Jump to content


Installation of Beta 4.5 - no worky!?


  • Please log in to reply
168 replies to this topic

#21 Guest_Guest_*

Guest_Guest_*
  • Guests

Posted 02 November 2007 - 06:33 PM

Hey it is normal that the SEE looks like simple folder with some folders inside?

#22 Nazgûl

Nazgûl

    S.E.E. Team Leader

  • Hosted
  • 10,581 posts
  • Location:Sweden
  • Projects:BFME2 - Nazgûl's Special Extended Edition
  •  Veteran

Posted 02 November 2007 - 06:34 PM

Yes!

// C}{riZpc_punch.gif
"Do not come between the Nazgûl and his mod!"
SEE_Banner_2008.jpg
SEE-Team_Leader.jpg
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> I S.E.E. YOU! <<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


#23 Sûlherokhh

Sûlherokhh

    Sagacious Engineer

  • Project Team
  • 3,754 posts
  • Location:Central Germany
  • Projects:S.E.E., Sage A.I., Code Advisor
  •  'Axe'er of the Gordic Knot

Posted 02 November 2007 - 06:35 PM

The SEE-folder doesn't belong on the desktop. It belongs in the folder your savegames are stored in. Only the shortcut is supposed to be on the desktop. I have no idea where you will find it in VISTA, but this is where i put the SEE folder:

ApplicationDataFolder.jpg

bannerreal01mittelit3.jpg
Axed Head and A.I. Coder for S.E.E. and ... stuff

".. coding is basically boring. What's fun is finding out how things work, take them apart and then put them together in ways that were not intended nor even conceived."


#24 elbenmensch

elbenmensch
  • Members
  • 223 posts

Posted 02 November 2007 - 06:44 PM

On Vista u can find it here:
C:\Users\yourname\AppData\Roaming\My Battle for Middle-earth™ II Files
Posted Image
Posted Image

#25 Lord of the Rings Junkie

Lord of the Rings Junkie

    Musn't hurt the Precious!

  • Project Team
  • 827 posts
  • Location:Middle-Earth
  • Projects:S.E.E., Gate Mod

Posted 02 November 2007 - 06:49 PM

DO NOT unzip the mod to your desktop!

If you installed the game with default settings in XP, extract the mod to

C:\Documents and Settings\username\Application Data\My Battle for Middle-earth™ II Files

Also assuming you installed the game with default settings in XP, the shortcut target should be

"C:\Program Files\Electronic Arts\The Battle for Middle-earth ™ II\lotrbfme2.exe" -mod SEE

Edited by Lord of the Rings Junkie, 02 November 2007 - 06:55 PM.

"Et Earello Endorenna utulien.
Sinome maruvan ar Hildinyar
tenn' Ambar-metta!"
Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image
Don't come between The Lord of the Rings and its junkie!

#26 Guest_Guest_*

Guest_Guest_*
  • Guests

Posted 02 November 2007 - 06:57 PM

The SEE-folder doesn't belong on the desktop. It belongs in the folder your savegames are stored in. Only the shortcut is supposed to be on the desktop. I have no idea where you will find it in VISTA, but this is where i put the SEE folder:

ApplicationDataFolder.jpg



I have no VISTA i have windows XP

And i really do not understand why other players have no problem with the mod i really do not understand why we have this problem this is so unfair!!! :xcahik_:

Well if i get some news i will post again i will not surrender that easy! NOT NOW!!! :xcahik_: :xcahik_: :xcahik_:

#27 HanSolo

HanSolo
  • Members
  • 28 posts
  • Location:U.S.A. Provo, Utah
  • Projects:Acting like a scruffylooking nerfherder.
  •  Noob

Posted 02 November 2007 - 06:58 PM

:xcahik_:
Just know that you lost one of the biggest fans you ever had :xcahik_:
*emotionscomingup*
:xcahik_: :xcahik_:


Geez elbenmensch you don't have to be a dick about it... this is what happens with computer stuff sometimes. LEt's try to fix in not throw our hands in the air and give up...

