Jump to content


Photo

General Talk


  • Please log in to reply
265 replies to this topic

#1 robnkarla

robnkarla

    title available

  • Hosted
  • 1,849 posts
  • Location:California
  • Projects:RJ-RotWK
  •  crazy coder

Posted 30 June 2007 - 02:33 AM

Here is where I'd like to discuss areas that cover multiple factions in general

Robert's todo:
- Finish all the combo hordes for all factions
- Ensure every object that should be is listed in the appropriate filter in experiencelevels.ini
- Add experience gained from buildings
- Rebalance campaign with the new units and hordes
- Rework Threat levels and system
- create initial pass-through for balance of all units/factions
- create new icons for combined hordes for the formation assistant
- create new living world icons for heroes and new buildings for factions
- create symmetry for all forged blades effects? All blue, or blue and red, blue green and red, etc.
- High-quality textures for all units/heroes
- Redo skirmish army %s for new units/factions
- Ensure all of the BFME1 AI's function as designed
- Ensure the armor of the walls in the BFME1 type maps are equivelant or at least balance (walls, upgrades, gates, etc.). Walls and gates should only be attackable by siege.
- Ensure all Walkable walls have a balanced health/armor
- Use the randomtexture/object methodology used for the Rohirrim across more units - this will enable the random textures to continue through the upgraded textures. Hair color should not change as a result of an upgrade :p

Bugs:

#1 Priority:
FIXED - 1.05.01- Find and fix the game freezing bug!!!! I've got some changes in the inn system to see if that helps.
FIXED - 1.05.01 - Fix the game.dat error at the end of Moria
FIXED - 1.05.01 - Gondor Alliance cannot be purchased with Rohan at the inn (Maybe more)
FIXED - 1.05.01 - Remove the REVEAL_TO_ALL from the capture flags in the BFME1 maps
- Check Arrow Volley vs. Walls
- Upper Goblin lair set to playercreeps
- Prevent AI from Attacking and capturing a building at the same time.

Questions:
- Should I have WotR era factions have CaH and Arnor and Angmar not? (There are only 8 options for factions to have CaHs currently)
- In general, are structures too weak?
- Do you want a swap command to switch pikes and swords positions when grouped?
- Should the CaH troops come from the faction that you play or the type of hero. (Should a Captain of Gondor summon Gondor troops when you play them as elves?)

Edited by robnkarla, 15 July 2007 - 12:14 PM.


#2 Allathar

Allathar

    これを翻訳する

  • Project Team
  • 2,752 posts
  • Location:Netherlands
  • Projects:RJ-RotWK
  •  Greedy capitalist and cynical bastard.

Posted 30 June 2007 - 12:31 PM

- After Moria, I get a game.dat error
It has been reported that some victims of rape, during the act, would retreat into a fantasy world from which they could not WAKE UP. In this catatonic state, the victim lived in a world just like their normal one, except they weren't being raped. The only way that they realized they needed to WAKE UP was a note they found in their fantasy world. It would tell them about their condition, and tell them to WAKE UP. Even then, it would often take months until they were ready to discard their fantasy world and PLEASE WAKE UP

#3 fehik

fehik
  • Project Team
  • 207 posts

Posted 30 June 2007 - 02:42 PM

The Gondor Alliance power at the inn cannot be purchased, ( i tried only with Rohan)
Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image

#4 robnkarla

robnkarla

    title available

  • Hosted
  • 1,849 posts
  • Location:California
  • Projects:RJ-RotWK
  •  crazy coder

Posted 30 June 2007 - 03:36 PM

- After Moria, I get a game.dat error

After the mission is done or when loading one of the other maps?

The Gondor Alliance power at the inn cannot be purchased, ( i tried only with Rohan)


I will look into and fix for the next release.
Robert J.

#5 Allathar

Allathar

    これを翻訳する

  • Project Team
  • 2,752 posts
  • Location:Netherlands
  • Projects:RJ-RotWK
  •  Greedy capitalist and cynical bastard.

