#1 {IP} Aridor

{IP} Aridor

Redeemed Ranger

• Project Team
  • 1,576 posts
  • Projects:RJ-ROTWK Mapping Team
  •  Loremaster

Posted 09 June 2008 - 08:25 PM

I have a suggestion to make. The longbows in the game do not function like real longbows. In real combat the longbow is used like the longshot power. Waves of arrows that come done like rain. The bombard function should work like this. A totally devastating rain of arrows. For an example see 300, or for a far better example see Henry V, Kenneth Branagh's version. Very realistic warfare. http://www.youtube.c...feature=related That is a link to a video that shows how Longbows were used. It is in the middle. This is how the bombard function should work.

#2 CIL

CIL

Ex-troll

• Members
  • 1,330 posts
  • Projects:Lurking
  •  I'm a physician now. Scary, right?

Posted 10 June 2008 - 02:07 AM

I agree that arrow bombardment needs a bit of extra range and that units like the Galadhrim need to have bombard, but longbows were also used for precision shooting as well, not just the shortbow.
I'm creeping, not gone.

#3 Fyro11

Fyro11

title available

• Project Team
  • 554 posts

Posted 10 June 2008 - 02:40 AM

Yes I must agree with Aridor on this. In reality, arrows are rarely ever shot straight at the enemy. However, in the game, if the enemy is two metres away then the archer would have to revert to firing straight at the enemy. So, there'd have to be quite some coding. Rob from the HD mod has given her Elven Bombarders precisely this ability and the thing I love is that the anim has been changed so the Elves are truly aiming upwards.

I think, as far as Elves go, then the public needs to see the new units before it can comment.
Posted Image

#4 myster

myster
  • Members
  • 160 posts

Posted 10 June 2008 - 06:28 AM

+ the area where the arrows land should be around the same as the shape of the formation of the archers that are firing them... not all in a big round spot..

#5 CIL

CIL

Ex-troll

• Members