Jump to content


Photo

Your Opinions On Tech Pricing


38 replies to this topic

Poll: Tech Pricing

How do you feel about the current pricing of tech?

You cannot see the results of the poll until you have voted. Please login and cast your vote to see the results of this poll.
Vote Guests cannot vote

#21 Dalmp

Dalmp
  • Project Team
  • 249 posts

Posted 28 January 2008 - 01:25 AM

I very much don't want to do that. I hated how they made capital ships only buildable at certain planets; it was one of the first things I changed. At any rate, the interface shouldn't be an issue after starbases are fixed.


Yeah I really don't like being forced to play out my game as per canon history. If I want to build a big shipyard in a non canonical location, why, I should be able to do it. Canon framework. But my choices.

However, one of the things I liked about SW: Rebellion was that you couldn't exactly build shipyards on every planet. Instead, you chose a few planets and maxed them out. As the opposing player, if you discovered those secret shipyards and managed to take them, you could cripple the enemy ship-construction for a while. With capships enabled for every single location, that leaves no real reason not to build level 5 shipyards everywhere you can, eventually (as soon as you can afford).

I've been thinking about this. What if you could build hydroponic stations that increased your pop cap instead? or some other reason for building something other than maxed out shipyards at every planet? Something that makes the player choose his best course of action. AND/OR if building shipyards cost population cap (forcing him to build a few hydroponics stations to allow for his major shipyards. Even better if building extra space production facilities could decrease his ship build time - but I don't know if that's possible with the engine - I suspect not.

Granted, splitting the shipyard levels up will go a long way to adding in reasons not to build a level 5 SY at every planet.

Edited by Dalmp, 28 January 2008 - 01:37 AM.

Amateurs study Tactics. Professionals study Logistics.
-Napoleon

Posted Image


#22 Phoenix Rising

Phoenix Rising

    Beyond the Impossible

  • Petrolution Staff
  • 6,509 posts
  • Projects:Phoenix Rising
  •  Mod Leader
  • Division:Petrolution
  • Job:Mod Specialist

Posted 28 January 2008 - 08:30 PM

Canon framework. But my choices.

That's really the crux of the mod.

However, one of the things I liked about SW: Rebellion was that you couldn't exactly build shipyards on every planet.

You won't be able to here either. If you want to be able to build every ship at a single planet, it will take 5 space structure slots. But you'll also be sharing those with the Golans and whatever else. And like Rebellion, or the ground buildings in EaW, building multiples of one type will increase your production speed. So there should be plenty of choices.

#23 Dr-Ludvig

Dr-Ludvig
  • Members
  • 92 posts
  • Location:Denmark

Posted 09 February 2008 - 05:35 PM

I vote'd perfect as it is , i really like it, it shouldn't b e cheaper or faster, i should take a loong time, yet it still doesn't take to long, it's good :p
-Is this a dream?
-No
-i thought not, if it were there'd be rum!
Posted Image
Posted Image
92% of teenagers have moved on to ©rap. If you are among the 8% who still listen to real music. copy this into your sig.

#24 A1Dasdfsdkli4r2

A1Dasdfsdkli4r2
  • Members
  • 247 posts

Posted 24 February 2008 - 03:43 PM

It takes just a little too long to research rebellion ships. seems to be just fine for the empire (which probably is impossible ore makes no sense...)

#25 Valter

Valter
  • Members
  • 93 posts
  • Location:US

Posted 26 February 2008 - 09:20 PM

I voted that research is too expensive. I think upgrades are fine as is. It takes a while before I build up enough cash to even think about researching. Maybe it's just poor resource management on my part, but I find that I never have enough credits in the beginning of the game to build more than a couple factories, a few squadrons to garrison my border planets, and maybe a little extra cash to build a couple frigates. Meanwhile, the AI is busy building A-wings, X-wings and MC-120's after only a few minutes into the game. :xcahik_: Maybe you might consider increasing the initial amount of credits at the beggining of a galactic conquest game to allow the player to better prepare for the AI's ruthless onslaught of cap ships and dreadnoughts.

Just my two cents.

#26 Dalmp

Dalmp
  • Project Team
  • 249 posts

Posted 27 February 2008 - 03:42 AM

Transports make money when you build them btw. Building tons of them you end up with more cash than you can spend. It's actually due to be nerfed.
Amateurs study Tactics. Professionals study Logistics.
-Napoleon

Posted Image


#27 Valter

Valter
  • Members
  • 93 posts
  • Location:US

Posted 27 February 2008 - 04:37 AM

Transports make money when you build them btw. Building tons of them you end up with more cash than you can spend. It's actually due to be nerfed.


Actually I just found a solution to the problem. In the beginning of the game, I put most of my credits into upgrades for the transports, and I have plenty of extra cash for research. I'm a little embarassed that it took me this long to figure out. :shiftee:

#28 Phoenix Rising

Phoenix Rising

    Beyond the Impossible

  • Petrolution Staff
  • 6,509 posts
  • Projects:Phoenix Rising
  •  Mod Leader
  • Division:Petrolution
  • Job:Mod Specialist

Posted 07 March 2008 - 08:13 PM

Well, the voting seems to be pretty much spread across the board, so I likely won't make any major changes. As I've said before, I would really like these all to cost XP, but I doubt that's feasible.