Posted 30 June 2007 - 03:45 PM

After the mission is done... Gandy kills the balrog, walks happily away and the game crashes.
It has been reported that some victims of rape, during the act, would retreat into a fantasy world from which they could not WAKE UP. In this catatonic state, the victim lived in a world just like their normal one, except they weren't being raped. The only way that they realized they needed to WAKE UP was a note they found in their fantasy world. It would tell them about their condition, and tell them to WAKE UP. Even then, it would often take months until they were ready to discard their fantasy world and PLEASE WAKE UP

#6 robnkarla

robnkarla

    title available

  • Hosted
  • 1,849 posts
  • Location:California
  • Projects:RJ-RotWK
  •  crazy coder

Posted 30 June 2007 - 04:06 PM

After the mission is done... Gandy kills the balrog, walks happily away and the game crashes.

That I can definitely look at and fix, my guess has to do with Theoden and Eowyn no longer in the map as they are not in Gondor and more so the scripts do not apply.... now if I can only fix the Amon Hen wargs crash. That's one has me perplexed.

As a side note, I'll be releasing a "mapper-friendly" version (_xx.big for the program files) in case anyone wishes to have fun with the maps all the new stuff. I would really like to create a mapper-friendly enviornment.

Robert J.

#7 Zyzzyva

Zyzzyva
  • Project Team
  • 158 posts

Posted 01 July 2007 - 12:19 AM

Well, I have one question so far. How do you combine hordes? I couldn't figure out how. Of course, I didnt try too hard ;)

Edit: It seems you can with some, and cant with others. The goblin units i tried later combined fine, but the mordor pikemen just didnt seem to be able to

PS: I have to make this big spert of comments now, to make up for me being gone for the next week ;)

Edited by Zyzzyva, 01 July 2007 - 01:02 AM.

Posted Image

Posted Image

Despair is only for those who see the end beyond all doubt. We do not. It is wisdom to recognize necessity, when all other courses have been weighed, though as folly it may appear to those who cling to false hope. Well, let folly be our cloak, a veil before the eyes of the Enemy! For he is very wise, and weighs all things to a nicety in the scales of his malice. But the only measure that he knows is desire, desire for power; and so he judges all hearts. Into his heart the thought will not enter that any will refuse it, that having the Ring we may seek to destroy it. If we seek this, we shall put him out of reckoning.
-Gandalf

#8 robnkarla

robnkarla

    title available

  • Hosted
  • 1,849 posts
  • Location:California
  • Projects:RJ-RotWK
  •  crazy coder

Posted 01 July 2007 - 02:47 AM

Well, I have one question so far. How do you combine hordes? I couldn't figure out how. Of course, I didnt try too hard ;)

Edit: It seems you can with some, and cant with others. The goblin units i tried later combined fine, but the mordor pikemen just didnt seem to be able to

PS: I have to make this big spert of comments now, to make up for me being gone for the next week ;)


No problem. More comments the better :p The factions where combo hordes are not complete as stated in the release notes:
Mordor
Angmar
Arnor
Evil Men

The goal for Mordor will be a little more complicated. The orcs will be 10 unit hordes and can combine 3x for 30 unit hordes. Also, there will be an upgrade available to buy battalions with a black uruk as the banner carrier instead of the normal one, making them even more powerful.

Angmar, I'm still debating how to handle those thrall master. I've got a number of options that I'll discuss later.

Evil Men - They wll be the most complex. Some units will be 5 unit hordes that can combine 4x! for 20 units. There will be a number of options and Evil Men I want to be the most complex. Being powerful but have complex strategy. That is my idea at least. Completely 100% flexible.

Arnor - I'm playing around with them. They will be last as I will be revamping then, add new different units and implementing Elves as a sub-faction expansion instead of completely integrated. Similar to a permement inn alliance.

#9 lasman

lasman
  • Members
  • 60 posts

Posted 01 July 2007 - 05:49 PM

create a heros need to be usable by the new factions

#10 robnkarla

robnkarla

    title available

  • Hosted
  • 1,849 posts
  • Location:California
  • Projects:RJ-RotWK
  •  crazy coder

Posted 01 July 2007 - 08:08 PM

create a heros need to be usable by the new factions


I have some ideas to do this, but it just might not be possible....It is buried deep in the hard-coding of the game which factions can have CaHs.

But one option I might do,it would be alot of work, would be to have all of the WotR era factions be able to use CaHs and only Angmar and Arnor not be able to use. What do people think of that?

