Jump to content


Photo

Leadership in Spellbook


  • Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 Lauri

Lauri

    Old man Lauri

  • Hosted
  • 10,436 posts
  • Location:Norway
  • Projects:The 4th Age
  •  The very worst T3A Team Chamber Member

Posted 15 August 2007 - 05:26 PM

Okay, so I've been having a few problems with this... I've tried methods, but none except this one has worked;

1) Buy the Spell
2) Spell activates and gives player an Upgrade
3) All units in the faction have AttributesModifierUpdate (or something) granted by that upgrade, and it leads to my stats-change (ie, what the leadership does)
4) With testing speed on 900% it's easy to spot who get's it and not... They all get it, great, end of story...
5) What?
6) Hordes doesn't work you say?
7) If the horde turns (or any other thing that moves a lone unit in the horde to another position), I see right away that the speed is awesome
8) But it only lasts when they are single units
9) Comming out of a structure after beeing buildt, run... "Soldiers of Gondor at your disposal General", and boom their using a normal speed...
10) Also, the hordes seem to float when they should run... They are idle'y floating towards the spot I've directed them...

So, my point is... Does anyone have an idea on how it can be done, and if it is, unlikely, restricted to single units? Cause I find it very odd when the units moves fast, but when the horde moves as one, it's the normal speed.... Do I need to add something to the horde, like a StatusBitsUpgrade?

dang, that gave me an idea... Anyways, I'll post this anyways :) Might help others ;) And I'll soon enough find out if it's possible... ;)

T4A_Logo_-_article.png

The 4th Age version 0.8 has been released: Link


#2 Ultama

Ultama
  • New Members
  • 33 posts

Posted 15 August 2007 - 05:45 PM

>_> use Draft or Scavenger As an example >_> ;) i dont have a clue tbh sorry :(

#3 Lauri

Lauri

    Old man Lauri

  • Hosted
  • 10,436 posts
  • Location:Norway
  • Projects:The 4th Age
  •  The very worst T3A Team Chamber Member

Posted 15 August 2007 - 05:55 PM

>_> they are different than a leadership >_> you dont have a clue tbh sorry ;)

After a test on the StatusBitsUpgrade, I found out two things;
1) Remember to rename module-tags when you copy-paste, hehe.. :)
2) It doesn't do anything different..

T4A_Logo_-_article.png

The 4th Age version 0.8 has been released: Link


#4 halbarad

halbarad

    lone wanderer

  • Project Team
  • 466 posts
  • Projects:RA, tinkering...
  •  random guy

Posted 15 August 2007 - 06:38 PM

put the attribute modifier in the horde as well? sounds like the speed the horde is going at is limiting the speed the units in it can go at.
Now for Wrath, Now for Ruin, and for a Red Dawn...

#5 Sûlherokhh

Sûlherokhh

    Sagacious Engineer

  • Project Team
  • 3,754 posts
  • Location:Central Germany
  • Projects:S.E.E., Sage A.I., Code Advisor
  •  'Axe'er of the Gordic Knot

Posted 15 August 2007 - 06:50 PM

[codebox] Behavior = AttributeModifierAuraUpdate ModuleTag_HeroRadiateFear
StartsActive = Yes ;No
BonusName = 'Your AttributeModifier'
;TriggeredBy = Upgrade_HeroRadiateFear
RefreshDelay = 2000
Range = 999999999999
TargetEnemy = No ;Yes or whatever you need
ObjectFilter = ANY +ORC ;or whatever KINDOF or Object-Name you need
End[/codebox]

Put this in the spellbook.

If you use object names, use the name of the Horde AND of the HordeMember. Or simply use +CAVALRY, +INFANTRY etc.
If you don't want it for heroes, add -HERO.

You can make it triggered by setting 'StartsActive = No' and uncommenting the 'trigger' line.
Then use the way 'Anduril' works as a guideline, making the upgrade that Anduril provides into the trigger. Make sure that the spellbook-object can be influenced by it's own upgrade.

bannerreal01mittelit3.jpg
Axed Head and A.I. Coder for S.E.E. and ... stuff

".. coding is basically boring. What's fun is finding out how things work, take them apart and then put them together in ways that were not intended nor even conceived."


