Jump to content


Why is this mod so ridiculous?


  • Please log in to reply
39 replies to this topic

#21 av8r

av8r

    SEE Support Mgr

  • Project Team
  • 489 posts
  • Location:Florida
  • Projects:SEE

Posted 24 September 2008 - 07:46 PM

I didnt even understand "Hasfusel's" post. From his comments, it doesn't even appear they were referring to the SEE Mod. :p

maybe they dont have it installed right and are playing the vanilla BFME2. if it all :p it just doesn't make sense.
Posted Image
Posted Image

Posted Image

#22 Lauri

Lauri

    Let us remember foREVer

  • Hosted
  • 10,419 posts
  • Location:Norway
  • Projects:'The 4th Age' and 'Shadow and Flame'
  •  The very worst T3A Team Chamber Member

Posted 24 September 2008 - 08:01 PM

You know, for a beta tester and support manager of SEE, you seem to have reading problems... :p
I agree on most parts of Has's post, that it's a kickass mod even though it's to slow for me ;)
Of course, if I had BFME2 installed, I'd have the mod installed ;) Cause the vanilla BFME2 is to fast... ;)
I remember first time I played vanilla after I tried a few rounds of SEE... got 3 minutes in the game and there's an army at my fortress :p

Shadow and Flame BETA 0.6 RELEASED - Link


#23 av8r

av8r

    SEE Support Mgr

  • Project Team
  • 489 posts
  • Location:Florida
  • Projects:SEE

Posted 24 September 2008 - 08:18 PM

haha! Funny guy :p

I was referring to his comments about structures and build times, I should have been more specific. same things Nazgul pointed out.
Posted Image
Posted Image

Posted Image

#24 Nazgûl

Nazgûl

    S.E.E. Team Leader

  • Hosted
  • 10,581 posts
  • Location:Sweden
  • Projects:BFME2 - Nazgûl's Special Extended Edition
  •  Veteran

Posted 24 September 2008 - 11:12 PM

In my eyes Hasfusel just exaggerated (spelling?) way too much. His point, and Lauris, is rather clear though. And I'm well aware of that some players don't like the "long" build times, but just like all things in a beta - they're a BETA, which means it's not fully tested and decided 100%. It's in the process of being tested and evaluated. In Beta 4.7 for instance, you'll have the option of spawning spam/defence units for all factions, if you feel anxious to get units built fast. They're only 30 secs actually, but they will be limited so you can't build an army of those, as they're intended for base defence and small raid partys. Other unit buildtimes will most likely be adjusted too, too some degree. Maybe from 120 sec to 90 sec. Build times for structures won't change though as I like to plan my base without stress. I might even increase them slightly, if I decrease unit times =p

Besides and btw: Lauri's a good friend and very prominent and important member (ok, Freelancer I guess) of the SEE Team, and SEE wouldn't be what it is if it wasn't for Lauri's participation, so that means I will also listen a lot to what such Team members think, when I plan the progress :p Same thing goes for Flameguard and the newest member Ed3rd. The more you do, the more you get to say ;) This means that suggestions and concerns of Fans and Players will "only" be noted, while the same things from staffers will weight much more. Pretty natural I hope :p

(Sorry if I speak of you like you weren't here Lauri, lol)

Edited by Nazgûl, 23 October 2008 - 12:32 PM.

// C}{riZpc_punch.gif
"Do not come between the Nazgûl and his mod!"
SEE_Banner_2008.jpg
SEE-Team_Leader.jpg
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> I S.E.E. YOU! <<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


#25 dethwaker3

dethwaker3

    Not Smart

  • Members
  • 559 posts
  • Location:At Home :D
  • Projects:New Heros and Units Mod
  •  Unwanted

Posted 21 October 2008 - 02:48 AM

I think I should agree on the building unit taking too long part on the S.E.E mod....well..it's kinda true. But the mod is still great. But after maybe 20 min of gameplay on 4 player map on S.E.E will lag. Sry for being kinda mean but I still love this mod
Done with my mod: Go here to download: http://bfme2.heaveng....php?fileid=667
or go here http://forums.revora...showtopic=67026 for some screenshot


Posted Image<---- Click here for download!


Posted Image
Click here to level up my card!

#26 Nazgûl

Nazgûl

    S.E.E. Team Leader

  • Hosted
  • 10,581 posts
  • Location:Sweden
  • Projects:BFME2 - Nazgûl's Special Extended Edition
  •  Veteran

Posted 23 October 2008 - 12:33 PM

Yeah, it lags... Not our fault though, but the old engine :thumbsupsmiley:

// C}{riZpc_punch.gif
"Do not come between the Nazgûl and his mod!"
SEE_Banner_2008.jpg
SEE-Team_Leader.jpg
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> I S.E.E. YOU! <<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


#27 {IRS}Athos

{IRS}Athos

    Non Sequitur

  • Members
  • 4,008 posts
  • Location:Classified.
  • Projects:Ex-Advisor
  •  Resident Shakespearean.

