet
Prefix=B
Color=ThirdLoad
Multiplay=yes
Side=ThirdSide
SmartAI=yes

[StealthForce]
PowerPlant=HAPOWR ; the default power plant
SurvivorDivisor=100
Disguise=LAS
Crew=LAS
BaseDefenseCounts=30,15,10
BaseDefenses=HALAGUN,LTOWER,HAGGUN
ParaDropNum=6,3,3
ParaDropInf=LAS,LASERT,SIDEWINDER
UIName=StealthF
Name=Stealth force
Suffix=Soviet
Prefix=B
Color=S03Load
Multiplay=yes
Side=FourthSide
SmartAI=yes

BaseUnit=AMCV,SMCV,PCV,HCV

[AI]
BuildConst=GACNST,NACNST,YACNST,HACNST
BuildPower=NAPOWR,GAPOWR,YAPOWR,HAPOWR ;DB NANRCT;gsNAAPWR ; buildings to build to generate power

BuildRefinery=NAREFN,GAREFN,YAREFN,YAREFINERY,HAREFN,NAREFN2,GAREFN2,YAREFINERY2
;gs ; refinery ratio based on these buildings
BuildBarracks=NAHAND,GAPILE,YABRCK,GABARRACKS ; barracks ratio based on these buildings
BuildTech=NATECH,GATECH,YATECH,HATECH ; should build on each of these
BuildWeapons=GAWEAP,NAWEAP,YAWEAP,HAWEAP,GAWEAP2,NAWEAP2,YAWEAP2,HAWEAP2,GAWEAP3
,NAWEAP3,YAWEAP3,HAWEAP3 ; war factory ration based on these buildings
;BuildDefense=TESLA,ATESLA,YAGGUN ;gs these 4 do nothing ; base defenses are based on these buildings
;BuildPDefense=TESLA,ATESLA,YAGGUN ; excess power base defense
;BuildAA=NASAM,NAFLAK,YAGGUN ; air defenses based on these buildings
BuildHelipad=GAAIRC,AMRADR,AMRADR2,YAAIRPAD ; air helicopter offense based on these buildings
BuildRadar=GAAIRC,NARADR,AMRADR,NAPSIS,HARADR,GAROBO
ConcreteWalls=GAWALL,NAWALL,GAFWLL; temp wall for yuriYAWALL
NSGates=GADUMY ;GEF NAGATE_B,GAGATE_B
EWGates=GADUMY ;GEF NAGATE_A,GAGATE_A
BuildNavalYard=NAYARD,GAYARD,YAYARD,HAYARD
BuildDummy=GAPILL,NALASR,YAGGUN
NeutralTechBuildings=CAAIRP,CATHOSP,CAOILD,CAOUTP,CAMACH,CAPOWR,CASLAB

AlliedBaseDefenses=GAPILL,ATESLA,NASAM
SovietBaseDefenses=NALASR,NABNKR,TESLA,NAFLAK
ThirdBaseDefenses=YAGGUN,YAPSYT,NATBNK


Edited by SSTG, 06 January 2008 - 06:15 AM.

Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image

#277 TX1138

TX1138

    TEXT UNRELATED

  • Project Team
  • 866 posts
  • Location:Australia
  • Projects:...
  •  Giant Spectrum Panda

Posted 06 January 2008 - 07:06 AM

You have made the actual side playable. Look at GDI and Nod, neither of them are playable. You have to make countries for the new side and make them playable.
Posted Image

Realism is so overrated it isn't even funny. You already know what happens in reality, how is that entertaining...?


#278 SSTG

SSTG

    most likely rs 2.0 is here dance

  • Hosted
  • 1,268 posts
  • Location:Underwater HQ somewhere near NZ
  • Projects:making a mod
  •  CnC Dark rising Head of mod development :p

Posted 06 January 2008 - 07:21 AM

So do I have to make a country entry that's like the GDI and NOD entries? to make the fourth side work?
Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image

#279 TX1138

TX1138

    TEXT UNRELATED

  • Project Team
  • 866 posts
  • Location:Australia
  • Projects:...
  •  Giant Spectrum Panda

Posted 06 January 2008 - 07:49 AM

The fourth side has to be like the GDI and Nod entries. Then make a new country for the fourth side. Make that playable.
Posted Image

Realism is so overrated it isn't even funny. You already know what happens in reality, how is that entertaining...?


#280 SSTG

SSTG

    most likely rs 2.0 is here dance

  • Hosted
  • 1,268 posts
  • Location:Underwater HQ somewhere near NZ
  • Projects:making a mod
  •  CnC Dark rising Head of mod development :p

Posted 06 January 2008 - 07:56 AM

Like this?

; *** House (players) List ***
; Each side has some basic controls on how they behave (when
; controlled by the computer. Here is the list of available
; house types.
;
; PCG; WARNING; Do not remove, override or reorder the major 9 houses for skirmish
; or LAN game maps. These need to go into the house types array first and without
; interruption by other types of houses, or we will get evil crashes.
[Countries]
0=Americans ; Starts at zero because dialog returns 0 for first listing regardless of name
1=Alliance
2=French
3=Germans
4=British

5=Africans
6=Arabs
7=Confederation
8=Russians
9=China

10=Nkorea

11=NewZealand

12=YuriCountry

13=StealthForce

14=GDI
15=Nod
16=FourthSide
17=Neutral
18=Special

; ******* Side Type List *******
; The combantants can be grouped according to side. This
; lists the sides and their respective member houses.
[Sides]
;GDI=GDI
;Nod=Nod

GDI=British,French,Germans,Americans,Alliance,NewZealand ;keep this order as GDI first and Nod second
Nod=Russians,Africans,Confederation,Arabs,China,Nkorea ;and you have to keep the names unless we want to do a concerted all ini and hard coded string sweep (I kinda do, Dustin, so go ahead and tell Henry we need it.)
ThirdSide=YuriCountry
FourthSide=StealthForce ;you can use any name for the side and add any country to it

Civilian=Neutral
Mutant=Special


And add the entry like this?

[FourthSide]
UIName=Blank
Name=Nod
Suffix=Allied
Prefix=G
Color=S03Load
MultiplayPassive=true
Side=FourthSide
SmartAI=yes
PowerPlant=HAPOWR ; the default power plant
SurvivorDivisor=100
Disguise=LAS
Crew=LAS
BaseDefenseCounts=30,15,10
BaseDefenses=HALAGUN,LTOWER,HAGGUN
ParaDropNum=6,3,3
ParaDropInf=LAS,LASERT,SIDEWINDER


Edited by SSTG, 06 January 2008 - 08:47 AM.

Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users