#6 halbarad

halbarad

    lone wanderer

  • Project Team
  • 466 posts
  • Projects:RA, tinkering...
  •  random guy

Posted 15 August 2007 - 06:59 PM

does that actually work? i just remembered i tried to do this a while ago and failed, i stole the code from the call the horde power thingy but it didnt seem to do anything:


Behavior = SpecialPowerModule		bounty_ModuleTag
		SpecialPowerTemplate		= SpellBookBounty
		AttributeModifier			= BountyLeadership
		AttributeModifierRange		= 999999
		AttributeModifierAffects	= ANY +INFANTRY +CAVALRY +STRUCTURE +HERO -BASE_FOUNDATION
		UpdateModuleStartsAttack	= No
		AvailableAtStart			= No
		TargetEnemy		= No
	End

i may also have to borrow your method :rolleyes:
Now for Wrath, Now for Ruin, and for a Red Dawn...

#7 Lauri

Lauri

    Old man Lauri

  • Hosted
  • 10,436 posts
  • Location:Norway
  • Projects:The 4th Age
  •  The very worst T3A Team Chamber Member

Posted 15 August 2007 - 08:11 PM

Thanks Sul, I'll be sure to check it out after this test :p (gonna see if it's acctually just the horde that stops the speed, and that they now can kill the balrog :rolleyes:)

T4A_Logo_-_article.png

The 4th Age version 0.8 has been released: Link


#8 GothmogtheOrc

GothmogtheOrc

    Ruler of the Morgul Vale

  • Hosted
  • 2,263 posts
  • Location:USA
  • Projects:Kings of the West Mod
  •  T3A Chamber Member - Retired

Posted 15 August 2007 - 11:25 PM

Sul's way seems best, but couldn't you also try it by creating an invisible "unit" that gives off a map-wide leadership? Invisible, unattackable, and invincable... kinda like what was tried for the map wide palantir vision.

*If that was completely wierd/off topic/stupid sorry... I'm a little out of it right now*

-Gto

Nine%20rings.jpg
Click on my Sig to go to my BFME Modding site where you can download my mods.
KotW%20Morgul%20In-game.jpg
Kings of the West Mod Leader
*Retired. PM me if you need to get a hold of me as I'll get an email notification and should reply within a day or so*


#9 Lauri

Lauri

    Old man Lauri

  • Hosted
  • 10,436 posts
  • Location:Norway
  • Projects:The 4th Age
  •  The very worst T3A Team Chamber Member

Posted 16 August 2007 - 12:02 AM

it wasn', but... it would have to be summoned then, and well... yeah :rolleyes: I could try to make it a slaved unit, and set the max on 1, and slave it to... well, that's the problem... everything can be destroyed and rebuildt... *crossed fingers for Sul's way... doubt it'll work :p*

T4A_Logo_-_article.png

The 4th Age version 0.8 has been released: Link


#10 halbarad

halbarad

    lone wanderer

  • Project Team
  • 466 posts
  • Projects:RA, tinkering...
  •  random guy

Posted 16 August 2007 - 12:32 AM

hmm, yeah the problem with a OCL is you need a target i think, the only way you dont need a target is with a weapon or a death (or maybe cloud break), nothings dying and im not sure you could make a weapon fire with spellbooks, im sure suls way will work tho :rolleyes:
Now for Wrath, Now for Ruin, and for a Red Dawn...

#11 Phil

Phil

    Force Majeure

  • Network Leaders
  • 7,976 posts
  • Location:Switzerland
  • Projects:Revora, C&C:Online
  •  Thought Police
  • Division:Revora
  • Job:Network Leader
  • Donated
  • Association

Posted 16 August 2007 - 12:40 AM

Actually halbarad's method would be the "correct" one since spells are powers, not upgrade-triggered auras.
I think what you might have been missing, halbarad, is to set TargetAllSides = Yes and then control the targeting through the keyword PLAYER or ALLIES in AttributeModifierAffects. As far as I remember, there were some comments that explained that in system.ini...

revorapresident.jpg
My Political Compass

Sieben Elefanten hatte Herr Dschin
Und da war dann noch der achte.
Sieben waren wild und der achte war zahm
Und der achte war's, der sie bewachte.