Posted 24 October 2008 - 12:42 AM

Deal with lag. I always have lag. I don't think I've ever played a skirmish without lag. So deal with it. :rolleyes:
BulletsfromaGunbanner_zps974f3ea8.png

Careful. This link is DANGEROUS. Do NOT click it. This one, however, is fine.

I had the meaning of life in my signature, but it exceeded the character limit.

#28 DIGI_Byte

DIGI_Byte

    Unitologist

  • Hosted
  • 1,747 posts
  • Location:Australia
  • Projects:GTFO
  •  Everybody do the Flop!

Posted 24 October 2008 - 01:04 AM

What specs are your systems? I've never had lag.

Edit: added 's' to the word 'spec'

Edited by DIGI_Byte, 24 October 2008 - 01:05 AM.


Lyon-Fixed.gif
RIP 2323


#29 av8r

av8r

    SEE Support Mgr

  • Project Team
  • 489 posts
  • Location:Florida
  • Projects:SEE

Posted 24 October 2008 - 01:15 AM

:ohmy: well that could be because you said you never played it LOL :rolleyes:
Posted Image
Posted Image

Posted Image

#30 Spartan184

Spartan184

    :)

  • Project Team
  • 1,592 posts
  • Location:Moon
  • Projects:Random Modding Projects
  •  Coder, Map.ini Coder, Mapper, and Beta Tester

Posted 24 October 2008 - 01:21 AM

I HATE I MEAN HATE noobs that come ruin modders hard work by saying it sucks or anything if there so fucken great why dont they make a mod for them self and stop wineing about the mods that modders make on this site. Is it so f%$ken hard to just not play the mod if you dont like it gosh.

This mods great yeah might be a little slow but its acoully funner i mean in normal game you could beat a burtal in what 10 mins this mod it takes ages lol to kill them. And iv never finished a game in this mod so much armor on the buildings.

Edited by Spartan184, 24 October 2008 - 01:22 AM.


 

safsignature.png

 


#31 {IRS}Athos

{IRS}Athos

    Non Sequitur

  • Members
  • 4,008 posts
  • Location:Classified.
  • Projects:Ex-Advisor
  •  Resident Shakespearean.

Posted 24 October 2008 - 08:08 PM

@ DIGI_Byte: I really don't know... this isn't my personal PC, it's the family's.

Edited by ithilienranger732, 24 October 2008 - 08:09 PM.

BulletsfromaGunbanner_zps974f3ea8.png

Careful. This link is DANGEROUS. Do NOT click it. This one, however, is fine.

I had the meaning of life in my signature, but it exceeded the character limit.

#32 ttandchotmail

ttandchotmail

    title available

  • Project Team
  • 849 posts
  • Location:Oz

Posted 25 October 2008 - 08:30 AM

G'day guys

Strange that I havn't had lag before either :p I've played many skirmishes and my resolution has always been on ultra. Could this be an internet problem?
No chance of returning....Zero chance of surviving....Well!? When do we get started?
Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image

#33 Lauri

Lauri

    Let us remember foREVer

  • Hosted
  • 10,419 posts
  • Location:Norway
  • Projects:'The 4th Age' and 'Shadow and Flame'
  •  The very worst T3A Team Chamber Member

Posted 25 October 2008 - 11:12 AM

If you're able to play it on Ultra without lag, your very lucky, and have a good computer ;)

If it's a family computer, your most likely going to encounter lag... I mean, the family wouldn't put in lots of lots of cash for a gaming computer, would they? :p
No, they'll buy a computer that you can do homework on, a little game or two, and be on the internet....

Internet doesn't not impact the game's lag :wink_new: (Unless your downloading something)

Shadow and Flame BETA 0.6 RELEASED - Link


#34 {IRS}Athos

{IRS}Athos

    Non Sequitur

  • Members
  • 4,008 posts
  • Location:Classified.
  • Projects:Ex-Advisor
  •  Resident Shakespearean.

Posted 25 October 2008 - 03:55 PM

I was going to set up a gaming computer... but my mom threw out the monitor by mistake. :p
BulletsfromaGunbanner_zps974f3ea8.png

Careful. This link is DANGEROUS. Do NOT click it. This one, however, is fine.

I had the meaning of life in my signature, but it exceeded the character limit.

