Jump to content


Photo

NEW FIRE DRAGON! ON MAP INI


  • Please log in to reply
78 replies to this topic

#1 lycan

lycan

    title available

  • Banned
  • 553 posts
  • Projects:HP Mod
  •  Im just a guy around these forums

Posted 17 November 2007 - 07:53 PM

ok edited:

look at about 2/3 latest pages to see my cool map ini.

Edited by elvenfury, 23 December 2007 - 08:00 PM.


#2 Fingulfin

Fingulfin

    I Like Pi3. Do you?

  • Hosted
  • 1,752 posts
  • Location:California, USA
  • Projects:Staying Alive.
  •  This place looks familiar. I can't remember why.

Posted 17 November 2007 - 09:14 PM

You can't edit Hero's Build Costs/Times via Map.ini, you have to use a Child Object :p
Posted Image
--------------------------------------
"You look like a ghost of your former self..."

#3 lycan

lycan

    title available

  • Banned
  • 553 posts
  • Projects:HP Mod
  •  Im just a guy around these forums

Posted 17 November 2007 - 09:15 PM

:O crap :( how do i do that :(

thanks for helping me

#4 Fingulfin

Fingulfin

    I Like Pi3. Do you?

  • Hosted
  • 1,752 posts
  • Location:California, USA
  • Projects:Staying Alive.
  •  This place looks familiar. I can't remember why.

Posted 17 November 2007 - 09:22 PM

Like this:
ChildObject GondorGandalf GondorGandalfChild
//Edited Code goes here
End
Just be aware that your hero will lose all of his experience levels :good: There are ways to work around that, but they are pretty durned annoying.
Posted Image
--------------------------------------
"You look like a ghost of your former self..."

#5 lycan

lycan

    title available

  • Banned
  • 553 posts
  • Projects:HP Mod
  •  Im just a guy around these forums

Posted 17 November 2007 - 09:23 PM

ok i put this

ChildObject MordorBalrog MordorBalrogChild

RemoveModule ModuleTag_LifetimeUpdate
BuildCost = 6000
BuildTime = 65
CommandPoints = 75
End


edit: i did it and it comes up with this

Posted Image

Edited by elvenfury, 17 November 2007 - 09:28 PM.


#6 Nolis

Nolis

    Panathinaikos for ever...

  • Members
  • 237 posts
  • Location:Korydallos, Greece
  • Projects:Battle for Heaven and Hell, Return of the Eldar, Evil Mod II, Inheritance Mod, Taralomian Assault(on hold)
  •  Mapper & more than basic coder

Posted 17 November 2007 - 09:35 PM

I really hate Game Crushes...
Cower at the Arrival of Death

92% of teens have moved onto rap. If you are part of the 8% that still listen to real music, copy and paste this into your signature

.:.('.').:.

I was born to be the best, No1 and nothing less...

Jobs in modelling and skinning availlable in Battle for Heaven and Hell.Click here to join.

Posted Image
Posted Image


Posted Image

#7 Deathbringer

Deathbringer
  • Members
  • 244 posts
  • Location:I was planted somewhere and now... Who knows?

Posted 17 November 2007 - 10:11 PM

I really hate Game Crushes...

And who doesn't?

#8 lycan

lycan

    title available

  • Banned
  • 553 posts
  • Projects:HP Mod
  •  Im just a guy around these forums

Posted 17 November 2007 - 10:34 PM

i really hate map.ini

#9 Rob38

Rob38

    Believer of Hope

  • Hosted
  • 3,567 posts
  • Location:USA
  • Projects:Helm's Deep Last Hope
  •  One who is not afraid of new challenges

Posted 18 November 2007 - 04:31 AM

You can't edit Hero's Build Costs/Times via Map.ini, you have to use a Child Object :good:


As far as I know, that is not true. I've edited many heroes through map.ini. The error comes from not having another end after the particle system:

FXParticleSystem BalrogBodyEmbers
System
Priority = HIGH_OR_ABOVE
ParticleName = EXEmbersLight.tga
Lifetime = 50 50
Size = 10 15
BurstDelay = 1 1
BurstCount = 1 1
End
Color = DefaultColor
Color1 = R:000 G:000 B:225
Color2 = R:0 G:0 B:0 50
ColorScale = -5 0
End
END; NEED ONE HERE!

Also, for PlayerTemplate FactionMordor, only put in the things you are changing. You don't need anything else :p

signature_group1.gif

 

16821.png


#10 Fingulfin

Fingulfin

    I Like Pi3. Do you?

  • Hosted
  • 1,752 posts
  • Location:California, USA
  • Projects:Staying Alive.
  •  This place looks familiar. I can't remember why.

Posted 18 November 2007 - 04:53 AM

You can't edit Hero's Build Costs/Times via Map.ini, you have to use a Child Object :good:

As far as I know, that is not true. I've edited many heroes through map.ini.

You can edit a hero, but you CAN'T edit his buildcost/time... Believe me, I have tried. That was for BFME I though, it might have changed for 2... But I seriously doubt it :p
Posted Image
--------------------------------------
"You look like a ghost of your former self..."

#11 Rob38

Rob38

    Believer of Hope

  • Hosted
  • 3,567 posts
  • Location:USA
  • Projects:Helm's Deep Last Hope
  •  One who is not afraid of new challenges

Posted 18 November 2007 - 05:20 AM

Just tested and you were right Fin :good: Gosh, map.ini files are really strange, aren't they :p For the child object, it should be

ChildObject MordorBalrogChild MordorBalrog

signature_group1.gif

 

16821.png


#12 lycan

lycan

    title available

  • Banned
  • 553 posts
  • Projects:HP Mod
  •  Im just a guy around these forums

Posted 18 November 2007 - 02:19 PM

thanks ill try it out now :good:


argh didnt work came up with this

Posted Image

i put exactly what you put.

