Jump to content


Photo

XP


  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 FoRSAkeN_oNe

FoRSAkeN_oNe

    Nexus Commander 00756

  • Members
  • 291 posts

Posted 20 April 2007 - 02:21 AM

I swore I've played RS since I installed XP, but I could be wrong...

I cannot get the game, or Yuri's Revenge itself to open. After the screen goes full-screen and black, I get an error, and the game is force quit. Just reinstall, or is there an easier alternative? (I don't recall where my RA2 disks are...)
Posted Image
Posted Image

And on the eighth day, god created kbyhil.hjfvgchtnm jhv o9, nhp;.
----------------------------------------------
Be young, have fun, taste ZOMGWTF.

<_<' ...Good day. -F1-

#2 Jeeves

Jeeves

    I write the interwebz

  • Members
  • 4,156 posts
  •  Friendly neighborhood standards Nazi

Posted 20 April 2007 - 03:58 AM

Check compatability mode, I play RA2 on XP os its definately possible :)
Mind you, my version is ****ed, so...

World Domination Status: 2.7%


#3 Ash

Ash

    Foxtrot Oscar.

  • Undead
  • 15,526 posts
  • Location:England
  • Projects:Robot Storm
  •  Keep calm and carry on.

Posted 20 April 2007 - 08:01 AM

Is it definitely a legal boxed copy?

Is the error an internal error message or a general windows program crash error?

#4 Apollo

Apollo

    The bringer of doom

  • Hosted
  • 3,467 posts
  • Location:Core of Nexus
  • Projects:Robot Storm, Project Phantom
  •  1337 Modder

Posted 20 April 2007 - 11:25 AM

Should work fine with especially compatibility options used...or atleast mine does in XP :)
Posted Image

EAApoc wrote:
The only written law in a C&C game I ever saw is please Mr.Developer make it fun and give me a lot of **** to explode, o and don't you ever get another soul to play Kane but Joe Kucan. Aside from those two rules, all bets are off =) hehe
-APOC

#5 OmegaBolt

OmegaBolt

    Lost In The New Real

  • Hosted
  • 6,272 posts
  • Location:London, England
  • Projects:Red-Resurrection
  •  O'Bolt

Posted 20 April 2007 - 11:29 AM

Yeah, YR doesnt work on XP without being in compatibility mode. And I recommend Win98/ME setting.

Posted Image

Posted ImagePosted ImagePosted ImagePosted Image


#6 Ash

Ash

    Foxtrot Oscar.

  • Undead
  • 15,526 posts
  • Location:England
  • Projects:Robot Storm
  •  Keep calm and carry on.

Posted 20 April 2007 - 11:33 AM

Yeah, YR doesnt work on XP without being in compatibility mode. And I recommend Win98/ME setting.

That's a lie. I've used YR on this comp (XP Pro) and my old comp (XP Home) without any issues whatsoever.

#7 Apollo

Apollo

    The bringer of doom

  • Hosted
  • 3,467 posts
  • Location:Core of Nexus
  • Projects:Robot Storm, Project Phantom
  •  1337 Modder

Posted 20 April 2007 - 02:16 PM

Yeah, YR doesnt work on XP without being in compatibility mode. And I recommend Win98/ME setting.

That's a lie. I've used YR on this comp (XP Pro) and my old comp (XP Home) without any issues whatsoever.


Yer it works offline fine without compatibility..still when i went online with it..then it wouldn't oh well..weird :)
Posted Image

EAApoc wrote:
The only written law in a C&C game I ever saw is please Mr.Developer make it fun and give me a lot of **** to explode, o and don't you ever get another soul to play Kane but Joe Kucan. Aside from those two rules, all bets are off =) hehe
-APOC

#8 OmegaBolt

OmegaBolt

    Lost In The New Real

  • Hosted
  • 6,272 posts
  • Location:London, England
  • Projects:Red-Resurrection
  •  O'Bolt

Posted 20 April 2007 - 03:21 PM

Meh, well I haven't been able to without compatibility on any XP system I've had...