Ok I am still getting the problem:
Downloaded and extracted using Winrar
Copied SEE folder into C:\Documents and Settings\jason\Application Data\My Battle for Middle-earth™ II Files

Shortcut on desktop points to:
Target: "C:\Program Files\Electronic Arts\The Battle for Middle-earth ™ II\lotrbfme2.exe" -mod SEE
Start in: "C:\Program Files\Electronic Arts\The Battle for Middle-earth ™ II"

Windows XPsp2
It is English version (collector's edition)
Patch = 1.06 (I just repatched it to be sure)
Double click shortcut game starts to load blinks once and then crashes I get:
"game.dat has encountered a problem and needs to close. We are sorry for the inconvenience."

I also tried it on my work computer which is totally different hardware but exact same thing occurs.

Will the old 4.0 version cause a problem cause it's still installed. I didn't think it would but nevertheless it is there maybe it is causing a problem?

#28 Lord of the Rings Junkie

Lord of the Rings Junkie

    Musn't hurt the Precious!

  • Project Team
  • 827 posts
  • Location:Middle-Earth
  • Projects:S.E.E., Gate Mod

Posted 02 November 2007 - 07:00 PM

It may, get rid of the old version.

To others: The above post (^^^^^) at least lets us know that the mod was installed as it should have been. It would be helpful if you used it as a guide for further troubleshooting posts, rather that just posting "WTF, it dusn't werk!".

Edited by Lord of the Rings Junkie, 02 November 2007 - 07:04 PM.

"Et Earello Endorenna utulien.
Sinome maruvan ar Hildinyar
tenn' Ambar-metta!"
Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image
Don't come between The Lord of the Rings and its junkie!

#29 Athem

Athem

    title available

  • Members
  • 307 posts
  • Location:Slovakia (Europe)
  • Projects:Destiny of Dunedain

Posted 02 November 2007 - 07:02 PM

Im not sure but it should be
"C:\Program Files\Electronic Arts\The Battle for Middle-earth ™ II\lotrbfme2.exe" -mod "SEE"
or not?
Posted Image
Posted Image

Posted Image

92% of teens have moved onto rap. If you are part of the 8% that still listen to real music, copy and paste this into your signature

#30 Guest_Guest_*

Guest_Guest_*
  • Guests

Posted 02 November 2007 - 07:03 PM

DO NOT unzip the mod to your desktop!

If you installed the game with default settings in XP, extract the mod to

C:\Documents and Settings\username\Application Data\My Battle for Middle-earth™ II Files

Also assuming you installed the game with default settings in XP, the shortcut target should be

"C:\Program Files\Electronic Arts\The Battle for Middle-earth ™ II\lotrbfme2.exe" -mod SEE

Well i have intaled the mod in my own folder not default but it should be all correct really... i think.

#31 elbenmensch

elbenmensch
  • Members
  • 223 posts

Posted 02 November 2007 - 07:05 PM

didnt do anything

Edited by elbenmensch, 02 November 2007 - 07:14 PM.

Posted Image
Posted Image

#32 Guest_Guest_*

Guest_Guest_*
  • Guests

Posted 02 November 2007 - 07:10 PM

Men this is the biggest mod problem i ever had... cheses! :xcahik_:

#33 Sûlherokhh

Sûlherokhh

    Sagacious Engineer

  • Project Team
  • 3,754 posts
  • Location:Central Germany
  • Projects:S.E.E., Sage A.I., Code Advisor
  •  'Axe'er of the Gordic Knot

Posted 02 November 2007 - 07:18 PM

Im not sure but it should be
"C:\Program Files\Electronic Arts\The Battle for Middle-earth ™ II\lotrbfme2.exe" -mod "SEE"
or not?


Not. ' -mod "SEE"' is wrong. It must be ' -mod SEE'. Quotes are only used for the actual locations on your hard drive (see below). There also needs to be a 'space before '-mod' in case you don't have one.


Well i have intaled the mod in my own folder not default but it should be all correct really... i think.

The shortcut will not work if you put the SEE-folder in your own folder, unless you change the shortcut. If you have the SEE-folder for example here: 'C:\CUSTOM' your line must read: '"C:\Program Files\Electronic Arts\The Battle for Middle-earth ™ II\lotrbfme2.exe" -mod "C:\CUSTOM\SEE"'

As you can see, if you want to use the actual location of the folder, the location must be inside the quotes " ".

