Jump to content


Photo

Website question : playing flash objects


  • Please log in to reply
20 replies to this topic

#1 Lotrfan2

Lotrfan2

    title available

  • Banned
  • 328 posts

Posted 09 July 2007 - 08:16 PM

I am trying to get a movie to play but it wont can you help?

body>
<p>
<object classid="clsid:D27CDB6E-AE6D-11CF-96B8-444553540000" id="obj1" codebase="http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab#version=6,0,40,0" border="0" width="192" height="192">
	<param name="movie" value="Helms Deep.flv">
	<param name="quality" value="High">
	<param name="swliveconnect" value="true">
	<param name="wmode" value="transparent">
	<embed src="Helms%20Deep.flv" pluginspage="http://www.macromedia.com/go/getflashplayer" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" name="obj1" quality="High" swliveconnect="true" wmode="transparent" width="192" height="192"></object>
</p>

Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image

#2 ched

ched

    .

  • Undead
  • 4,431 posts
  • Location:Angers (France)
  • Projects:Rhovanion Alliance
  •  T3A Team Chamber Member
  • Division:BFME
  • Job:Previous Division Leader

Posted 09 July 2007 - 08:20 PM

as far as I know, the Flash plugin isn't designed to play FLV files out of the box. You'll have to get your hands on a flash FLV player (plenty online)
Software is like sex; it's better when it's free ~Linus Torvald

#3 Lotrfan2

Lotrfan2

    title available

  • Banned
  • 328 posts

Posted 09 July 2007 - 08:28 PM

as far as I know, the Flash plugin isn't designed to play FLV files out of the box. You'll have to get your hands on a flash FLV player (plenty online)



i also have a wmv file of it, but it wont work too
Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image

#4 ched

ched

    .

  • Undead
  • 4,431 posts
  • Location:Angers (France)
  • Projects:Rhovanion Alliance
  •  T3A Team Chamber Member
  • Division:BFME
  • Job:Previous Division Leader

Posted 09 July 2007 - 08:58 PM

Again, that's because you do not have a WMV player of some sort set up on your website.

Install an FLV player on the website (this one seems pretty decent)
Software is like sex; it's better when it's free ~Linus Torvald

#5 Joe

Joe

    title available

  • Project Team
  • 886 posts
  • Location:England
  • Projects:Real Life

Posted 09 July 2007 - 09:01 PM

WMV works with WMP :p your browser needs a plugin of some kind to work it, FLV player would be best, but then you get the browsers which don't support flash, which people surprisingly enough use.....
Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image

#6 Lotrfan2

Lotrfan2

    title available

  • Banned
  • 328 posts

Posted 09 July 2007 - 09:07 PM

How do i add that player to my website ched?

EDIT: i use front page alot.

Edited by Lotrfan2, 09 July 2007 - 09:14 PM.

Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image

#7 ched

ched

    .

  • Undead
  • 4,431 posts
  • Location:Angers (France)
  • Projects:Rhovanion Alliance
  •  T3A Team Chamber Member
  • Division:BFME
  • Job:Previous Division Leader

Posted 09 July 2007 - 09:14 PM

My bet would be reading the instructions that are most likely coming with it, but it just may be me.

@Joe: yes I've realised that.
On Vista, Firefox does not play WMP files unless you have a particular plugin installed, but it does work by default on IE.
Software is like sex; it's better when it's free ~Linus Torvald

#8 Lotrfan2

Lotrfan2

    title available

  • Banned
  • 328 posts

Posted 09 July 2007 - 09:15 PM

Title:
------
VideoSpark.com Flash XML Powered Progressive FLV Video & MP3 Music Player v1.0
------------------------------------------------------------------
single external FLV or MP3 files are displayed within the player using the
Flash MX 2004 media controller.
This loads a an external file for progressive mp3 or flv file streaming to be
played within the Flash 2004 MX Media Controller.

Files:
------
The PSPlayer1.1.swf version is for the embeded player that displays and controls
the video or music file being played. The iFrame is an example of the iFrame
code you can use to easly add the player to your website. Index.html is a
Flash Version checker, movie.xml is loaded by the PSPlayer1.1.swf in XML format
to define the FLV or MP3 file to be played.

Support:
--------
Post any questions to http://www.videospark.com/forum


Thats all it says, good thing i dont use vista

Edited by Lotrfan2, 09 July 2007 - 09:16 PM.

Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image

#9 ched

ched

    .

  • Undead
  • 4,431 posts
  • Location:Angers (France)
  • Projects:Rhovanion Alliance
  •  T3A Team Chamber Member
  • Division:BFME
  • Job:Previous Division Leader

Posted 09 July 2007 - 09:29 PM

all 3 HTML files feature an example
Software is like sex; it's better when it's free ~Linus Torvald

#10 Lotrfan2

Lotrfan2

    title available

  • Banned
  • 328 posts

Posted 09 July 2007 - 09:30 PM

yes, but i normaly use front page.
Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image

