Jump to content


Photo

SSTG's mod Questions and problems thread


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
296 replies to this topic

#41 BobingAbout

BobingAbout

    Serious Modder

  • Hosted
  • 1,288 posts
  • Location:Here
  • Projects:R:ROTC, Destructivality, Factorio Mods
  •  Coder

Posted 13 March 2007 - 10:08 AM

you want to set the turret and barrel to the centre in HVA, then set an offset in art to move it to the right position.
Posted Image
Posted Image

#42 SSTG

SSTG

    most likely rs 2.0 is here dance

  • Hosted
  • 1,268 posts
  • Location:Underwater HQ somewhere near NZ
  • Projects:making a mod
  •  CnC Dark rising Head of mod development :p

Posted 13 March 2007 - 10:13 AM

so would I need to do some trial and error to get it set right?
Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image

#43 OmegaBolt

OmegaBolt

    Lost In The New Real

  • Hosted
  • 6,272 posts
  • Location:London, England
  • Projects:Red-Resurrection
  •  O'Bolt

Posted 13 March 2007 - 11:10 AM

Yes, everything in modding is trial and error really.

Posted Image

Posted ImagePosted ImagePosted ImagePosted Image


#44 SSTG

SSTG

    most likely rs 2.0 is here dance

  • Hosted
  • 1,268 posts
  • Location:Underwater HQ somewhere near NZ
  • Projects:making a mod
  •  CnC Dark rising Head of mod development :p

Posted 14 March 2007 - 03:29 AM

Ok I got the turret sorted but the barrels are in the air for some reason is there a barrel offset I need to enter?

also need to know how to do a tank drop? since I think the RP is loaded up now

Edited by SSTG, 14 March 2007 - 05:49 AM.

Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image

#45 SSTG

SSTG

    most likely rs 2.0 is here dance

  • Hosted
  • 1,268 posts
  • Location:Underwater HQ somewhere near NZ
  • Projects:making a mod
  •  CnC Dark rising Head of mod development :p

Posted 15 March 2007 - 10:43 AM

Posted Image

as you can see the barrels are way off so I need to work this out

any tutorials to make custom superweapons like the tank drop or something like a Seal paradrop?
Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image

#46 Jeeves

Jeeves

    I write the interwebz

  • Members
  • 4,156 posts
  •  Friendly neighborhood standards Nazi

Posted 15 March 2007 - 11:15 AM

1. Crop your images. Makes it easier to see the problem, and loads quicker so they can help. Open it in HVA Builder and position using voxel offset.
2. Yes

World Domination Status: 2.7%


#47 Eagle_eye

Eagle_eye

    Always here, you just dont know it

  • Members
  • 466 posts
  • Location:that bush watching you from a distance
  • Projects:TIOB
  •  Resident Random

Posted 19 March 2007 - 01:07 PM

lmao i have a funny odd question

i chucked in the hind, put in a new model
2 parts with animation

but now
odd thing is
rotors still dont turn
now i havnt modded for ohh wat 2 years now so, any1 see problem ?
I will see you 100 miles away
I will see you in 0% light
I will hunt you down

#48 SSTG

SSTG

    most likely rs 2.0 is here dance

  • Hosted
  • 1,268 posts
  • Location:Underwater HQ somewhere near NZ
  • Projects:making a mod
  •  CnC Dark rising Head of mod development :p

Posted 20 March 2007 - 11:53 AM

OK so I'm near done with the need to get balanced version though I need to fix the scud missile problem and another arose while I was working on the chrono prison

its selectable using any side even though the country owners are only the allies

and still a noob on HVA editing but the battleships barrels are set to the position but every time it move they jerk up above the turret

EDIT solved the chrono prison problem just did'nt have a allied war factory prequiste

Edited by SSTG, 21 March 2007 - 03:00 AM.

Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image

#49 SSTG

SSTG

    most likely rs 2.0 is here dance

  • Hosted
  • 1,268 posts
  • Location:Underwater HQ somewhere near NZ
  • Projects:making a mod
  •  CnC Dark rising Head of mod development :p

Posted 21 March 2007 - 06:20 AM

I've did some tweaks but still have barrels keep coming off the turret

Attached Thumbnails

  • batleship_problem.jpg

Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image

#50 TX1138

TX1138

    TEXT UNRELATED

  • Project Team
  • 866 posts
  • Location:Australia
  • Projects:...
  •  Giant Spectrum Panda

Posted 21 March 2007 - 06:35 AM

Remove the tag FireAngle=32 in the Battleship's code :)
Posted Image

Realism is so overrated it isn't even funny. You already know what happens in reality, how is that entertaining...?


#51 SSTG

SSTG

    most likely rs 2.0 is here dance

  • Hosted
  • 1,268 posts
  • Location:Underwater HQ somewhere near NZ
  • Projects:making a mod
  •  CnC Dark rising Head of mod development :p

Posted 21 March 2007 - 07:13 AM

that wasn't in my art entry so thats not affecting it

Edited by SSTG, 21 March 2007 - 07:13 AM.

Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image

#52 Jeeves

Jeeves

    I write the interwebz

  • Members
  • 4,156 posts
  •  Friendly neighborhood standards Nazi

Posted 21 March 2007 - 08:19 AM

PM and I'll fix, it definately looks like the HVA's just wrong

World Domination Status: 2.7%


#53 TX1138

TX1138

    TEXT UNRELATED

  • Project Team
  • 866 posts
  • Location:Australia
  • Projects:...
  •  Giant Spectrum Panda

Posted 21 March 2007 - 09:53 AM

that wasn't in my art entry so thats not affecting it


Not in the art entry, the rules entry! :)

;Soviet Dreadnought
[DRED]
UIName=Name:DRED
Name=Dreadnought
Prerequisite=NAYARD,NATECH
Primary=DredLauncher
CanPassiveAquire=no; Won't try to pick up own targets
Spawns=DMISL
SpawnsNumber=2
SpawnRegenRate=80
SpawnReloadRate=0; missile spawn don't come back
NoSpawnAlt=yes; alternate voxel for out of spawns: xxxxWO (DREDWO)
FireAngle=32 <--------<---------<---------<--------- Remove this tag from your battleship entry
ToProtect=yes
Category=Support
Strength=800
Naval=yes
Armor=heavy
TechLevel=6
Sight=7
Speed=4
CrateGoodie=no
Owner=Russians,Confederation,Africans,Arabs
AllowedToStartInMultiplayer=no
Cost=2000
Soylent=1000
Turret=no
Points=100
Weight=4
ROT=1
Crusher=no;gs yes
Crewed=no
;OmniFire=yes;GEF moved to weapon
IsSelectableCombatant=yes
Explosion=TWLT070,S_BANG48,S_BRNL58,S_CLSN58,S_TUMU60
VoiceSelect=GenSovWaterSelect
VoiceMove=GenSovWaterMove
VoiceAttack=GenSovWaterAttackCommand
VoiceFeedback=
DieSound=
SinkingSound=GenLargeWaterDie
MoveSound=DreadnoughtMoveStart
Locomotor={2BEA74E1-7CCA-11d3-BE14-00104B62A16C};{4A582741-9839-11d1-B709-00A024DDAFD1}
SpeedType=Float
MovementZone=Water
ThreatPosed=25; This value MUST be 0 for all building addons
DamageParticleSystems=SparkSys,SmallGreySSys
VeteranAbilities=STRONGER,FIREPOWER,ROF,SIGHT,FASTER
EliteAbilities=SELF_HEAL,STRONGER,FIREPOWER,ROF
TooBigToFitUnderBridge=true
GuardRange=10
;BuildLimit=1
Size=50

Trust me, I had the same problem with my battleship code :p

Edited by TX1138, 21 March 2007 - 09:55 AM.

