Jump to content


Photo

3ds Max questions


  • Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 Kwen

Kwen

    Vileartist

  • T3A Staff
  • 4,837 posts
  • Location:Korea I wish
  • Projects:It'sa secreeet
  •  T3A's First N00b
  • Division:BFME
  • Job:T3A Expert
  • Donated

Posted 18 September 2008 - 02:53 AM

I don't know where to put this topic, so I put it here.

I've just purchased 3ds Max so as to better improve my modeling ability.

however it's considerably different then renx/gmax and I do not know how to do some things...

first of all, how the hell do I put a texture onto a model in this thing?! the material editor is WAY different then renx/gmax.

second, how do I bind a model to bones, the wwskin spacewarp isn't there.

last of all, how do I access the w3d tools place thingy... *the thing where you can tell an object to be like 2-sided, or aabox for bounding boxes. cam-orient... that stuff*

                           https://www.twitch.tv/vileartist - Yes shameless self-promotion

          ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

                            "Old modders never die, they just fade away" ~ Hostile


#2 Lauri

Lauri

    Let us remember foREVer

  • Hosted
  • 10,419 posts
  • Location:Norway
  • Projects:'The 4th Age' and 'Shadow and Flame'
  •  The very worst T3A Team Chamber Member

Posted 18 September 2008 - 02:27 PM

you've added all the things, yes? :dry:

Shadow and Flame BETA 0.6 RELEASED - Link


#3 Kwen

Kwen

    Vileartist

  • T3A Staff
  • 4,837 posts
  • Location:Korea I wish
  • Projects:It'sa secreeet
  •  T3A's First N00b
  • Division:BFME
  • Job:T3A Expert
  • Donated

Posted 18 September 2008 - 10:00 PM

what do you mean? added all the things?

                           https://www.twitch.tv/vileartist - Yes shameless self-promotion

          ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

                            "Old modders never die, they just fade away" ~ Hostile


#4 Lauri

Lauri

    Let us remember foREVer

  • Hosted
  • 10,419 posts
  • Location:Norway
  • Projects:'The 4th Age' and 'Shadow and Flame'
  •  The very worst T3A Team Chamber Member

Posted 19 September 2008 - 02:16 PM

importer, plugins, whatever you'll want to call it..
The required things for BFME models to "work" in Max :)

Shadow and Flame BETA 0.6 RELEASED - Link


#5 Kwen

Kwen

    Vileartist

  • T3A Staff
  • 4,837 posts
  • Location:Korea I wish
  • Projects:It'sa secreeet
  •  T3A's First N00b
  • Division:BFME
  • Job:T3A Expert
  • Donated

Posted 19 September 2008 - 10:54 PM

I still do not know what you mean, is it in the BFME2 SDK?

                           https://www.twitch.tv/vileartist - Yes shameless self-promotion

          ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

                            "Old modders never die, they just fade away" ~ Hostile


#6 Lauri

Lauri

    Let us remember foREVer

  • Hosted
  • 10,419 posts
  • Location:Norway
  • Projects:'The 4th Age' and 'Shadow and Flame'
  •  The very worst T3A Team Chamber Member

Posted 19 September 2008 - 11:03 PM

yeah :rolleyes:
and importer..
don't think that followed the SDK :)

Shadow and Flame BETA 0.6 RELEASED - Link


#7 Kwen

Kwen

    Vileartist

  • T3A Staff
  • 4,837 posts
  • Location:Korea I wish
  • Projects:It'sa secreeet
  •  T3A's First N00b
  • Division:BFME
  • Job:T3A Expert
  • Donated

Posted 19 September 2008 - 11:24 PM

:) one problem remains...

how the heck do I install the dang thing...?!

the stupid tutorial just says copy paste...

theres got to be something more...

Edited by SDK Kwen, 19 September 2008 - 11:37 PM.

                           https://www.twitch.tv/vileartist - Yes shameless self-promotion

          ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

                            "Old modders never die, they just fade away" ~ Hostile


#8 Lauri

Lauri

    Let us remember foREVer

  • Hosted
  • 10,419 posts
  • Location:Norway
  • Projects:'The 4th Age' and 'Shadow and Flame'
  •  The very worst T3A Team Chamber Member

Posted 20 September 2008 - 08:55 AM

It doesn't work with Max 9?