Posted Image

Posted ImagePosted ImagePosted ImagePosted Image


#9 raminator

raminator

    Humba, Humba, Humba Tätärä

  • Hosted
  • 1,600 posts
  • Location:Secret Volcanobase
  • Projects:ehmmm don´t tell you :P
  •  der Biermeister hat gesprochen

Posted 20 April 2007 - 03:29 PM

only problems i had was installing ra2 on xp...
but somehow it worked after some couples of xp reinstallasations
Posted Image
if ^ does not work click here
I support Xeno getting well. Go Xeno!

#10 xenomorph

xenomorph
  • Members
  • 204 posts
  • Location:lemmer, friesland, the netherlands
  • Projects:becoming the ruler of all
  •  this is not red txt ???

Posted 21 April 2007 - 09:12 AM

weird i never had any problems with ra2yr on xp (home) but then again i use iso`s on my comp if that matters

beyond the eternal pleasure of war, when the dead rule and the living die, and the pain of destruction has reigned. when skulls are crushed under the threads of heavy metal. when this time comes i shall arise and rule you all HAIL TO THE KING. praise all forms of xeno for they inherit the future


#11 GodSun666

GodSun666

    Marching Trough The Eternal Fields Of Chaos!

  • Banned
  • 1,439 posts
  • Location:The Netherland @ Nod HQ!
  • Projects:Fast Fun And Crazy for Red Alert 3

Posted 21 April 2007 - 02:04 PM

hello,

well aslong as i play yuri i had in an winxp and a 98 both worked 100% withouth compatiility includeing online. i only had problems to ctrl alt del once it finnished installing i have a total of 5 copys of ra2 3 of YR all legal 11 *****ra2 copys 16 **** copys. no i dont **ell them those are just backups if my disc break and i have The First Decade. and 3 times burned, because i break/damage my disk easily if i go mad because i cant finish a campaing like back in the day i throwed my good old windows 98 pc out of the window because TSfirestorm crashed my comp and forcing an FORMAT!!!! so i throwed it out of the window.. yes it was a pentium 1 or 2 or even less.. i though it was a pentium 300:P with 4mb ram:P hmmmm those old days
now i have 1GIG will make 2 of it once cash starts flowing:P




anyways Goodluck and greetz godsun
для матери Россия! Советский Союз победит! Америка может облизывать мои яйца
Posted Image
Posted Image

#12 Ash

Ash

    Foxtrot Oscar.

  • Undead
  • 15,526 posts
  • Location:England
  • Projects:Robot Storm
  •  Keep calm and carry on.

Posted 23 April 2007 - 10:31 AM

You do not need that many backups..

#13 GodSun666

GodSun666

    Marching Trough The Eternal Fields Of Chaos!

  • Banned
  • 1,439 posts
  • Location:The Netherland @ Nod HQ!
  • Projects:Fast Fun And Crazy for Red Alert 3

Posted 23 April 2007 - 03:51 PM

well, in my case i need them. but i rather go to the store spend 50 bugs and buy the same game again:P.
для матери Россия! Советский Союз победит! Америка может облизывать мои яйца
Posted Image
Posted Image

#14 FoRSAkeN_oNe

FoRSAkeN_oNe

    Nexus Commander 00756

  • Members
  • 291 posts

Posted 24 April 2007 - 03:13 AM

Now things are interesting... I put it in 98/ME compatibility mode, however, I can only get Yuri's Revenge to run. Whenever I click on the mod button, YR crashes during startup. Furthermore, I tried a skirmish as Yuri... didn't go so well. As soon as I deployed a Power Plant, everything I had blew up and it was game over.
Posted Image
Posted Image

And on the eighth day, god created kbyhil.hjfvgchtnm jhv o9, nhp;.
----------------------------------------------
Be young, have fun, taste ZOMGWTF.

<_<' ...Good day. -F1-

#15 FoRSAkeN_oNe

FoRSAkeN_oNe

    Nexus Commander 00756

  • Members
  • 291 posts

Posted 30 April 2007 - 11:01 PM

Should I just reinstall? What .mix files and whatnot are not part of the original game so I don't loose them?
Posted Image
Posted Image

And on the eighth day, god created kbyhil.hjfvgchtnm jhv o9, nhp;.
----------------------------------------------
Be young, have fun, taste ZOMGWTF.

<_<' ...Good day. -F1-




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users