Edited by elvenfury, 18 November 2007 - 02:24 PM.


#13 Fingulfin

Fingulfin

    I Like Pi3. Do you?

  • Hosted
  • 1,752 posts
  • Location:California, USA
  • Projects:Staying Alive.
  •  This place looks familiar. I can't remember why.

Posted 18 November 2007 - 05:38 PM

Repost your code, with proper code tags and I will take a look at it. Right now we have no idea whats going on with your map.ini :p
Posted Image
--------------------------------------
"You look like a ghost of your former self..."

#14 lycan

lycan

    title available

  • Banned
  • 553 posts
  • Projects:HP Mod
  •  Im just a guy around these forums

Posted 18 November 2007 - 07:46 PM

here it is

btw i rearanged them to be neater

;;;;;;;;;INI FILE BY KINGWEREWOLF AKA ELVENFURY AKA WILL_H879  
;;;;;;;;;Don't copy it or part of it and say it's your
;;;;;;;;;If u want use it, e-mail me and ask to use : 


ChildObject MordorBalrogChild MordorBalrog
RemoveModule ModuleTag_LifetimeUpdate
BuildCost = 6000
BuildTime = 65
CommandPoints = 75
End

ChildObject AngmarShadeWolfChild AngmarShadeWolf
RemoveModule ModuleTag_LifetimeUpdate
BuildCost = 5000
BuildTime = 75
CommandPoints = 80
End

PlayerTemplate FactionMordor

BuildableHeroesMP			= CreateAHero EvilMenBlackRider MordorMouthOfSauron MordorBalrogChild MordorWitchKingOnFellBeast // MordorGothmog NeutralGollum
End

PlayerTemplate FactionAngmar
BuildableHeroesMP			= CreateAHero AngmarShadeWolfChild AngmarHwaldar AngmarMorgramir AngmarRogash AngmarWitchking
End

PlayerTemplate FactionMen
Side = Arnor
StartingUnit1 	= ArnorPorter 
StartingUnit0 	= ArnorPorter 
DisplayName = INI:FactionArnor
DefaultPlayerAIType = ArnorSkirmishAI
InitialUpgrades	= Upgrade_ArnorFaction; Any upgrades this player template is born with.
StartingBuilding		= MenFortress
BuildableHeroesMP = CreateAHero ArnorArgeleb ArnorArveleg ArnorArvedui ArnorCaptain GondorEarnur 
End	

FXParticleSystem BalrogBodyEmbers
System
Priority = HIGH_OR_ABOVE
ParticleName = EXEmbersLight.tga
Lifetime = 50 50
Size = 10 15
BurstDelay = 1 1
BurstCount = 1 1
End
Color = DefaultColor
Color1 = R:000 G:000 B:225
Color2 = R:0 G:0 B:0 50
ColorScale = -5 0
End
END; NEED ONE HERE!

its the fx particle problem :(

Edited by elvenfury, 18 November 2007 - 07:47 PM.


#15 Rob38

Rob38

    Believer of Hope

  • Hosted
  • 3,567 posts
  • Location:USA
  • Projects:Helm's Deep Last Hope
  •  One who is not afraid of new challenges

Posted 18 November 2007 - 08:08 PM

FXParticleSystem BalrogBodyEmbers

System

Priority = HIGH_OR_ABOVE

ParticleName = EXEmbersLight.tga

Lifetime = 50 50

Size = 10 15

BurstDelay = 1 1

BurstCount = 1 1

End

Color = DefaultColor

Color1 = R:0 G:0 B:225 0; you forgot to add zero after the colors. It tells how long the color lasts.   

Color2 = R:0 G:0 B:0 50

ColorScale = -5 0

End

END; NEED ONE HERE!

signature_group1.gif

 

16821.png


#16 lycan

lycan

    title available

  • Banned
  • 553 posts
  • Projects:HP Mod
  •  Im just a guy around these forums

Posted 19 November 2007 - 04:27 PM

thanks ill try that :good:


edit: the balrog is still red. i want all the red to be blue but does this mean i have to have a new skin as well :(?

Edited by elvenfury, 19 November 2007 - 05:40 PM.


#17 Fingulfin

Fingulfin

    I Like Pi3. Do you?

  • Hosted
  • 1,752 posts
  • Location:California, USA
  • Projects:Staying Alive.
  •  This place looks familiar. I can't remember why.

Posted 19 November 2007 - 06:03 PM

Yep, all the particles will effect is the glow and sparks that come off of him :good:
Posted Image
--------------------------------------
"You look like a ghost of your former self..."

#18 lycan

lycan

    title available

  • Banned
  • 553 posts
  • Projects:HP Mod
  •  Im just a guy around these forums

Posted 19 November 2007 - 06:09 PM

darn it i wanted to make an ice balrog :(

#19 Lauri

Lauri

    Let us remember foREVer

  • Hosted
  • 10,419 posts
  • Location:Norway
  • Projects:'The 4th Age' and 'Shadow and Flame'
  •  The very worst T3A Team Chamber Member

Posted 19 November 2007 - 06:11 PM

very hard to do, oh yes precious, very hard to do...

Colour change, anyone? You can make a decent Ice Balrog by simple recoloring the skin.. Although, why you would have an ice balrog... tch tch tch

Shadow and Flame BETA 0.6 RELEASED - Link


#20 lycan

lycan

    title available

  • Banned
  • 553 posts
  • Projects:HP Mod
  •  Im just a guy around these forums

Posted 19 November 2007 - 06:15 PM

for a angmar balrog^^




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users