Jump to content


Photo

"SGC" - Saved Games Crash!


  • Please log in to reply
198 replies to this topic

#181 khamulrulz

khamulrulz

    title available

  • Members
  • 469 posts

Posted 29 October 2009 - 07:46 AM

i've only ever managed to load a game once in 4.5, so it's pretty bad in there as well... i just hit the windows key and it automatically goes to the desktop. similar to ppl using alt-tab. it's a shame, because s.e.e. games take longer to finish than regular bfme2 games.
Posted Image
Posted Image

#182 Nazgûl

Nazgûl

    S.E.E. Team Leader

  • Hosted
  • 10,554 posts
  • Location:Sweden
  • Projects:BFME2 - Nazgûl's Special Extended Edition
  •  Veteran

Posted 30 October 2009 - 03:06 PM

Hold on to your BUTS...

I SOLVED IT!!!


Sorry about the outburst... but HELL YEAH! ;) ;) :p

I found the source of the crash in 47, that was EACH and EVERY time upon a loaded game. In 4.5 I never had it - ever! And now, I have the same stability in 4.7! Wohooo! :crazed:

So, what did I do? I compared the files in 4.5 with 4.7 and finally I discovered something embarrasing... I had made double reference to camera settings in 4.7, that was not in 4.5. I also had a copy of GameData in the INI folder despite using DEFAULT/Water for most of the balance settings... Well, I don't have to get into details - the important thing is that the stability I had in 4.5 is back, and anyone of you that had problems in 4.5 must have a default installation. If it works for me it should work for you, right? =)

Wooo, this was a welcome happening, after the recent turmoil in the forums :p

// C}{riZpc_punch.gif
"Do not come between the Nazgûl and his mod!"
SEE_Banner_2008.jpg
SEE-Team_Leader.jpg
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> I S.E.E. YOU! <<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


#183 Archon

Archon

    Ethereal Chaos

  • Members
  • 555 posts
  • Location:United States
  • Projects:Wars of Arda mod
  •  Expert Marksman

Posted 30 October 2009 - 03:14 PM

THAT IS AWESOME!!!! ;) :p ;) :crazed:
That is one of the biggest problems in SEE...ever...solved!
So what exactly do I (or any other player) have to do to get rid of it?
Or will you just put a "fixed" version up for download?
_______Posted Image_______Posted Image

#184 av8r

av8r

    SEE Support Mgr

  • Project Team
  • 489 posts
  • Location:Florida
  • Projects:SEE

Posted 30 October 2009 - 03:21 PM

I SOLVED IT!!!

;)

Well done, Naz! Wouldnt have thought to do a file by file comparison, thought it was in coding or something ;)

Glad you found it, I know its a big burden off you now!!

Hey quick question; can we make a bat file that edits out the game files of the problems? Something quick and easy to run for beta testers so we dont redo the entire dl?

Edited by av8r, 30 October 2009 - 03:22 PM.

Posted Image
Posted Image

Posted Image

#185 Nazgûl

Nazgûl

    S.E.E. Team Leader

  • Hosted
  • 10,554 posts
  • Location:Sweden
  • Projects:BFME2 - Nazgûl's Special Extended Edition
  •  Veteran

Posted 30 October 2009 - 03:21 PM

I'm not sure... as I never had it in 4.5... I don't know what the problem is there, but I guess you'll have to live with it until beta 4.7. And if it still happens then, that would be awefully strange. I just tried 5 times in a row, with CaH on/off, building built and not, etc... It works all the time! ;)

// C}{riZpc_punch.gif
"Do not come between the Nazgûl and his mod!"
SEE_Banner_2008.jpg
SEE-Team_Leader.jpg
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> I S.E.E. YOU! <<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


#186 Archon

Archon

    Ethereal Chaos

  • Members
  • 555 posts
  • Location:United States
  • Projects:Wars of Arda mod
  •  Expert Marksman

Posted 30 October 2009 - 04:01 PM

Well, what did you do to solve it for 4.7? I can tinker around with the files at least ;)
_______Posted Image_______Posted Image

#187 Nazgûl

Nazgûl

    S.E.E. Team Leader

  • Hosted
  • 10,554 posts
  • Location:Sweden
  • Projects:BFME2 - Nazgûl's Special Extended Edition
  •  Veteran

Posted 30 October 2009 - 06:11 PM

I compared the files in 4.5 with 4.7 and finally I discovered something embarrasing... I had made double reference to camera settings in 4.7, that was not in 4.5. I also had a copy of GameData in the INI folder despite using DEFAULT/Water for most of the balance settings...