Robert

Edited by robnkarla, 01 July 2007 - 08:09 PM.


#11 Dalf32

Dalf32

    The Ever-Willing

  • Project Team
  • 1,923 posts
  • Location:right behind you!
  • Projects:Beta Testing RJ-RotWK

Posted 02 July 2007 - 12:59 AM

on the bfme1/2 revisited maps, wen towers r build attached 2 the castle, the dust/smoke from them building never goes away. elves dont hav defensive features in this style. and the dale soldiers (im assuming ther frum dale) 4 the dwarves r called gondor soldiers.
wen the menu comes up, the solo play, multiplayer, and options buttons r always visible, but u must move the mouse in order 2 c the other 2 buttons (my heros and quit).
my game also froze wen i tried to enter the CaH menu.

as 4 the name of the easterling captain, i was thinkin Ulfang.
"Easterling, one of the chieftains of the Men who entered Beleriand after Dagor Bragollach. Whith his sons Uldor, Ulfast, and Ulwarth, Ulfang took service with Caranthir, although he may already have secretly served Morgoth."
Thats from Tolkien's World From A to Z: The Complete Guide to Middle-Earth by Robert Foster

Edited by Dalf32, 02 July 2007 - 01:13 AM.

"A wizard is never late, nor is he early; he arrives precisely when he means to."

Posted Image

Posted Image

Posted Image

Posted Image


#12 fehik

fehik
  • Project Team
  • 207 posts

Posted 02 July 2007 - 06:46 AM

The Gondor gate on the bfme1 revisited maps can be brought down with 2 hits, whilre the rohan gate with 6 or 7 hits, same for the dwarves(2 hits). yes, buildings are really weak, oo and the mordor ai is not working on Anorien either.
Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image

#13 Allathar

Allathar

    これを翻訳する

  • Project Team
  • 2,752 posts
  • Location:Netherlands
  • Projects:RJ-RotWK
  •  Greedy capitalist and cynical bastard.

Posted 02 July 2007 - 12:54 PM

- Aye, buildings needs to be stronger to make siege usefull. Like the SEE mod.
It has been reported that some victims of rape, during the act, would retreat into a fantasy world from which they could not WAKE UP. In this catatonic state, the victim lived in a world just like their normal one, except they weren't being raped. The only way that they realized they needed to WAKE UP was a note they found in their fantasy world. It would tell them about their condition, and tell them to WAKE UP. Even then, it would often take months until they were ready to discard their fantasy world and PLEASE WAKE UP

#14 fehik

fehik
  • Project Team
  • 207 posts

Posted 02 July 2007 - 03:07 PM

I noticed this thing, only on Udun map, well in the middle of my match the game freezed, i couldn't get out of the game(i could move the mouse), this happened first time with the elves, in the first 10 minutes, and with mordor, in the late game(30min+)
Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image

#15 robnkarla

robnkarla

    title available

  • Hosted
  • 1,849 posts
  • Location:California
  • Projects:RJ-RotWK
  •  crazy coder

Posted 02 July 2007 - 04:21 PM

I noticed this thing, only on Udun map, well in the middle of my match the game freezed, i couldn't get out of the game(i could move the mouse), this happened first time with the elves, in the first 10 minutes, and with mordor, in the late game(30min+)


There is no inn on that map, correct? Which AI were you playing?

As for the structures, I will most likely increase the strength of the Factory/Tech buildings and the walls/fortresses but not the RBs. It will also be a very small change, so they will not be as strong as they are in SEE. For my tastes, those structures are too strong for me.

Robert J.

Edited by robnkarla, 02 July 2007 - 04:24 PM.


#16 Xingdao Fan

Xingdao Fan

    the Mysterious

  • Project Team
  • 573 posts
  • Projects:RJ-RotWK (BETA testing)

Posted 02 July 2007 - 05:04 PM

Seems like the first BETA release is a bit buggy. Are you updating the mod everytime you fix a bug, or are you releasing another patch for more bug fixes?

I needed to know this in order to decide whenever I should download now or a patch that could be out today.

EDIT: Well, I've made the first tests.

When I press My Heroes and click Continue on the New Features, the game freezes. Game also froze while I was playing Rohan vs Isengard on Dunland.

