Sumquhat quisquis.

• Division Leaders
  • 4,654 posts
  • Projects:Workin'...
  •  ...like a workin' man do.
  • Division:Role-Playing Games
  • Job:Division Leader

Posted 18 August 2008 - 01:19 AM

Post all entries in here, with the name of the piece and a word count at the top. Limit is 1500 words, roughly. Good luck. :p

EDIT to theme: It is now merely 'divisions', which should encompass everything and more of 'subdivisions' and be easier to write about. So go for it.

EDIT to deadline: midnight of the 26th September, BST. Thanks in advance to all who participate. :unsure:

Edited by Vortigern, 09 September 2008 - 02:35 PM.

I hope I am a good enough writer that some day dwarves kill me and drink my blood for wisdom.

#2 Dauth

Dauth

Alcoholic Geoengineer

• Members
  • 119 posts

Posted 20 August 2008 - 10:10 AM

I've gone for an old story, written in two time periods (and that's how I have interpreted subdivisions). This is an old piece from about 18 months ago so it is not of the highest quality, but I feel it is better than some of my other pieces of a similar age.

Again, I lurch over to the festering pot in the corner, damn the butcher, damn his foul hide, and that pork was fresh? Why do the people of this village seem to cure physical ailments with rotten food?

Depressingly for the second time tonight I cannot grab the pot and throw up all over the floor, it doesn't matter now, but I used to pride myself in being tidy when I left an inn. A swig of absinthe will hopefully dissolve my conscious enough to sleep off the next day of this wretched food poisoning. Quite typically for the day, I knock the bottle over and pour away a small fortune into a badly woven carpet. Well at least the bugs won't bite me while I'm unconscious… yeah no mite may bite.

Awake, see the new day, be ready for the future, and lead us to glory.