#12 Sûlherokhh

Sûlherokhh

    Sagacious Engineer

  • Project Team
  • 3,754 posts
  • Location:Central Germany
  • Projects:S.E.E., Sage A.I., Code Advisor
  •  'Axe'er of the Gordic Knot

Posted 16 August 2007 - 01:10 AM

Actually the spellbook CAN have modules triggered by PLAYER upgrades.

bannerreal01mittelit3.jpg
Axed Head and A.I. Coder for S.E.E. and ... stuff

".. coding is basically boring. What's fun is finding out how things work, take them apart and then put them together in ways that were not intended nor even conceived."


#13 Lauri

Lauri

    Old man Lauri

  • Hosted
  • 10,436 posts
  • Location:Norway
  • Projects:The 4th Age
  •  The very worst T3A Team Chamber Member

Posted 16 August 2007 - 01:42 AM

Actually halbarad's method would be the "correct" one since spells are powers, not upgrade-triggered auras.
I think what you might have been missing, halbarad, is to set TargetAllSides = Yes and then control the targeting through the keyword PLAYER or ALLIES in AttributeModifierAffects. As far as I remember, there were some comments that explained that in system.ini...

You mean the ones in FreezingRain and Darkness?
TargetAllSides = Yes; Then the alliance setting in the Object Filter will control who
Anyways, I've given up on this... partly I don't want to try anymore, and other partyly that I've thought of a better idea for it (but it won't be passive now... but atleast it'll include a nice thing that wasn't suppose to be in Gondor :rolleyes: ) I'll just use cloud break... and even if I could use cloudbreak to "summon" the leadership object, I'd have to click it :blush: (or, not really:
Command_PurchaceSpellHeroicValor
Bla Bla
Bla at the very ending now
CommandTrigger = Command_SpellBookHeroicValor
End)
:p

T4A_Logo_-_article.png

The 4th Age version 0.8 has been released: Link


#14 Phil

Phil

    Force Majeure

  • Network Leaders
  • 7,976 posts
  • Location:Switzerland
  • Projects:Revora, C&C:Online
  •  Thought Police
  • Division:Revora
  • Job:Network Leader
  • Donated
  • Association

Posted 16 August 2007 - 09:06 AM

Actually the spellbook CAN have modules triggered by PLAYER upgrades.

Sure thing, I'm just saying it wasn't meant to be done that way.

And Lauri, you are so lazy. Where is your modding spirit? :rolleyes:

revorapresident.jpg
My Political Compass

Sieben Elefanten hatte Herr Dschin
Und da war dann noch der achte.
Sieben waren wild und der achte war zahm
Und der achte war's, der sie bewachte.


#15 halbarad

halbarad

    lone wanderer

  • Project Team
  • 466 posts
  • Projects:RA, tinkering...
  •  random guy

Posted 16 August 2007 - 02:45 PM

well it doesnt actually work my way, the only thing thats like it is fuel the fires that uses a science check in the lumber mill supply center behavior. i think the player upgrade idea is the only one that will work tbh.

Edited by halbarad, 16 August 2007 - 02:54 PM.

Now for Wrath, Now for Ruin, and for a Red Dawn...

#16 Phil

Phil

    Force Majeure

  • Network Leaders
  • 7,976 posts
  • Location:Switzerland
  • Projects:Revora, C&C:Online
  •  Thought Police
  • Division:Revora
  • Job:Network Leader
  • Donated
  • Association

Posted 16 August 2007 - 04:00 PM

The whole thing depends on what you want to achieve. If you want to have it auto triggered once and affect all units, even those built after the spell is cast, then you should try Sûl's method which should work. For generic temporary AMs you should use the SpecialPowerModule though. I probably misunderstood what Lauri wanted in the first place, I thought he wanted a map-wide War Chant-kinda thing.

revorapresident.jpg
My Political Compass

Sieben Elefanten hatte Herr Dschin
Und da war dann noch der achte.
Sieben waren wild und der achte war zahm
Und der achte war's, der sie bewachte.


#17 Lauri

Lauri

    Old man Lauri

  • Hosted
  • 10,436 posts
  • Location:Norway
  • Projects:The 4th Age
  •  The very worst T3A Team Chamber Member

Posted 16 August 2007 - 08:58 PM

map-wide War Chant is very doable ^_^ And that's what I'm using now, along with Cloud Break :blink:

T4A_Logo_-_article.png

The 4th Age version 0.8 has been released: Link





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users