// C}{riZpc_punch.gif
"Do not come between the Nazgûl and his mod!"
SEE_Banner_2008.jpg
SEE-Team_Leader.jpg
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> I S.E.E. YOU! <<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


#188 Sûlherokhh

Sûlherokhh

    Sagacious Engineer

  • Project Team
  • 3,754 posts
  • Location:Central Germany
  • Projects:S.E.E., Sage A.I., Code Advisor
  •  'Axe'er of the Gordic Knot

Posted 30 October 2009 - 06:48 PM

As for Beta Testing with current files: SVN will take care of stuff like obsolete files. You'll need to download a clean working copy, of course.

bannerreal01mittelit3.jpg
Axed Head and A.I. Coder for S.E.E. and ... stuff

".. coding is basically boring. What's fun is finding out how things work, take them apart and then put them together in ways that were not intended nor even conceived."


#189 Nazgûl

Nazgûl

    S.E.E. Team Leader

  • Hosted
  • 10,554 posts
  • Location:Sweden
  • Projects:BFME2 - Nazgûl's Special Extended Edition
  •  Veteran

Posted 30 October 2009 - 07:31 PM

Adun is not a BT Sul... (yet?) =p

// C}{riZpc_punch.gif
"Do not come between the Nazgûl and his mod!"
SEE_Banner_2008.jpg
SEE-Team_Leader.jpg
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> I S.E.E. YOU! <<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


#190 Archon

Archon

    Ethereal Chaos

  • Members
  • 555 posts
  • Location:United States
  • Projects:Wars of Arda mod
  •  Expert Marksman

Posted 30 October 2009 - 10:06 PM

Thanks Naz, but I can't become a BT for this mod...for myriad reasons, sorry ;) Mostly the fact that my time on computer games has been EXTREMELY limited due to life.

I compared the files in 4.5 with 4.7 and finally I discovered something embarrasing... I had made double reference to camera settings in 4.7, that was not in 4.5. I also had a copy of GameData in the INI folder despite using DEFAULT/Water for most of the balance settings...


But what files do I actually delete/edit? I'm not much of a modder, but I can follow directions pretty well ;)
_______Posted Image_______Posted Image

#191 Nazgûl

Nazgûl

    S.E.E. Team Leader

  • Hosted
  • 10,554 posts
  • Location:Sweden
  • Projects:BFME2 - Nazgûl's Special Extended Edition
  •  Veteran

Posted 30 October 2009 - 10:44 PM

Well, you have 4.5... so the error isn't there. It was sin 4.7 ;)
I have no idea why your 4.5 crash. Mine never did

// C}{riZpc_punch.gif
"Do not come between the Nazgûl and his mod!"
SEE_Banner_2008.jpg
SEE-Team_Leader.jpg
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> I S.E.E. YOU! <<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


#192 Archon

Archon

    Ethereal Chaos

  • Members
  • 555 posts
  • Location:United States
  • Projects:Wars of Arda mod
  •  Expert Marksman

Posted 30 October 2009 - 11:30 PM

A lot of people's did...I don't know why it "hit" some people and not others *sigh*
But I guess I'll have to live with it until the next beta. Thanks anyway Naz.
_______Posted Image_______Posted Image

#193 Nazgûl

Nazgûl

    S.E.E. Team Leader

  • Hosted
  • 10,554 posts
  • Location:Sweden
  • Projects:BFME2 - Nazgûl's Special Extended Edition
  •  Veteran

Posted 31 October 2009 - 02:06 AM

Since I solved the "Saved Games Bug" tonight I also tracked down the "Settings Restet Bug"! ;)
The solution is (with the -mod command):

1) Make sure you have gamedata.ini directly inside data/ini and NOT in subfolder object!
2) The macros should be in water.ini (or as I did in SEE, within INC files refered to from this location)!
3) The gamedata section of the gamedata.ini (everything except all macros) should be the ONLY thing inside the new gamedata.ini. Should you keep any macro here, the "Saved Games Bug" (crash) will happen when trying to load a saved game!
4) You have to have an additional ini preferably called camerasettings.ini or something like that, inside the subfolder object. Otherwise the game will NOT read your camera settings, as it skips that part in your gamedata.ini and uses the default game settings for camera instead. (And don't worry about double codes - the engine ignores the camera settings inside your gamedata.ini).