Shadow and Flame BETA 0.6 RELEASED - Link


#9 Kwen

Kwen

    Vileartist

  • T3A Staff
  • 4,837 posts
  • Location:Korea I wish
  • Projects:It'sa secreeet
  •  T3A's First N00b
  • Division:BFME
  • Job:T3A Expert
  • Donated

Posted 20 September 2008 - 10:45 AM

apparently not...

                           https://www.twitch.tv/vileartist - Yes shameless self-promotion

          ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

                            "Old modders never die, they just fade away" ~ Hostile


#10 Lauri

Lauri

    Let us remember foREVer

  • Hosted
  • 10,419 posts
  • Location:Norway
  • Projects:'The 4th Age' and 'Shadow and Flame'
  •  The very worst T3A Team Chamber Member

Posted 20 September 2008 - 12:14 PM

I said that as a fact :rolleyes:

Shadow and Flame BETA 0.6 RELEASED - Link


#11 Devon

Devon

    Dark Nerd of the Sith

  • Global Moderators
  • 5,886 posts
  • Location:Colbert Nation
  • Projects:RJ RotWK, Twilight of the Republic, HDLH
  •  T3A Chamber Member
  • Division:Community
  • Job:Global Moderator
  • Donated

Posted 20 September 2008 - 08:52 PM

You also had a question mark at the end...:p

yodasig2.png
My political compass
There's a story that the grass is so green...what did I see? Where have I been?


#12 Kwen

Kwen

    Vileartist

  • T3A Staff
  • 4,837 posts
  • Location:Korea I wish
  • Projects:It'sa secreeet
  •  T3A's First N00b
  • Division:BFME
  • Job:T3A Expert
  • Donated

Posted 21 September 2008 - 02:30 AM

uhhhg... the plugin just has the w3d exporter right? can I still add the W3D tools utility, the renx texture applier thingy, and the wwskin right? they show them used in the SDK...

If so, then I need to know how to install them, because clearly I'm doing it wrong.

                           https://www.twitch.tv/vileartist - Yes shameless self-promotion

          ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

                            "Old modders never die, they just fade away" ~ Hostile


#13 Lauri

Lauri

    Let us remember foREVer

  • Hosted
  • 10,419 posts
  • Location:Norway
  • Projects:'The 4th Age' and 'Shadow and Flame'
  •  The very worst T3A Team Chamber Member

Posted 21 September 2008 - 10:12 AM

you copy the content over to your max... :p
Everything in 3dsmax7 should be copied over in your max9 folder :D

Shadow and Flame BETA 0.6 RELEASED - Link


#14 LiamRogers

LiamRogers
  • New Members
  • 10 posts

Posted 21 September 2008 - 12:03 PM

my head hurts thinking about this softwear.....

#15 Phil

Phil

    Force Majeure

  • Network Leaders
  • 7,971 posts
  • Location:Switzerland
  • Projects:Revora, C&C:Online
  •  Thought Police
  • Division:Revora
  • Job:Network Leader
  • Donated
  • Association

Posted 21 September 2008 - 04:29 PM

And my head hurts thinking of that post. Don't post unless you have something to contribute :p

revorapresident.jpg
My Political Compass

Sieben Elefanten hatte Herr Dschin
Und da war dann noch der achte.
Sieben waren wild und der achte war zahm
Und der achte war's, der sie bewachte.


#16 Kwen

Kwen

    Vileartist

  • T3A Staff
  • 4,837 posts
  • Location:Korea I wish
  • Projects:It'sa secreeet
  •  T3A's First N00b
  • Division:BFME
  • Job:T3A Expert
  • Donated

Posted 21 September 2008 - 08:37 PM

lauri:

the probem I have is. I copy everything over to the correct folders, but they do not appear in max. everything is copied but the stuff is not there...

                           https://www.twitch.tv/vileartist - Yes shameless self-promotion

          ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

                            "Old modders never die, they just fade away" ~ Hostile





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users