  • Merry is too weak, he costs 50 to summon but 100 to revive. His melee attacks are pathetic, and his ranged attack has too much cooldown.
  • Rohirrim Archers do not show the requirements.
  • Rohan Royal Guards can be trained at a Lvl 1 Stable.
  • Gamling and Hama have the same icon.
  • Skipping to More Heroes will create a CreateAHero icon with a wizard, although I haven't chosen to use a Custom Hero. I haven't tryed to train him.
  • All custom heroes are disabled for Rohan except Random and - (No Hero)
  • Warg Packs shouldn't be able to trample, but rather be considered fast swordsmen
  • Elven Warriors do not have their original voices from BFME 1 (if not a bug, consider it a suggestion)
  • If you lift the mouse over Yeomen Archers, the text still shows up as "Men of Dale Archers" or something similar.
  • Spelling bugs in Summon Elven Allies. The name of the elf is Haldir and not Haldier. There archers were also spelled achers in this power I think.
  • Hobbits are too many, perhaps, and too powerful? Their cost should be increased if their numbers are not tonned down.
  • Not sure if it's a bug, but shouldn't Yeoman Archers be able to combo with Peasants?
EDIT2: I have played the campaign. I also got a game.dat error when I finished Moria. By the way, the sounds do not play. Like "And they call it a mine, a mine!", I hear nothing.


Edited by Xingdao Fan, 02 July 2007 - 05:04 PM.

Posted Image

#17 robnkarla

robnkarla

    title available

  • Hosted
  • 1,849 posts
  • Location:California
  • Projects:RJ-RotWK
  •  crazy coder

Posted 02 July 2007 - 06:02 PM

When I press My Heroes and click Continue on the New Features, the game freezes. Game also froze while I was playing Rohan vs Isengard on Dunland.

I have not seen the My Heroes bug so I'll check that out ASAP. As for the Rohan vs. Isengard. That is one of my #1 priority bug fixes. It is something relatively new - in the past 1-2 weeks so I have to figure out what is causing it.

[*]Merry is too weak, he costs 50 to summon but 100 to revive. His melee attacks are pathetic, and his ranged attack has too much cooldown.

The hobbits are all going to get a re-work and maybe even a new look....I just kinda placed them in without adjusting their values too much.

[*]Rohirrim Archers do not show the requirements.

Fixed for 1.05.01

[*]Rohan Royal Guards can be trained at a Lvl 1 Stable.

Fixed for 1.05.01

[*]Gamling and Hama have the same icon.

Fixed for 1.05.01 Hama, and Snaga, now have the WIP icon until their artwork is done.

[*]Skipping to More Heroes will create a CreateAHero icon with a wizard, although I haven't chosen to use a Custom Hero. I haven't tryed to train him.

The more heroes is something that I was playing with for the campaign and will be removed from skirmish. (It just allows you to build about 30 heroes if available compared the orignal amount)

[*]All custom heroes are disabled for Rohan except Random and - (No Hero)

This is one of the limitations when doing more factions. BFME2 can only use 6 factions that can do CaH and RotWK can do 8. I'm thining about doing a major re-write *shiver* in the future so all of the WotR era factions can use CaH and Arnor and Angmar are the ones that cannot, but that is still to be decided. I'm always looking for ways to overcome this, but it might not be possible...

[*]Warg Packs shouldn't be able to trample, but rather be considered fast swordsmen


I'm still completely open to these types of changes. Here was the original concept:

Their overall design currently is very light cavalry instead of fast swordsmen. The damage they do from trampling is minimal at best, but they do trample. The idea is that after the first one or two, that is as far as they go. They are probably the fastest horde in the game when you throw on the palantir power. They are meant to hunt down straglers. I'm gong to lower their health and armor, so they will be taken down more easily.

[*]Elven Warriors do not have their original voices from BFME 1 (if not a bug, consider it a suggestion)

Not a bug, just on my to-dos :p EA had to go and use the same voice names in the voice.ini file but different audio files, but only for some entries. I just have not spent the time to pick through them all.

[*]If you lift the mouse over Yeomen Archers, the text still shows up as "Men of Dale Archers" or something similar.


Fixed for 1.05.01

[*]Spelling bugs in Summon Elven Allies. The name of the elf is Haldir and not Haldier. There archers were also spelled achers in this power I think.

