Jump to content


Photo

"USP" - The Unit Select Problem


  • Please log in to reply
47 replies to this topic

#21 Nertea

Nertea

    ...lo sa raptor!

  • Hosted
  • 3,349 posts
  • Location:Vancouver, Canada
  • Projects:Star Villains and Space heroes, The Dwarf Holds
  •  T3A Chamber Member
  • Division:BFME/Unity

Posted 18 June 2007 - 09:13 AM

I did not know that. Is that something BFME2 specific? No linking has always been my rule of thumb and it works fine for BMFE1

sig.png
I really don't do requests and my Arnor Soldier is not fit for BFME. Don't ask me for either.


#22 Clement

Clement

    title available

  • Network Staff
  • 1,442 posts
  • Location:France
  • Projects:Various
  •  T3A Team Chamber Member
  • Division:Revora
  • Job:Developer

Posted 18 June 2007 - 09:30 AM

I don't know, I link it to the wwskin only, and it works fine, some tests are needed apparently :xcahik_:
Posted Image

#23 cahik_

cahik_

    Sage engine ruler

  • Project Team
  • 1,896 posts
  • Location:Czech Republic
  • Projects:Rhovanion Alliance
  •  T3A Team Chamber Member and Crazy animator

Posted 18 June 2007 - 09:48 AM

the problem is that if you didnt link it to wwskin set to one of those boxes setting, export it and then import the model the bounding box has halved size :xcahik_: but i dont know if this is problem on export or import. so i rather set my bounding boxes two times as big as it should be. maybe linking them to wwskin solves that but i doubt that.

Posted Image

Posted Image
Posted Image


#24 clonecommand

clonecommand

    title available

  • Members
  • 1,243 posts
  • Location:The United States of America

Posted 18 June 2007 - 11:42 AM

Mumakil...They glow when selected the first time, yet don't select. You have to click twice...but that's not a bounding box bug...


?


Test it :xcahik_: They don't select the first time you click them. They glow as if selected, but they don't select.

#25 Nazgûl

Nazgûl

    S.E.E. Team Leader

  • Hosted
  • 10,581 posts
  • Location:Sweden
  • Projects:BFME2 - Nazgûl's Special Extended Edition
  •  Veteran

Posted 18 June 2007 - 02:16 PM

REally??? Hm, ok I will test that... I usually almost always play Mumaks when balancing and I've never thought of that? But I will test...

To the modelers... I REALLY hope this can be fixed on those models, cause it's really a pain in the but when you're trying to attack units with that problem :/

To the players... please test test test for more hard selected/targeted units :xcahik_:

> Elven faction seem to only have it in Lòrien Swordsmen... None of the new units (which are usually the problem) has this problem for me? Meaning Noldor and Lórien Warriors... Weird, but good =)

// C}{riZpc_punch.gif
"Do not come between the Nazgûl and his mod!"
SEE_Banner_2008.jpg
SEE-Team_Leader.jpg
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> I S.E.E. YOU! <<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


#26 Garrison Nomad

Garrison Nomad

    Bringin' in Da Boyz

  • Project Team
  • 608 posts
  • Location:Tennessee
  • Projects:Beta testing for SEE
  •  I'm in your closet...eating your clothes.

Posted 18 June 2007 - 07:11 PM

the model for those units was already in the game, from those imladrim or whatever they were called. that's probably why. When i attempted my mod, that model was already in. I tried to use that skin for the lorien warriors, but they kept coming out with bows. AHH.

Edited by Garrison Nomad, 18 June 2007 - 07:13 PM.

If I were you and you were me I'd have a different face.
Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image
"The only real things are imaginary..."