Posted Image

It's too small to read.

bannerreal01mittelit3.jpg
Axed Head and A.I. Coder for S.E.E. and ... stuff

".. coding is basically boring. What's fun is finding out how things work, take them apart and then put them together in ways that were not intended nor even conceived."


#34 Lord of the Rings Junkie

Lord of the Rings Junkie

    Musn't hurt the Precious!

  • Project Team
  • 827 posts
  • Location:Middle-Earth
  • Projects:S.E.E., Gate Mod

Posted 02 November 2007 - 07:19 PM

Athem, there are no quotes around SEE, it should be exactly as I posted.

[Edit] Dang, Sul beat me to it...

Sul, do you mind if I make a little video tutorial on how to install the mod in XP?

Edited by Lord of the Rings Junkie, 02 November 2007 - 07:23 PM.

"Et Earello Endorenna utulien.
Sinome maruvan ar Hildinyar
tenn' Ambar-metta!"
Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image
Don't come between The Lord of the Rings and its junkie!

#35 Guest_Guest_*

Guest_Guest_*
  • Guests

Posted 02 November 2007 - 07:26 PM

Hey in one of the intructions i saw the SEE folder was not the SEE folder but a Final Gig Doc. this is mater somehow??? :xcahik_:

#36 Sûlherokhh

Sûlherokhh

    Sagacious Engineer

  • Project Team
  • 3,754 posts
  • Location:Central Germany
  • Projects:S.E.E., Sage A.I., Code Advisor
  •  'Axe'er of the Gordic Knot

Posted 02 November 2007 - 07:27 PM

Be my guest! :xcahik_:

bannerreal01mittelit3.jpg
Axed Head and A.I. Coder for S.E.E. and ... stuff

".. coding is basically boring. What's fun is finding out how things work, take them apart and then put them together in ways that were not intended nor even conceived."


#37 elbenmensch

elbenmensch
  • Members
  • 223 posts

Posted 02 November 2007 - 07:27 PM

[

Posted Image

It's too small to read.

just noticed yeah i just wanted to show u that everything IS installed correctly
and i want a video for vista^^
dont care a video for xp will be enough very nice of you junkie !!

Edited by elbenmensch, 02 November 2007 - 07:29 PM.

Posted Image
Posted Image

#38 Guest_Guest_*

Guest_Guest_*
  • Guests

Posted 02 November 2007 - 07:29 PM

Hey in one of the intructions i saw the SEE folder was not the SEE folder but a Final Gig Doc. this is mater somehow??? :xcahik_:


srry not Gig but Big :xcahik_:

#39 Nazgûl

Nazgûl

    S.E.E. Team Leader

  • Hosted
  • 10,581 posts
  • Location:Sweden
  • Projects:BFME2 - Nazgûl's Special Extended Edition
  •  Veteran

Posted 02 November 2007 - 07:37 PM

Hey in one of the intructions i saw the SEE folder was not the SEE folder but a Final Gig Doc. this is mater somehow??? :xcahik_:


"...one of the instructions..."??? There's only 1 Installation Instruction (the PDF in the RAR). Not several... :xcahik_:

// C}{riZpc_punch.gif
"Do not come between the Nazgûl and his mod!"
SEE_Banner_2008.jpg
SEE-Team_Leader.jpg
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> I S.E.E. YOU! <<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


#40 Sûlherokhh

Sûlherokhh

    Sagacious Engineer

  • Project Team
  • 3,754 posts
  • Location:Central Germany
  • Projects:S.E.E., Sage A.I., Code Advisor
  •  'Axe'er of the Gordic Knot

Posted 02 November 2007 - 07:38 PM

I don't have VISTA, but i think clonecommand does. Let him explain the procedure.

@Guest:The installation is the same, wether for SEE.big or for a SEE-folder. Only the shortcut entry needs to be changed as well (from SEE.big to SEE).

If you have previously installed Beta4, you can just use the Beta4 shortcut, edit it (deleting '.big'). That should work as well.

bannerreal01mittelit3.jpg
Axed Head and A.I. Coder for S.E.E. and ... stuff

".. coding is basically boring. What's fun is finding out how things work, take them apart and then put them together in ways that were not intended nor even conceived."





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users