#35 Hasfusel

Hasfusel

    title available

  • Members
  • 425 posts
  • Location:England

Posted 31 October 2008 - 01:41 PM

Another thing I don't really like is the fact that all the heroes now have about 150 times more health. I know that they're mighty heroes and all that, but their health was reasonable in the vanilla game. When you play Mordor, the enemy spams the Nazgul, which makes them almost impossible to defeat. It takes ages to kill one because of the massive health and the fact that they retreat when they have 20% or so life left, and as soon as you have, it's been replaced, and they just ride round hacking you to bits and upgraded. If they're gonna be so strong, they should also be mega-expensive.

I see that you've decided to get rid of rushing so completely that it takes much longer to build units and simply ages to demolish a building. It really slows the game down, and many people don't like just sitting and waiting for something to happen. The units do less damage, and all, so fighting takes longer too, reducing the point of an ambush, or maneuvres, or much tactics or strategy at all. The only way to win is to spam siege weapons, and it means that the only purpose in actually making other units is to make them sit there and guard them. You don't have to defend your castles with troops anymore, because their range is so large and powerful and it takes so so so long to demolish them. You can build a building in a matter of a minute or so, and then it takes about half an hour for a batallion of troops that cost the same to raze it to the ground.

Of course, this is your mod after all, but these massive factors (to me, and several other people I know who play this mod) detract from the overall fun-ness and playability of the mod. Which is a massive shame to me, because the detail you have put into other parts is so excellent.
These are only opinions, and of course yours are probably much different, but this is the whole point of the topic, so...

#36 Guest_Guest_*

Guest_Guest_*
  • Guests

Posted 12 November 2008 - 06:27 PM

I think the grond is too powerfull.

#37 av8r

av8r

    SEE Support Mgr

  • Project Team
  • 489 posts
  • Location:Florida
  • Projects:SEE

Posted 12 November 2008 - 06:51 PM

Ugraded Dwarven 'pults, Gloin's Slam, summoned flood, eagles (also non summoned ones), summoned earthquake and Gandalfs lightning sword & istari light are good to use on Grond
Posted Image
Posted Image

Posted Image

#38 Arthadan

Arthadan
  • Members
  • 215 posts

Posted 13 November 2008 - 02:11 PM

Ugraded Dwarven 'pults, Gloin's Slam, summoned flood, eagles (also non summoned ones), summoned earthquake and Gandalfs lightning sword & istari light are good to use on Grond


Indeed! I usually play with Dwarves and with about seven upgraded catapults, Grond crumbles pretty fast.
Posted Image

Posted Image

#39 Fishbone

Fishbone

    Imperial Commander

  • Project Team
  • 786 posts
  • Location:Sweden, Stockholm
  • Projects:Beta testing Lonewolf, Helping out random stuff in Lone Wolf, Lone Wolf MODDB Manager
  •  For the Imperium of Man!

Posted 18 November 2008 - 04:10 PM

If you're able to play it on Ultra without lag, your very lucky, and have a good computer ;)

If it's a family computer, your most likely going to encounter lag... I mean, the family wouldn't put in lots of lots of cash for a gaming computer, would they? :lol:
No, they'll buy a computer that you can do homework on, a little game or two, and be on the internet....

Internet doesn't not impact the game's lag ;) (Unless your downloading something)

I guess, I am one of the few guys here, that use a family computer that is a "gamer". I got like over 30 games on mine :lol: anyway SEE never lag on my computer, and I play with ultra high (highest settings) and full anti alising on my grapics card. I am darn lucky! :lol: :p


EDIT: don't call me a rich brat :lol:

Edited by Fishbone, 18 November 2008 - 04:12 PM.

Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted ImagePosted Image

#40 dethwaker3

dethwaker3

    Not Smart

  • Members
  • 559 posts
  • Location:At Home :D
  • Projects:New Heros and Units Mod
  •  Unwanted

Posted 19 November 2008 - 02:17 AM

Deal with lag. I always have lag. I don't think I've ever played a skirmish without lag. So deal with it. :lol:

Don't be mean :p Well...BFME2 without mod and my mod and other mods does not lag on my computer....I think it's because I was playing 4 players and the S.E.E Mod might have added way too much stuff that's why it lags...

The lag problem was really long time ago I quit playing S.E.E Mod a long time ago, but might play it again when they released a new version.

Well...KEEP IT UP, coder/modeler/skinner/?mapper?/ of the S.E.E Mod!


Edit: and Spartan, I don't mean like S.E.E Mod is really bad...just really boring waiting for something to build. and I don't beat brutal in 10 min... I don't rush...I just keep defending (It's kinda fun like that).

P.S. Also Spartan, u don't need to like say the F word that much time lol...

And I think the mod will be much funnier without the long time thing

Edited by dethwaker3, 19 November 2008 - 02:23 AM.

Done with my mod: Go here to download: http://bfme2.heaveng....php?fileid=667
or go here http://forums.revora...showtopic=67026 for some screenshot


Posted Image<---- Click here for download!


Posted Image
Click here to level up my card!




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users