#27 Nazgûl

Nazgûl

    S.E.E. Team Leader

  • Hosted
  • 10,581 posts
  • Location:Sweden
  • Projects:BFME2 - Nazgûl's Special Extended Edition
  •  Veteran

Posted 22 June 2007 - 06:28 PM

Well, the "Lórien Swordsmen" (lvl 1) are also EA models, and they do have this dreadful problem? :/

// C}{riZpc_punch.gif
"Do not come between the Nazgûl and his mod!"
SEE_Banner_2008.jpg
SEE-Team_Leader.jpg
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> I S.E.E. YOU! <<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


#28 Lauri

Lauri

    Let us remember foREVer

  • Hosted
  • 10,419 posts
  • Location:Norway
  • Projects:'The 4th Age' and 'Shadow and Flame'
  •  The very worst T3A Team Chamber Member

Posted 22 June 2007 - 06:31 PM

it's a new bounding box, so count on it :lol:

Shadow and Flame BETA 0.6 RELEASED - Link


#29 King Earnur

King Earnur
  • Project Team
  • 216 posts
  • Location:Chino, California

Posted 24 June 2007 - 04:34 AM

Most of the units that weren't easily selectable were from the evil factions, orc[not uruk-hai] pikemen, black uruks, uruk-raiders[I'm pretty sure]

#30 Nazgûl

Nazgûl

    S.E.E. Team Leader

  • Hosted
  • 10,581 posts
  • Location:Sweden
  • Projects:BFME2 - Nazgûl's Special Extended Edition
  •  Veteran

Posted 24 June 2007 - 06:47 AM

Maybe they're just being evil and trying to annoy us? :grin: No but seriously, have anyone found any more units with this problem? I haven't... :)

// C}{riZpc_punch.gif
"Do not come between the Nazgûl and his mod!"
SEE_Banner_2008.jpg
SEE-Team_Leader.jpg
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> I S.E.E. YOU! <<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


#31 Garrison Nomad

Garrison Nomad

    Bringin' in Da Boyz

  • Project Team
  • 608 posts
  • Location:Tennessee
  • Projects:Beta testing for SEE
  •  I'm in your closet...eating your clothes.

Posted 24 June 2007 - 06:34 PM

None that I know of. Maybe Loriens have the problem because of the shield thing...but I think once they get their shield they're normal.

One question...Are those pikemen from BoG? They look kinda familiar...maybe cause the ones in BoG use the Uruk pike animation, too. IDK, just wondering.
If I were you and you were me I'd have a different face.
Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image
"The only real things are imaginary..."

#32 Nazgûl

Nazgûl

    S.E.E. Team Leader

  • Hosted
  • 10,581 posts
  • Location:Sweden
  • Projects:BFME2 - Nazgûl's Special Extended Edition
  •  Veteran

Posted 24 June 2007 - 07:29 PM

- That is a good theory... I bet that is the reason too :/

- Not that I know of... They are Cahik models =)

// C}{riZpc_punch.gif
"Do not come between the Nazgûl and his mod!"
SEE_Banner_2008.jpg
SEE-Team_Leader.jpg
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> I S.E.E. YOU! <<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


#33 Nazgûl

Nazgûl

    S.E.E. Team Leader

  • Hosted
  • 10,581 posts
  • Location:Sweden
  • Projects:BFME2 - Nazgûl's Special Extended Edition
  •  Veteran

Posted 03 July 2007 - 02:42 PM

Allright... update! :xcahik_:

TDP fixed the first horde last night! :grin:
Orc Pikemen are now OK! ;)


EDIT: friggin keyboard.... I wrote "not" when I meant "now"... lol

Edited by Nazgûl, 03 July 2007 - 02:51 PM.

// C}{riZpc_punch.gif
"Do not come between the Nazgûl and his mod!"
SEE_Banner_2008.jpg
SEE-Team_Leader.jpg
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> I S.E.E. YOU! <<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


#34 clonecommand

clonecommand

    title available

  • Members
  • 1,243 posts
  • Location:The United States of America

Posted 03 July 2007 - 04:39 PM

Yah!

Read that statment with the not! It's hilarious! :grin: ;)

Does it take that long to fix it, or was it lower prio than other things?