Lol - really should stop doing my strings at 1:00AM!

[*]Hobbits are too many, perhaps, and too powerful? Their cost should be increased if their numbers are not tonned down.

Is this the summon or the inn? The horde size for this will be toned down. And the power will have 1 less hobbit for each faction that has them.

[*]Not sure if it's a bug, but shouldn't Yeoman Archers be able to combo with Peasants?

I've been asked this a few times. I mean how can I have a BFME1 type mod without Peoman Archers! My original idea was that the archers can now group with the soldiers and pikeman. To differentiate between soldiers and peasants I made the peasants more spammable. They cost less, have larger battalions and so forth. They still have the draft from the fortress to enhance them as well as upgrades.

So the question I have? Does everyone want the peomans back in even though there is the soldier-archer combo or leave the peasants the way they are?

[/list]EDIT2: I have played the campaign. I also got a game.dat error when I finished Moria. By the way, the sounds do not play. Like "And they call it a mine, a mine!", I hear nothing.


I have done my first attempt at fixing Moria. I'm just going to test it as soon as I have a chance.

As for the audio, I've attached the instructions on how to obtain the audio and video from BFME1. I did not include it in the RJ_RotWK.big, but if you can't find the file you can make the audio file as well.

I saw the notes and did not have a chance to move/reply :lol: Thank you so much for the feedback. The more I get the better the mod will be! I can't find everything myself, no matter how much I wish I could.
Robert J.

Attached Files



#18 Xingdao Fan

Xingdao Fan

    the Mysterious

  • Project Team
  • 573 posts
  • Projects:RJ-RotWK (BETA testing)

Posted 02 July 2007 - 08:39 PM

1.05.01 isn't out yet, right? By the way, will you include the voices in further releases?
Posted Image

#19 robnkarla

robnkarla

    title available

  • Hosted
  • 1,849 posts
  • Location:California
  • Projects:RJ-RotWK
  •  crazy coder

Posted 02 July 2007 - 08:58 PM

1.05.01 isn't out yet, right? By the way, will you include the voices in further releases?


That is right. 1.05.01 will be out this week-end. I will try to get the voices done for it, but I might not for the elven warriors. With each major update I like to provide something to the community, so while I'm also doing all the modding/fixes I'm writing another full-blown article to follow up my create-a-hero turned regulard hero tutorial that should be out either today or tomorrow.

As for other voices, I'm always looking for more files to use for the unique voices!

Robert J.

Edited by robnkarla, 02 July 2007 - 09:00 PM.


#20 el kevo

el kevo

    title available

  • Members
  • 634 posts
  • Location:Ontario, Canada
  • Projects:Staff at Flameguard's "Game Sector Network"

Posted 02 July 2007 - 09:45 PM

well in general:

.When using Isengard as AI they buy every upgrade for their fortress but no buildings, heroes, units, or builders i think

.Gondor was being a stupid head and wouldn't build farms causing me to send my army to protect them and giving them my money

.Angmar Won't put up there gates when the enemy comes charging towards them

.Isengard should have the use of walls to protect themselves with

.Resource buildings need to have there range decreased or plots should be put on maps because i found myself with little money due to that cramped space and angmar was being pesky and wouldn't let me build outside

.Heroes shouldn't cost CP seeing as a faction i played as Cough*Elves*cough had a considerable amount of heroes that i wanted to play as but couldn't due to that horrible CP system

.Switching commandsets is pointless because you don't get anything out of it

Rohan:

When i started and it set up my fortress something was missing:
Posted Image

.When i placed Elves and Rohan archers on top of walls they kept running back down to the gate

.The Royal Guards are a bunch of erkenbrands

.HERO HORSES NEED RESKINS, sorry but every hero has a white horse for some reason and that drives me insane

.the morning mist doesn't affect the walls like the description says. also could you change the color because that green is really ugly

Elves:

.Walls for some reason fall to easily

.When you set up a new fortress from an enemies destroyed one you don't get something:
Posted Image

.to many heroes not enough CP to have fun with each and every one of them

.Glorfindel is buffed but still to weak

.Cirdan isn't a wizard so i don't think he needs that staff


and thats about all
Posted Image




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users