- This way the engine reads the settings ok (ok = after the vanilla game inis) from gamedata.ini and there won't be any settings reset! :p
- And with the extra ini for camerasettings the engine will also read those!

Voila! You'll no longer have any "Saved Games Bug" crashes, no "Settings Reset Bug" upon each new game AND you'll have the game read your camera settings (zoom etc) :)

// C}{riZpc_punch.gif
"Do not come between the Nazgûl and his mod!"
SEE_Banner_2008.jpg
SEE-Team_Leader.jpg
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> I S.E.E. YOU! <<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


#194 av8r

av8r

    SEE Support Mgr

  • Project Team
  • 489 posts
  • Location:Florida
  • Projects:SEE

Posted 31 October 2009 - 02:10 AM

so with these fixes do you see a notable increase in frame rate or game speed? Just wondering if theres any effect on it or not, I dont know...

Thats really cool you found the culprit(s) ;)
Posted Image
Posted Image

Posted Image

#195 Nazgûl

Nazgûl

    S.E.E. Team Leader

  • Hosted
  • 10,554 posts
  • Location:Sweden
  • Projects:BFME2 - Nazgûl's Special Extended Edition
  •  Veteran

Posted 31 October 2009 - 11:11 AM

Frame rate? Hehe nah I don't think that's affected... sorry

// C}{riZpc_punch.gif
"Do not come between the Nazgûl and his mod!"
SEE_Banner_2008.jpg
SEE-Team_Leader.jpg
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> I S.E.E. YOU! <<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


#196 Sûlherokhh

Sûlherokhh

    Sagacious Engineer

  • Project Team
  • 3,754 posts
  • Location:Central Germany
  • Projects:S.E.E., Sage A.I., Code Advisor
  •  'Axe'er of the Gordic Knot

Posted 31 October 2009 - 01:09 PM

;)

You-R-da-man!!!

bannerreal01mittelit3.jpg
Axed Head and A.I. Coder for S.E.E. and ... stuff

".. coding is basically boring. What's fun is finding out how things work, take them apart and then put them together in ways that were not intended nor even conceived."


#197 drogoth232

drogoth232

    What a shame

  • Members
  • 1,268 posts
  • Location:United States

Posted 31 October 2009 - 01:35 PM

Epic yayz! I remember when I was about to kill mordor as gondor but I had to go. I saved thinking it would work. Sadly it didn't. I will reinstall SEE after beta 4.7 comes out.
Wait... what?

#198 Sûlherokhh

Sûlherokhh

    Sagacious Engineer

  • Project Team
  • 3,754 posts
  • Location:Central Germany
  • Projects:S.E.E., Sage A.I., Code Advisor
  •  'Axe'er of the Gordic Knot

Posted 31 October 2009 - 03:03 PM

...
So, what did I do? I compared the files in 4.5 with 4.7 and finally I discovered something embarrasing... I had made double reference to camera settings in 4.7, that was not in 4.5. I also had a copy of GameData in the INI folder despite using DEFAULT/Water for most of the balance settings... Well, I don't have to get into details - the important thing is that the stability I had in 4.5 is back, and anyone of you that had problems in 4.5 must have a default installation. If it works for me it should work for you, right? =)
...


Somewhere in this direction also lies solving the problem of a comprehensive BIG file for WB to digest, i think. I don't know why, but WB seems to read the files just a tiny bit differently then the game itself. I am sure it is about duplicate entries and such.

bannerreal01mittelit3.jpg
Axed Head and A.I. Coder for S.E.E. and ... stuff

".. coding is basically boring. What's fun is finding out how things work, take them apart and then put them together in ways that were not intended nor even conceived."


#199 Nazgûl

Nazgûl

    S.E.E. Team Leader

  • Hosted
  • 10,554 posts
  • Location:Sweden
  • Projects:BFME2 - Nazgûl's Special Extended Edition
  •  Veteran

Posted 31 October 2009 - 03:18 PM

Yes, I think so too... =)

More findings led to THIS complete conclusion!
(As you can see it was not the double camera settings, but rather a combination of several misshaps in code placements) =p

Edited by Nazgûl, 31 October 2009 - 03:19 PM.

// C}{riZpc_punch.gif
"Do not come between the Nazgûl and his mod!"
SEE_Banner_2008.jpg
SEE-Team_Leader.jpg
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> I S.E.E. YOU! <<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users