#11 Jeeves

Jeeves

    I write the interwebz

  • Members
  • 4,156 posts
  •  Friendly neighborhood standards Nazi

Posted 10 July 2007 - 03:06 AM

I haven't worked with objects, but I know that Flash should generate code for you, and that the <object> tag is completely ignored by browsers that don't support it, so any markup within it should be displayed. This is also why it has an <embed> inside, dispite it being depreciated in favor of <object>; browsers supporting one simply won't read the other. So, to see if your browser is loading the <object>, I'd put a paragraph inside. If you can see what it says, the problems with the object. And I'm guessing that it probably is, because as mentioned, .flv files aren't played natively, you need a player. If you can save the file as a ".swf" or ".spl", then it will be covered by the flash browser plugins and just work.
Beyond the depreciated border attribute, I can't see anything wrong with the code, so its just weather the file is loaded and if it plays, so beyond the extension probably needing a script, the other thing I'd be checking is the url to the file.
Try making it absolute (instead of "file.ext", "http://sub.domain/fo...older/file.ext"), and rename the file to eliminate the space, as this might cause problems.

I've put the bits you should be checking in bold so you can find them more easily.

<object classid="clsid:D27CDB6E-AE6D-11CF-96B8-444553540000" id="obj1" codebase="http://download.macr...rsion=6,0,40,0" width="192" height="192">
<param name="movie" value="Helms Deep.flv">
<param name="quality" value="High">
<param name="swliveconnect" value="true">
<param name="wmode" value="transparent">
<p>If you are reading this, your browser doesn't support the &lt;object&gt; tag. If you can see your thingo below, then the embed is still loading, which will make up for people using old browsers.</p>
<embed src="Helms%20Deep.flv" pluginspage="http://www.macromedi...getflashplayer" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" name="obj1" quality="High" swliveconnect="true" wmode="transparent" width="192" height="192"></object>

World Domination Status: 2.7%


#12 Lotrfan2

Lotrfan2

    title available

  • Banned
  • 328 posts

Posted 10 July 2007 - 12:27 PM

Trying that now



Thanks Jeeves & Ched it works great!.

I converted it to.swf



But now my navbar is messed up.

Edited by Lotrfan2, 10 July 2007 - 01:05 PM.

Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image

#13 Jeeves

Jeeves

    I write the interwebz

  • Members
  • 4,156 posts
  •  Friendly neighborhood standards Nazi

Posted 10 July 2007 - 01:49 PM

I see what you mean...
The overlap issue is unavoidable as flashes always insist on displaying on top.

World Domination Status: 2.7%


#14 Lotrfan2

Lotrfan2

    title available

  • Banned
  • 328 posts

Posted 10 July 2007 - 02:38 PM

No the navagaion bar, i cant go back to home if i click a different page
Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image

#15 Jeeves

Jeeves

    I write the interwebz

  • Members
  • 4,156 posts
  •  Friendly neighborhood standards Nazi

Posted 11 July 2007 - 02:44 AM

The navbar in your footer (Home | Units | Special Units | Heroes | Structures | Staff | Downloads | Links | Search | Contact Information) seems to appear and work on every page...
W3 linkchecker couldn't find any dead links either (result)
You may have to be more specific about your problem.

World Domination Status: 2.7%


#16 Lotrfan2

Lotrfan2

    title available

  • Banned
  • 328 posts

Posted 11 July 2007 - 03:08 PM

Its the side nav bar, that doesnt work

Edited by Lotrfan2, 11 July 2007 - 03:09 PM.

Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image

#17 Jeeves

Jeeves

    I write the interwebz

  • Members
  • 4,156 posts
  •  Friendly neighborhood standards Nazi

Posted 12 July 2007 - 03:44 AM

Thats not it failing to work, the source simply isn't on the other pages.
You'd have to open them all and copy it across.

World Domination Status: 2.7%


#18 Lotrfan2

Lotrfan2

    title available

  • Banned
  • 328 posts

Posted 12 July 2007 - 07:35 PM

what source?
Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image

#19 Phil

Phil

    Force Majeure

  • Network Leaders
  • 7,976 posts
  • Location:Switzerland
  • Projects:Revora, C&C:Online
  •  Thought Police
  • Division:Revora
  • Job:Network Leader
  • Donated
  • Association

Posted 12 July 2007 - 08:12 PM

He meant that the sourcecode is not in those other files. In fact it's there, but enourmously messed up in some hardly legible Frontpage tagsoup.
Honestly, you should start learning how to create websites for real, without programmes like Frontpage. That way it would be easier for us to help too...

revorapresident.jpg
My Political Compass

Sieben Elefanten hatte Herr Dschin
Und da war dann noch der achte.
Sieben waren wild und der achte war zahm
Und der achte war's, der sie bewachte.


#20 Jeeves

Jeeves

    I write the interwebz

  • Members
  • 4,156 posts
  •  Friendly neighborhood standards Nazi

Posted 13 July 2007 - 02:24 AM

Also, tabular layouts are a real bitch to read...

Send me the site, and if you're really nice, I may help you port it to a CSS layout - which means no mess, which means you'll get to see coding really isn't as hard as M$ would have you believe.

Basically, its all too much of a pickle for me to try and find whats missing where, and it would probably be easier to rewrite the damn thing :grin: I just don't want to bother, then turn around and find out you have learnt nothing from it, so I want you to promise you'll read some tutorials, and the comments I leave in the source.

Also; do you use MSN?

World Domination Status: 2.7%





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users