Jump to content


Photo

SSTG's mod Questions and problems thread


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
296 replies to this topic

#21 OmegaBolt

OmegaBolt

    Lost In The New Real

  • Hosted
  • 6,270 posts
  • Location:London, England
  • Projects:Red-Resurrection
  •  O'Bolt

Posted 04 March 2007 - 12:24 AM

Make sure the image is in 256 colours.

Posted Image

Posted ImagePosted ImagePosted ImagePosted Image


#22 Jeeves

Jeeves

    I write the interwebz

  • Members
  • 4,156 posts
  •  Friendly neighborhood standards Nazi

Posted 04 March 2007 - 02:21 AM

Theres a link to an older, non-crashy version of XCC above this thread.

World Domination Status: 2.7%


#23 SSTG

SSTG

    most likely rs 2.0 is here dance

  • Hosted
  • 1,268 posts
  • Location:Underwater HQ somewhere near NZ
  • Projects:making a mod
  •  CnC Dark rising Head of mod development :p

Posted 04 March 2007 - 05:28 AM

Ok I tried it again but XCC won't copy the PNG as a pal its highlighted grey
Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image

#24 SSTG

SSTG

    most likely rs 2.0 is here dance

  • Hosted
  • 1,268 posts
  • Location:Underwater HQ somewhere near NZ
  • Projects:making a mod
  •  CnC Dark rising Head of mod development :p

Posted 04 March 2007 - 11:01 AM

is there any other websites that have public voxels and SHPs like RA2 argentina?
Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image

#25 OmegaBolt

OmegaBolt

    Lost In The New Real

  • Hosted
  • 6,270 posts
  • Location:London, England
  • Projects:Red-Resurrection
  •  O'Bolt

Posted 04 March 2007 - 11:21 AM

It's YR Argentina, and like I said it has to be in 256 colours in order to be copied as a pal.

Other places... Pixelops and The Editing Source are both good places to start.

Posted Image

Posted ImagePosted ImagePosted ImagePosted Image


#26 Nighthawk

Nighthawk

    Grumble Grumble.

  • Division Leaders
  • 2,943 posts
  • Location:Edinburgh
  • Projects:The Third War, Ares, misc side projects.
  •  Strategist and Modder
  • Division:C&C Guild
  • Job:Division Leader
  • Association

Posted 04 March 2007 - 11:38 AM

Tiberian Graveyards isn't too bad either.
Posted Image
Posted Image
Job Openings with the Guild: Division Staff, News Posters.
Job Openings with Ares: Documentation Maintainer, Active Testers.

PM if interested.

#27 SSTG

SSTG

    most likely rs 2.0 is here dance

  • Hosted
  • 1,268 posts
  • Location:Underwater HQ somewhere near NZ
  • Projects:making a mod
  •  CnC Dark rising Head of mod development :p

Posted 04 March 2007 - 11:51 AM

It's YR Argentina, and like I said it has to be in 256 colours in order to be copied as a pal.

Other places... Pixelops and The Editing Source are both good places to start.



Ok i'll try it again tomorow using adobe I think Ifranviews been not working or something
Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image

#28 Jeeves

Jeeves

    I write the interwebz

  • Members
  • 4,156 posts
  •  Friendly neighborhood standards Nazi

Posted 04 March 2007 - 10:11 PM

As posted in VXL & SHP discussion; Public Resource Sites List

World Domination Status: 2.7%


#29 SSTG

SSTG

    most likely rs 2.0 is here dance

  • Hosted
  • 1,268 posts
  • Location:Underwater HQ somewhere near NZ
  • Projects:making a mod
  •  CnC Dark rising Head of mod development :p

Posted 05 March 2007 - 03:36 AM

I think the problem is that I used edited load screens from RA2 so I think I'm gonna have to make some new ones up for all the countries and see how that goes
Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image

#30 OmegaBolt

OmegaBolt

    Lost In The New Real

  • Hosted
  • 6,270 posts
  • Location:London, England
  • Projects:Red-Resurrection
  •  O'Bolt

Posted 05 March 2007 - 10:03 AM

Ra2 uses one palette for all the sides loading screens whereas YR has one for each screen.