#35 Nazgûl

Nazgûl

    S.E.E. Team Leader

  • Hosted
  • 10,581 posts
  • Location:Sweden
  • Projects:BFME2 - Nazgûl's Special Extended Edition
  •  Veteran

Posted 03 July 2007 - 04:47 PM

:grin: I'd say lower prio... But TDP "promised" to try to fix them ALL in 2 days.... But when he asked for time I said: "7 days".... I just love that phrase, hehe. Anyways, with some luck, they're all fixed for Beta 4.5 =)

Edited by Nazgûl, 03 July 2007 - 06:15 PM.

// C}{riZpc_punch.gif
"Do not come between the Nazgûl and his mod!"
SEE_Banner_2008.jpg
SEE-Team_Leader.jpg
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> I S.E.E. YOU! <<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


#36 Sûlherokhh

Sûlherokhh

    Sagacious Engineer

  • Project Team
  • 3,754 posts
  • Location:Central Germany
  • Projects:S.E.E., Sage A.I., Code Advisor
  •  'Axe'er of the Gordic Knot

Posted 03 July 2007 - 04:53 PM

Yay! :grin:

bannerreal01mittelit3.jpg
Axed Head and A.I. Coder for S.E.E. and ... stuff

".. coding is basically boring. What's fun is finding out how things work, take them apart and then put them together in ways that were not intended nor even conceived."


#37 Nazgûl

Nazgûl

    S.E.E. Team Leader

  • Hosted
  • 10,581 posts
  • Location:Sweden
  • Projects:BFME2 - Nazgûl's Special Extended Edition
  •  Veteran

Posted 04 July 2007 - 03:09 AM

I had 11 hours of hard work today, but after work I couldn't help myself from playtesting some more. And since Mordor is "my" faction, I often play using them testing AI of other factions... And I just gotta say: just having ONE unit fixed so far has made a tremendeous improvement for the game. And when facing Mordor, who uses a lot of pikemen, it's SO great to be able to attack them without having to aim at their feet :p

THANKS TDP! Keep up the good work! ;)


Maybe I should fly back to Minas Morgul now and get some sleep... (5:09 am) :p

// C}{riZpc_punch.gif
"Do not come between the Nazgûl and his mod!"
SEE_Banner_2008.jpg
SEE-Team_Leader.jpg
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> I S.E.E. YOU! <<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


#38 Nazgûl

Nazgûl

    S.E.E. Team Leader

  • Hosted
  • 10,581 posts
  • Location:Sweden
  • Projects:BFME2 - Nazgûl's Special Extended Edition
  •  Veteran

Posted 05 July 2007 - 12:21 AM

Any more luck TDP? :rolleyes: Remember "7 days" and then you'll have long black hair starting to crawl out of your TV set... mooah. What's left? 5? hehe :D

// C}{riZpc_punch.gif
"Do not come between the Nazgûl and his mod!"
SEE_Banner_2008.jpg
SEE-Team_Leader.jpg
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> I S.E.E. YOU! <<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


#39 robnkarla

robnkarla

    title available

  • Hosted
  • 1,849 posts
  • Location:California
  • Projects:RJ-RotWK
  •  crazy coder

Posted 04 September 2007 - 12:20 AM

Well this is an old topic I'm drudging up, but I have some news. I've just finished going through all of the units listed and corrected their selection problems for SEE (as I'm going through and doing bug fixes for RJ-RotWK.)

So this should be good news - hopefully no more unit selection problems. If there are any more in the future I'll be fixing them right up or send me a pm if there are any models that need fixin'.

Robert J.

Edited by robnkarla, 04 September 2007 - 12:24 AM.


#40 clonecommand

clonecommand

    title available

  • Members
  • 1,243 posts
  • Location:The United States of America

Posted 04 September 2007 - 12:57 AM

YES! *woop* :p




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users