Jump to content


Photo

PC Specs Opinions


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 Daz

Daz

    title available

  • Hosted
  • 2,654 posts
  •  Revora Co-Founder

Posted 07 June 2007 - 04:58 PM

My PC is slowly beginning to fall over so I've bought some new bits.
Well to be fair, my dad's bought some new bits, these being the imporant ones:

Radeon X1950 PRO 512MB PCI-E Card
2GB RAM
Athlon 64 X2 4400+ (2.3 GHz) AM2 L2 1MB Cache

Opinions?
I know I could've got a better graphics card but I was trying to keep the price down.

#2 narboza22

narboza22

    Q6600 :)

  • Hosted
  • 357 posts
  • Location:United States
  • Projects:Tactical Warfare
  •  US supporter to the end

Posted 07 June 2007 - 09:32 PM

If you already have the parts, its kind of irrelevant what anyone thinks isn't it lol?

Anyway, AFAIK, the 1950 is one of the best non DX10 cards, but I may be wrong.

Personally, after doing all the research to build my own computer, I would have gotten a Core 2 Duo rather than an AMD.
Posted Image

#3 Daz

Daz

    title available

  • Hosted
  • 2,654 posts
  •  Revora Co-Founder

Posted 08 June 2007 - 11:13 AM

I've been off PC gaming for a while, I'm just curious if there's anything around that I can't run in high :p

#4 Shine On

Shine On

    Resident Photographer

  • Hosted
  • 3,828 posts
  • Location:England
  •  Ex Cameo Maker and Modder

Posted 08 June 2007 - 01:05 PM

In my opinion i think thats a great machine to have :p

It doesn't have to have to dogs bollocks graphic card wise, but you've got the main things that people usually always tend to miss out... THE MEMORY!!
Posted Image

#5 OmegaBolt

OmegaBolt

    Lost In The New Real

  • Hosted
  • 6,272 posts
  • Location:London, England
  • Projects:Red-Resurrection
  •  O'Bolt

Posted 08 June 2007 - 03:12 PM

Looks good, probably better than mine.

Posted Image

Posted ImagePosted ImagePosted ImagePosted Image


#6 Ash

Ash

    Foxtrot Oscar.

  • Undead
  • 15,526 posts
  • Location:England
  • Projects:Robot Storm
  •  Keep calm and carry on.

Posted 09 June 2007 - 08:18 PM

@Xeno:

I would say all three (Proc, RAM, GPU) are all of roughly equal importance. Although yes I'd tend to agree that RAM is something people overlook.


My system is inferior in most ways and it runs nearly everything on high. I think you'll be fine.

#7 Beowulf

Beowulf

    Anime Girl

  • Advisors
  • 7,217 posts
  • Projects:Red Alert X, YR: TG Redux, AR

Posted 10 June 2007 - 06:11 PM

Your GPU beats the shit out of mine... you'll be good to go. :rolleyes:

NZ.org | BBPCG
Discord: The Astronomer#1314
Steam


#8 Daz

Daz

    title available

  • Hosted
  • 2,654 posts
  •  Revora Co-Founder

Posted 12 June 2007 - 08:23 AM

Christ this thing's fast, everything I've got runs in max settings (C&C3, BF2142, BF2).

Unfortunately having my PC near our network hub/modem knocks the internet connection off the modem (but not the wireless network connection weirdly) without having any kind of connection to the network whatsoever (I use a USB wireless adapter, it still kills the net when I unplug that). And when I say near I mean anywhere less than half the house away :p

Edit:
The power supply unit was emitting EMI and knocking out our internet connection to the router in the room below.
It's now been replaced, so it seems like it's time for me to get my arse kicked in C&C3/BF2142 online ;)

Edited by Daz, 12 June 2007 - 06:54 PM.


#9 GodSun666

GodSun666

    Marching Trough The Eternal Fields Of Chaos!

  • Banned
  • 1,439 posts
  • Location:The Netherland @ Nod HQ!
  • Projects:Fast Fun And Crazy for Red Alert 3

Posted 16 June 2007 - 01:33 PM

Btw, ATI sucks.. creating a game and optimisng ati cards for it.. is harder then Nvidia :grin:.. so please get Nvidia anyone :grin:.. anyways.. thats a great computer.. i think mine is better in some aspects... but mines doesnt have 2gig ram...
для матери Россия! Советский Союз победит! Америка может облизывать мои яйца
Posted Image
Posted Image

#10 OmegaBolt

OmegaBolt

    Lost In The New Real

  • Hosted
  • 6,272 posts
  • Location:London, England
  • Projects:Red-Resurrection
  •  O'Bolt

Posted 16 June 2007 - 02:04 PM

And you've only got a P4. :grin:

Posted Image

Posted ImagePosted ImagePosted ImagePosted Image





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users