Posted Image

Posted ImagePosted ImagePosted ImagePosted Image


#31 SSTG

SSTG

    most likely rs 2.0 is here dance

  • Hosted
  • 1,268 posts
  • Location:Underwater HQ somewhere near NZ
  • Projects:making a mod
  •  CnC Dark rising Head of mod development :p

Posted 05 March 2007 - 10:27 AM

Yea I know I was just using PCX versions a guy here had uploaded I think his name was tony or something might be easier to make some new ones
Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image

#32 Allied General

Allied General

    C&C Guild

  • Hosted
  • 6,918 posts
  • Location:United Kingdom
  • Projects:AGSA
  •  Modder

Posted 05 March 2007 - 11:52 AM

tutorial for pals and load screens

http://forums.revora...showtopic=30994
Posted Image

#33 SSTG

SSTG

    most likely rs 2.0 is here dance

  • Hosted
  • 1,268 posts
  • Location:Underwater HQ somewhere near NZ
  • Projects:making a mod
  •  CnC Dark rising Head of mod development :p

Posted 05 March 2007 - 11:54 PM

I did a new jpeg version of the new load screen proto and I put 256 colours using irfan view but still no luck

I would like to add for some reason the thread layout had changed for some reason and I can't read or edit my replies so the uploaded is at the first post of this tread

Attached Thumbnails

  • problem.jpg

Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image

#34 SSTG

SSTG

    most likely rs 2.0 is here dance

  • Hosted
  • 1,268 posts
  • Location:Underwater HQ somewhere near NZ
  • Projects:making a mod
  •  CnC Dark rising Head of mod development :p

Posted 06 March 2007 - 07:59 AM

I dunno what happened with my forum options but its not showing all posts t once for some reason but the uploaded image is on the first post
Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image

#35 SSTG

SSTG

    most likely rs 2.0 is here dance

  • Hosted
  • 1,268 posts
  • Location:Underwater HQ somewhere near NZ
  • Projects:making a mod
  •  CnC Dark rising Head of mod development :p

Posted 09 March 2007 - 02:21 AM

Can anyone recommend what program to convert the load screen to SHP XCC screws it up and OS I'm having problems with the palette
Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image

#36 BobingAbout

BobingAbout

    Serious Modder

  • Hosted
  • 1,288 posts
  • Location:Here
  • Projects:R:ROTC, Destructivality, Factorio Mods
  •  Coder

Posted 09 March 2007 - 07:31 AM

i recomend XCC, but you've got to do it right. it has its own palette, so, you've got to have the image in a 256 colour PCX file.

first, right click on your PCX and press Copy as PAL
then go to view-palette and make sure use for conversion is turned off
right click on your PCX again and press copy as SHP(TS)

then get the filenames correct, its glslmd.shp and glsmd.pal
Posted Image
Posted Image

#37 SSTG

SSTG

    most likely rs 2.0 is here dance

  • Hosted
  • 1,268 posts
  • Location:Underwater HQ somewhere near NZ
  • Projects:making a mod
  •  CnC Dark rising Head of mod development :p

Posted 09 March 2007 - 09:22 AM

I tried it out but the only thing that happened is that my load screen loaded for the first time on the game but it when completely dis coloured but I did'nt really understand what you said about the view palette and conversion bit
Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image

#38 BobingAbout

BobingAbout

    Serious Modder

  • Hosted
  • 1,288 posts
  • Location:Here
  • Projects:R:ROTC, Destructivality, Factorio Mods
  •  Coder

Posted 09 March 2007 - 12:00 PM

there is an option in the pallete menu in the view menu called "Use for conversion". if this is turned on, then whatever pallete is currently selected, XCC will apply that pallete to your new SHP, making all the colours messed up.

it is VERY IMPORTANT that "Use for conversion" is turned off.

this "Use for conversion" is useful for when you apply different palettes with colours missing to building an infantry SHPs incase you don't convert them back again. but for a loading screen, its nothing but trouble.

Edited by BobingAbout, 09 March 2007 - 12:02 PM.

Posted Image
Posted Image

#39 SSTG

SSTG

    most likely rs 2.0 is here dance

  • Hosted
  • 1,268 posts
  • Location:Underwater HQ somewhere near NZ
  • Projects:making a mod
  •  CnC Dark rising Head of mod development :p

Posted 09 March 2007 - 01:08 PM

I must say that YOU ROCK! that completely worked! got my load screen in perfect colours on the game though I need to adjustments to the PSD file since it was a test thanks for the help guys!
Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image

#40 SSTG

SSTG

    most likely rs 2.0 is here dance

  • Hosted
  • 1,268 posts
  • Location:Underwater HQ somewhere near NZ
  • Projects:making a mod
  •  CnC Dark rising Head of mod development :p

Posted 13 March 2007 - 09:18 AM

Ok some new problems

I made a battleship but the turret and the barrels have gone completely off so do I set theres in the art INI or the HVA editor?

I got the iron fist war factory theres no rules ini for it so would it be best to copy the mcv data and modify it to work?


other than that everything is going well

Edited by SSTG, 13 March 2007 - 09:19 AM.

Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users