Posted Image

Realism is so overrated it isn't even funny. You already know what happens in reality, how is that entertaining...?


#54 SSTG

SSTG

    most likely rs 2.0 is here dance

  • Hosted
  • 1,268 posts
  • Location:Underwater HQ somewhere near NZ
  • Projects:making a mod
  •  CnC Dark rising Head of mod development :p

Posted 21 March 2007 - 10:25 AM

Awesome that fixed it right up just need to straighten up the turret to the barrel now thanks for that

Ah now ALL the big problems are now fixed
Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image

#55 SSTG

SSTG

    most likely rs 2.0 is here dance

  • Hosted
  • 1,268 posts
  • Location:Underwater HQ somewhere near NZ
  • Projects:making a mod
  •  CnC Dark rising Head of mod development :p

Posted 21 March 2007 - 09:07 PM

Ok its time to up the AI how can I make it notice the new units and buildings and crack up the difficulty
Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image

#56 SSTG

SSTG

    most likely rs 2.0 is here dance

  • Hosted
  • 1,268 posts
  • Location:Underwater HQ somewhere near NZ
  • Projects:making a mod
  •  CnC Dark rising Head of mod development :p

Posted 22 March 2007 - 10:29 AM

I'm sure most of you got this error but when I get a unit made or a infantry unit I keep hearing new construction options how can I get rid of it
Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image

#57 TX1138

TX1138

    TEXT UNRELATED

  • Project Team
  • 866 posts
  • Location:Australia
  • Projects:...
  •  Giant Spectrum Panda

Posted 22 March 2007 - 10:44 AM

ModEnc to the rescue! ;)

http://www.modenc.re...ruction_Options
Posted Image

Realism is so overrated it isn't even funny. You already know what happens in reality, how is that entertaining...?


#58 SSTG

SSTG

    most likely rs 2.0 is here dance

  • Hosted
  • 1,268 posts
  • Location:Underwater HQ somewhere near NZ
  • Projects:making a mod
  •  CnC Dark rising Head of mod development :p

Posted 22 March 2007 - 11:15 AM

I was completely lost in that I think I zoned out trying to work out how to solve the problem ;)

Ok I found a IE I dunno if its the spy plane or something I added when I tried to get soviet AI to make the airpad so it can do mig strikes and tank drops but one with the spy plane while I'm playing as a soviet country I use the spy plane I dunno if it happens randomly or every time I move the mouse to the mini map while its going but I get a IE I dunno if its affecting my airpad code just working on that now or not though

all I did to the spy plane is pretty much renamed a jet voxel and hva as spyp to override the propeller one

I think it was the spyplane that was giving the error

EDIT

ok doing a few runs it seems the it gets the error if cuba uses the spyplane I dunno why though maybe it had something to do with the V3 veteran setting or something

Edited by SSTG, 22 March 2007 - 12:35 PM.

Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image

#59 SSTG

SSTG

    most likely rs 2.0 is here dance

  • Hosted
  • 1,268 posts
  • Location:Underwater HQ somewhere near NZ
  • Projects:making a mod
  •  CnC Dark rising Head of mod development :p

Posted 26 March 2007 - 12:56 AM

Anyone know any good FA2 tutorials cause I wanna start using it so the AI uses the new units and buildings also was wondering if anyone can give my beta version a run to let me know which units could do with balencing but I still need to get some things fixed should be up in a few days
Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image

#60 SSTG

SSTG

    most likely rs 2.0 is here dance

  • Hosted
  • 1,268 posts
  • Location:Underwater HQ somewhere near NZ
  • Projects:making a mod
  •  CnC Dark rising Head of mod development :p

Posted 28 March 2007 - 06:31 AM

I suppose that everyone is going to be busy playing c&c 3 for awhile so I'll wait on uploading the beta it since my pc isn't up scratch so till I can get it going I'll be working and trying my skills at balancing the units as well

Edited by SSTG, 28 March 2007 - 06:33 AM.

Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users