#29 Guest_Guest_cpl0311_*_*

Guest_Guest_cpl0311_*_*
  • Guests

Posted 19 March 2008 - 12:59 AM

I think time and pricing are just fine. Tech never takes that long when it's all running smoothly. I'm having a problem with lag in GC which I don't understand. My system should be fine (8800GTS, 2gig ram, 2800 Dual core Fx32) so I dunno what gives? Other than that the mod has been excellent

#30 Kaleb Graff

Kaleb Graff

    title available

  • Members
  • 1,035 posts
  • Location:Classified

Posted 10 April 2008 - 07:19 PM

I would like faster build times across the board, or just faster gameplay in general. Would it be possible to change the fast foreward speed?

#31 Kitkun

Kitkun

    Hater

  • Members
  • 903 posts
  • Location:Southern Washington, U.S.A.

Posted 18 April 2008 - 06:53 AM

Or someway to make multiple (More than 2) speeds?

Frosty Freaky Foreign Forum Fox

<DevXen> Today I was at the store and saw a Darth Vader action figure that said "Choking Hazard." It was great.


#32 Kaleb Graff

Kaleb Graff

    title available

  • Members
  • 1,035 posts
  • Location:Classified

Posted 22 April 2008 - 07:25 PM

Or someway to make multiple (More than 2) speeds?


I would just increase both default and fast-foreward speeds, so that default is the one you play at, and fast foreward is reserved for when you are waiting for somthing (new ship, long transit time, etc.)

#33 Kitkun

Kitkun

    Hater

  • Members
  • 903 posts
  • Location:Southern Washington, U.S.A.

Posted 22 April 2008 - 07:57 PM

Or someway to make multiple (More than 2) speeds?


I would just increase both default and fast-foreward speeds, so that default is the one you play at, and fast foreward is reserved for when you are waiting for somthing (new ship, long transit time, etc.)


That would be good. Either way, where do you change it?

Frosty Freaky Foreign Forum Fox

<DevXen> Today I was at the store and saw a Darth Vader action figure that said "Choking Hazard." It was great.


#34 Guest_Sion4000_*

Guest_Sion4000_*
  • Guests

Posted 12 June 2008 - 10:12 PM

Can you make it so that you can start out with all the upgrades like with tech level 4 being all ships and 5 all upgrades researched

#35 Kitkun

Kitkun

    Hater

  • Members
  • 903 posts
  • Location:Southern Washington, U.S.A.

Posted 12 June 2008 - 10:13 PM

Can you make it so that you can start out with all the upgrades like with tech level 4 being all ships and 5 all upgrades researched


At that point, you might as well play skirmish.

Frosty Freaky Foreign Forum Fox

<DevXen> Today I was at the store and saw a Darth Vader action figure that said "Choking Hazard." It was great.


#36 Jasonite

Jasonite
  • Members
  • 5 posts

Posted 13 June 2008 - 01:50 AM

I voted that research is too expensive. I think upgrades are fine as is. It takes a while before I build up enough cash to even think about researching. Maybe it's just poor resource management on my part, but I find that I never have enough credits in the beginning of the game to build more than a couple factories, a few squadrons to garrison my border planets, and maybe a little extra cash to build a couple frigates. Meanwhile, the AI is busy building A-wings, X-wings and MC-120's after only a few minutes into the game. :xd: Maybe you might consider increasing the initial amount of credits at the beggining of a galactic conquest game to allow the player to better prepare for the AI's ruthless onslaught of cap ships and dreadnoughts.

Just my two cents.


I agree with this post...

I don't mind that research is expensive, it's the fact that you're paying for research, AND paying for the upgraded units' increased cost. I think it should be one or the other for game balance... but when you're playing against an AI that spams cheap units, it doesn't pay to go for upgrades when it means that you're:
1 - spending money on research that could have gone to units.
and
2 - spending MORE money on upgraded units, so you're really behind. If research were free (or a lot less) and the upgraded units still had an increased cost, this would sort of balance out in my book.

But hey, that's just my opinion.

J

#37 Kitkun

Kitkun

    Hater

  • Members
  • 903 posts
  • Location:Southern Washington, U.S.A.

Posted 13 June 2008 - 05:15 PM

I agree with this post...

I don't mind that research is expensive, it's the fact that you're paying for research, AND paying for the upgraded units' increased cost. I think it should be one or the other for game balance... but when you're playing against an AI that spams cheap units, it doesn't pay to go for upgrades when it means that you're:
1 - spending money on research that could have gone to units.
and
2 - spending MORE money on upgraded units, so you're really behind. If research were free (or a lot less) and the upgraded units still had an increased cost, this would sort of balance out in my book

As far as I know, unit price only goes up if it has gained more fighter/bomber squads. If not, then I need to pay more attention.

Frosty Freaky Foreign Forum Fox

<DevXen> Today I was at the store and saw a Darth Vader action figure that said "Choking Hazard." It was great.


#38 Invadious

Invadious
  • Members
  • 171 posts

Posted 22 July 2008 - 10:32 PM

Well, the voting seems to be pretty much spread across the board, so I likely won't make any major changes. As I've said before, I would really like these all to cost XP, but I doubt that's feasible.

Sorry for the late reply on this poll, I already seem to have voted for something :p I can't remember what anymore but I think the upgrades are perfect, that evens too long with perfect so, I agree with you PR. I think they are perfect because you can just start for example with researching the Executor from the beginning, and upgrade it. This can't be done in the original game where you were forced to buy 5 tech upgrades before you could buy the Executor which also took a long time.

Edited by Invadious, 25 July 2008 - 11:13 PM.


#39 Guest_Darth Phoenix_*

Guest_Darth Phoenix_*
  • Guests

Posted 01 November 2008 - 06:49 PM

fighter times and upgarde times should go down fighters should be 10 secs at least and upgrades a minute and heros the cost should be in the thousands and so should their upgrades



Reply to this topic



  


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users